Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump Presidency discussion thread III

• Registered Users Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Totally agree and I had stopped watching them myself for those same reasons ( which btw I think that the whole idea) but the reason I mentioned it is I happened to start watching it and it was unusual how much on the back foot she was. It was as if she couldn't bring herself to lie about it.

She gave some pretty poor answers. Maybe even SHS can see how wrong this all is and that this is bigger than either her job or Trump.

If she's starting to crack, I might give a look. She really deserves to be held to account for the insane number of lies.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

It's reported that in one of his tweets - since the Justice Dept's special counsel announced a sweeping indictment of what prosecutors say is a notorious Russian group of Internet trolls - Don has asked his supporters to pressure Jeff Sessions to set up an investigation into Obama's inaction on Russian meddling. I'm not on twitter so can't check the actuality of the tweet but assume that if it was published, it's probably available publicly.

The fallout on the Florida shooting is starting with what are described as right-wing theorists sliming some of the survivors as actors, not students, and being solely interested in getting their faces in the papers. One manager for a Florida GOP Rep was sacked after sending an email to a newspaper claiming that two students who survived the shooting were crisis actors, not students.

One reported comment was that the vote result on guns some days ago by the Florida state legislature against instituting controls was probably the worst news the students hears sice beig told to get summer jobs by their parents.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

aloyisious wrote: »
    The fallout on the Florida shooting is starting with what are described as right-wing theorists sliming some of the survivors as actors, not students, and being solely interested in getting their faces in the papers. One manager for a Florida GOP Rep was sacked after sending an email to a newspaper claiming that two students who survived the shooting were crisis actors, not students.

One reported comment was that the vote result on guns some days ago by the Florida state legislature against instituting controls was probably the worst news the students hears sice beig told to get summer jobs by their parents.

In one tweet that tells you all you need to know about the value set of Republican politicians, the Florida State legislature refused to consider a ban on assault weapons and high-capacity magazines...and then, in the same sitting, declared pornography to be a health risk. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

aloyisious wrote: »
    Don has asked his supporters to pressure Jeff Sessions to set up an investigation into Obama's inaction on Russian meddling. I'm not on twitter so can't check the actuality of the tweet but assume that if it was published, it's probably available publicly.

Just checked the Great White Dopes twitter and he still hasn't criticized Putin....but anyway just listening to CNN this morning and it was mentioned and I forgot it myself. But Obama did want to bring this whole Russia meddling in the election out in the public before the election, he went to Congress and the Senate and had a select meeting with them showing them the facts. But it was that turtle McConnell said that if he did he would unleash campaign that it was Obama meddling in the election and he was being partisan etc etc McConnell et al really are beyond shame and morals

Its incredulous the squirming and twisting and backtracking and outright turning a blind eye the GOP are doing atm, I rally hope they are decimated in 2018 and 2020.

Tables are really starting to turn I'm seeing more and more of their gerrymandered states are being reversed. They have gotten away with murder over the last number of years.

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

This is actually hard to believe but Donald Trump has suggested that the solution to school shootings could be... to arm teachers and coaches.

This is just beyond the pale. Shocking.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,844 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I'm not surprised. I've seen that mooted by 2nd Amendment advocates plenty of times after school shootings.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,151 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

J Mysterio wrote: »
    This is actually hard to believe but Donald Trump has suggested that the solution to school shootings could be... to arm teachers and coaches.

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/734231223002894337

But as usual he was lying
    https://twitter.com/allenpeacock/status/734358660114219009

• Registered Users Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

On the bright side Mueller isn't messing around. He's just charging people for fun now.

He has been very impressive so far. The indictments last Friday were politically clever. It switched the narrative from "FBI versus Trump" to "USA versus Russia" and placed the ball firmly in Trump's court where he'll swing 540 degrees and topple over.

What a lot of people, mainly trumpers forget is that this is a criminal investigation. Trump's toadies are still behaving like this is an election or a PR battle. It's not. It's an FBI investigation that's too far gone at this point to end. It's also delivering results and educating the American public.

Think back to a year ago or more. Trumpers were saying the Russia stuff was nothing more than sour grapes. Remember "Nothingburger"? Remember all the lies that have since been shown to be lies?

So many, many lies. And they're still lying and the trumpers repeat those lies, get proven wrong, repeat the next lie, get proven wrong again, rinse and repeat. That game takes place of forums and social media.

Meanwhile, while all the lies are being inserted into our discourse, Mueller and his team is working away. Some indictments were clearly coming. Others, on the other hand came out of nowhere. I had never heard of Richard Pineda. Mueller and his team haven't been leaking. They're running a tight ship and they have so much information at their disposal - that's why some indictments and guilty pleas are coming out of nowhere.

To borrow and paraphrase a comment that I saw on another site, Mueller's playing chess and Trump is sticking draught pieces up his arse.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Maybe I missed it, but while he was decrying the lack of hospitals in which you could keep mentally ill people [referencing the ones with weapons] I don't think I heard him mention just taking the weapons off them [temporarily anyway by the police as a safety measure] leaving them ill-equipped to mass-murder students. My regrets to the father who turned up with three of his children to let Don and the U.S. public he lost his 4th child to Cruz.

Gun-free zones on military bases??? WTF. I was in unifrom from 68' to 98' and don't recall ever seeing a gun-free zone on any base I served in; probably because it would have been irreconilable with servie requirements..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jooksavage

trump001.jpg

"I hear you"

• Registered Users Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

That's a nifty note pad. Shocking that a person uses notes at a meeting...

• Registered Users Posts: 26,120 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

The shocking thing - though it's not a surprising thing - is that Trump needs notes to remind him to acknowledge people's experiences, when they relate them.

"I hear you." Seriously? He wouldn't need notes to remind him to feign empathy if he could actually feel it.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,853 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

The video from the white house of the father of a girl that was killed in the school shooting is upsetting, to know nothing will happen, nothing will change in regards these issues. It's a very disturbing country, and then to have trump say, arming teachers would solve this problem, wow, scary stuff!

Indeed. Notes like this are especially handy when you're so blunted and detached from reality that you need to be reminded how things like empathy work. He aced this one though.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

J Mysterio wrote: »

Listening to this being discussed newstalk.

What a thing for a president to suggest. Absolute lunacy.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Great comment texted in to Pat. Something along the lines of:

When those with responsibility act like kids and the kids act responsible, there is a problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,853 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

What a thing for a president to suggest. Absolute lunacy.

Organisations such as the NRA have such control in their country, it's disturbing to watch it unfold.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,323 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Pathetically weak from trump but no surprise.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Organisations such as the NRA have such control in their country, it's disturbing to watch it unfold.

The NRA are also trying to rewrite history somewhat - they weren't always so staunchly opposed to gun control. They morphed into their present form in the early 70's when the hardliners took hold of the organization and they started lobbying hard.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,670 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

If any more proof was need that he is a narcissistic sociopath then this picture surely is it. He needed reminders and prompts to show empathy in a meeting with shooting survivors.

Trump_Guns_62605-95703.jpg&w=1484

Is that a laundry mark on his shirt cuff? It seems far too cryptic to be another aide-memoire.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Is that a laundry mark on his shirt cuff? It seems far too cryptic to be another aide-memoire.
    Didn't even notice that. Good catch.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Didn't even notice that. Good catch.

He's POTUS #45 so his shirt is branded.

I wonder was Obama as narcissistic that he needed #44 on it too?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,062 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

He's the 45th president..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

Hes the 45th President it must be a line of shirts he is flogging like those stupid hats he has if you see them he has 45 on them as well.

This is just a game for him a chance to do some marketing brand management very sad he has reduced this office to a jumped up walmart

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• Registered Users Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Call me Al

I'm watching Rubio Nelson and Deutch at this town hall in Sunrise Florida.
    I admire Rubio for turning up, but he's blatantly playing politics appeasing his base at times, asking the dems are they in favour of banning all semi-automatic rifles.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,556 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

That suggestion by trump of arming teachers is by far one of the dumbest things I've ever heard. What happens if a teacher has a bad night/weekend at home with their wife/husband/ partner and comes to school in a bad mood ? I means lads let's be honest here, this gun control issue will never be sorted out.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    That suggestion by trump of arming teachers is by far one of the dumbest things I've ever heard. What happens if a teacher has a bad night/weekend at home with their wife/husband/ partner and comes to school in a bad mood ? I means lads let's be honest here, this gun control issue will never be sorted out.
    Let me just say this: when the SWAT team comes in, you don't want to be holding a gun.

Even by Trump's low standards, the notion of arming teachers is an astonishingly stupid idea to which there are numerous immediately obvious unanswerable objections.

They should have written "Don't suggest arming teachers, you numbskull!" on his note.

I read a tweet this morning from a teacher. He was a fan of guns - had an auto assault rifle, went to the gun range and has done for years.

His view was he didn't know if he could trust himself to make a shot if he needed to, and didn't want the safety of all of his students to rest on his shoulders should the shít hit the fan.

No wedding ring either...