If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ulster Team Talk Thread III: Les Miserables SEE MOD WARNING POST #1924 + #2755

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,170 ✭✭✭troyzer

Utah_Saint wrote: »
    seen a guy wearing a Leinster hoody on the school run this morning. Still find that very strange. Its more like supporting a football team for some people. I know this was a big thing 10-15 years ago in Dublin with the 'Lunster' fans. Just find it odd on the rare occasion I see it up north.

I used to work in Omagh, frequently wore a Leinster jacket to the pub if it was raining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Utah_Saint

troyzer wrote: »
    I used to work in Omagh, frequently wore a Leinster jacket to the pub if it was raining.

but you are from Leinster? or correct me if i'm wrong?

I just find it strange. Nothing wrong with it, just strange. It maybe shows Rugby moving more into the soccer realm where supporting a team is not dictated by your location or background.

Utah_Saint wrote: »
    but you are from Leinster? or correct me if i'm wrong?

I just find it strange. Nothing wrong with it, just strange. It maybe shows Rugby moving more into the soccer realm where supporting a team is not dictated by your location or background.

Yes, I am. I'm suggesting that maybe the other guy was as well.

Equally, it could be someone who has no interest in rugby and is just wearing the kit because they like it. My sister wears a Lakers jersey, she has no idea who Kareem Abdul-Jabbar was.

But yeah, could also be an Ueinster fan? Ulnster?

Lads awec will be on in a few and ye can just ask him why he was wearing it.

Haha....I'm not sure, he was pretty dejected after the weekends result.

I have to add the guy was also wearing a Down GAA hat, in Co.Antrim. So maybe that's just his thing or he was intentionally trying to antagonise me on a Monday morning..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,088 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

There are a number of elements to fan's unhappiness with Burns, I think, and few of them fair. The thing that frustrates me most about his actual play is his restarts, which are very rarely contestable.

You must have been sitting behind me Paul!! It was something I was fairly mad about... Not a single contestable restart at all...Must be an easy fix...More hang time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭bilston

mfceiling wrote: »
    You must have been sitting behind me Paul!! It was something I was fairly mad about... Not a single contestable restart at all...Must be an easy fix...More hang time?

That's got to be a tactic. Any professional out half should be capable of sticking up a contestable restart. I mean a club 3rds out half can do it more often than not.

I can't wait for Ravenspan now. I fully expect us to be absolutely fisted by a vengeful Ulster. I'll be busy sipping cans and enjoying the hostile crowd in the terrace.

Delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,117 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

mfceiling wrote: »

Ach, I didn't even make it down - Real Life got in the way.

It's just something I've noticed about him since he arrived, really. We have forwards well capable of making the most of good hang time. Henderson caught our own restart for the drop goal to win in Paris, when we won the Grand Slam, after 70-odd minutes. Treadwell is not the most explosive, but probably the fastest second row on the island. If Billy could make our restarts a bit more contestable, those are fellas built to claim them back.

Leinster fans having a meltdown in the 42 because Kinsella wrote an article on how good Ulster's play was WHEN LEINSTER WON! WHY ARE YOU WRITING ABOUT ULSTER WHEN LEINSTER WON!!

Petrie is such a step up from that spoofer Logan.

https://www.facebook.com/126216190790822/posts/2201983029880784/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Leinster fans having a meltdown in the 42 because Kinsella wrote an article on how good Ulster's play was WHEN LEINSTER WON! WHY ARE YOU WRITING ABOUT ULSTER WHEN LEINSTER WON!!

Why are you paying any heed on the 42 comments section?

molloyjh wrote: »

Papist, free state media.

molloyjh wrote: »

Was reading an article about Ulster, accidentally saw the first couple of comments. Then read them all. The outrage is pretty entertaining. Posted about it on this thread as I didn't want Leinster fans on this forum to get defensive. But their utter inability to just let an article discuss what might have been good about Ulster's performance is very funny.

Ulster were the better team and the analysis bears that out. Leinster won because they're simply conditioned and bred for cup rugby. It may sound like a cliché but you really can't overstate the importance of having a winning culture.

There's a reason why the Patriots win the superbowl every other year and it's more than just Tom Brady being class.

Munster used to have it and I think Ulster will probably get it as well if they build on this year and win a home quarter final next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭launish116

Telegraph stating McGraths signing to be announced today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,636 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Mixed feelings as a Leinster fan. It looks like Dan McFarland is doing great things with your pack. So I am happy McGrath is going into a positive environment to help him play his way back to Ireland honours. As a Leinster fan I am also excited to see Byrne and Dooley who I think are both great. But on the flip side, I like winning stuff and I am greedy. I think McGrath is excellent and I'll be sad to lose him.

troyzer wrote: »
    Ulster were the better team and the analysis bears that out. Leinster won because they're simply conditioned and bred for cup rugby. It may sound like a cliché but you really can't overstate the importance of having a winning culture.

There's a reason why the Patriots win the superbowl every other year and it's more than just Tom Brady being class.

Munster used to have it and I think Ulster will probably get it as well if they build on this year and win a home quarter final next year.

No, I 100% agree with all of this (except that Ulster were the better team.) That was an unbelievably callow squad that we sent down. Hopefully the mindset starts to develop and evolve. What they can come away with is the mindset that “we deserve to be here”, which is the first step.

errlloyd wrote: »
    Mixed feelings as a Leinster fan. It looks like Dan McFarland is doing great things with your pack. So I am happy McGrath is going into a positive environment to help him play his way back to Ireland honours. As a Leinster fan I am also excited to see Byrne and Dooley who I think are both great. But on the flip side, I like winning stuff and I am greedy. I think McGrath is excellent and I'll be sad to lose him.

Absolutely natural and fully to be expected, I think. If he never scales the same heights ( and I’ve no reason to think he won’t), at the bare minimum, we have a substantially better backup to EOS than Warwick.

No, I 100% agree with all of this (except that Ulster were the better team.) That was an unbelievably callow squad that we sent down. Hopefully the mindset starts to develop and evolve. What they can come away with is the mindset that “we deserve to be here”, which is the first step.

Yeah, the "we deserve to be here" mentality began when they had that convincing win over Racing back in January. That really perked my ears up.

Best suffered an ankle ligament injury and will be unavailable for Glasgow game. Nothing else added in the statement from Ulster. no suggestion if he is out for season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

launish116 wrote: »
    Telegraph stating McGraths signing to be announced today!

I'll be absolutely gutted. Murphy leaving was a big blow but this is another level.

It's a great endorsement for Ulster that all these guys are happy to go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

If McGrath goes there and recaptures his 2016/17 form alongside the other signings then Ulster could be a serious force.

Which train is Stander getting? I'll pick him up from Heuston.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Jack McGrath is brilliant player and a great man. Ulster are lucky to have him. I hope he’s a massive success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

• Administrators Posts: 55,718 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

This is definitely the most high profile and surprising inter-provincial transfer ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,814 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Great news for Ulster, and more than likely for Ireland in the long run.

It wasn't so long ago that there was discussions on here saying that players from the South wouldn't want to transfer to Ulster for a variety of reasons, the fact an environment has been created where players look at Ulster as a viable option now is a great achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Jack McGrath is brilliant player and a great man. Ulster are lucky to have him. I hope he’s a massive success.

Hope he does a Nonu and flops miserably at club/provoncial level only to excel with the test side.

• Administrators Posts: 55,718 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The wording of the announcement suggests that he is staying on his central deal. Win win, free player.