Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you see in the countryside. Thread.

• 23-02-2018 7:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20,415 ✭✭✭✭

I dunno,maybe there's a message here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

"I said peasant, not pheasant" !!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

It may be poisoned. I suggest you don't chance it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Big-eared boys on farms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Poisoned to trick a fox?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

kneemos wrote: »

I dunno - dinner?

Btw pheasant is very very tasty ...

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭qwerty ui op

people living in mansions paying €500 a month on the mortgage

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Yokels

• Registered Users Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭ollaetta

I'm not a pheasant plucker.............

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I seen two dolphins or porpoises jumping up out of the water in formation, Doing seaworld style tricks up at bremore The display lasted about two minutes, f*ckin brilliant. Recorded most of it on me phone but it turned out all blurry.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

people living in mansions paying €500 a month on the mortgage

Their landscaper was fairly shoite - if that's the gate to their gaff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Big-eared boys on farms.

Feeding burgers to swans.

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭Ursummupet

gozunda wrote: »
    I dunno - dinner?

Btw pheasant is very very tasty ...

Thanks, that song is stuck in my head now.

Kellogs Bran Flakes.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

A nght club were middle aged clutches are dancing with 20 year old girls in my experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

100s of birds circling overhead and no-one seems to take any heed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

steddyeddy wrote: »
    A nght club were middle aged clutches are dancing with 20 year old girls in my experience.

They must have some good road frontage so, if they can still pull the young ones. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,693 ✭✭✭buried

Errybody living in fear of burglaries and various degrees of piseog style witchcraft to try keep the burglars away.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Yellow drums of Calor gas everywhere

Falling apart cottages

Cars held together with bailer twine

A few lads walking down the side of the road with shotguns

Petrol pumps with no big huge ugly overhead square yoke

Shops with a ham slicer and feck all bright lights inside

Shops stuck to the pub stuck to the house of the lad running both businesses.

Cattle grates..though not so much anymore, what happened to them?

Some half finished celtic tiger style house with a big "Think safety" sign and "this is a building site, building stuff happens" safety notices stuck to a half falling down partially bent galvanised gate stuck into a rubber base at the entrance to it.

Some gates with "This is a farm, farm stuff happens, beware of cows eating grass" notice stuck to it.

Rusty cars and machines in a field that some fella was hoping to fix but never got around to

Pubs that are now closed because some greedy and or lazy fcuker sold the license so he could sit on his arse and do nothing for a few years.

Some bags filled with nappies horsed down by the side of the road by some other lazy fcuker or perhaps the same one

The odd thatched or galvanised roof on a house. The odd shed with a roundy galvanised roof and stone walls

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Absolute poetry Ubbuiqqious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

A local TD on his way up to Dublin to put a fire under them jackeens and pull a stroke to get a road paved.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Supermacs.

A mass brawl outside of said Supermacs.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,249 ✭✭✭✭endacl

It’s a gift to the landowner from the hunter.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Well?
    Divil a bit
    Noha bodder

• Registered Users Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭conorhal

Yep, pheasant is delicious!

Things I see that confuse me. One lone cow in a field, how is that economically viable?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

We have a pheasant who rambles in through the garden whenever it takes his fancy.
    I managed to catch a photo of him once and sent it to a few friends with the caption "Dinner".
    Got some unimpressed replies!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 9,693 ✭✭✭buried

Two middle aged ladies walking real fast on the hard shoulder, arms swinging like North Korean stormtroopers, half their heads looking at each other nattering away, the other half of their heads looking at who be in the cars going past looking at them

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Belle E. Flops

If you're out walking you salute every car,van,lorry,tractor that passes. If they salute back then they're grand country folk, if they don't then they're bloody townies.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,549 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

That pheasant wouldn't last pissing time where I am with foxes, buzzards, kestrels, sparrowhawks and the ever present corvids. I've fond memories of my farming friends and family hanging the pheasant on the back of the (very cold) kitchen door.

The hunter must have hung it there to go and shoot more.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,940 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

conorhal wrote: »

Things I see that confuse me. One lone cow in a field, how is that economically viable?

Minimum stocking levels for Single Farm Payment are quite low.

Loads of winter fuel neatly stacked at the side of the road, some are even nice enough to bag it!

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭LaChatteGitane

John_Rambo wrote: »
    That pheasant wouldn't last pissing time where I am with foxes, buzzards, kestrels, sparrowhawks and the ever present corvids. I've fond memories of my farming friends and family hanging the pheasant on the back of the (very cold) kitchen door.

The hunter must have hung it there to go and shoot more.

I'd say if it's for human consumption it would be hung upside down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

You like pheasant don't you Father?
    Well that's a clue because the thing you'll be eating likes pheasant too.