Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC FIGHT NIGHT WERDUM VS VOLKOV

• 17-03-2018 5:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone not in the pub bar me? :p

It all starts at 5.45 folks

prelims not showing up on my skybox on bts 2? yet it shows up online at 7
    http://sport.bt.com/live-on-bt-sport-01364117948039
    I'm thinking maybe it's uk only :confused:

jip4d2.jpg

I don't rate volkov, he's tough but that's about all..werdum wins this maybe by pts though will probably only need to get volkov down once for sub.

think the two russians will beat craig and godbeer.

manuwa beat blach before and should do so again esp in london.
    rest of the card looks alright, quite a few dogfights overall I think.

Isn't it just great to have a ufc on at a normal hour to enjoy with a few beers?

got a feeling I'll be the only one posting for this event :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

Anywhere to watch the fightpass prelims?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

I would not be 100% surprised at an upset in the main event to be honest. Volkov has shown himself to be awkward for grapplers in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Whelo79 wrote: »
    Anywhere to watch the fightpass prelims?

pm sent

got a perfect one this time, have it cast to the chromecast and its perfect

delighted :D

first fight off :(

mailburner wrote: »
    first fight off :(

I'm mostly watching the rugbt with UFC on the laptop.

What happened?

John_D80 wrote: »

What happened?

Eye infection, fighter deemed unfit.

Jack Marshman also out of his fight. Docs deemed him unfit, no further info.

What happened?

narimani's opponent pulled with an eye condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,003 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

narimani's opponent pulled with an eye condition

Bit lousy on Narimani after accepting this fight himself on 4 days notice. I assume he’ll get a chance anyway on another card.

Whelo79 wrote: »
    Eye infection, fighter deemed unfit.

Jack Marshman also out of his fight. Docs deemed him unfit, no further info.

Ah balls. I was looking forward to that one. Marshman is a proper warrior. Literally.

godbeer was doing well there too

Not a terribly bad start to the evenings proceedings in fairness. Neither fighter will win any plaudits for technical ability displayed but they were both well up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

godbeer was doing well there too

Yeah looked like he was going to get him for a sec. Didn't expect it to be Godbear getting caught like that.

callaway92 wrote: »
    Bit lousy on Narimani after accepting this fight himself on 4 days notice. I assume he’ll get a chance anyway on another card.

gotta feel for him, chance of a lifetime possibly, hope he gets some reward for it but will surely get another chance now

Stevie Ray time!

It's a weird world when a 30 year old is saying they are the next generation!

got a feeling johnson might take this

Its nice to see someone having so much fun. I think Stevie will grind it out though.

ray will be two rounds down before he knows it and be swinging for the fences round three and possibly get knocked out

You must have posted that at the exact moment it looked like he was about to!

Stevie Ray all day.

gave it to johnson possibly a split even

I expected better from Stevie Ray.

That was a draw for me.

gave it to johnson possibly a split even

Nice call! I thought Stevie just edged the second.

Wow calling out the fans there!

Well said Mr Johnson.

jimmii wrote: »
    Nice call! I thought Stevie just edged the second.

Wow calling out the fans there!

close call, thought kajan edged the second myself

rare to see a lad giving out to the crowd even though hes right.
    would have been more clearcut only for the injury imo

not bad so far lads, beats watching on a sunday morning for sure

craig the biggest underdog on the card and rightfully so.

This russian will no doubt be better than the last fella :)

craig the biggest underdog on the card and rightfully so.

This russian will no doubt be better than the last fella :)

Coming in with a lot of hype behind him as well.

Bruce made his jacket from my nana's old curtains.

Coming in with a lot of hype behind him as well.

Always tricky with these guys coming in without having really faced anyone. This will show where he's really at. Craig's surely on a last chance so he knows he really has to turn up tonight.

Wowow!!!

oh my god never seen anything like that :eek:

Delighted for him.

Out of ****ing nowhere!!!

OH MY GOD!!!!

Out of ****ing nowhere!!!

OH MY GOD!!!!

Amazing! 4.59 incredible!!

In my defence it was a sweet fing submission :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

Amazing there.

First time watching live usually be catching up day after and long time lurker on here.

Werdum for the win later on too

Any Americans watching that octagon interview with Craig are just totally flabbergasted trying to understand WTF he is saying.

Mehaffey1 wrote: »
    Amazing there.

First time watching live usually be catching up day after and long time lurker on here.

Welcome.

Stick around for a bit. We're not a bad lot round here!

Mehaffey1 wrote: »
    Amazing there.

Welcome.

Stick around for a bit. We're not a bad lot round here!

Thanks,

Wow! Go Scotland!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

An SBG flop

Oh Lordy. I think he was out for a bait before the referee actuaaly stopped it.

Any Americans watching that octagon interview with Craig are just totally flabbergasted trying to understand WTF he is saying.

I live in Scotland and am still having to listen carefully :pac:

Carnage for the hype train tonight.

Fans at the event have nothing to boo about now.

Thought that was a great orthodox copy of McGregor style but the submission was well battled for.

Squeeze that neck, cash that cheque!! LOL

Nice one. Some finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭jodaw

Is Kavanagh any good as a coach? I mean apart for McGregor every other UFC fighter from SBG have been terrible.

Amirkani was a fighter with some hype aswell, he went to SBG , then disappeared. What happened to the irish SBG takeover?

How quick was that tap by the Russian lad v Craig. Possibly the quickest tap I've ever seen.

jodaw wrote: »
    Is Kavanagh any good as a coach? I mean apart for McGregor every other UFC fighter from SBG have been terrible.

Amirkani was a fighter with some hype aswell, he went to SBG , then disappeared. What happened to the irish SBG takeover?

Pendred, Holohan, Daly. All quality fighters and far from terrible.

There are the obvious exceptions like Lobov and Ward who got to the UFC pretty much entirely because of McGregor but any team/coach that gets that many fighters to the UFC is better than good.