Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Be a shepard, not a sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Sheep1978

Mon 24/12: 5.2m easy before a few days off for xmas

Sat 29/12: 7m incl the local parkrun

Mon 31/12: 11.6 @ 7.42. last run of 2018. Ran with a friend down to the phoenix park and back through Porterstown.

Dec Total: 121.1m
    2018 Total: 1105m approx

Weds 02/01: 7m total. 5m tempo @ approx. 6.45. Tough going after the last weeks food and drink consumption.

Thurs 03/01: 5.3m. 6*400 off 1 min rec with the splits 88secs,89,87,86,88,85.

Fri 04/01: 9.1m @ 7.53. Usual run to work along the canal - fairly tired from the offset on this one.

Sat 05/01: 8m total incl the local parkrun . Took the first 2/3 of the PR easy and opened the legs a bit for the last mile.

Sun 06/01 : 6.5m @ 7.14. Good finish to the week

WTD: 47.5m
    MTD: 35.9m
    YTD : 35.9m

Mon 07/01: Tried to do some of the S&C stuff from the classes before xmas. bit more awkward at home but go something done. Need to be doing that at lease twice a week I think

Tues 08/01: 9m total. 14*400 off 200recs down at the club. Most of the reps between 85 and 90 secs.

Weds 09/01: 9.1m @ 7.38. Usual run to work along the canal.

Thurs 10/01: 6.5m total. Was supposed to be a 20 min tempo run but I got sucked in to running way too fast. Watch clocked 3.5m @ 5.45/mile which I'm not sure is completely accurate but was way too fast regardless. I'll ease off on these if I can going forward

Fri 11/01: 4m easy @ 8.29.

Sat 12/01: 8.1m total. 3rd club session of the week, this time down in porterstown. It was a 1min to 5min to 1min interval pyramid with recoveries the same as the intervals. Very enjoyable session

Sun 13/01 : 13.1m @ 7.51. Run down the phoenix park and back with some of the local Blanchardstown lads and ladies.

WTD: 49.8m
    MTD: 85.7m
    YTD : 85.7m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Tell me to fcuk off & mind my own business, but you’re running way to many of your so called ‘easy’ runs way to fast. Your putting in some decent sessions lately but you need to slow the easy runs down. Most are sub 8 min miles, which is a bit quick.

I done the same thing myself & suffered a bad injury as a result, hate to see the same happen to yourself. Just my opinion.

OOnegative wrote: »
    Tell me to fcuk off & mind my own business, but you’re running way to many of your so called ‘easy’ runs way to fast. Your putting in some decent sessions lately but you need to slow the easy runs down. Most are sub 8 min miles, which is a bit quick.

I done the same thing myself & suffered a bad injury as a result, hate to see the same happen to yourself. Just my opinion.

Not at all. More advice I can get the better. Yes I'm terrible at paces. Particularly the Wed morning run into work. Its all mainly downhill into town and I find I hard to keep the pace slower

Mon 14/01: 3.9m easy @ 8.34. Easy recovery run after the previous days long run

Tues 15/01: 10.5m total. 16*400 off 200recs down at the club. All of the reps between 85 and 90 secs.

Weds 16/01: 9.1m @ 7.58. Usual run to work along the canal.

Thurs 17/01: 7.2m total. Included a 20 min tempo run down at the club. Bloody cold out there!!!!

Fri 18/01: Does a few miles around in circles on the ice rink count.???

Sat 19/01: 8.9m total. Couple of warm up miles and then did 5 approx. 250m sprints up the hill on porterstown bridge. Maybe 2 min rec between each. Down to the local parkrun then for some more easy miles.

Sun 20/01 : 16m @ 8.00. Nice run around the area with the local Blanchardstown lads and ladies. Pretty consistent level pacing and found it fine.

WTD: 55.6m
    MTD: 141.3m
    YTD : 141.3m

Raheny 5m this coming week which I'm looking forward to having a bash at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Great week again. Can't wait to see what result the bash brings!

Mon 21/01: 3.9m easy @ 8.23. Easy recovery run after the 16m the previous day

Tues 22/01: 10.1m total. 18*400 off 200recs down at the club. All of the reps between 85 and 90 secs (with the last at 80) Coach said anyone doing Raheny to just do 12 reps. Dopey here ignored it and done the 18. Thick as sh*te at times!!!

Weds 23/01: 4.7m @ 8.31. Nice easy miles at lunch following the Tues session.

Thurs 24/01: 2.8m @ 10.30. Got home from work having felt brutal all day and vomited for a bit. Had arranged to meet some friends for an easy half hour so still went. Felt better during the running but once I stopped, vomited again. Stupid bugs!! Felt better on the Friday but was 'smelly' (apologies) if you know what I mean. Stomach fixing itself up

Sat 26/01: 2.8m @ 8.10. Couple miles just to loosen out for Raheny.

Sun 27/01 : RACE DAY. Nice 3.7m warm up on a cold day with a couple of friends and then we lined up pretty close to the front. Felt like we were there for ages but eventually we were off.
    Mile 1 - Was undecided all week what kind of pace to go off at as never raced a 5m before. Decided to go for it with 6min pace and see what happens. Messy at the start as was expected with lots of jostling for a bit of position. Big bottleneck early enough as some had drove up one side of the road forcing everyone to the other side. Didn't see it but heard one girl had a nasty fall. Hopefully shes ok. Pace was tough and I was already thinking it would be difficult to maintain for 5m. Watch beeped at 6.01 for the mile.
    Mile 2 - Congestion eased a bit and was able to get into some sort of rhythm. 6.01 again
    Mile 3 - think there was a bit of downhill here but the effort needed to maintain the pace was certainly on the increase. Still passing some, but being passed out by others at the same time. 5.57
    Mile 4 - Into the park here and think I mentally threw away the sub-30 attempt on the stretch up the hairpin. Pace definitely dropped and I remember thinking 'you won't get 30 so ease off and get under 31, won't hurt as much'. pretty weak!!!! 6.10 for the mile
    Mile 5 - Once I turned on the hairpin I felt a little better. as we neared the finish I managed to lift the pace a little. turned the final corner to see 29.xx still on the clock. full effort to get there but alas not to be. Forgot to stop the watch immediately but think final mile was about 5.59. Chip time in at 30.08. didn't quite make the 30 but very happy with the time. Disappointed with the mindgames played with myself in mile 4 but I'll be back next year.

Got shafted on the goody bag by all accounts haha. Hardly any of the stuff in mine everyone else seemed to get. Ah well - post race pints in the cock and bull made up for it. On to trim next week.

WTD: 33m
    MTD: 174.3m
    YTD : 174.3m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Brilliant D! To do that after a bug which you so eloquently described is amazing. :pac:

Best of luck in Trim. I'll stop going on about it now but I'm certain that the consistent and quality training you are doing will take you to levels you never thought possible.

Cheers S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

What a brilliant race. Very well done again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Nice one on the result! That was a big session the week of a race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭ariana`

Did i read that right, 18 x 400m :eek: And a tummy bug! You're fairly hardcore fair play t'ya, that was some running!

ariana` wrote: »
    Did i read that right, 18 x 400m :eek: And a tummy bug! You're fairly hardcore fair play t'ya, that was some running!

will be 20 tomorrow but I'll be a good boy this week and do what the coach says:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Class effort Darren brilliant time. Good luck in Trim at the weekend. Putting those lads in work under pressure......something else for me to abuse Ken about now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭coogy

Sheep1978 wrote: »
    Mon 21/01: 3.9m easy @ 8.23. Easy recovery run after the 16m the previous day

Tues 22/01: 10.1m total. 18*400 off 200recs down at the club. All of the reps between 85 and 90 secs (with the last at 80) Coach said anyone doing Raheny to just do 12 reps. Dopey here ignored it and done the 18. Thick as sh*te at times!!!

Weds 23/01: 4.7m @ 8.31. Nice easy miles at lunch following the Tues session.

Thurs 24/01: 2.8m @ 10.30. Got home from work having felt brutal all day and vomited for a bit. Had arranged to meet some friends for an easy half hour so still went. Felt better during the running but once I stopped, vomited again. Stupid bugs!! Felt better on the Friday but was 'smelly' (apologies) if you know what I mean. Stomach fixing itself up

Sat 26/01: 2.8m @ 8.10. Couple miles just to loosen out for Raheny.

Sun 27/01 : RACE DAY. Nice 3.7m warm up on a cold day with a couple of friends and then we lined up pretty close to the front. Felt like we were there for ages but eventually we were off.
    Mile 1 - Was undecided all week what kind of pace to go off at as never raced a 5m before. Decided to go for it with 6min pace and see what happens. Messy at the start as was expected with lots of jostling for a bit of position. Big bottleneck early enough as some had drove up one side of the road forcing everyone to the other side. Didn't see it but heard one girl had a nasty fall. Hopefully shes ok. Pace was tough and I was already thinking it would be difficult to maintain for 5m. Watch beeped at 6.01 for the mile.
    Mile 2 - Congestion eased a bit and was able to get into some sort of rhythm. 6.01 again
    Mile 3 - think there was a bit of downhill here but the effort needed to maintain the pace was certainly on the increase. Still passing some, but being passed out by others at the same time. 5.57
    Mile 4 - Into the park here and think I mentally threw away the sub-30 attempt on the stretch up the hairpin. Pace definitely dropped and I remember thinking 'you won't get 30 so ease off and get under 31, won't hurt as much'. pretty weak!!!! 6.10 for the mile
    Mile 5 - Once I turned on the hairpin I felt a little better. as we neared the finish I managed to lift the pace a little. turned the final corner to see 29.xx still on the clock. full effort to get there but alas not to be. Forgot to stop the watch immediately but think final mile was about 5.59. Chip time in at 30.08. didn't quite make the 30 but very happy with the time. Disappointed with the mindgames played with myself in mile 4 but I'll be back next year.

Got shafted on the goody bag by all accounts haha. Hardly any of the stuff in mine everyone else seemed to get. Ah well - post race pints in the cock and bull made up for it. On to trim next week.

WTD: 33m
    MTD: 174.3m
    YTD : 174.3m

Great report and fantastic running!!

Class effort Darren brilliant time. Good luck in Trim at the weekend. Putting those lads in work under pressure......something else for me to abuse Ken about now!

ah he can never get enough abuse C!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Baby75

Well done great race :) good luck in trim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

That's a great time, congrats on that.

I've looked back on ALL of my 5m races and Mile 4 is always the slowest - last year at Raheny I had a 6.08 mile 4 - nearly 20 secs slower than my fastest mile.

So this year, one of my focuses was to run a good mile 4 - to get under 6 min/miles - I knew that somehow, I'd hang on in the last mile.
    As it turned out, this years mile 4 was 5.56 and only a 10 sec difference.
    I was boll!xed by mile 5 but I hung in, any kind of a sprint finish gains you a good few seconds - don't underestimate it.

Focus on mile 4 and sub 30 is there.

btw - did I say hello to you at the end? (I was in green MSB vest)

Cheers A, definitely something to focus on and on Sunday, I think if I thought / realised I would still get that close to 30, I might have been able to keep the pace up in mile 4. But (weakly) I convinced myself I wouldn't; get it anyway. Mad how much can through your head in just the space of a few seconds.

No I don't think it was me at the end. As far as I can recall I only spoke to a few of the Dunboyne lads immediately after. I'll keep an eye out for you this week!!!

Mon 28/01: 5m rec @ 8.50. Easy recovery run after Raheny

Tues 29/01: 8.1m total. 12*400 off 200recs down at the club. All of the reps between 85 and 90 secs. Full session was 20reps but with Raheny just gone and Trim on the coming Sun, I stopped after 12

Weds 30/01: 5m @ 8.15. Nice miles down Clontarf strand at lunch.

Thurs 31/01: 5.3m. 2m warm up followed by 2m at approx. 6.50 and a cool down.

Total for Jan: 197.7m

Sat 02/02: Having realised Fri evening I left the garmin in work, I left the house early to go get it only for the access card to the office not to work. Bad start to the weekend. Flew back to Hartstown, just getting there in time for the parkrun start and did it in 24.08. slightly faster than planned but no watch to reel me back in on the pace.

Sun 03/02 : RACE DAY. Made my way down to Trim with the wife and youngest daughter. Chilly day but not as cold as the few days previous. Ran up from parking at the OPW and bumped into some Dunboyne lads and the elusive AMK who I finally got round to meeting. And Dub13 from these parts also.
    Mile 1 to 4 - Had planned going at 6.30 pace to see where it took me. Combination of the tailwind, the crowd and what felt downhill, these were all a little faster - 6.17,6.22, 6.15, 6.20.

Mile 5-9 - Turned left at around the start of mile 5 and could definatley feel the wind in the face a bit. Had been running on the tail of a group of about 10 up to here, including two other dunboyne lads I don't know yet. They seemed to ease away from me for a few miles as my pace dropped. Another left at start of mile 7 roughly and wind felt very strong. Was isolated on my own at this stage and was feeling it big time. wasn't continuously uphill but it felt like it. Towards the latter part of these miles, I passed 2 lads and then I could see 2 dunboyne lads (1 of them from the previous group that got away) starting to come back to me. 6.27, 6.23, 6.32, 6.34, 6.25

Mile 10 - being the last mile and having someone to aim for in front, helped me keep up the pace here. On the home stretch. Caught the first of the dunboyne lads with maybe 500m left and he was urging me on to kick on and catch the next clubmate who I knew. Caught up to him with about 200m out and just managed to edge a metre or two ahead by the finish line. Those two little mini races at the end were great to get you over the line. Final mile in 6.15 for a chip time of 1.03.53. Delighted with that, particularly the last mile. Had only done one 10m and time was pretty soft but a pb of 6mins 9secs!! The little one was pretty cold and bored by the time I finished so dodn;t make it back for the post race refreshments but well done to Trim AC on a great race and set up, in my opinion.

WTD: 40.1m
    MTD: 16.7m
    YTD : 214.4m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Nice one - good to meet you.

The wind was a bugger, but mile 9&10 are good miles - well done on the PB - the pace for the last mile was one of your fastest - that bodes very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Baby75

Well done, great finish I love when you can push on in the last mile to finish strong :)

Another class weekend for you Daz! Nice step back week planned for this week? And don't mind those lads giving you grief on Strava for only doing 12 reps last Tuesday!

ah i've thick skin Craig, I'll be grand:P

Will see how the legs feel over the next couple of days and take it from there.

Mon 04/02: 6.1m rec @ 8.45. Easy recovery run after Trim

Tues 05/02: 7.5m total. 20 min tempo at the club with w/u and c/d

Thurs 07/02: 7.9m. 3*1mile reps at 6min per mile with a full recovery between. Had felt fairly sore and tired on the Wednesday and didn't feel great during the warm up. was tempted to cancel the session and head home but decided to see it out. Wouldn't have minded doing another rep.

Sat 09/02: 12.5m @ 8.20. Was heading to Liverpool for the day got up early and out with a couple of lads. Nice run down to the park through Castleknock and back up through carpenterstown.

Had planned to run on the Sunday but a hangover from hell put paid to Sunday morning. Was only 4 days running this week. Had planned an easier week after two weeks racing but didn't think I'd have 3 days off. Kick on again this coming week hopefully.

WTD: 34m
    MTD: 50.7m
    YTD : 248.4m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭coogy

Mon 04/02: 6.1m rec @ 8.45. Easy recovery run after Trim

Tues 05/02: 7.5m total. 20 min tempo at the club with w/u and c/d

Thurs 07/02: 7.9m. 3*1mile reps at 6min per mile with a full recovery between. Had felt fairly sore and tired on the Wednesday and didn't feel great during the warm up. was tempted to cancel the session and head home but decided to see it out. Wouldn't have minded doing another rep.

Sat 09/02: 12.5m @ 8.20. Was heading to Liverpool for the day got up early and out with a couple of lads. Nice run down to the park through Castleknock and back up through carpenterstown.

Had planned to run on the Sunday but a hangover from hell put paid to Sunday morning. Was only 4 days running this week. Had planned an easier week after two weeks racing but didn't think I'd have 3 days off. Kick on again this coming week hopefully.

WTD: 34m
    MTD: 50.7m
    YTD : 248.4m

Anfield trip?

coogy wrote: »
    Anfield trip?

Indeed

No harm in having a down week Daz you have been hitting it hard ( and not in the Liverpool trip sesnse) for the past few weeks.

Cheers Craig, hopefully kick on for a few weeks up to Bohermeen

Another PB no doubt; signed up for that aswell so hopefully see you there.

Cheers Craig, hopefully kick on for a few weeks up to Bohermeen