Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D Act One Scene IV - In the shadow of Sanderjarn

• 08-12-2017 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭

Citra sails across the skies, passed the Krasten forests. Ekbard can make out the smoke from the houses in Clayton below.

Passing that, they reach the Blight Mountains. Terrible peaks, high and covered with permafrost, they average a height of six miles. BandyLegs knows that terrible creatures inhabit the slopes.

Clearer than anything else is Sanderjarn itself. Not a natural formation, but thrown up during the magic wars of old, Sanderjarn stretches 16 miles into the sky. About its top a permanent magic storm, an open gate to some plane beyond. The peak itself rises into the gate and so the top of the mountain is not even in our world.

Just before Citra begins to descend, Ekbard spots the Wrecklands beyond the mountains. Unless his eyes deceive him, rocks float about the land in mid air, in places he sees rocks "uncollide" and fix themselves back together. Pockets where time flows backward.

In the distance he spots a tower, sheer pure sky blue in colour and at least a mile high. A river of colour traces a helical path up and down the tower.

Citra then dives, fast enough to make Elin throw up, but not enough to throw anybody off.

She lands near the Northern base of Sanderjarn, where a massive stone gate is built into the mountain.

The entry to the kingdom of the dwarves.

A standing guard unit outside the gate approach Citra. The commander spots BandyLegs.

"Thank ye lady dragon for returning wounded kin.

Lad, yer clan?"

oBEKJc.jpg

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Bandylegs is busy untying himself from the harness.

Bandylegs of Clan McGillicuddy. I come to replace me legs! They had an unfortunate end in a Thurmonton dungeon.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

greeting Dwarves, can anyone reccomend a good weapons shop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Necrominus wrote: »
    Bandylegs is busy untying himself from the harness.

Bandylegs of Clan McGillicuddy. I come to replace me legs! They had an unfortunate end in a Thurmonton dungeon.'
    "McGillicuddy?"

A dwarf behind him opens a massive ledger.

"Tunnel 406, 2nd shaft"

The first dwarf turns back "A rich boy eh? Wanted to get even richer. Ye should stay in the tunnels. We're born in the tunnels and die in the tunnels.

Come on, we'll take ye to the Limbsmiths".

He signals and the gates open.

There is a flash and Citra returns to human form.

"I'll be back for my cut of the gem. The expensive one the warrior holds. Good luck to you all."

She walks out into the snow.

Tigger wrote: »
    greeting Dwarves, can anyone reccomend a good weapons shop?
    The dwaves all begin to laugh.

"Aye look he's so small. Now I know why humans look at us funny. It's far from the hills and moors laddy. I ne'er even seen one o' ye before. Lovely wee lad.

The main chamber will have all ye need."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

Xanthea turns to the group:

"That, ladies and gentlemen, is why you never mess about with a dragon - especially not one as powerful as Citra. See to it that she does get her share of that gem."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Ekbard encourages Menace to descend of the huge golden dragon and get back to terra firma. When they reach the ground the horse becomes less nervous.
    Ekbard thanks the mighty Citra for the transportation, "Thank you oh wondrous Citra, that was exhilarating, can we go again?"

sKeith wrote: »
    Ekbard thanks the mighty Citra for the transportation, "Thank you oh wondrous Citra, that was exhilarating, can we go again?"
    Before she vanishes into the snow she says "You'll get the chance again soon enough"

Xanthea turns to the group:

"That, ladies and gentlemen, is why you never mess about with a dragon - especially not one as powerful as Citra. See to it that she does get her share of that gem."
    The dwarves stare at Xanthea.

"Are ye from beyond the deserts lady?" says the leader of the guard group.

Fourier wrote: »

"I'll be back for my cut of the gem. The expensive one the warrior holds. Good luck to you all."

"Bandylegs,

Tell me again what Citras cut of this gem is, and does she want that in a slice of the gem or in coin from its sale?"

Ekbard looks around, "now where did he get to., ah well, i'll figure it out"

Ekbard mumbles numbers to himself, "one half of eleven, minus two, and she'll not be needen it where she's at, eight, so half of eight is four, no, that's not right, chop it in two so eight chopped in two is sixteen. one 16 for citra, 1 sixteen for bandy and 2 sixteen for all else."

The dwarves stare at Xanthea.

"Are ye from beyond the deserts lady?" says the leader of the guard group.

Indeed I am from beyond Zazzan, and my family in olden days were known friends of the Dwarves, though I believe it was my grandfather was the last of my kin to set foot in this magnificent city.

Edbard takes a swig from his water skin.

goodie parks up his horse and makes nfo the main cavern, he lookas aroud for a high end weapons shop

Ekbard goes of in search of a merchant.

Central Chamber
    The main chamber is a massive cavern fitting a small city

njMNS1.jpg

Construction work is ongoing in several places and blimp ships float through the air. A river of lava passes through the city with twelve bridges over it.

Plenty of dwarves the party passes have clockwork arms and legs, replacements from mining accidents.

A modest temple to Vergadain occupies a square in the centre. Or so it seems to humans. Though small enough in size and not decorated, BandyLegs is brought to near tears with the quality of the stone and the song they make together, the hum of lime and the choir of various granites in perfect harmony.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

"Bandylegs,

Tell me again what Citras cut of this gem is, and does she want that in a slice of the gem or in coin from its sale?"

Ekbard looks around, "now where did he get to., ah well, i'll figure it out"

Ekbard mumbles numbers to himself, "one half of eleven, minus two, and she'll not be needen it where she's at, eight, so half of eight is four, no, that's not right, chop it in two so eight chopped in two is sixteen. one 16 for citra, 1 sixteen for bandy and 2 sixteen for all else."

Bandylegs nods.

'Aye, half me share.'

He walks close to Ekbard.

'I'd be avoiding tellin' anyone how ye came across that in this city, and what ye did to... acquire it. Dwarven clans are always in arguments, but one thing that unites us is a human like yerself actin' like ye did. I'll not breathe a word, ye can count on me.'

He then approaches Elin.

'Be careful in the city, missie. I'd be keeping me hands to meself if I was ye. Dwarven customs tend to remove limbs of any thievin' within the walls.... or worse.'

He then regards Moy and Xanthea.

'I know ye be of differen' faith, and dwarves are accustomed to travellers, but if ye get too preachy, th'elders will not approve. I've heard of tribunals fer mouthy clerics or warriors in the past.'

He regards the group.

'Now, if ye'll excuse me, I must see to me legs. I'll meet ye at the inn, the guards will give ye directions. Guard, see to it they have appropriate bedding an' food, and stable the horses. I'll fix up with ye when I'm back on me feet.'

Bandylegs calls out to Goodie before leaving the group.

'Ye'll find the best o'weapons in the town, that's fer sure. But be careful lad, the dwarven merchants charge a high price for the finest o'wares.'

"Fear not Master Dwarf. I am not one of the religious kind, though I respect those who are. Your kin will have no quarrel with me.

Now, while it seems odd to ask for a master craftsman in a city of master craftsmen, if I were to want my weapons rehoned, who would I be best to speak to? Also, where can a famished woman get good steak and good ale?"

"Fear not Master Dwarf. I am not one of the religious kind, though I respect those who are. Your kin will have no quarrel with me.

Now, while it seems odd to ask for a master craftsman in a city of master craftsmen, if I were to want my weapons rehoned, who would I be best to speak to? Also, where can a famished woman get good steak and good ale?"

Bandy turns again.

'As I said lass, ask the guard, he'll give ye the directions. Don't worry abou' coin, yer in a dwarven land now, Bandylegs is a good host.'

He then whispers to Xanthea:

'Plus, they'll charge me half the price as opposed to ye...foreigners. City tax an' all.'

"Very good. I wish you well with the healer/engineer/bionicist. There shall be a gallon of ale waiting for you when you are ready"

Xanthea turns to the guard:

"Master guard, same question to you!"

Bandylegs nods.

'I'd be avoiding tellin' anyone how ye came across that in this city, and what ye did to... acquire it. Dwarven clans are always in arguments, but one thing that unites us is a human like yerself actin' like ye did. I'll not breathe a word, ye can count on me.'

"So, dwarf folk do be worshippin' Soet and would be offended that I stole the jewel from him. You dwarf are strange folks!"

Bandylegs harrumphs.

'Dwarf folk worship all types of creeds, everyone knows that. The means ye went about to get the gem though laddie... how ye coulda *whispers* saved me instead... that won't go down well if it is known. Just say ye prised it from over a canyon of a million spikes. Dwarves also love a good story, even when half the details be lies.'

Bandylegs harrumphs.

'Dwarf folk worship all types of creeds, everyone knows that. The means ye went about to get the gem though laddie... how ye coulda *whispers* saved me instead... that won't go down well if it is known. Just say ye prised it from over a canyon of a million spikes. Dwarves also love a good story, even when half the details be lies.'

"I'm not saying lies, dwarf. Now I sees you didn't care fur Betty at all, I'm getting how you dwarfs work. "

Bandylegs sighs.

'O'course I cared fer Betty lad. But yer in a dwarven city, the locals wouldn't take too kindly to hearin' how ye left one of their own to die fer a sparkly gem. Be careful is all I'm sayin'. Ye have no quarrel with me, but I cannae speak fer others of me kin if they learn how I lost me legs, and how ye could have prevented it.'

Bandylegs turns without another word to the group.

'Take me to get me legs fixed, thankee!'

"Get out of town dwarf, how could I stop you from cutting your legs off, when even a god monster couldn't stop you. It seems when you have your mind set on something to do, theres nuffin' no body cans do to stops yers."

Again the dwarf stops short (OOC: hehe)

'Ye didn't cut off me legs lad, but ye could have pulled me from the clutches of the slime god. I'm not angry with ye, not sure I could have forgiven ye if ye had left Betty to her fate either. It was a terrible choice, only a madman could have imagined we'd be thrust into the situation. Just... be careful what ye tell people, that's all I'm tryin' to say to ye. Go and eat and drink yer fill at the inn, tis on me.'

Bandylegs then lets the dwarves lead him and Shadowflame off to the limbsmiths.

Ekbard thinks that bandy must be delirious from the pain. He chuckles to himself, "what am I, a story teller or a fighter? If the dwarfs want a storyteller I'll send them bandys way!"

Ekbard gets directions to the stables, and races Menace at full pace to the stables. When there he gets of the cart and talks to the beast. "I know Menace, we didn't get to fun you very far at all, I expected you'd be racing for days to make it here, but that big gold dragon lady had other things in mind. I promise to take you for a proper good run soon enough, now, here, eat some feed and be happy."

He takes water skin from the cart and fills it up.
    He also takes the 950GP worth of treasure from the cart.

He instructs the stable looker afterer to take good care of Menace.

OOC: encumbrance 3 (+1 bandmail +1 for treasure +1 for 9 items.)

Goodie wanders around the central cavern till he finds a weaponsmith,
    Goodie enters the smithy

Ekbard finds a merchant shop, he goes in and asks the merchant to appraise his priceless pearl.

OOC: gotta figure out which object Citra was talking about.

Ekbard trys to sell 950GP worth of treasure to the merchant.

OOC: Is this is not how its supposed to be done, tell me and i'll edit. I'm expecting the merchant to give me a price he is willing to buy it for. if others had gone before me i'd have better idea.

As Bandylegs heads down the tunnel, he peers down at the guard leading the way.

'Tell me laddie, I'm not familiar with Sanderjarn. Anything of note a dwarf such as mesel' should be interested in? For the right amount o'coin, Bandylegs will do any job... once I get meself sorted out, o'course. I'll be stopping by Vergedain's temple once I get me legs back, I daren't approach such a wondrous temple in me current state.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,732 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

He then approaches Elin.

'Be careful in the city, missie. I'd be keeping me hands to meself if I was ye. Dwarven customs tend to remove limbs of any thievin' within the walls.... or worse.'

Elin nods, "well my hands are my livelihood so consider the warning heeded. But I do hope the rest of your kind aren't oathbreakers like yourself."
    She tosses her hair and heads towards the stables to get Horsey settled.

[OOC: probably no point in me asking for a person who would sell enchanted thieves tools here then? Lol. I do have a nice topaz to sell though.]

OOC: I'm sure there's a black market for that kind of stuff even in dwarven cities... no idea how to find them though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

OOC: Every village, town and city has it's gritty underbelly. A sharpeyed thief would soon enough spot a pickpocket working the crowds.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

"Guard, be there a temple district in this fine city? Or where might a man go to see the faiths the city has to offer?"

Wherever that is, that's where I go, taking Sol at a trot. Gonna spend the evening looking at the fine religious dwarven architecture and speaking with religious leaders and militants.

One of the guards turns to Xanthea

"Ale, any of the local taverns. Try Doukrorlig's though, it is of the highest quality.

As for the best, how much are you willing to spend. The city's best is out of your league lass."

One of the guards turns to Xanthea

"Ale, any of the local taverns. Try Doukrorlig's though, it is of the highest quality.

As for the best, how much are you willing to spend. The city's best is out of your league lass."

Sounds like good advice on the ale. And for the weaponsmith, if I am acting on the instructions of Dwarf Master McGillicudy, who should I be speaking to?

OOC: Citra was talking about the jewel you got from the slime.
    Ekbard finds a merchant shop, he goes in and asks the merchant to appraise his priceless pearl.
    "That's near perfectly polished lad, good work. Not dwarven of course, but what is. I'll give ya a clean 500GP for it."
    Ekbard trys to sell 950GP worth of treasure to the merchant.
    "Nice, nice....here you go laddy." The dwarf hands over 950GP.

"That's near perfectly polished lad, good work. Not dwarven of course, but what is. I'll give ya a clean 500GP for it."

Deal.

Ekbard asks the merchant to appraise his priceless jewel.

Tigger wrote: »
    Goodie wanders around the central cavern till he finds a weaponsmith,
    Goodie enters the smithy
    "Morning young man, are ye lost" says the smithy with a smile on his face.

His wife turns.

"Aye, he's an adorable one. Hold on" she fetches something from the kitchen "Here's a biscuit little laddie"

As Bandylegs heads down the tunnel, he peers down at the guard leading the way.

'Tell me laddie, I'm not familiar with Sanderjarn. Anything of note a dwarf such as mesel' should be interested in? For the right amount o'coin, Bandylegs will do any job... once I get meself sorted out, o'course. I'll be stopping by Vergedain's temple once I get me legs back, I daren't approach such a wondrous temple in me current state.'
    "You're not from Sanderjarn? Odd, yer family has a house here. Where did ye grow up?"

He leans in.

"In addition, I was given this." He holds up a seal of the temple of Vergadain. "The Masters told us to bring them the next dwarf who comes to the city gates."

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    Elin nods, "well my hands are my livelihood so consider the warning heeded. But I do hope the rest of your kind aren't oathbreakers like yourself."
    She tosses her hair and heads towards the stables to get Horsey settled.

[OOC: probably no point in me asking for a person who would sell enchanted thieves tools here then? Lol. I do have a nice topaz to sell though.]
    OOC: Roll on Charisma

"Guard, be there a temple district in this fine city? Or where might a man go to see the faiths the city has to offer?"

Wherever that is, that's where I go, taking Sol at a trot. Gonna spend the evening looking at the fine religious dwarven architecture and speaking with religious leaders and militants.
    "No temple district lad. There's three gods here. Vergadain, Dumathoin and the Earth 'erself. The first two ye can only enter the temples if yer a dwarf. The last ye can worship by mining."

He brings Moy to a digging site in the middle o' the city.

"Human wants to worship, let 'em"

One of the workmen tosses Moy a pickaxe.

Sounds like good advice on the ale. And for the weaponsmith, if I am acting on the instructions of Dwarf Master McGillicudy, who should I be speaking to?
    "Durivoc, he's a smith of the second highest rank and married to a McGillicuddy. Beautiful woman aye, she doesn't shave her beard like the modern girls, proper classy woman."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

OOC: Roll on Charisma

Ooc : I love and hate it in equal measure when he says something like that apropos of almost nothing... :)

Deal.

Ekbard asks the merchant to appraise his priceless jewel.
    The merchant's jaw drops. "Where in the bloody name of Vergadain did ye get this?"

Xanthea sets off to the weaponsmith...

The merchant's jaw drops. "Where in the bloody name of Vergadain did ye get this?"

"Ah look lad, I'm no story teller, the dwarf in my party is the story teller, I'll make sure he comes in and gives you a proper recounting of its linage, if you give me a fair appraisal."

OOC: I’m in bed, so I’ll deal with the weaponsmith tomorrow

"Ah look lad, I'm no story teller, the dwarf in my party is the story teller, I'll make sure he comes in and gives you a proper recounting of its linage, if you give me a fair appraisal."
    "Aye no problem." He motions his son over and says something to him in dwarfish. The son leaves the shop.

"Now let's take a good look at this..."