Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you see in the countryside. Thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

A load of lads bragging about how early they get up in the morning.
    The lads that have to get the bus to Dublin get up the earliest unless it’s lambing season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

All I knows is them Duke boys better keep outta trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭Nitrogan

Thorn bushes

They're a health and safety risk for city folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Rubbish
    lots of rubbish

I cannot believe how much rubbish is being thrown out of cars

coffee cups, fast food waste, bottles

• Registered Users Posts: 4,922 ✭✭✭paulbok

I seen two dolphins or porpoises jumping up out of the water in formation, Doing seaworld style tricks up at bremore The display lasted about two minutes, f*ckin brilliant. Recorded most of it on me phone but it turned out all blurry.

I know land is very wet at the moment, but I doubt you saw that in the countryside.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,918 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

A good old fashioned pheasant lynching.
    Sends a message to other pheasants who might have notions.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,437 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

If you're out walking you salute every car,van,lorry,tractor that passes. If they salute back then they're grand country folk, if they don't then they're bloody townies.

People using the word "townies".

"Professional drinkers" thumbing at the side of the road, headed for the nearest pub.

Council road works signs still up eons after work actually finished up.

Teddies in GAA colours strung up on telegraph poles.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Dubs driving around looking for houses to burgle.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Bodies still turning up after the Lufthansa heist

Someone knowingly dating their cousin

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

The vast amount of cow herds and sheep flocks walking casually on the road. There's a huge cattle farm on the road to the next village where my son goes to school and they'd usually start bringing the cows to the field just before 9. Funny to see city folks flipping it.

Townies power walking down the middle of the road wearing headphones and totally oblivious to vehicles behind them. Nor can they hear the birds singing.

Also tractors going 30 max. So many of them.

In general D-plates being stuck behind something that doesn't go max speed, funny to watch the aura of pure hate building up around the car.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

DubInMeath wrote: »

Would never happen in Dublin.

ns.jpg

steddyeddy wrote: »
    A nght club were middle aged clutches are dancing with 20 year old girls in my experience.

Oh im aghast at this....outrageous.....Where is this club? :pac:

DubInMeath wrote: »

No thats a sweeping generalisation... The thread is about things that actually happen.

Known it to happen, not first but definitely second cousins. Once stopped a slagging match in work between a lad from Donegal and Roscommon by saying hands up which one of ye has shagged your cousin, knowing one of them openly admitted to it the rest of the team before the other lad joined us.

Would never happen in Dublin.

ns.jpg

Always the exception to the rule. Could happen without you knowing in Dublin due to size of the population and more disconnected families.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

A mucky Pajero at a forestry entrance with a little boxy trailer behind it for the dog

Bouncy castles everywhere around communion time

A cottage with a pitched roof at the sides and coal smoke billowing out the chimney

Clothes hanging out on the line without some keep up with the joneser trying to put a stop to it

A red massey ferguson with a rusty bucket on the back going up a road with grass in the middle.

Some girls in GAA jerseys and track bottoms leaving supermacs and cramming into the back of an old Toyota

A border collie running around some fellas yard chasing the cat out of boredom

A pub in the middle of nowhere with an absolute sh1tload of cars parked outside it on a Saturday night.

A mucky Pajero at a forestry entrance with a little boxy trailer behind it for the dog

Bouncy castles everywhere around communion time

A cottage with a pitched roof at the sides and coal smoke billowing out the chimney

Clothes hanging out on the line without some keep up with the joneser trying to put a stop to it

A red massey ferguson with a rusty bucket on the back going up a road with grass in the middle.

Some girls in GAA jerseys and track bottoms leaving supermacs and cramming into the back of an old Toyota

A border collie running around some fellas yard chasing the cat out of boredom

A pub in the middle of nowhere with an absolute sh1tload of cars parked outside it on a Saturday night.

Go away, you don't know where I live

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

About 10 tractor runs a year.

A GAA homecoming bonfire, with a fcukload of tyres on it.

Farmers' dogs with dreads, never been groomed in their lives, chasing cars for the craic.

Roadside notices for the Novena or whenever Pascal's Country Sound are playing next.

Road sign graffiti, 'Ah' scrawled right above 'STOP'.

Community alert signs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Lads in checkered shirts or super dry gear drinking Bulmers en masse in the local nightclub.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Red faced culchies devouring hang sandwiches and guzzling bottles of Finches orange from the boots of 1999 Toyota Corallas parked up on the side of the road after a match in Semple Stadium.

Not much heroin tbf..

F this im moving back to Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

people living in mansions paying €500 a month on the mortgage

440 :P

xzanti wrote: »
    People using the word "townies".

Said like a true townie!

chrissb8 wrote: »
    Lads in checkered shirts or super dry gear drinking Bulmers en masse in the local nightclub.

Boot cut jeans and black sunday shoes!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

On a Monday night you could bump into Backwards Man. If yer up in the wilds of nowhere up the NW and hear a Duran Duran number echoing between the peaks and valleys between midnight and the witching hour it's probably him.