Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fastway Couriers

• 18-12-2017 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭

I've had three problems in the last 6-8 weeks with this shower ....

On three occasions I've been waiting for deliveries, which on one occasion never turned up, on a second occasions turned up 5 days late (with perishable goods which were to be delivered within 24-48 hrs) and on the most recent occasion, they claim to have delivered and have an unknown electronic signature but they haven't delivered.

Trying to contact them to try and resolve a problem is a complete joke - queues of 40-50 callers so you ultimately hang up after waiting 45 minutes and still having over 20 callers ahead of you, or else there's no one staffing the telephone line. Impossible to contact them.

From now on, I'm asking online retailers who they use as their courier company and if it's this lot, then I won't be dealing with the online retailer. Hopefully, if enough people take the same approach, it will soon put an end to the fukers.

Absolutely disgraceful courier service and how they are still in business I just don't know !!!

Am I the only one ?

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Not the only one. Eventually my supplier had to switch to an post after two non deliveries. Small item but still. Issue seemed to be with the contractor they were using but I still expect them to be responsible.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Do a search on Fastway on this forum and you'll find plenty of threads about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭garrettod

Sorry didn't come up earlier, but comes up now

... perhaps I accidentally typed the spelling of the company name wrong earlier or something.

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭gawker

I had the same issue with perishable goods recently. Clearly marked 'deliver within 2 days' and they took 5. Impossible to contact.

I now avoid them where possible. They seem to be run by a network of freelance couriers, so service varies hugely by area..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

A Joke of a company

436746.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭gawker

A Joke of a company

436746.JPG

Make sure to share it with the company you ordered from, they need to know it's best not to cheap out on their courier..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

They delivered al right, just they don't know where.

No answering calls /emails.

Not a happy customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭stronglikebull

That 'safe delivery location' is quite possibly a wheely bin outside the house. That's a really terrible service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭Bredabe

We get deliveries from them all the time, never had any problems,
    another poster mentioned that they are all independent contractors and causes different levels of service.

The guy here is excellent and has gone above and beyond to get things delivered or collected.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Bored Accountant

Bredabe wrote: »
    The guy here is excellent and has gone above and beyond to get things delivered or collected.

My wife does a lot of shopping online and most of the deliveries are by them. One of the first deliveries, she was at work when he came, so he dropped it to the local shop, we moved house a year ago, and not once has he attempted to deliver to the house. he always just leaves the stuff in the shop. Sometimes, he forgets to send a text or call to say he has dropped stuff in the shop.

Once something I ordered was delivered by them. He just text my wife to say he had dropped it in the shop. There is always a pile of packages behind the counter. I'd say he makes no attempt to deliver stuff and just abandon's as much as possible in the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭5500

Was chatting to a neighbour today, fastway made a delivery but there was no answer so put it in the green bin in the garden. Neighbour arrives in and puts the green bin out for collection without lifting the lid, later that evening happens to check the post box and there's a docket saying to check the bin which is long emptied!

I can see how it's frustrating on both sides, driver trys to do you a favour and make sure you get the package asap, but then the above happens and it's gonna fall back on the driver. If driver gets no answer then there the worst in the world for not leaving next door or somewhere else ect

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

5500 wrote: »
    Was chatting to a neighbour today, fastway made a delivery but there was no answer so put it in the green bin in the garden. Neighbour arrives in and puts the green bin out for collection without lifting the lid, later that evening happens to check the post box and there's a docket saying to check the bin which is long emptied!

I can see how it's frustrating on both sides, driver trys to do you a favour and make sure you get the package asap, but then the above happens and it's gonna fall back on the driver. If driver gets no answer then there the worst in the world for not leaving next door or somewhere else ect

Next door is one thing, but in a bin is the absolute height of stupidity. problem is, driver won't get taken to task about it. Claim goes in to Amazon, Debenhams or whoever, with delivery company in the originating country. The insurance will be claimed, and little or no investigation will mean there will be no follow up at the end where the problems are happening. If the local depot was taking the bills on it, they wouldn't be long sorting it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭plodder

My wife spent over an hour on the phone waiting yesterday. When she got to the top of the queue, they hung up. My daughter did the same for 45 minutes today and the same thing. If you wanted to piss people off, there couldn't be a better way to do it. All the while you are waiting, they are saying how great they are :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭2xj3hplqgsbkym

plodder wrote: »
    My wife spent over an hour on the phone waiting yesterday. When she got to the top of the queue, they hung up. My daughter did the same for 45 minutes today and the same thing. If you wanted to piss people off, there couldn't be a better way to do it. All the while you are waiting, they are saying how great they are :(

Exact same happened me. My husband stove to the depot an turned out my parcel was sitting there damaged for 3 and half weeks but nobody bothered to tell me. Still no reply / apology form Sports Direct or Fastway , most spalling customer service ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭how.gareth

I actually work for one of their rivals but the guy who delivers to us is top class, they are all owner drivers so some obviously take a bit of pride in their work but the staff in the office and warehouse are probably just employed like normal people and don’t particularly care what happens your stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

One fastway driver rang me a while back, asking for directions. At this stage he was only six miles from my house and he said he would be with me shortly. I got the parcel 4 days later. Yes you read correct 6 miles = 4 days.

After he got directions, he then decided that despite me having the correct postal address and eircode, that I wasn't in his area, and that he couldn't possibly cross the Roscommon/Galway border. He never rang back, didn't answer his phone then returned the parcel to Athlone, who sent it to Galway, who eventually delivered it.

I eventually got through to the Galway office who said it was all my fault for using the 100% correct postal address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I have a few things put in the bin by them. Most recently they were delivering a coffee machine and they threw it over the gate at the side of the house. Its a Christmas present, so I haven't been able to test if it still works after its 6 foot drop onto concrete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Shaungoater

Jees my problems with them seem miniscule compared to some. Only problems I have had have consisted of them ringing the bell when the baby is asleep or leaving parcels with neighbour and not telling us. Wouldn't know the neighbours so it could be days again they see us and tell us. Been left in the wheelie bin a few times too, on Tuesday he called and we were there, and he opened the wheelie bin as we opened the door. Oh yesterday's parcel is still in here he says

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

My experience with them until recently has been good... Like others have said, it seems that some individual drivers take some pride in their work.
    But... A couple of weeks ago I ordered an item, a Christmas present for a family member. Despite dispatch notices shortly after I ordered it, there was still no sign of it. The tracking number revealed it had been delivered a week ago!
    Luckily enough after a lot of rigmarole, I got through to one of their couriers this morning, he doesn't cover this area but told me he'd heard the courier for here was leaving stuff in the local shop, 2km from me. Lo and behold, when I checked in at the shop, there it was... In a small mountain of other undelivered packages. Shop staff are as unimpressed as I am.
    I too will check in future which company carries for the shop I'm buying from, and will not order if this shambles of an outfit has any involvement.

Jees my problems with them seem miniscule compared to some. Only problems I have had have consisted of them ringing the bell when the baby is asleep or leaving parcels with neighbour and not telling us. Wouldn't know the neighbours so it could be days again they see us and tell us. Been left in the wheelie bin a few times too, on Tuesday he called and we were there, and he opened the wheelie bin as we opened the door. Oh yesterday's parcel is still in here he says

See, right there, I'd have given the driver a bollicking they'd never forget. Straight on to the depot and tell the manager what the driver is doing. Head office as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

Been left in the wheelie bin a few times too, on Tuesday he called and we were there, and he opened the wheelie bin as we opened the door. Oh yesterday's parcel is still in here he says

I bought a wheelie bin, especially for the courier, left at the back of the house.
    I even wrote "For Parcels" on it for a while until they got used to it. :D

whiterebel wrote: »
    See, right there, I'd have given the driver a bollicking they'd never forget. Straight on to the depot and tell the manager what the driver is doing. Head office as well.

Sadly a waste of time, you'd be very lucky to get anyone to answer the phone at the depot or HQ, not alone give a fiddlers..... that's coming from direct past experience btw.

It's a terrible thing to ever wish a company that employs people closed, but this is one business we would all be better off without !

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I bought a wheelie bin, especially for the courier, left at the back of the house.
    I even wrote "For Parcels" on it for a while until they got used to it. :D

I wish people had more of this sort of forward thinking, especially people who are addicted to online shopping but refuse to be actually in to receive the package and expecting the driver to piss off their neighbors on a daily basis.

Easy enough to make arrangements to accept delivery from a driver when you get notifications by email and text confirming the time of delivery, or within an hour or two... but it's a very different story when dealing with a shower who don't deliver !

On a more general basis, when there's no one there to sign for the delivery, drop off points where they could later be collected might be an alternative if the drivers don't want to leave the item with a neighbour - works fine for An Post, Parcel Motel have nice post boxes all over the Dublin and many other parts of the country, a deal could be done with the convenience stores etc. etc.

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Dustbringer

They left a box outside today, on the already wet ground, in the rain, with an electronic item inside. The worst part is I was home, they just couldn't be bothered knocking and waiting for an answer. So many of them seem to assume if no car is in the drive, every single person living in the house must be out.

The more I find myself looking for information on Fastway couriers, the more negative reports I find....

Only one solution to bring an end to this disgraceful service - boycott them and let everyone know exactly why !

... if people like Littlewoods keep being told they they are losing custom, because they deal with this shower, they'll soon get the message and change to another more reputable service provider.

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Ordered a item on Asos on the 27th paid for fast delivery. It was due to be delivered on the 2nd January.

Been tracking it all week. Nothing came up on the fastway tracker until yesterday. I need this item today to use tomorrow.. look at the update today.. any chance I had of receiving it is completely gone now. Fuming!
    Result for label number: AE********
    Result AE*********

Your parcel should be delivered within 1-2 days after being received into our Fastway Ireland Hub.

04/01/2018

10:16:07
    Hawkes Bay Couriers (Hub)

Unfortunately, your parcel was misdirected when sent from our pickup depot and is not out for delivery with the local courier

05/01/2018

07:13:58
    North East

Your parcel is currently in transit between our 'North East' and 'Wexford' depots.

05/01/2018

07:14:53
    North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Delta1138

So am sitting in the house like I have been all day after getting called by this crowd at 8:30am.

I have had nothing but bad experiences with this crowd at one point I was waiting a week for a package I was told was in the back of the van.

If I'd if known Amazon were starting to use this crowd Id of paid the extra €10 and bought from a brick and mortar store.

Log the complaints to Amazon, Littlewoods Ireland etc. .... tell them you won't buy from them again, unless they stop dealing with this shower.

It's the only way we will ever get better treatment, is if we stand up for ourselves !

Thanks,

G.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Ewan Hoosarmi

A terrible company!

A few weeks ago I ordered an item from the uk. A week later I got a missed call from a number I don't know, so I called it back. It was Fastway telling me my parcel was in a shop 5 km away. Having paid €20 for delivery I was fuming. I contacted the seller and demanded a refund of my delivery cost, as I had to collect the item. I eventually got a refund. Hitting the seller for choosing such a crappy courier is the best approach.

Today I am waiting for a delivery that has been in the courier depot for 2 days now. In future I'm going to do as suggested above: not buy from sellers using Fastway, and telling them why I'm buying elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭martyoo

It's the only way they will listen. The Littlewoods FB page is full of angry customers. Eventually it will cost them more to be working with Fastway and they will change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭wheresmybeaver

Stumbled upon this thread when I unfortunately discovered that "i-parcel" is code for "fastway".

Amazon order from 28th December. Still no sign. The tracking info actually mentions a Fastway hub in New Zealand..

Usually amazon stuff goes via An Post and it's very reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

I never got my parcel from them, I told fastway to return to sender because I had no need for it if it came late. I assume they returned it to asos because they refunded me. Shambles.

A terrible company!

A few weeks ago I ordered an item from the uk. A week later I got a missed call from a number I don't know, so I called it back. It was Fastway telling me my parcel was in a shop 5 km away. Having paid €20 for delivery I was fuming. I contacted the seller and demanded a refund of my delivery cost, as I had to collect the item. I eventually got a refund. Hitting the seller for choosing such a crappy courier is the best approach.

Today I am waiting for a delivery that has been in the courier depot for 2 days now. In future I'm going to do as suggested above: not buy from sellers using Fastway, and telling them why I'm buying elsewhere.
    Just to update this. My item has been in the local Fastway depot since early Thursday morning (11/1/18) Still no sign of it going out for delivery today.

I contacted the seller and he told me that the logistics are being handled in the UK by a company attached to e-bay.

I've started a case with e-bay looking for a full refund. All down to the incompetence of Fastway couriers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

3 days in a row a Nissan Almera arrived onto my street loaded up with deliveries from Fastway. There were Amazon, Asos and Littlewoods that I could see in it. Two guys in casual clothes, with a clipboard and collecting signatures. That is far from professional.

It was a hatchback, parcels stuffed in the boot and backseat and them rummaging through them. Some left on the wet ground soaking in the rain like a sponge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Berty wrote: »
    3 days in a row a Nissan Almera arrived onto my street loaded up with deliveries from Fastway. There were Amazon, Asos and Littlewoods that I could see in it. Two guys in casual clothes, with a clipboard and collecting signatures. That is far from professional.

It was a hatchback, parcels stuffed in the boot and backseat and them rummaging through them. Some left on the wet ground soaking in the rain like a sponge.

An Post do the exact same, only difference is Fastway store them in a lads gaff and An Post store them in the DU.

Just to update this. My item has been in the local Fastway depot since early Thursday morning (11/1/18) Still no sign of it going out for delivery today.

I contacted the seller and he told me that the logistics are being handled in the UK by a company attached to e-bay.

I've started a case with e-bay looking for a full refund. All down to the incompetence of Fastway couriers.
    Further update... I cancelled the order and got a refund. I then e-mailed Fastway to inform them that they should return the item, if they can find it.
    Fastway have today marked the consignment as delivered and signed for on 11/1/18. :eek: Needless to say no delivery has been made at any time.

I have taken screenshots of the falsification of the tracking information. Is there any point in following up on this?
    www.fastway.ie

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Anyone who's living in a rural location, if you get a delivery confirmation but no delivery, it just might be worthwhile checking in local shops.
    I posted here a while back that I discovered my "delivered" item had actually been left by the Fastway courier in the local Spar a few km away... Since then I've found a worrying number of posts on discussion forums/rating websites from people in exactly the same situation. My item was amongst a pile of other parcels he'd just just dumped there.
    Outrageous carry on. But might be worth checking out, particularly if you have received a notice that your items have been delivered. They very well may have been... Just not to you!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

I ordered a few items from Amazon recently to my parents address and I assumed they would be delivered by An Post, shipping was free so I opted not to use Parcel Wizard and the NI address.

Anyway I was abroad for a few days and remembered to track the items and I saw they were delivered three days earlier so I rang my parents and they told me they had received no parcel or otherwise. Any the following day my father got the two parcels in a local shop several kilometres away and i-Parcel are obviously contracting out to Fastway who dumped the parcels there without ever contacting me. I had several hundred euro worth of stuff sitting around that shop for almost four days because of Fastway.

I got the stuff but it was my mere coincidence, Fastway are some shower of chancers, I wouldn't have minded if the driver had taken 30 seconds to ring me and say is it ok to let the parcel into the shop and I'd have agreed as at least known it was there and would have arranged to collect it shortly after.