So this Hurricane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭server down

I asked this yesterday,

but,

Is it now time to crack each other's heads open and feast on the goo inside?

Never too early for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Which was called Hurricane Debbie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

What do you think a hurricane is exactly?

Let's not feed the [deleted]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

I have no problem with schools closing (though it must be a right pain for many parents who now have to make last-minute panic arrangements to get time off or organise minders etc).

Social welfare offices? Colleges?...complete piss take

Why though? How will it affect You? I agree it must be a pain, I'm lucky as herself is in the door in the morning as I leave so no extra childcare but jaysus begrudging people who don't have to go in, why bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I lived through 5 winters in Finland. We are a hilarious lot here.

It's not just an Irish overreaction. The hurricane is being tracked and is travelling 35mph and will hit land about 6am tomorrow. It is projected to go from South West to North East.
    It might lose some power but it's not going to be as soft as the 'storm' we had some afternoon 3 weeks ago. You and everyone you know are going to die tomorrow..horribly. Might as well be with your family when your children are sucked up into the sky, rather than being on here tomorrow night saying that lazybones 32 was right. You stupid fcuker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

drumroll........

there are over 3 thousand active users on the weather forum at the moment, that has to be a record surely ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Stop being so pedantic. This from someone thinking he's not being dramatic.

It's not just rain and wind. This is hurricane force winds, as never experienced here before. If you can cast your mind back to the deaths from previous lesser storms, and the destruction caused, you might cut the nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

Patww79 wrote: »

Really - I am killing your hurricane buzz so much that you wish me harm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

murpho999 wrote: »
    It's a hurricane not just wind and rain.

Why are so many Irish people under-estimating this?

Its a storm ffs

Ex hurricane ophelia by the time it passes over Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

fryup wrote: »
    drumroll........

there are over 3 thousand active users on the weather forum at the moment, that has to be a record surely ??

I pity those mods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭mosstin

drumroll........

I genuinely wouldn't worry about this. Every household was given tablets by the State back in 2002. They were to be taken in case of a hurricane. Weren't they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

Excuse my ignorance but does a storm like this build up slowly or start violently very quickly?..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Be grand, sure fuckit like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

A strength of wind that brings mass destruction that is rarely seen in Ireland.

1962 was the last one.

11 people were killed then.

I thought it was 61'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

And if some dies from a fallen tree or tile are we still taking the piss? I'm glad the schools are off. I'm in tomorrow too unfortunately. When I was a child a tree fell in a storm not 500 hundred metres from my house killing the mother and two kids in a car. I didn't know them, they were passing through, but hey we're taking the piss.
    One day of bills won't kill you

AH was supposed to be all about piss taking, if you want a serious discussion go to the weather or politics forums.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 152 ✭✭Karangue

drumroll........

What percentage are knocking one off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

I'm working for the hse; unfortunately haven't been given the day off. Have to drive to work in the morning, hope it's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭lightspeed

I remember Debbie too.......

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/hurricane-ophelia-rages-towards-ireland-met-eireann-warns-it-could-be-as-bad-as-debbie-which-killed-15-and-broke-weather-records-36227943.html

So you remember that it killed 15 people and reached speeds of 183km/hour?

Your completely aware that Met eireann have advised that this could be just as bad or worse and your still stupid enough to drive in that weather?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

T shirt, shorts and flip flop weather tomorrow.

Awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,675 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Bus Eireann cancels all services nationwide until 2pm tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

T shirt, shorts and flip flop weather tomorrow.

Awesome

Can't wait to try out my new drone, lots of folk looking out windows, naked hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

RTE playing a blinding with their phone notifications - Bus Eireann have cancelled all services tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭heroics

McCrack wrote: »
    Its a storm ffs

Ex hurricane ophelia by the time it passes over Ireland

It’s still a hurricane at the moment. Also it will still have hurricane force winds when it makes landfall

http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/text/refresh/MIATCPAT2+shtml/150840.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

But, as you see, it's a beautiful day, businesses are open and people are having a wonderful time. This is the Celtic Tiger mark 2.

jaswst.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭server down

But nothing compared to strong winds plus rain for a whole day tomorrow!!

Did you survive loads of hurricanes in Finland though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

Because we moan about the weather so much that we actually think our usual wind and rain is as bad as it gets.

In for a shocker tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

Patww79 wrote: »

You seem to really resent me saying its only a storm. It's going to be very windy and there will be heavy rain. Like in a storm - because that's what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

I'm working for the hse; unfortunately haven't been given the day off. Have to drive to work in the morning, hope it's ok.

Yip, I'm fine with it.