Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Called a Homophobic

• 28-09-2017 8:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭

I was accused of being homophobic today just because I cannot stand to be in the company of one very very camp individual, really this person is completely over the top.
    I disagreed and said camp doesn't equal gay and I have no problem with a persons sexuality, but got shot down as homophobic. So am I homophobic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Perhaps call them an annoying bollix instead of anything that could be taken the wrong way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Nah, hatred of a drama-kween does not make one a homophobe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Because you picked out a persons individual trait and decided that was why you didn't like them...no...it doesn't make you homophobic....it does make you a judgemental twit though

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

"I hear you're a (gay) racist now Father"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

The gays: A grand bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

I can't stand drama queens (male & female). Very annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

You should ride him to prove you are not a homophobe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

Perhaps call them an annoying bollix instead of anything that could be taken the wrong way.

Oh I did, I said I can't stand him cause he's so loud and needs to be the centre of attention, I never said because he's camp, but I think describing someone as very camp here explains their personality. That's when I was accused of be homophobic.

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Because you picked out a persons individual trait and decided that was why you didn't like them...no...it doesn't make you homophobic....it does make you a judgemental twit though

So there is no one you dislike because of the way they act? I have to like everyone or else I'm a twit??
    Not following your logic at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Often the homophobes like yourself turn out to be gay themselves.
    Just saying' like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Homophobia, racism, fascism: these are in the eye of the beholder. If someone says you are - you must be. No proof required. No defending yourself either...it'll prove your guilt.

We haven't had a witch hunt in a few days, so i'm hoping you will be this weeks sacrificial lamb. Homophobe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Actual footage of the incident.

Thanks for reminding why I never watched the savage eye, that clip is brutality unfunny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Snotty wrote: »
    I was accused of being homophobic today just because I cannot stand to be in the company of one very very camp individual, really this person is completely over the top.
    I disagreed and said camp doesn't equal gay and I have no problem with a persons sexuality, but got shot down as homophobic. So am I homophobic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭stimpson

I like my beer cold, my TV loud, and my homosexuals FLAMING!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

Thanks for reminding why I never watched the savage eye, that clip is brutality unfunny.

I find it hilarious each to their own and all that jazz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

Nah you're not homophobic.

You just think Al Porter is sh1t.

Like the rest of us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

Snotty wrote:

It really is, and yet it turns up from time to time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Hi snotty, as an older gay male I have to agree with you, the youngays today have to be camper than the other drives me mad, most of it put on sometimes not (some lads gay/straight are camp), homophobe is thrown around like racist these days. Just let it slide off of ya ya'll be grand, there's always a f**king eejit in the group you'll have to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

People are solipsistic.

When someone tries to insult you, often the insult comes through that solipsism a lad often has: so what can I say that will hurt this person as much as possible? Because I am solipsistic, I'll project what would hurt me onto the other person.

If someone makes the association of camp and being a homosexual in their mind on you and thats the key part, then perhaps there's a little bit of insecurity there about the whole proclivity towards riding lads or wans of the same chromosome setup as yourself.

Maybe you should come into the office wearing spandex and blaring George Michael songs out of the computer.

But yeah, I agree. That big, camp, loud, "make love the law or I'll go to HR" narcissistic drama queen who won't shut the hell up does my head in as well.

Hi snotty, as an older gay male I have to agree with you, the youngays today have to be camper than the other drives me mad, most of it put on sometimes not (some lads gay/straight are camp), homophobe is thrown around like racist these days. Just let it slide off of ya ya'll be grand, there's always a f**king eejit in the group you'll have to listen to.

Oh 100% it's put on, I swear he watched Jerry Springer and seen one of those stereotypical loud black woman guests and though, that's how I'm going to act from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,518 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I know it's too late now, but you shouldn't even have entertained their nonsense or justified yourself to them. I wouldn't even be asking the question because I know myself I have no irrational fear or hatred of people based on their sexual orientation. I can't stand some peoples attitudes and behaviours, but I have perfectly rational reasons as to why that is - because they're simply a head melt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

Erik Shin wrote:

So if a person has 1 specific thing about them we don't like we are not allowed dislike them or it without being judgemental? Cop on.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

Snotty wrote:
    Oh 100% it's put on, I swear he watched Jerry Springer and seen one of those stereotypical loud black woman guests and though, that's how I'm going to act from now on.

Careful or you'll be labeled racist too!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

'I hate how camp he is' implies his sexuality is part of the problem and why you dont like him. If you simply say hes loud and obnoxious I can guarantee people would have no problem with it and see where youre coming from.
    Cuts out any problems with homophobia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

I've never heard anyone call someone else a homophobe/racist/islamaphobe in real life conversation, I thought that was only a thing on the internet.

If a person is gay, black or Muslim, you have to like them no matter how much of an dickhead they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

If a person is gay, black or Muslim, you have to like them no matter how much of an dickhead they are.

You have to put up with them not like them!

wakka12 wrote: »
    'I hate how camp he is' implies his sexuality is part of the problem and why you dont like him. If you simply say hes loud and obnoxious I can guarantee people would have no problem with it and see where youre coming from.

So it's not OK to dislike some for being camp?

Only if you associate being camp with being gay in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

What are you talking about? Being camp has nothing to do with being gay any more than being loud has to do with being heterosexual. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭spoonerhead

I got called homophobic when I told a drama queen to ‘**** off’ before. He was annoying my friends and knocked over my friend bouncing around like a fairy.

I’m gay myself....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

might be he inst even gay

just an attention seeking twat

mynamejeff wrote: »
    might be he inst even gay

just an attention seeking twat

Don't know, he's certainly making it apparent that's he's gay but it wouldn't surprise me if all a big show for attention

Only if you associate being camp with being gay in the first place.

literally everyone associates camp with homosexuality.
    The modern definition means something like exaggerated behaviour, self parodying
    Though the orginins are completely related to homosexuality, hence the modern day connotations
    Old oxford definition
    In 1909, the Oxford English Dictionary gave the first print citation of camp as. ostentatious, exaggerated, affected, theatrical; effeminate or homosexual; pertaining to, characteristic of, homosexuals. So as a noun, 'camp' behaviour, mannerisms, et cetera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Immaculata

You may or may not be homophobic. Being camp as a row of tents is often associated with being gay. So disliking someone for being camp could be misconstrued as being homophobic. If in the situation you decide for some godforsaken reason to express your negative feelings about person A, and you're telling person A you don't like them, or at least telling person B why you don't like person A, then choose your words carefully and say exactly what bugs you, like is person A louder than you? More prone to getting glitter on your stuff? More stylish and interesting? - rather than using the word 'camp'. Or any reasonable person would be justified in thinking you are in fact homophobic. I think it's interesting that you don't like this person for being 'over the top' - like, seriously, is there a level of appearing to be gay that it is acceptable to you? Are gay people in general fine with you as long as you can't tell they're gay? Some questions to ponder while you figure out whether you're homophobic or not...

literally everyone associates camp with homosexuality.
    The modern definition means something like exaggerated behaviour, self parodying
    Though the orginins are completely related to homosexuality, hence the modern day connotations
    Old oxford definition
    In 1909, the Oxford English Dictionary gave the first print citation of camp as. ostentatious, exaggerated, affected, theatrical; effeminate or homosexual; pertaining to, characteristic of, homosexuals. So as a noun, 'camp' behaviour, mannerisms, et cetera.

No literally everyone doesn't make the same same associations between camp behaviour and homosexuality that you think they do, and that's why a minority of gay men adopt an (what they think are effeminate traits) affectation and behaviours that they associate with being gay. That's why such behaviours are a head melt, because they're exaggerated for dramatic effect, f-all to do with being gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭farmerwifelet

I don't particularly care who sleeps with who but I do find over the top "campness" annoying as hell. Why anyone feels the need to announce they are gay by sounding like they are sitting on a tumtak is beyond me. Ditto lesbians who feel the need to look like they fell into a lumberjacks wardrobe or that of a 1950's housewife.

Be who you want, love who you want but attention seeking drama - leave it at the door please.

No literally everyone doesn't make the same same associations between camp behaviour and homosexuality that you think they do, and that's why a minority of gay men adopt an (what they think are effeminate traits) affectation and behaviours that they associate with being gay. That's why such behaviours are a head melt, because they're exaggerated for dramatic effect, f-all to do with being gay.

If a man is camp, the vast majority of people will assume he's gay. Thats why theres an association
    It doesn't mean all gay people are camp
    If you say you hate somebody because theyre camp, and most men who are camp are gay, it can come off as homophobic for that reason

Nearly every camp man Ive met has been gay
    Most gay men I know, are not camp though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

if a camp or drama queen type person walks into a room i walk out,
    wouldn't offend them or judge them, i just don't like them.
    you can like/dislike who you want,
    i personally like Donald Trump for the hilarity he brings to my life,
    but a alot of people don't, that's fine by me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭AustinLostin

You sound like a bit of a drama queen tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

I don't particularly care who sleeps with who but I do find over the top "campness" annoying as hell. Why anyone feels the need to announce they are gay by sounding like they are sitting on a tumtak is beyond me. Ditto lesbians who feel the need to look like they fell into a lumberjacks wardrobe or that of a 1950's housewife.

Be who you want, love who you want but attention seeking drama - leave it at the door please.

Why are the traits we dislike in others always dismissed as 'attention seeking drama ' ?

If a man is camp, the vast majority of people will assume he's gay. Thats why theres an association
    It doesn't mean all gay people are camp
    If you say you hate somebody because theyre camp, and most men who are camp are gay, it can come off as homophobic for that reason

Nearly every camp man Ive met has been gay
    Most gay men I know, are not camp though

Only to those people who make that association in the first place, which is the point of the opening post - just because someone has no time for guys who like to camp it up for attention, doesn't mean they're homophobic. It just means they have no time for guys who like to camp it up for attention.

I don't meet that many camp men tbh, never mind whether I stick around long enough to have them tell me they're gay. I couldn't care less for whether they're gay or straight, I can tell already we're not going to get along :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,203 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Immaculata wrote: »
    You may or may not be homophobic. Being camp as a row of tents is often associated with being gay. So disliking someone for being camp could be misconstrued as being homophobic. If in the situation you decide for some godforsaken reason to express your negative feelings about person A, and you're telling person A you don't like them, or at least telling person B why you don't like person A, then choose your words carefully and say exactly what bugs you, like is person A louder than you? More prone to getting glitter on your stuff? More stylish and interesting? - rather than using the word 'camp'. Or any reasonable person would be justified in thinking you are in fact homophobic. I think it's interesting that you don't like this person for being 'over the top' - like, seriously, is there a level of appearing to be gay that it is acceptable to you? Are gay people in general fine with you as long as you can't tell they're gay? Some questions to ponder while you figure out whether you're homophobic or not...

Interesting that you equate being camp with being more stylish and interesting.

So are you also saying that appearing to be gay = camp ?
    I know quiet a few gay guys who don't act like Larry Grayson.
    I don't think it makes them any less gay.

Why not ponder your own outlook rather than the OPs?

BTW some gay people can be loud obnoxious ar**es just like a lot of straight people can be loud obnoxious ar**es.
    Sexuality doesn't determine personality.

I am not allowed discuss …

Immaculata wrote: »

Sounds like a crock of crap to me...

The girliest of girls would have to work hard to be as feminine/camp as some gay men are. It is affected...put on ... an act. There's nothing wrong in disliking someone for who they are or who they're pretending to be.

...Ditto lesbians who feel the need to look like they fell into a lumberjacks wardrobe or that of a 1950's housewife.

What i don't get is: lesbians like women but some lesbians like women who act as if they are men. Liking butch women seems like wanting a manly woman. Being attracted to male attributes but in a woman- "man light"? Doesn't make sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

What i don't get is: lesbians like women but some lesbians like women who act as if they are men. Liking butch women seems like wanting a manly woman. Being attracted to male attributes but in a woman- "man light"? Doesn't make sense to me.

Why should it make sense to you ?