Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it time to build some high capacity Prisons in Ireland?

• 05-03-2018 7:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭

With Ireland's increasing population and minimal free capacity left in the current prisons. Is it time to build some high capacity prisons in Ireland?

Im sure if we built large state of the art prisons the cost per prisoner will come down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

If by 'state of the art' you mean really really secure and functional- then yes, completely agree. And we need a justice system that dishes out proper sentences.

If you mean having more pool tables and sky sports and lots of mod cons for the inmates - no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,851 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

If you mean having more pool tables and sky sports and lots of mod cons for the inmates - no!

Mod cons for the cons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

What is a 'state of the art' prison ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

if you build it they will come
    it'll be just like the motorways, they'll be running at capacity as soon as they're built

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Thornton hall. Some dude got €30,000,000.00 of our money for his field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

wakka12 wrote: »

One with a revolving door, literally, making it easier for the repeat, and TV Licence offenders, and where Judges are scared or too stupid to give proper terms, so they can enter and exit even quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the legal system works just fine if you work for the legal system so locking up people long term would be very bad for business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Some of the islands could do with an investment.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,554 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Or we could just clear the nonsense out of the Irish legal system. For starters, nobody should be doing hard time for taking or selling drugs.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

wakka12 wrote: »

Very high, very thick wall in a circle. With 1 door for adding more prisoners.

Or we could just clear the nonsense out of the Irish legal system. For starters, nobody should be doing hard time for taking or selling drugs.

I'm very relieved to hear that. I got my monthly supplies in the chemist today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lifeandtimes

I can imagine the name of the prison documentary about it

tiocfaidh ar law!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I've never heard of Sky Sports in prison. Most prisons provide RTE 1 RTE 2 TG4 & TV 3.

In some prisons you might have 2 pool tables between 100 prisoners & only an hour & a half to use them. You could wait a week for a chance to play.

I know a quarry business that could supply the rocks for the chain gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I've never heard of Sky Sports in prison. Most prisons provide RTE 1 RTE 2 TG4 & TV 3.

In some prisons you might have 2 pool tables between 100 prisoners & only an hour & a half to use them. You could wait a week for a chance to play.

I doubt the crims employ a system where you put your euro on the table to mark your turn either.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

We could outsource. Send people out to a prison in Eastern Europe. Sure they have potatoes over there too. They'll be grand.

For habitual offenders we could save even more by forgetting to come and collect them afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

If by 'state of the art' you mean really really secure and functional- then yes, completely agree. And we need a justice system that dishes out proper sentences.

Do you mean jailing white collar criminals? Prison will be full quite quickly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

For the 30+ conviction Anto brigade, we should make use of our barren uninhabited islands. Ship them off with a bag of seeds to grow their own food and let them learn to fend for themselves. No prison staff necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

We should just get Trumps Mexican wall builders, build a big wall round Tallaght and kill two birds with one stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

I would suggest we invest in a State of the Art vat of Hydrochloric Acid.
    Big yoke. About two million gallons. Throw convicts into it (Or use a fun slide?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,844 ✭✭✭Markcheese

vicwatson wrote: »
    Thornton hall. Some dude got €30,000,000.00 of our money for his field

To be honest....in terms of the bust that was one of the states better deals... Amazingly enough.. (as in after they'd pissed away 30 million they still had a field... That they paid sécurity to guard)

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

When it comes to the delivery of a prison service I think it's important to realise that one size most definitely does not fit all.There are those who must never see the light of day or any perks of living and others who would be suited to a more rehabilitative environment.

A1.

Let me know when you get into power.

I want to make sure to bags the best place outside the local primary school for me crack stall. Will do a lunchtime gateway special for the kids. Buy two mars bars and get some free crack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The current shower in government cant even get a children's hospital built, what hope is there getting them to build a prison. It ain't happening on Leo's watch that's for sure.

mojesius wrote: »
    For the 30+ conviction Anto brigade, we should make use of our barren uninhabited islands. Ship them off with a bag of seeds to grow their own food and let them learn to fend for themselves. No prison staff necessary.

You're a few hundred years behind the times.

Although we kinda implemented it again partially in 2008-2009 when we shipped off more of them again to Australia....but unfortunately a good few came back this time

The current shower in government cant even get a children's hospital built, what hope is there getting them to build a prison. It ain't happening on Leo's watch that's for sure.

Or even a hybrid. A children's prison. Two for the price of one

Actually, wait, is there not already a children's hospital in Tallaght?
    I always assumed that was part-hospital/part-prison due to the name/location

A1.

Let me know when you get into power.

I want to make sure to bags the best place outside the local primary school for me crack stall. Will do a lunchtime gateway special for the kids. Buy two mars bars and get some free crack

Donald, I think you misunderstand how this would work. Taxpayers money would fund heroin and cocaine to be administered by hundreds of doctors who are not very busy at the moment. Lawyers would be standing by to arrange compensation claims if any of the users happened to suffer some adverse outcome. Very simple really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Cargo ship outfitted in the far-east, with accommodation for a few thousand, cheaper than a fancy new building, park it anywhere you like.
    They have one over in the Bronx, NYC is now safer than London for lower level type crimes.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Sleeper12 wrote: »

Well they have a few sports channels and that's a fact ;) also 2 pool tables between 100 prisoners is underestimating it, there is probably 2 per landing in most cases and depending on the prison there is approx 20 - 30 per landing

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Cargo ship outfitted in the far-east, with accommodation for a few thousand, cheaper than a fancy new building, park it anywhere you like.
    They have one over in the Bronx, NYC is now safer than London for lower level type crimes.

That system is good but would it be suited to our little country? Access to a ship of the coast would be easy if someone wanted to organise a breakout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

jonnycivic wrote: »
    That system is good but would it be suited to our little country? Access to a ship of the coast would be easy if someone wanted to organise a breakout.

Not if we fill it then let it sink by "accident".

The big drop down, would be the 1st challenge, then there's the 10oC waters, and the 300m swim, perhaps a few drone sharks could be deployed to swim around the thing. Not pretty, but maybe cheaper than the land alternative.

Ywz9TTD.png

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Ships are fairly expensive. Probably more so than bricks and mortar when you take maintenance into account. Also you would need to evacuate the whole thing everytime there was a bit of wind.

I like the outside the box thinking though.

Getting the jail population to do something constructive should be a priority imo whether that is education or work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

I could be wrong but I doubt it's the hard-core drugs the poster meant. Cannabis should be legal, tax it use the money to fight the hard stuff and throw a few bob at a new prison.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Ships are fairly expensive. Probably more so than bricks and mortar when you take maintenance into account. Also you would need to evacuate the whole thing everytime there was a bit of wind.

Getting the jail population to do something constructive should be a priority imo whether that is education or work.

Probably wouldn't notice a strong gale on that anchored barge of 47,326 tonnes.

Wiki says it cost $160m usd (via New Orleans) late and over-budget. China could build it half that, and on time. (they have some excess steel now). Space for just 800 it says, but still the world's largest of that type.

It's a 'correctional facility' so imagine education and psycho-reorientation would be a priority.

The big drop down, would be the 1st challenge, then there's the 10oC waters, and the 300m swim, perhaps a few drone sharks could be deployed to swim around the thing. Not pretty, but maybe cheaper than the land alternative.

Ywz9TTD.png

Well look at it this way, you will need a crew to run the ship and maintain it. Then you will need your prison officers and prison staff to run the jail side of things. Then access for the staff on and off the ship etc and it would actually cost more overall to run.

Prisoners should be put to work like the chain gangs in America to pay back some of the damage they gave done to society.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Oh no , that's the beauty of the system.

Bit of wind ?

Be a real shame if the anchor dragged .... and the barge floated off .... to be ... someone else's problem.

Gerry Adams was in a prison ship. Sounds like a bit of a holiday camp, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

We absolutely should scour the world for the most successful prison system and do that.

Hint: That isn't the US.

Very high, very thick wall in a circle. With 1 door for adding more prisoners.

Feck that fancy schmancy door idea.

Lets just lob them over the top of the walls into it with a medieval style catapult

Occasionally lob a few loaves of bread across too.

And once a year, a few bows and a heap of arrows for some Hunger-Games-style craic

I'd like to see a US style supermax prison for the worst of the worst.

I can hear the ad now

Tasty and tempting food at....Supermax

Well look at it this way, you will need a crew to run the ship and maintain it. Then you will need your prison officers and prison staff to run the jail side of things. Then access for the staff on and off the ship etc and it would actually cost more overall to run.

I keep hearing these claims that AI and automation will take all our jobs. Surely we can intentionally use AI/Automation for most of the work on the ship, with a skeleton crew somewhere secure nearby for maintenance or that personal touch?

Elon Musk has plans for a $200K one way ticket to Mars.

just saying ...

I can hear the ad now

Tasty and tempting food at....Supermax
    I have a Modest Proposal For preventing Poor People From being a Burthen to the Country, and For making them Beneficial to the Publick

Kill the poor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Elon Musk has plans for a $200K one way ticket to Mars.

just saying ...

Australia turned out okay..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

as long as theyre not involved in violent criminal gangs, or sell to under 18's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

We absolutely should scour the world for the most successful prison system and do that.

Hint: That isn't the US.

The US prison system is a disgrace and we certainly don't want to be copying them. Their policy has been to build lots of big prisons and throw everyone in there who farts sideways, with sentences of life without parole being dished out even for non-violent crimes in some states, and until recently for minors aswell. They have 20% of the world's prison population with only 4% of the actual population, and private companies getting rich off the back of the cheap labour it provides.