Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Deer Calibre

• 16-12-2017 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

This may have been asked already but in your opinions what would ye consider the best caliber for deer stalking on this island

I have owned and hunted deer among other large game, with three of the Calibres you are discussing, Ive owned a .243 howa, a 6.5x55 tikka super varmint , and I currently own a .308 tikka CTR, so here goes! The .243 works very effectively to around 350m it does a fair bit of damage if the shot placement is bad , but I know of no calibre that won’t if the shot is bad, my suggestion shoot targets at mixed ranges and get confident instead of just zeroing and guessing the hold over or telephone number if u have dialable turrets.
    Now that common sense is out of the way, on to ballistics and general real world performance, the 6.5x55 I owned was boringly accurate and I spent plenty of time testing it at mixed ranges , it killed everything I shot at without fail, that being said after 300-400m the drop is very large however it will manage the wind very well at even longer ranges if you are well practiced with it , downside is ; consistent availability of ammo in Ireland the availability of the same ammo all the time for the 6.5 plus the expense of the ammo gets tiresome, which Brings me to the calibre I currently run, the .308 , I have done a lot of work with this calibre and I find it to be the best all rounder for both short to medium range as well as very long range as long as you put the work in , that being said I have fired larger calibres and found them extremely accurate but either unrealistic to move around with or expensive to run , I tend to stay away from the more unusual calibres ie 6.5 creedmore/ 7mm etc purely based on expenses and availability of ammo ( pending reloading becoming legal) ;) , so for all these reasons the .308 is the no brainer , it will do everything at all ranges and can be used internationally too , plus walk into any gun shop in the world and your likely to find the ammo u zeroed with months before the season started, anywho hope I didn’t ramble on too much ! And hope this helps ,

Ps: the other calibre mentioned here as one of the best is the 25-06, food for thought; a friend of mine is running a 25-06 for two seasons and has had one or two runners at the closer ranges as if the round is doin a pinprick job on them because of how fast it moves , on the other hand he has dropped a good few at the longer ranges and it was lights out, however he is changing it after this season. So not sold on that one either , jury still out on that one.

Anywho
    keep yer powder dryðŸ‘

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I've split this into it's own new thread as the old one is ten years old and some of the participants are no longer with us.

Old thread for reference sake.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 deer243

I am currently considering buying a howa .243 second hand. i have never owned a centre fire before but i have my deer licence as of today. Was the howa 1500 in 243 a good gun? im unsure due to the fast twist rate and the lack of detatchable magazine. was the gun still accurate with light fast rounds? the one my local gunshop has in stock is a 1-8 twist rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

deer243 wrote: »
    I am currently considering buying a howa .243 second hand. i have never owned a centre fire before but i have my deer licence as of today. Was the howa 1500 in 243 a good gun? im unsure due to the fast twist rate and the lack of detatchable magazine. was the gun still accurate with light fast rounds? the one my local gunshop has in stock is a 1-8 twist rate

Theres nothing wrong with a howa it will more than do as a first rifle i bought a marlin x7 in .308 for my first season purely because it was cheap and threaded.
    It doenst matter too much the rifle as the Howa will probably outshoot your capability get used to a centrefire then buy something nicer in a few seasons time i plan to do the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Bob lee

The calibre you are going with is bang on , the .243 has a really flat trajectory and will kill everything you aim at within about 300m as long as you do your Ye part with practice and shoot placement, regarding the howa, yes it is a good place to start with a low price point and good accuracy out of the box and like the other reply suggested , start there and move up to higher quality if you want in a few years, do you mind me asking the price of the gun and is it second hand as there may be some other brands you are overlooking, also if you are not in a rush you could wait till the end of this season , when people are trading up and pick a high quality second hand gun too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭gunny123

I love the .308. Far greater selection of bullet weights, same short action as the .243 (same round bar the bullet diameter) more power, and can be used on deer in countries that forbid the .243, Germany i think. Also with the heavier 180 or 200 gn rounds, you can shoot boar abroad if that interests you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Bob lee

I would suggest a read of the post I put up a month ago, granted it’s a little long winded (blame the head cold), but should provide some clarity as to choice of calibre and why, and yes you can fire the larger weight rounds out of the .308 but only with a 26” barrel due to the burn rates and max velocity gained over the length of the barrel , and for deer stalking anything over a 20” barrel is a little big for dragging through stuff or carrying around, that’s providing you don’t want to add a suppressor, which makes the gun awkward at the best of times , also most countries go off foot lbs of energy at 100m for calibre choice , and for boar shooters I think it’s 2500ft lbs @ 100m is the legal limit.

Bob lee wrote: »
    I would suggest a read of the post I put up a month ago, granted it’s a little long winded (blame the head cold), but should provide some clarity as to choice of calibre and why, and yes you can fire the larger weight rounds out of the .308 but only with a 26” barrel due to the burn rates and max velocity gained over the length of the barrel , and for deer stalking anything over a 20” barrel is a little big for dragging through stuff or carrying around, that’s providing you don’t want to add a suppressor, which makes the gun awkward at the best of times , also most countries go off foot lbs of energy at 100m for calibre choice , and for boar shooters I think it’s 2500ft lbs @ 100m is the legal limit.

In Germany, its 6.5mm minimum calibre for deer above the size of roe, and 2,000 joules minimum at 100 meters.

Sounds like a vote for the .30-06 so !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

I have said before
    All the deer calibres will kill deer, end of story..........
    I would suggest do as I did. Go into your local and a few more gun dealers and see which is the most stocked calibre on the shelve and go with that one. It's as good as any to make a choice on.

Then go pick the best rifle you can afford, CZ, Tikka, Sako you won't go won't with any of those makes of firearm. IMO.
    And then put a mid priced scope on top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭270WIN

clivej wrote: »
    I have said before
    All the deer calibres will kill deer, end of story..........
    I would suggest do as I did. Go into your local and a few more gun dealers and see which is the most stocked calibre on the shelve and go with that one. It's as good as any to make a choice on.

Then go pick the best rifle you can afford, CZ, Tikka, Sako you won't go won't with any of those makes of firearm. IMO.
    And then put a mid priced scope on top.

Best advice you will get...for irish deer any legal calibre will do...bullet choice and placement is everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

Plenty of deer were taken with a .22-250 its about shot placement you dont need a 308 to shoot a fallow like the post above any deer legal caliber will work
    W.D.M Bell swore by the .220 swift for shooting red stags........

The 5.6x57 was a .22 actually designed to shoot deer. The bullets, of around 75 grains were proper controlled expansion projectiles, not fast expanding varmint types.

Personally i prefer large slow moving bullets, to light fast ones, they do less damage to the carcass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Tommyaya4

Best advice y got was any legal caliber will kill deer no problem I started with s savage axis in 243 hawke sidewinder scope and a tec mod for around 1000 Euro practice at the range and have no problem as said unless your interested in traveling abroad which 90% of lads couldn’t afford to do go to your local dealer find a clean gun in your price range practice and most lads trade up after a few years anyways guns are addictive toys for big boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Mark.223

30.06 is an unreal calibre, but its were ya put it that counts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 deer243

Bob lee wrote: »
    The calibre you are going with is bang on , the .243 has a really flat trajectory and will kill everything you aim at within about 300m as long as you do your Ye part with practice and shoot placement, regarding the howa, yes it is a good place to start with a low price point and good accuracy out of the box and like the other reply suggested , start there and move up to higher quality if you want in a few years, do you mind me asking the price of the gun and is it second hand as there may be some other brands you are overlooking, also if you are not in a rush you could wait till the end of this season , when people are trading up and pick a high quality second hand gun too
    Im getting the howa 1500 in .243 and a Schmidt and bender 8x56 mounted and all for €950. The rifle is threaded. I thought it sounded decent, the scope should be ok in low light which was most important imo, might leave a bit wanting when foxing tho with the lower magnification but it'll more than do the job. Dya reckon that's a good deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Damoeire33

deer243 wrote: »
    Im getting the howa 1500 in .243 and a Schmidt and bender 8x56 mounted and all for €950. The rifle is threaded. I thought it sounded decent, the scope should be ok in low light which was most important imo, might leave a bit wanting when foxing tho with the lower magnification but it'll more than do the job. Dya reckon that's a good deal?

Depends on how much its been shot before and how well its been looked after.

8 x 56 will do the job just fine, plenty of mag for foxes at distance