Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Theresa May to honour Irish republican Countess Markievicz

• 28-10-2017 10:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭

Well she actually wants to honour the first woman elected to the house of commons, which happens to be Markievicz. Thatcher wpuld be spinning in her grave.

I wonder does she know who she's paying tribute too.

http://www.thejournal.ie/countess-markievicz-3665661-Oct2017/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Who remembers this tool giving it large about the Countess and thought she was a bloke. The conviction in voice when making the statement makes it all the better. Embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I bet May secretly wishes she had the small arms skills of the Countess.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

How long till Mary is here posting her usual story?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Think it should be ignored. She didn't take her seat and was a traitor to the crown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Think it should be ignored. She didn't take her seat and was a traitor to the crown.

Thanks to people like her we're not in the sinking ship that is Brexit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,207 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The unfortunate and tragic thing about the British is that they always realise when it's too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Omackeral wrote: »
    Who remembers this tool giving it large about the Countess and thought she was a bloke. The conviction in voice when making the statement makes it all the better. Embarrassing.

:D:D:D

In fairness their parliament their gig.
    Let them off, see where it lands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,899 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

elperello wrote: »
    Boris Johnson would be a hard target to miss.

And then she'd have a clear shot at the little turd Gove who'd be hiding behind him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Good traditional Irish Name too.

She was of the Calremorris clan of Markievicz's.

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    Good traditional Irish Name too.

She was of the Calremorris clan of Markievicz's.

Irishness isn't confined to a religion or name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Omackeral wrote: »

Future SF TD right there. Far better looking than Mary Lou as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Read a story last year about her murdering a police man at point blank range in St Stephens Green .....

I don't have the details to hand, but she sounds like she was a very confused, crazed and violent woman.

Wait till the lads in the Met find out that the crowd they are protecting are honouring someone who was running around with a gang who used unarmed coppers for target practice.

footnote: she may even have bagged one herself but reports are contradictory.

LordSutch wrote: »
    Read a story last year about her murdering a police man at point blank range in St Stephens Green .....

I don't have the details to hand, but she sounds like she was a very confused, crazed and violent woman.

And this was during a rebellion? Mad altogether Ted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Ya....ignore history which deosnt suit yous?seems a grownup way of approaching life's problems

I'm somewhat suprised the dup are agreeing to this though??
    Maybe we've under estimated the DUP and they aren't the caractiture of bigoted morans they like to display themselves as??

Full credit to em,don't see the relevance of this to ireland other than being an interesting footnote though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

It's not called murder when you're at war.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Most likely made up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,736 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Time for a general election.

The confidence and supply arrangements won't last long when the DUP get wind of this.

stimpson wrote: »

Six dead coppers shot dead while unarmed and laid out in the City Morgue might have disagreed with you.

Patww79 wrote: »
    As if you don't have every detail memorised, you live for this stuff.

There are several options for the type of post that could be

- Countess Markievizc kills police man (same post several times)
    - British isles name
    -Orange order parades are good.
    -how dare you attack the orange order
    -How dare you say that I like the orange order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

She didn't take her seat and was a traitor to the crown.

Indeed, a good loyal Irish warrior woman.

Lads, it’s getting very near poppy season. I’ve been running a book on which of you bhoys will be the first to start a thread. Especially now that corner boy McLean is in the headlines.

RustyNut wrote: »

......... Enough about Mary Lou.

timthumbni wrote: »
    Lads, it’s getting very near poppy season. I’ve been running a book on which of you bhoys will be the first to start a thread. Especially now that corner boy McLean is in the headlines.

I'll give odds of 1/1 that you and lord Orange will be every second post in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

What?????

She set up a position in Stephens Green surrounded on all sides by high buildings......in that regard she is exactly like May......she established a poor position, pushed it, got isolated, then had to engage in a fighting retreat to more defensible but strategically unimportant ground!

......oh, and the copper she is reputed to have shot was unarmed.

And admirable person in many regards, but when it came to military nouse any admiration one might have for her would be better directed elsewhere.

Problem was nobody knew there was a war on, least of all the poor old Dublin policeman who was trying to usher the Fenians out of the park, they argued with him, he demanded that they leave, so she shot him - dead!

...anyway, their was no war on in the Dublin of 1916. Yes the on/off Republican anarchist Rebellion was kind of happening that Easter (much to the public's annoyance), but there was no war, apart from the main event raging on the continent (where most of the Irish soldiers were that week).

I thought the Gaelic spelling would go down like Pamela Anderson in a swimsuit with you.............

Ah come on, Cromwell cut off a kings ahead and they gave him a statue.......politics aside, her election, even if she didn't take her seat, was still a watershed moment in the shared history of both countries. It deserves recognition.

Six dead coppers shot dead while unarmed and laid out in the City Morgue might have disagreed with you.

I think the British army prefer to call them Extrajudicial Killings.

Problem was nobody knew there was a war on, least of all the poor old Dublin policeman who was trying to usher the Fenians out of the park, they argued with him, he demanded that they leave, so she shot him - dead!

...anyway, their was no war on in the Dublin of 1916. Yes the on/off Republican anarchist Rebellion was kind of happening that Easter (much to the public's annoyance), but there was no war, apart from the main event raging on the continent (where most of the Irish soldiers were that week).

No seriously, this really happened during an armed rebellion?

Those soldiers on the continent weren't Irish, just the butchers pawns.

What, all fifty thousand of them!

Charming.

Butcher/Butchers??????..........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

RustyNut wrote: »
    She didn't take her seat and was a traitor to the crown.

Should have been  hanged for her crimes against Irish policemen.

But she wasn't and instead she'll be honoured by the British government xxox

Regretible, but I'm sure it was a tactical necessity.

You realise that shortly after 1916 it was generally recognised that shooting the leaders was considered to be a grave strategic error. You get the prize for being the slowest learner yet as regards Irish history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

steddyeddy wrote: »
    And this was during a rebellion? Mad altogether Ted.

Yeh. It was. And I’m no unionist but the RIC were Irish lads, and this guy was unarmed. That said there’s not substantial evidence that she did it.

Regretible, but I'm sure it was a tactical necessity.

Eh?

The officer reputed to have been shot by Markievicz was Clare-man Michael Lahiff. He was unarmed. And, according to one witness account, was shot as he walked down from Harcourt Street......

.....given you are so sure it was necessary, what in your opinion made it so?

....what possible threat did a single, unarmed Clare-man offer to an armed group?

Jawgap wrote: »
    Eh?

The officer reputed to have been shot by Markievicz was Clare-man Michael Lahiff. He was unarmed. And, according to one witness account, was shot as he walked down from Harcourt Street......

.....given you are so sure it was necessary, what in your opinion made it so?

....what possible threat did a single, unarmed Clare-man offer to an armed group?

Called some armed men? Do you think he would have ignored it?

In 1916?

How do you think he'd have managed that and just how long would they have taken to arrive.....and if there was such a cadre of armed men available how come it took the authorities and the Brits so long to organise a response to any of the occupied sites around the city?

.....never mind that Malin's command numbered over 100 and was well on its way to digging in - you really think a single unarmed police officer could have whistled up 300 armed men (assuming the usual ratio of 3:1 was required to dislodge an entrenched adversary?)

Also the nature of his injuries - one bullet passed through both lungs and his left arm - suggests more a bushwhacking than a confrontation (as some accounts suggest there was).....sounds like she had the jump on him but was unwilling to take him prisoner.....since she ran back to the rest of the garrison shouting trimuphantly (in the words of one witness) "I got him" before accpeting the congratualtions of others.

Although at that point its unclear if she knew whether she left Lahiff for dead, or thought she had just wounded him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

How can you shoot dead a dead copper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Irishness isn't confined to a religion or name.

You don't say.....

Considering we have a Taoiseach with the surname Varadkar and all......

I'm reminded of this clip

Zebra3 wrote: »
    How can you shoot dead a dead copper?

Apologies I plead guilty to one count of tautology.

There are still six dead guys under the sheets who were shot while unarmed.