Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do we pronounce 'film' wrong?

• 06-11-2017 12:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭

I was in Philadelphia a couple of years ago when a South American lady, with Spanish as her native tongue, blew my mind and embarrassed me over the pronounciation of an English word. About four of us, including two English blokes, were sat around a table in our hostel shooting the sh*t when she took exception to a word I used. For whatever reason, I'd used the word 'film' and all hell broke loose.

I pronounced it with an imaginery U in between the last two letters, making it 'filum', and I still do pronounce it this way. She found it hilarious and was having none of it. "No, I don't think so, Nicole," I said. "Sorry but you're wrong here. Go back to Lima and bring your pisco with you." She called in the two huns for backup and they agreed with her immediately. "Yeah, it's definitely 'film'."

It's worth mentioning that the two lads were straight, and that Nicole was flirting with them for most of the night. Had I looked under the table I probably would've seen her playing footsie with both of their knobs through their jeans. They would've agreed with anything she said, so we can't count on their testimony, but they're right, aren't they?

This was quite a long time ago, but I remembered it tonight when watching a YouTube video of 'How Americans react to Father Ted' or something and they also highlighted Bishop Brennan and Ted Crilly's pronounciation of 'filum'.

There's absolutely no reason to lash a U in there, so why do we? Or is it just me, Len and Ted?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

I don't put a "u" in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

It's only the boggers and the poor who do this. We urban elites learn to enunciate in finishing school.

Also, you should say "were sitting", not "were sat".

Also, I have had Americans take exception to using the word "film" for a movie at all. Film is what you load into a camera, apparently, not how one refers to a motion picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

Zillah wrote: »
    It's only the boggers and the poor who do this. We urban elites learn to enunciate in finishing school.

Also, you should say "were sitting", not "were sat".

Also, I have had Americans take exception to using the word "film" for a movie at all. Film is what you load into a camera, apparently, not how one refers to a motion picture.

No Irish people say we’re sat. That’s English.

Film is also British English so screw the yanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

It's only the boggers and the poor who do this.

I'm neither.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Probably an Irish thing. I wouldn't worry about. If we all talked exactly the same the world would be a very boring place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

People from different countries pronounce different words differently. It's not a big deal. People who slag others about how they pronounce something are dicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It's some linguistic hangover from Gaelic - inserting a vowel sound between two consonants in pronunciation. Any ethno- linguistic experts out there? An epenthetic schwa - isn't it called something like that? Not everyone pronounces it that way, a lot do, but not everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I was in Philadelphia a couple of years ago when a South American lady, with Spanish as her native tongue, blew my mind and embarrassed me over the pronounciation of an English word. About four of us, including two English blokes, were sat around a table in our hostel shooting the sh*t when she took exception to a word I used. For whatever reason, I'd used the word 'film' and all hell broke loose.

I pronounced it with an imaginery U in between the last two letters, making it 'filum', and I still do pronounce it this way. She found it hilarious and was having none of it. "No, I don't think so, Nicole," I said. "Sorry but you're wrong here. Go back to Lima and bring your pisco with you." She called in the two huns for backup and they agreed with her immediately. "Yeah, it's definitely 'film'."

It's worth mentioning that the two lads were straight, and that Nicole was flirting with them for most of the night. Had I looked under the table I probably would've seen her playing footsie with both of their knobs through their jeans. They would've agreed with anything she said, so we can't count on their testimony, but they're right, aren't they?

This was quite a long time ago, but I remembered it tonight when watching a YouTube video of 'How Americans react to Father Ted' or something and they also highlighted Bishop Brennan and Ted Crilly's pronounciation of 'filum'.

There's absolutely no reason to lash a U in there, so why do we? Or is it just me, Len and Ted?

It's because you're a bogger. Do you say millons or millions?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

The best thing about english imo is the large variety of accents and how you can really play around with the language and have fun with it, and it's still intelligible, even if some nobs will say it doesn't sound intelligent. It also makes english a great language for non native speakers because you barely have to try at all and you still can have conversations. Its really a blessing that there is no true authority for the language

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Should've kicked Nicole in her pedantic flaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Lougarden

I find it hard to drop the um sound even with jollyphonics/phonetical way of sounding out. Colm comes out as Collum too without really slowing it down.

Edit: millions is fine..i struggle like op with lm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

The best thing about english imo is the large variety of accents and how you can really play around with the language

papergc,441x415,w,ffffff.2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

The best thing about english imo is the large variety of accents and how you can really play around with the language and have fun with it, and it's still intelligible, even if some nobs will say it doesn't sound intelligent. It also makes english a great language for non native speakers because you barely have to try at all and you still can have conversations. Its really a blessing that there is no true authority for the language

i like to mess around in the games fora with how badly incan spell and thing and people still understandnme

Lougarden wrote: »
    I find it hard to drop the um sound even with jollyphonics/phonetical way of sounding out. Colm comes out as Collum too without really slowing it down.

Edit: millions is fine..i struggle like op with lm

Ah here don't tell me not everyone pronounces Colm like 'Collum'. That would be mindblowing on a whole other scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Shame on you.

Allowing two feckin' dirty Sasanachs a window to try to get up on the sexy chica when you should have already been demolishing one of those cheap bunk-beds with her

I hope that your parents are proud!

dresden8 wrote: »

I'm from Dublin. It's millions.

Jaysus.

A lot of Dubliners think we can pronounce things better than the country. Most of this city crucifies the language.

Most of us can see the lack of a vowel between the "l" and "m" of filum.

Doh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭shoegal1

them Americans are always correcting my pronunciation of Tuesday. It's feckin Chewsday not Twosday! ha. I do tend to say filum instead of movie aswell :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Filum is up there with chimley, package a crips, wather and turty tree and a turd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Sangwhich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

pictures not film
    film is too American

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

/ˈfɪləm/ (with epenthetic vowel) is the correct pronunciation, favoured by persons of culture and erudition.

/fɪlm/ is a barbarity! The preserve of ill-bred, uncouth wretches. Their slovenly speech is to be disdained rather than emulated.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Arghus wrote: »
    It's some linguistic hangover from Gaelic - inserting a vowel sound between two consonants in pronunciation. Any ethno- linguistic experts out there? An epenthetic schwa - isn't it called something like that? Not everyone pronounces it that way, a lot do, but not everyone.

There's that and the lack of a dark L in Hiberno-English. The English pronunciation uses close to a W sound before the M.

'Film' in Dutch has a schwa before the M. OP, get some Hollanders to back you up next time and mess with their heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think you need to find a new friend. People who laugh in people's faces about how you pronounce a word are generally twats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Twas a marrrrrrvelllous fiilum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I've always pronounced it as "film".

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

sod that, I'm going to the pictures. Or a magic lantern show.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Does Nicole not realise that South America have butchered the Spanish language ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

The language as handed down from God to Moses on stone tablets?:D

There never was a standard English. Never.

You had an Old English Saxon thing and some Danish floating around. This situation was replaced outright in the court with Norman French. Then you had a complete bastard that never once stood still. And maybe never will.

There is no orthodoxy. Every part of the world that has adopted English as a spoken tongue does it their way and is entitled to. Ireland is no different.

If someone wants to make a fillum about millons of youngflas looking to play senor hurling - good luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

/ˈfɪləm/ (with epenthetic vowel) is the correct pronunciation, favoured by persons of culture and erudition.

/fɪlm/ is a barbarity! The preserve of ill-bred, uncouth wretches. Their slovenly speech is to be disdained rather than emulated.

Yea, what he said. (I think:D)

The most beautiful woman I have ever laid eyes on was a Mexican, studying English in Paris of all places. I met her on Paddys day in an Irish bar, she tapped me on the shoulder and said in perfect BBC English
    "Pardon me, are you Irish?"
    "I am" Slightly slurred
    "Well firstly, I feel I must apologise in advance for the lamentable state of my spoken English, I'm merely a student of the language you see........"

It was like being in a Pathe News reel but with an impossibly beautiful Mexican woman. That was about 15 years ago and I can still picture her, I think she must have been an angel or something, humans just don't come in that level of gorgeousness.

Anyway I digress, it's fil-em as far as i'm concerned. Fil-um is culchie, fil-m is ponsy. Fil-em is where it's at. :cool:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

The most beautiful woman I have ever laid eyes on was a Mexican, studying English in Paris of all places. I met her on Paddys day in an Irish bar, she tapped me on the shoulder and said in perfect BBC English
    "I am" Slightly slurred
    "Well firstly, I feel I must apologise in advance for the lamentable state of my spoken English, I'm merely a student of the language you see........"

It was like being in a Pathe News reel but with an impossibly beautiful Mexican woman. That was about 15 years ago and I can still picture her, I think she must have been an angel or something, humans just don't come in that level of gorgeousness.

Anyway I digress, it's fil-em as far as i'm concerned. Fil-um is culchie, fil-m is ponsy. Fil-em is where it's at. :cool:

I think I speak for everyone here when I ask 'but did ya raddle her?'

".

Jaysus, I've just realised something blindingly obvious which has evaded my understanding all these years.

Motion - move, motion picture - movie. :eek::eek:

Now I know how Archimedes felt - I need to sit down and digest this for a bit:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I have never any Irish person pronounce it 'millons'.

I think I speak for everyone here when I ask 'but did ya raddle her?'

Unfortunately it was not to be.

Turns out our lovely Mexican angel had a thing for Irishmen, I did ask my girlfriend if we could bring her back to our hotel with us, but the answer was far from the enthusiastic yes I was hoping for.

Bitch, I'd have said yes if she asked me!:D

Still stings 15 years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Filum is up there with chimley, package a crips, wather and turty tree and a turd.

Or if you're from the Deise- Waaather, as in Waaatherford. I do it myself :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Blame Colm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Why did it take you a couple of years to ask boards about it? Has it really been troubling you for that long that you've only now had the courage to speak out about it?

topper75 wrote: »
    The language as handed down from God to Moses on stone tablets?:D

There never was a standard English. Never.

You had an Old English Saxon thing and some Danish floating around. This situation was replaced outright in the court with Norman French. Then you had a complete bastard that never once stood still. And maybe never will.

There is no orthodoxy. Every part of the world that has adopted English as a spoken tongue does it their way and is entitled to. Ireland is no different.

If someone wants to make a fillum about millons of youngflas looking to play senor hurling - good luck to them.

Bit of a rant considering I was just defending the country cousins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Another word constantly butchered is "fabaliss"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭shaunr68

Similar mispronunciations over in the UK too, I worked with someone in Sheffield who would say "firty free and a fird". She was an intelligent person but it wound me up that she didn't make more of an effort not to sound like a half-wit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

"I am" Slightly slurred

That reminds me of hearing stories of American Jews who go to Israel and get laughed out of it by bus drivers and shopkeepers because they try to communicate in biblical Hebrew that sounds equivalent to Shakespeare landing into Spar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

There's no harem in saying filum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I was in Philadelphia a couple of years ago when a South American lady, with Spanish as her native tongue, blew my mind and embarrassed me over the pronounciation of an English word.

It's pronunciation.
    There's absolutely no reason to lash a U in there

Indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

I think I say fil-im, which is close enough to your version. Anyone else clinging to the fil-im/fil-em raft?

I was challenged by an American in a furniture shop recently. "Y'all can't be Irish. You're pronouncing 'three' with a 'h'!" We'd been doing some measurements on a table ("Thirty three cm wide", etc.) and the American fella nearby had been confused by our variety of pronunciations. He's going to be a lot more confused the more he travels around Ireland with the way accents change dramatically in short distances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 brickland

The sound filum is or vilum is very common as gaeilge. ...An bhfuilimid ag dul abhaile? etc

Another much like the missing h in 3 or 30 which will probably never be corrected as long as Irish is taught in schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

I put an i in. Filim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Bit of a rant considering I was just defending the country cousins.

Sorry - don't want to be ranting at you or anyone. Just wanted to make a general point on the back of your 'the language', reading it as THE language. The Dubs' and country cousins' efforts are all valid, as valid as anyone else in the globe.

Reading back on what I wrote anyway, it probably isn't entirely true to say there is no orthodoxy. An accepted grammar was probably settled on in Victorian times. However there is massive diversity in England itself before we even get on to our Hiberno-English. Lowland Scots is as pure a form of English as any, in that it was brought by Germanic tribes over a millennium ago. In fact it retains many Germanic and Scandinavian features lost to other English dialects.

kenmc wrote: »
    Why did it take you a couple of years to ask boards about it? Has it really been troubling you for that long that you've only now had the courage to speak out about it?

The answer lies in the OP my friend.