Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EU want to do away with long summer evenings

• 25-03-2018 7:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭

I love when the hour goes froward and hate when it goes back in October.

There's something inexpressibly great about it staying bright until 11pm at night in June.

But, did you know that this could be the last year that we get to enjoy it?

The Mandarins in the EU have decided, in their wisdom, to form a committee and review whether we should stop the practice.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/0208/939344-clocks-eu-parliament/

No I'm no anti-EU ideologue, but this is BS from the EU!

Still at least it will be bright at 3am in the morning in June

said nobody ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

There's something inexpressibly great about it staying bright until 11pm at night in June.

The Mandarins in the EU have decided, in their wisdom, to form a committee and review whether we should stop the practice.

said nobody ever!

Hardly the definition of a Mandarin to pubilically announce and then setup committee to discuss something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

**** the EU

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Hardly the definition of a Mandarin to pubilically announce and then setup committee to discuss something.

A great bunch of lads?

**** the EU

Did you read the article?
    The EU have been petitioned by over 70000 people re the change and is setting up a group to study the potential impact of the change.

How dare they listen to people the bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Danny Donut

Someone seems to review the hour change every few years.

Nothing ever seems to happen.

IMO we should just stay on summertime.

The EU have been petitioned by over 70000 people re the change and is setting up a group to study the potential impact of the change.

monkey see, monkey do

Oh right you just reply to every message with nonsense. I see.

Now I understand the first reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

It's going to throw my kids sleeping schedule out. Get rid of it, I'll be even more wrecked than usual tomorrow.

A great bunch of lads?

Yawn.

No in this context a mandarin can only mean the bolded description. which is actually the opposite use it would need to be used to describe the eu in this instance.

the standard literary and official form of Chinese, spoken by over 730 million people.
    an official in any of the nine top grades of the former imperial Chinese civil service.
    (of clothing) characteristic of a former Chinese mandarin.
    modifier noun: mandarin
    "a red-buttoned mandarin cap"
    a porcelain ornament consisting of a nodding figure in traditional Chinese costume.
    porcelain decorated with Chinese figures dressed as mandarins.
    a powerful official or senior bureaucrat, especially one perceived as reactionary and secretive.
    "a civil service mandarin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,733 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I too love the bright evening until 11pm in mid summer.

But I'm not sure if its going to make a huge difference it only stays bright until 10pm in mid summer.

My problem is the dead of winter.

Right now in the dead of winter it does not get bright until 8.45am ish.

That would be 9.45am if the clocks did not change.

That would be mad.

And all you get is an hour back the other side of the day, so getting dark at 5.30 instead of 4.30, which will make feck all difference cos it would likely be wet anyway.

This is EU over reach, it's thinks like this why we have Brexit

Oh right you just reply to every message with nonsense. I see.

Now I understand the first reply

Relax Leo

But I'm not sure if its going to make a huge difference it only stays bright until 10pm in mid summer.

That would be mad.

Haha nonsense.

As an Irishman I have no Brexit. Thanks all the same pal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Someone seems to review the hour change every few years.

Nothing ever seems to happen.

IMO we should just stay on summertime.
    On that note...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

That.
    If anything this is a great example of the EU listening to what people want.
    But these days it's fashionable to scream abuse about the EU, "blah blah, failed, blah blah German Overlords blah blah tinfoil hat". These people are just brainlessly parroting hate phrases they have learnt from Russian Twitter bots.
    If you look at the history of Europe over the last 2000 years, there has never been a period of peace and prosperity like the last 70 years or so.
    But it's much more fun for the brainless and unemployed classes to stand there and shout abuse about something they don't understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Sidebaro

I think it will really help with the mental health of people who bottle things up. It gives them a release, an opportunity to vent about something nonsense rather than the actual problems they have in life that they feel unable to face for whatever reason.

It's like the guy shouting abuse at a GAA match. Are you really that livid over whose sideline ball it is or are you just mad that your wife gets to go for a relaxing day at the spa and you can't because it's 'gay'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

That would be mad.

And all you get is an hour back the other side of the day, so getting dark at 5.30 instead of 4.30, which will make feck all difference cos it would likely be wet anyway.

That makes no sense. If changed, it means They would be leaving it year round on winter time, (which is the correct time).

Daylight saving time is spasticated imo. If you like brightness get up earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Definitely the work of a satsuma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

70,000 people from Finland - yeah I read it.

Totally different situation in Finland to Ireland, but the change will be applied to all across the EU.

BTW, 70,000 people represent 0.01% of the EU population.

But sure, go democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Thread title needs changing I think.

Maybe there is something in the article that I missed but I didn't see where it suggested that we keep winter time all year round. Any article I've ever read suggests that if we stopped changing the clocks that we would have summer settings all year round

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

I think that this is a great opportunity for a new EU tax. Simply apply a fee to anyone that wants to put the clock back or forward. Furthermore there could be a special license / permit required for anyone wanting to change the clock. This would have the added advantage of generating plenty of of admin type jobs too.

Totally different situation in Finland to Ireland, but the change will be applied to all across the EU.

But sure, go democracy.

Oh it's only the finnish. Yeah i forgot how democratically they dont count as EU citizens. Go democracy facehugger style.

You sure your not angry about this because you dislike the EU or a little touch of xenophobia instead of a fear of abuse of your democratic rights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

You've got it the wrong way around.
    The clocks were at standard time yesterday and changed to daylight savings time today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

so they are proposing brighter mornings?

......fewer days when you get up in darkness?

.....b@st@rds :D

Phoebas wrote: »
    You've got it the wrong way around.
    The clocks were at standard time yesterday and changed to daylight savings time today.

Ok, so I do.

Yea I'm fine with is as long as it's not still dark at 9am in December.

I can live without the extra hour in the evening.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Brighter evenings, class. I'd be against putting the clocks back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I think they should change the day to being 23 hours long. That way we all win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Jawgap wrote: »
    so they are proposing brighter mornings?

......fewer days when you get up in darkness?

.....b@st@rds :D

Only if you get up at about 4am.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

Time zones as we know them started in the railway age when time keeping across large areas of the world became important. Up to then local time was set to suit each localities needs. You had a time when Dublin set their timepieces 8 minutes earlier than Galway in order to go with solar time.

In the 1860's or so the present arrangement of dividing the world up into 15 degree , 1 hour segments and nominating time zones, was brought about.

Ideally Irelands west coast belongs in a different time zone to Dublins.

The greenwich Mean Time GMT zone is 7 1/2 degrees east or west of the prime meridian , 0 degrees, at Greenwich. Galway should be 1 hour ahead of Dublin if we were to go by strict interpretation of time zones but it isn't as time zones are often stretched and widened to keep most countries in one time zone, except huge countries like the US, Russia or Canada which have several time zones.

One anomaly which occurs in time zones is that Portugal keeps the same time as us but Spain doesn't. This arises from the time when Franco changed the clocks to synchronise with Central European time in line with his allies in Germany but Portugal did not.

You therefore have the situation that places like Santiago de Compostela, Ferrol Vigo etc in Spains northwest corner are 1 hr ahead of neighbouring provinces in Portugal, although on the same meridian.

For places on the extreme west of Europe there is a strong case for adopting GMT -1, 1 hour behind London and 2 hours behind Paris so that we don't suffer the dark mornings we now do in winter, we should be getting up an hour later than London.
    Unfortunately we have the system we have to suit the financial bosses who synchronise everything to London and Frankfurt meaning everybody in Ireland has to get up earlier than solar time or nature intends.

Our population and influence is just too small to be able to adopt a local time.

Even worse is Iceland on GMT although it is two time zones to the west of true, nautical GMT. Again a small local population and lack of influence allows this to happen.

Only if you get up at about 4am.

Not quite......that may be the earliest sunrise, but staying on UTC year round means more mornings with earlier sunrises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭manonboard

Part of my job involves fixing computer systems that contain timezone issues, day light savings and the grey scale of time in countries which change it on a whim.

It would be wonderful to eliminate DST in the EU. It causes a rake of errors and mishaps in business. A few years ago the US changed when they change to DST. It happened two weeks ago for them. Now its back to - 5hr for EST.

These issues are a total waste of effort n are no longer needed in todays age. It's a legacy issue. Our financial systems would operate better without such nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

said nobody ever!

Come on, OP - this is exactly how things are supposed to happen in a democracy!

First line: "Members of the European Parliament have backed a motion calling for an assessment..."
    This is how parliaments work: an issue is raised and then investigated to find out of an idea is beneficial or not. They haven't actually said they're going to do it, so stop with the scaremongering!

Further on: "Finland, which has the most northerly EU national capital, called in January for the EU to scrap the clock switches, following a public petition that secured more than 70,000 signatures."
    So it's an idea from one group of people who are probably more effected by the idea and want to highlight said issue. Again - this is what people do if something is affecting them badly: bring the issue to the attention of their representatives and have it debated.

Now, I'm not in favour of this idea either: I don't want it bright at 4.30am when I'm trying to sleep (most people in Finland use extra-thick curtains in summer for this reason) but the process here is exactly how it's supposed to be a democracy, so no need to shout "mandarin!" because someone is doing their job and investigating an issue raised by a member country.

In any case, there's no problem with changing time-zone within a country anyway. Not like it's the same time all across the EU anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭ironwalk

doolox wrote: »
    Time zones as we know them started in the railway age when time keeping across large areas of the world became important. Up to then local time was set to suit each localities needs. You had a time when Dublin set their timepieces 8 minutes earlier than Galway in order to go with solar time.

In the 1860's or so the present arrangement of dividing the world up into 15 degree , 1 hour segments and nominating time zones, was brought about.

Ideally Irelands west coast belongs in a different time zone to Dublins.

The greenwich Mean Time GMT zone is 7 1/2 degrees east or west of the prime meridian , 0 degrees, at Greenwich. Galway should be 1 hour ahead of Dublin if we were to go by strict interpretation of time zones but it isn't as time zones are often stretched and widened to keep most countries in one time zone, except huge countries like the US, Russia or Canada which have several time zones.

One anomaly which occurs in time zones is that Portugal keeps the same time as us but Spain doesn't. This arises from the time when Franco changed the clocks to synchronise with Central European time in line with his allies in Germany but Portugal did not.

You therefore have the situation that places like Santiago de Compostela, Ferrol Vigo etc in Spains northwest corner are 1 hr ahead of neighbouring provinces in Portugal, although on the same meridian.

For places on the extreme west of Europe there is a strong case for adopting GMT -1, 1 hour behind London and 2 hours behind Paris so that we don't suffer the dark mornings we now do in winter, we should be getting up an hour later than London.
    Unfortunately we have the system we have to suit the financial bosses who synchronise everything to London and Frankfurt meaning everybody in Ireland has to get up earlier than solar time or nature intends.

Our population and influence is just too small to be able to adopt a local time.

Even worse is Iceland on GMT although it is two time zones to the west of true, nautical GMT. Again a small local population and lack of influence allows this to happen.

Very interesting. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yes it is "nice" that once a year you can go a barbecue and drink beer in the daylight till 10pm.

But realistically that's all it gives you.

As a parent, fnck daylight savings. Kids and animals don't know what time it is. They're going to get up at the same time regardless. So for the next week I'll have to fight my kids to bed because according to their body, it's 6pm, not 7pm. And they're not tired.

We should leave the time on UTC and be done with it.

**** DST.

I disagree on the point above that we're too small to go to UTC-1. In fact it would put us at a decent advantage internationally, being closer to US timezones and slightly earlier again than Europe would make us an ideal place to open your European headquarters.

At present there are difficulties where Europe is 6 hours ahead of the US east coast, making collaborative work between global teams troublesome.

Previously, Ireland operated on "Dublin Mean Time" (GMT -25 minutes) based on Dunsink Observatory........ but the Brits stole it from us :D

**** the EU

But sure, go democracy.

Yeah, as opposed to the existing reality where not only Irish clocks, but Irish time (Dublin Mean Time was the time here until 1916) ape whatever suits the British.

Dublin lost its time zone and 25 minutes after 1916 Rising

Once again, Europhobia is just an unbridled rage by Brits and West Brits at the Brits not being centre of the world and chief fúcktards of planet earth. It'll be a while more before they're rampaging through Irish villages and towns hanging men and women for the wearing of the green - and the jingoistic cúnts all know it very well at this stage.

To hell with centuries more of Ireland being held faoi chois by John Bull. Long live the EU.

seamus wrote: »
    Yes it is "nice" that once a year you can go a barbecue and drink beer in the daylight till 10pm.

But realistically that's all it gives you.

As a parent, fnck daylight savings. Kids and animals don't know what time it is. They're going to get up at the same time regardless. So for the next week I'll have to fight my kids to bed because according to their body, it's 6pm, not 7pm. And they're not tired.

We should leave the time on UTC and be done with it.

**** DST.

I disagree on the point above that we're too small to go to UTC-1. In fact it would put us at a decent advantage internationally, being closer to US timezones and slightly earlier again than Europe would make us an ideal place to open your European headquarters.

At present there are difficulties where Europe is 6 hours ahead of the US east coast, making collaborative work between global teams troublesome.

Wouldn't the kids be getting up an hour later as well as going to bed an hour later though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Wouldn't the kids be getting up an hour later as well as going to bed an hour later though?
    In theory. But it's only numbers on a clock.

The kids still have to get up for school. We have to get up for work. If going to bed an hour later and getting up and hour later was an option, then that would be grand. But it's not.

With DST everyone has to try go to bed an hour earlier and get up an hour earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

We got rid of DST between 1968 and 1971.

I read before that in this period we experienced an increase of pedestrian road deaths, particularly children walking to school in the dark in Winter. Apparently this was part of the rationale for DST re-adoption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

How about this for a crazy idea. Allow Finland to scrap DST and allow the rest of us to keep it.

CrankyHaus wrote: »

I read before that in this period we experienced an increase of pedestrian road deaths, particularly children walking to school in the dark in Winter. Apparently this was part of the rationale for DST re-adoption.

Winter would be in uneffected by the change.

seamus wrote: »
    In theory. But it's only numbers on a clock.

The kids still have to get up for school. We have to get up for work. If going to bed an hour later and getting up and hour later was an option, then that would be grand. But it's not.

With DST everyone has to try go to bed an hour earlier and get up an hour earlier.

Fair point. Maybe move it to Friday night / Sat Morning or even to the Easter holidays when kids have more time to adjust to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

It's outdated and unnecessary, the reasons for daylight savings time ended 60 years ago.... Dump it and stop the stupidness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Eh... Kids don't walk to school anymore and lots has changed in the past 40 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,180 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

screamer wrote: »
    Eh... Kids don't walk to school anymore and lots has changed in the past 40 years.

Lots of kids walk to school here where I live ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

P_1 wrote: »
    How about this for a crazy idea. Allow Finland to scrap DST and allow the rest of us to keep it.

Loads of people in Ireland do favour scrapping it. It's head wrecking.

screamer wrote: »

That's just Ireland (and maybe the UK)

P_1 wrote: »

That's the problem with the EU init.

It's everyone or no one when it comes to clock changes apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

!

What about if we changed it so it stayed bright till 11pm in the morning in June and it's bright at 3am in the afternoon in June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭I says

Leave it the way it is.It gives us something to argue about twice a year.