Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Codenames World Cup Feb 2018

Kolido wrote: »
    How could a 2 legged final work, I thought that was a running joke?

I really wish I didn't laugh at that :pac:

It was a laugh followed closely by a shake of the head

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

I dont mind at all. Would it be aggregate words guessed correctly across both games, and then a tie breaker third game if absolutely necessary?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭osh

Dunno we can do just the one match either if thats easier.

Beat you in one game, beat you in two games. Its all the same to Team Cage.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

For the final, do a best of 5, all neutral words treat as assassins.

Lets make a vote from the 4 players. 1 game, 2 games or either.

If its either, we will go with 2 games and if there is a tie, it will be decided by:

a) aggregate words guessed across both games

and then, if needed;

b) a third final game which will be added to the aggregate words guessed score to determine the winner.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Guffy

Hey guys. If ye didn't notice i can do pictures now.if ye want me to do a board and put a picture up, well that is something i can now do. Just saying like.

Guffy wrote: »
    Hey guys. If ye didn't notice i can do pictures now.if ye want me to do a board and put a picture up, well that is something i can now do. Just saying like.

If we do an awards after the final, you get my vote for most improved picture putter upper.

Fair play to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Sorry for holding things up over the weekend, everyone, but my continued marital status demanded it. As for the match, Best semi I've had since Cersei Lannister got her hair cut. Great game peeps, and superb cluemeistering by Guffy. Sorry I couldn't get us over the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,359 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

I we go with agg score, a team could loose both games and still win, seems unfair. I would go either 1 off game or best of 3.

Kolido wrote: »
    I we go with agg score, a team could loose both games and still win, seems unfair. I would go either 1 off game or best of 3.

How could they lose both games and win? Via the assassin?

Yeah fair enough. Best of 3 is fine by me.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Guffy

Imo for final ye should try best of 3. Give both teams a go a 9 words and if a third is needed have someone independently flip a coin and assign teams.

Ps
    I didnt see board was there for the last game kolido. Thought i was picking a colour randomly, didn't realise i was choosing the known 8 word team. Not that it mattered.

Best of 3 allows everyone to be a captain and guesser too.

Guffy wrote: »
    Imo for final ye should try best of 3. Give both teams a go a 9 words and if a third is needed have someone independently flip a coin and assign teams.

Ps
    I didnt see board was there for the last game kolido. Thought i was picking a colour randomly, didn't realise i was choosing the known 8 word team. Not that it mattered.

Yeah I dont think there is an advantage really with the 8/9 word picking giving the team with 9 go first. If anything Id say the team going first has an advantage.

PJ is being very quiet. I hope he is off training for our finals, and not just sulking there is gonna be more than one game.

Team Cage be primadonnas y'all.

Everyone available for the first Final game?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I'm here anyways
    :P

Congrats to Team Kosh for advancing to the final.

Team Free finish in a very respectable 3rd position.

Excellent semi final match if you want to read back over it!

Your teams are:

Team Hell No - Eliminated

Beaker
    Necro

Team Test - Eliminated
    SK
    Duffman

Team Brain - Eliminated

Kitten K
    Conor222

Team Kosh
    Kolido
    Osh

Team Young - Eliminated

Digital Solitude
    Molly

Team Free - Eliminated
    Banjo
    Guffy

Team Cage
    Pter
    PJ

Game| Team 1| v| Team 2|
    Round 1
    1| Team Kosh| v| Team Young|
    2| Team Test| v| Team Cage|
    3| Team Brain| v| Team Free|
    4| Team Test| v| Team Brain|
    Round 2| | | |
    5| Team Hell No| v| Team Kosh|
    6| Team Cage| v| Team Free|
    Round 3| | | |
    7| Team Free| v|Team Young|
    8| Team Hell No| v| Team Brain|
    Round 4| | | |
    9| Team Free| v |Team Brain|
    10| Team Kosh| v| Team Cage|
    FINALS | | | |
    Semi Final Third Place Playoff / 11| Team Kosh| v| Team Free|
    GRAND FINAL / 12| Team Cage| v| Team Kosh|

Finals to be best of 3 games.

First game: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=106422214#post106422214

Congrats to Team Kosh for excellent play throughout the tournament, and for winning the whole feckin' thing!

Well done guys!

Your teams are:

Team Hell No - Eliminated

Beaker
    Necro

Team Test - Eliminated
    SK
    Duffman

Team Brain - Eliminated

Kitten K
    Conor222

Team Kosh
    Kolido
    Osh

Team Young - Eliminated

Digital Solitude
    Molly

Team Free - Eliminated
    Banjo
    Guffy

Team Cage- Eliminated
    Pter
    PJ

Game| Team 1| v| Team 2|
    Round 1
    1| Team Kosh| v| Team Young|
    2| Team Test| v| Team Cage|
    3| Team Brain| v| Team Free|
    4| Team Test| v| Team Brain|
    Round 2| | | |
    5| Team Hell No| v| Team Kosh|
    6| Team Cage| v| Team Free|
    Round 3| | | |
    7| Team Free| v|Team Young|
    8| Team Hell No| v| Team Brain|
    Round 4| | | |
    9| Team Free| v |Team Brain|
    10| Team Kosh| v| Team Cage|
    FINALS | | | |
    Semi Final Third Place Playoff / 11| Team Kosh| v| Team Free|
    GRAND FINAL / 12| Team Cage| v| Team Kosh|

TEAM KOSH ARE YOUR WORLD CUP CHAMPIONS

trophy-vector-id181849386?k=6&m=181849386&s=612x612&w=0&h=u4_yJ0pjoyoj566kz-VvyoJE-Yx3bYQ1a9a4oD47dBQ=

Thank you to everyone for playing - i hope you enjoyed it!

Really enjoyed it Pter, big thanks for running it and big thanks to my team mate Osh, a great player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Congrats KOSH. Very well done.

Cheers, was a close call in some games! And well played Kolido, and Team Cage too :)

You've got some big shoes to fill Duffman :D Looking forward to the league now

#fakeNews SAD!

Well done guys! gg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭kitten_k

Well done Team Kosh

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

Fair play Kosh

• Registered Users Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Congrats KOSH, remember who gave you your first win.....

We will always remember team young of digi and molly

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

And an assassin wins it for you guys! Typical! Well done guys. Very well played.