Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post Cheltenham Blues

• 18-03-2018 12:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭

Anyone else ? 😢
    Genuinely blue todaym Have a few backed in Limerick but its sad to think it's a year to wait again.
    Slight consolation that Aintree and Punchestown might take on more significance now for good ground horses looking to make up for Cheltenham? But genuinely sad now its over. Huge hole to be filled.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Don't worry the Cheltenham preview nights are due to start at the end of the month!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

Hole me arse, the 2,000 Guineas is just over 6 weeks away.

*yee-haw*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭I says

tryfix wrote: »

*yee-haw*

Expert eye for me in the 2000 guineas ya heard it here first.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

I says wrote: »

*yee-haw*

Expert eye for me in the 2000 guineas ya heard it here first.

My mate works for stoute and said it’s got no hope!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭I says

madmoose wrote: »
    My mate works for stoute and said it’s got no hope!!!

Teddy must have been at the sherry then

• Registered Users Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

*yee-haw*

The running in a straight line for a mile really gets the pulse racing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Car99

mdwexford wrote: »

What's you best time?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Just noticed that the Lincoln is on Saturday ,feck sake have they no shame. Still Aintree and Punchestown to come.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

I have no time for flat
    Never got a gra for it atall
    Am looking forward to Aintree, Fairyhouse, Punchestown and Galway
    Could'nt care less about the flat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

Galway is a bit of craic thats all. Good week for craic.
    Then again the last few years thats all punchestown has been too

Feck it, i will give the flat a go this year. Why not. Never liked it as I dont see the character in flat racing that I see in NH

Ryan Moore would bore paint.
    If Adam Kirby or William Buick walked in here now I wouldn't know them
    Gosden and Aidan seem decent lads but wouldn't have the bitta divil like Elliott etc

Also, The mess over Chapman being taken off air on ITV following protests from prim and proper tall hat wearing stuffy old toffs for being a bit boisterous with "Johnny G" was just typical of my image of that sport

Last year I remember Josephine Gordon was on ATR with Mick Fitz for some programme and they were discussing the Melbourne Cup and they asked them re comparisons to Cheltenham as an event and all she could offer was "I never watch Cheltenham" like some toffee nose badge of honour.

ZERO CRAIC

Car99 wrote: »
    What's you best time?

Faster than yours.

It sure does get the pulse starting to race as the classic horses start to sort themselves out.

Shur 'twould have been great altogether if Nijinsky, Dancing Brave, Frankel and Sea The Stars had been set aside for a big race like the Triumph Hurdle. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭Motivator

Have never had any interest in the flat to be honest, no real excitement in it and it’s treacherous enough to punt on. Lots of the 5, 6 and 7f races can have the first half a dozen home separated by a length and a half.

I’ve never bought in to the Derby meeting, Royal Ascot or Glorious Goodwood. I’d take a two day summer jumps meeting in Balinrobe or Kilbeggan over the premier flat meetings every time. The evening meetings at the summer jumps tracks in Ireland and the U.K. are great craic. Warm evenings and bad handicappers are what the summer is all about.

It sure does get the pulse starting to race as the classic horses start to sort themselves out.

Shur 'twould have been great altogether if Nijinsky, Dancing Brave, Frankel and Sea The Stars had been set aside for a big race like the Triumph Hurdle. :D

A lot better than the boringness of flat racing.

He's won a race in a straight line, how will he handle going round a bend :eek:

I wonder who will be in what stall!!

Will the excitement never end!!

A lot better than the boringness of flat racing.

He's won a race in a straight line, how will he handle going round a bend :eek:

I wonder who will be in what stall!!

Will the excitement never end!!

Each to their own....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

BumperD wrote: »

Feck a whole year to wait. What a show it is..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

aidankkk wrote: »

Fairyhouse, Aintree and Punchestown will have tons of great action so plenty to look forward to

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭handsfree2

aidankkk wrote: »

This song is always stuck in my head for the month before the festival.

https://youtu.be/ci7bpYPd6Tg

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

ziggy wrote: »

You may be correct, but what races would you drop, and why?
    Good and worthy additions (in my view of course)
    AB Hurdle
    Ryanair Chase
    JLT Chase

Open to debate
    novice handicap chase
    Martin Pipe Hurdle
    Fred Winter Hurdle

Little / no interest
    Cross Country
    Mares
    Little mares

You may be correct, but what races would you drop, and why?
    Good and worthy additions (in my view of course)
    AB Hurdle
    Ryanair Chase
    JLT Chase

Open to debate
    novice handicap chase
    Martin Pipe Hurdle
    Fred Winter Hurdle

Little / no interest
    Cross Country
    Mares
    Little mares

Every race is worthwhile simply because there are all 100% competitive. Personally i don't like the mares novice as a race but there rest are fine. Cross Country is a great race.

Less races? I want more!!! I want another feckin day! A mares day maybe, I dunno.....
    Or, drop a race a day, from 7 to six, add them to an extra day and add a mares chase, a veterans chase and a veterans hurdle!!

GWAN!!

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭slimshady007

One I'm surprised they haven't added is a grade 1 hurdle over the intermediate distance of 2m 4f or 2m 5f (hurdle equivalent of the Ryanair). Horses that spring to mind over the years would be Al Eile, Oscar Whiskey and The New One. Not quite enough speed for the Champions Hurdle but not enough stamina for the Stayers Hurdle. They have graded races across 2, 2 1/2 and 3 miles for novice chasers, novice hurdlers and chasers but not hurdlers which seems strange.

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭handsfree2

One I'm surprised they haven't added is a grade 1 hurdle over the intermediate distance of 2m 4f or 2m 5f (hurdle equivalent of the Ryanair). Horses that spring to mind over the years would be Al Eile, Oscar Whiskey and The New One. Not quite enough speed for the Champions Hurdle but not enough stamina for the Stayers Hurdle. They have graded races across 2, 2 1/2 and 3 miles for novice chasers, novice hurdlers and chasers but not hurdlers which seems strange.

The champion hurdle was weak enough this year without this race. I hope it never appears.

I’d drop all the handicaps the cross country & the mares novice races

I can't understand that at all . There all highly comledative races with everyone trying fir their lives, as good as 90% of big Saturday races , all in the space of 4 days .

And I'd never have a winner if it wasn't fir handicaps and cross country .

• Registered Users Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

I can't wait to see your reaction WHEN they move to a 5 day festival with the Gold Cup on the Saturday "so the working man can watch the Gold Cup".

I agree.