Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Words your parents cant pronounce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I find that there is a whole host of these mispronunciations among Irish broadcasters. Some examples are:

Three has been pronounced as free.

Eight has been pronounced as ace.

City has been pronounced as cissy.

Growth has been pronounced as gross.

Taoiseach has been pronounced as feeshuck.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Not to mention the highly educated Doctor Ciara Kelly who works for Newstalk but cannot pronounce the word news which she always refers to as noos.

Youtube has been referred to as Yootoob

• Registered Users Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Mother keeps calling mozarella, mozarelli.

I've stopped correcting her at this point.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭tuisginideach

and the one that really gets me and is heard from the "highest" levels done - Ec-cetera - the words are et (Latin for 'and') cetera (Latin for 'other things')

• Registered Users Posts: 7,176 ✭✭✭dee_mc

bur wrote: »
    Mother keeps calling mozarella, mozarelli.

I've stopped correcting her at this point.

Mine calls parmesan 'pomma-shaaaaaaaawn'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Ghekko

MushrooNs
    Swinsford (Swinford)
    Supposably

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Ghekko

Troath rather than Throat

My husband says that :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Recently the electric shower at home started acting up, the water either freezes you out of it or roasts you out of it.

Said it to the mother...

Mother said "S**t, the thermostaf is going to go in it again like the last one."

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭Junglewoman

Calvary instead cavalry

• Registered Users Posts: 877 ✭✭✭_Godot_

My dad says Char-les instead of Charles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

keano_afc wrote: »
    My mother in law consistently says Chic-argo. Bugs the hell out of me.

I saw it that way, I just cannot say it correctly, it sounds wrong to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Galadriel

Expresso instead of espresso :o

• Registered Users Posts: 6,041 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Galadriel wrote: »
    Expresso instead of espresso :o

Skinny latty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

_Godot_ wrote: »
    My dad says Char-les instead of Charles.

Is he from Clare? My dad's family would pronounce it that way aswell..

• Registered Users Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Neames

Sorry

.....seems to be the hardest word

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

America - Amerikay
    Cardigan - Carnigan
    Psychiatric - psych eee ash trix
    Certificate - cer tiff ik it
    Congratulations - congrakulations
    Penguin - pengweng

BTW this is a mix of mother in law, uncle and parents. Pengweng is actually how my husband says penguin.

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

My auld doll instead of he scored a goal says he scored a gold.
    Also she says someone is in the hostibal and they were seen by a surgunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭NollagShona

Oh sheen

Usheen

• Registered Users Posts: 28,543 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Mango trouts on the menu tonight

Mange touts

• Registered Users Posts: 6,481 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Should get my kids to post this but then I've inflicted my pronunciations on them too. H as in aitch - H Block, HB ice cream etc; Gaul Tea for Galtee Cheese/Mountains etc and Dorset Street as in Daw set rather than the ubiquitous Door sett. :D
    I grew up near a place called Bellharbour. Local legend has it that when the BBC reporter, with received pronunciation, announced that the Japanese had attacked Pearl Harbour, a group of lads grabbed their shotguns and pitchforks and headed down to the harbour to meet them :D
    It depends if you're a rhotic or non-rhotic English speaker. Most Irish people would be rhotic English speakers so if there's an 'r' in a word, we pronounce it. It tends to be the same with people in the north of England. As you go further south in England, people tend to drop the 'r' in certain words, so (for example) 'car' might be pronounced 'caaaaw'.

Strangely enough, these people often pronounce an 'r' where there isn't one. They might pronounce the word 'law' as 'lawr', for example. Have a read of the the link below, especially the second paragraph.

Rhotic or not?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

My uncle bought a car with a Dublin "restoration" on it.

He has some more. I can't think of them now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

My mam says California weird - I don't know where she got the pronounciation from - sort of like she is saying it like calforna??
    She also says Raphael like Ray - fell instead of Raf - I - elle.
    My teacher used to say Yer-sterday instead of yesterday.
    My husband can't say calm but claims I can't say it - I say it like Cawm and he says it like Cam??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭NollagShona

Abortion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭ignorance is strength

Mine has several, and despite my sisters and I picking her up on them regularly (and with increasing irritation) she seems to wilfully persist with them. Her most grating is Tommy Hilfinger.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Mine has several, and despite my sisters and I picking her up on them regularly (and with increasing irritation) she seems to wilfully persist with them. Her most grating is Tommy Hilfinger.

Mother in law calls it Tommy Highflyer

• Registered Users Posts: 11,900 ✭✭✭✭anewme

My Mum bought two new packets of instant coffees. She was all excited over them and whoever came in was given the choice.

“Well, do you want a Mucka or a Lattie”.?

My father-in-law was almost proud when explaining to me why he called Emmental cheese 'Emmanuel' cheese. Something along the lines of Homer's explanation here;

https://youtu.be/TDHwGYAkzmc?t=20s

davo2001 wrote: »
    My dad has always called Bono "Bone-o".

He refuses to call him Bono for some reason, I think it's a North Dublin thing.
    He also refers to the U2 front man as "Bone-o" but it's more that he doesn't GAF.
    AnneFrank wrote: »
    This is nuts Davo,my dad does the very same,but he's from limerick

side-take_a_look.png
    I always took it to be a reference to these yokes. They were a household name in the 70s and 80s.

https://www.purina.co.uk/dog/bonio

My old man says hundert instead of hundred