Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick paedophile ring: arrests made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

Have a feeling this won't last long..... unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭muckbrien

Do we need all these Garda press releases

It's like a soap opera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

muckbrien wrote: »
    Do we need all these Garda press releases

It's like a soap opera

Strange wording in that press release.
    "11 members of an extended family arrested" and then a few lines later "they seemed to be known to each other"
    That's hardly surprising if they're all in the same family!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Have a feeling this won't last long..... unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

I thought I had heard the news on the radio wrong when they said "all members of the same family". Sounds absolutely horrendous. I wonder how they were discovered.

Independent saying they are all part of an extended family - all Irish
    Gardahave identified 14 victims suspected of being abused by members of a paedophile ring operating in Munster.

Six women and five men, all members of an extended family, are currently being questioned by gardanvestigating the activities of the ring
    The suspects range in age from their 20s to their 70s and are all Irish nationals.

It is understood that the victims, both male and female, range in age from toddlers to children aged 12.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/fourteen-victims-of-worst-paedophile-ring-in-the-state-are-identified-as-eleven-people-arrested-36674020.html

I find it astonishing that the number of females arrested is greater than men. Poor kids hope they get help they need to cope with this crap. Extended family doing that to kids youngest only a baby. Lot to be said for hangings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Jesus !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Jesus !
    No, he wasnt hanged, he was crucified, which was also a crowd pleaser back in the days !

• Site Banned Posts: 406 ✭✭Pepefrogok

Shocking, I know it's a dated attitude but it still amazes me when women are involved in stuff like this, hope the kids get all the support they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,543 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Lot to be said for hangings.

Lot to be said for due process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

It's guilty until proven innocent on the internet. I thought you'd know that by now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I find it astonishing that the number of females arrested is greater than men.

That jumped out at me too to be quite honest. Firstly, if the offences are the same with no mitigating factors, the sentences should be the same. No pussyfooting around that. Our children need protection and not excuses.

Secondly, the fact it was all one family and the vast array of ages is shocking. How does that become the norm? How do you approach that with a family member? This isn’t like minded deviants on the internet. Either they’re all sick bastards together or it’s strictly a business thing with no morals or ethics. Actually, that would still make them insanely sick so scratch that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Damien360

Where does it say one family. They are known to each other is all I’m seeing or am I missing some article ?

Damien360 wrote: »
    Where does it say one family. They are known to each other is all I’m seeing or am I missing some article?

It’s in the headline.

“Eleven people from same family - aged 20s to 70s - arrested as part of investigation into paedophile ring”

Then it’s in the second paragraph.

“All of the suspects detained in a major garda operation are members of an extended family.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

I find it astonishing that the number of females arrested is greater than men. Poor kids hope they get help they need to cope with this crap. Extended family doing that to kids youngest only a baby. Lot to be said for hangings.

People don't want to believe women can be every bit as evil as men. But they sure can unfortunately.

Damien360 wrote: »
    Where does it say one family. They are known to each other is all I’m seeing or am I missing some article ?

About half a dozen posts above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

CeilingFly wrote: »
    "Six women and five men, all members of an extended family, are currently being questioned by gardaí investigating the activities of the ring."

And probably the type of family that was given "ethnic" rights by that gombeen Enda Kenny (the worst move he ever made)

Yes, I'm surmising, but its centred around he Newcastlewest Garda district, but its not Newcastlewest itself. An we all know the capital city of enda kenny's etnic group of driveway layers is Rathkeale - in the Newcastlewest garda district

Wrong Gombeen - Bertie was Taoiseach in 2004.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

dilallio wrote: »
    Wrong Gombeen - Bertie was Taoiseach in 2004.

Enda was the gombeen who gave travelers ethnic status

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/oireachtas/travellers-formally-recognised-as-an-ethnic-minority-1.2994309

Bertie may have been as dodgy as they come but unlike Enda, he was no fool.

It took a special kind of village idiot to make this happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭thomasj

That's awful, f**k knows what the victims are going through.

I don't know why but it reminds me of a recent high profile case in England involving a large family that were all found guilty and sentenced to many years in prison

True, hang them afterwards.. better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

These vile people were prostituting children to 'strangers' to rape and abuse. That means there are a lot more people involved than just the circle of relations. It's difficult for the mind to take in - that there is a 'market' in this kind of evil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

This is beyond gross, no matter who the perpetrators are. The poor children. Ruined lives. Sickening. So depressing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭CarlosHarpic

I find it astonishing that the number of females arrested is greater than men.

Yes, Myra Hindley was clearly framed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

professore wrote: »
    People don't want to believe women can be every bit as evil as men. But they sure can unfortunately.

I don't think anyone thinks women can't be evil but its just surprising to see such a large number of female paedophiles arrested in one go

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭CarlosHarpic

wakka12 wrote: »
    I don't think anyone thinks women can't be evil

No. All feminists think it. Without exception.

Why didn't you tell the police. It's a well known fact, women doing this to children is much rarer than men. That was all I was saying and that's why I found the number of women arrested as shocking. Now if you want to be a smart ass carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Why didn't you tell the police. It's a well known fact, women doing this to children is much rarer than men. That was all I was saying and that's why I found the number of women arrested as shocking. Now if you want to be a smart ass carry on.

were the people/women arrested the perpetrators of the abuse or the ones who were facilitating it?

Grayson wrote:
    were the people/women arrested the perpetrators of the abuse or the ones who were facilitating it?

What difference does it make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Hanners

Might be a good opportunity to make a donation to one of the children's charities who are often the first to notice behavior that leads to garda intervention. They will invariably be the ones also providing some of the support for victims

I'm in no way affiliated to any this news just sickens me to the core

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

I think with this one I can say:
    'May they die roaring AND without a priest'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Whoever is responsible for it, its a sad and appalling story.

I would also caution people against labelling all travellers as being the same if it does in fact relate to their community.

I would safely say most travellers would be appalled by this behaviour too.

Unquestionably there are problems in the traveller community and you'd have to question the sustainability of their way of life. When you choose to abandon mainstream life and education early on, you will always be on the backfoot in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Malayalam wrote: »
    These vile people were prostituting children to 'strangers' to rape and abuse. That means there are a lot more people involved than just the circle of relations. It's difficult for the mind to take in - that there is a 'market' in this kind of evil

that level of evil and depravity is impossible to comprehend

I truly fail to see how it's a criminal justice issue - these people should be disappeared - not incarcerated at great expense to the rest of society with a view to rehabilitation and release.

I do not see how society is truly served by these people being temporarily segregated.

I can't see a way in which someone capable of such levels of evil would ever change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

What does that even mean in relation to this story?
    People are shocked that there is more women involved than men, it is shocking, particularly because some of the victims are babies and toddlers and (according to the radio) all the victims are prepubescent. That makes you wonder if the women involved were the mothers of these children?
    Nobody is saying all women are innocent and couldn't possibly be guilty of these types of crimes but it is shocking to think a woman could carry a baby in her body, give birth and bring it into a life of abuse like this.
    Were the children involved conceived through rape? Were the children involved conceived in order to continue the cycle and keep the money coming in? Sadly, these are possibilities.

Gravelly wrote: »
    Culture. De wimmin' does be doin' what they're told and don't ask no questions, boss. Shure tis' such a valuable and precious culture that it is now enshrined in law, officially sanctioned as it were.

so it's not possible that the women were responsible themselves no?

it's all the men's fault and these women are victims too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

lawred2 wrote: »
    so it's not possible that the women were responsible themselves no?

it's all the men's fault and these women are victims too?

Of course they have to accept blame, but in a culture where women are essentially the property of the males in their lives, there is the possibility that they were involved in something against their will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

RoboKlopp wrote: »

I’d have thought the worst paedophile ring in the state is the Catholic Church.

Of course they have to accept blame, but in a culture where women are essentially the property of the males in their lives, there is the possibility that they were involved in something against their will.

Which culture are you alluding to in this post? Do you know more than what's been reported?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

where in the article in the OP does it say that the people arrested are travellers?

I think you missed the part where I said "IF"

I hope it isn't but sadly the possibility cannot be ruled out. At this stage all we know is its Irish nationals from an extended family. The truth will emerge in time.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Which culture are you alluding to in this post? Do you know more than what's been reported?

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

From the Irish Mirror - https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/senior-gardai-deeply-shocked-horrifying-12134061

One of those involved holds a senior position in a sporting organisation and is a well-known and respected figure in his community.

If the above is true, I highly doubt that this paedophile ring is traveller related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

BattleCorp wrote: »
    From the Irish Mirror - https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/senior-gardai-deeply-shocked-horrifying-12134061

If the above is true, I highly doubt that this paedophile ring is traveller related.

Very disappointing for 80% of posters on here who IMMEDIATELY used this very sad and horrendous alledged crime to attack Travellers. And make the hilarious 'culture' joke ad nauseum.

Yes.

Yes what? You didn't answer the initial question. Which culture are you on about?

Grand. You won't mind if I come back to this if it's bullsh*t you're spouting?

Sure. Whatever floats your boat pet.

BattleCorp wrote: »

scary..

anyone with kids here knows the trust that they place in local sporting organisations and those involved...

even I'm involved with under 6 coaching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Zebra3 wrote: »

Not even close.

The overwhelming majority of paedophilia is committed from within the family unit of the victim.

Why can't you just answer a simple question since you made the claim? Unless you're just talking sh*te.
    Chrongen wrote: »
    Said he who is backpedalling :pac:

No backpedalling here. My post is clear, try to bait someone else pet, I'm not biting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Zebra3 wrote: »

Disappointing for you Zebra3.
    But it’s really you’re own fault for being completely blindsided by your totally irrational but all consuming hatred of RCC.
    You’re completely blinkered.
    90+% of abused children are abused by either family members or someone their family welcomed into the house.
    You’ve allowed yourself to believe that children are only in danger from priests.
    I’d like to think that you and others like you would pay attention to this story and learn something but I don’t have much faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

tigger123 wrote: »
    How on earth did people assume it was a traveller family?!

Might be, might not either.

I’ll be astonished if it is travellers. I can’t see what difference it makes what background the family is from. It’s terrifying.