Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Cork 1-6 Limerick 0-6 HT

Cork 3-15 Limerick 0-7 FT. Brian Hurley goal in the first half and Paul Walsh and Ian Maguire goals just after halftime

• Registered Users Posts: 794 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Amprodude wrote: »
    Come on seriously. Are you happy that Cork haven't delivered an Ireland in over 13 years? Are you seriously worried about that fact? Because if you call yourself a Cork hurling fan then I think you wouldn't accept such a gloomy statistic with Cork hurling. This will be the first decade in our history that Cork will fail to win an All Ireland. I think you are happy to accept the state that hurling is in the county because strictly speaking we are miles behind Tipp Clare Limerick and Waterford and we aren't getting better. You can say I am negative but deep down you know Cork hurling is in crisis mode and we aren't getting close enough to the other counties to say that we are genuine contenders. I can say safely we will be out of the championship before semi final stage in 2019 and that's no job well done by all the yes men who believe Cork hurling is in a safe state of affairs. Yes it's January but soon it will be May and then August and CORK still won't be there in the final.

Take off the blinkers kid.

I couldn't agree with that I don't think yer far off anyone to be honest I actually fancy cork this yr especially with Alan cadogan back ye do have issues in the backs but have the capabilities to do damage up front. I do agree that what meyler has brought in have been tried before and I wouldn't be shaking in my boots if Cronin or walsh was being used with 15 minutes left. Having said all that as a Limerick man I hope all your doom and gloom comes to pass. Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 9,379 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Any idea where/when we can see it, even a synopsis of the main points.

The Cork team to play Clare in the McGrath Cup Final on Saturday at 2pm, has been announced.

1. Chris Kelly (Eire Og)
    2. Sam Ryan (St Finbarrs)
    3. Peter Murphy (Bandon)
    4. Aidan Browne (Newmarket)
    5. Liam O’ Donovan (Clonakilty)
    6. Tomas Clancy (Clonakilty)
    7. Steven Cronin (Nemo Rangers) Captain
    8. James Fitzpatrick (Carbery Rangers)
    9. Ronan O’Toole (Eire Og)
    10. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
    11. Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree)
    12. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
    13. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
    14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
    15. Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarrs)
    16. Mark White (Clonakilty)
    17. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
    18. Nathan Walsh (Douglas)
    19. Conor Dennehy (St Finbarrs)
    20. Tadhg Corkery (Cill Na Martra)
    21. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
    22. Paul Walsh (Kanturk)
    23. Tom Clancy (Fermoy)
    24. Mattie Taylor (Mallow)
    25. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)
    26. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)

• Registered Users Posts: 34,060 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The main objective is not to be beaten by more then 20 points v Kerry

Progress

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭ready4liftoff

The five year plan for Cork football has been announced. Seems good to me, but what about the funding for such a plan? If only my county board in Clare could have the courage of doing one such action plan, to address failings in underage structures in Clare. The general summary of the plan is in the link below.

http://gaacork.ie/news/10047123/2024_A_Five_Year_Plan_for_Cork_Football

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

The five year plan for Cork football has been announced. Seems good to me, but what about the funding for such a plan? If only my county board in Clare could have the courage of doing one such action plan, to address failings in underage structures in Clare. The general summary of the plan is in the link below.

http://gaacork.ie/news/10047123/2024_A_Five_Year_Plan_for_Cork_Football

Cork inter County football is a shame since 2013. They have to do something because with the costs of the new stadium and with the poor standard of football in the county nobody will go to see them come championship. TBH This 5 year plan is a load of b#llock if you ask me. They should keep quiet, act and make it happen or stfu Tracey!

The main objective is not to be beaten by more then 20 points v Kerry

Progress

No good. Don't mind that nonsense! They must beat Kerry or its operation failure.

Cork inter County football is a shame since 2013. They have to do something because with the costs of the new stadium and with the poor standard of football in the county nobody will go to see them come championship. TBH This 5 year plan is a load of b#llock if you ask me. They should keep quiet, act and make it happen or stfu Tracey!

I think there are some reasons to be positive amprodude, that maybe the hierarchy of Cork GAA, may be taking football a lot more seriously than in the past.

There is a new county secretary in the shape of Kevin O'Donovan, who is that forward-thinking innovative type of character that Cork GAA has so desperately been missing for over 40 years now. His predecessor's Frank Murphy's pro-hurling agenda was a huge negative for Cork football. Most of that old crowd are now gone from the executive (not before time).

Hopefully from your own and Cork GAA's point of view, there will be no more interference with crony managerial appointments to suit fellow county board officers. No more blocks on the road to implementing radical reforms to improve standards in Cork hurling and football. And above all else, treat hurling and football equally.

Also I feel that the likes of Conor Counihan, must continue to be utilized by Cork CB, to ensure that he along with Graham Canty and Brian Cuthbert, who was part of the committee looking into Cork football can continue their work and help with Kevin O'Donovan in implementing these much needed reforms to make Cork football more competitive.

Cork GAA fans have seen many false dawns in relation to a "new era" in the way Cork GAA County board conducts its business. There are still major problems that are still looming large over Cork Gaa at the moment, including the obvious concerns regarding the significant overspend in the Pairc Ui Chaoimh project.

However notwithstanding these major issues, I just feel that with the change of county secretary and the fact that the new incumbent has hugely exciting and innovative ideas in how Cork GAA can improve, to re-emerge as this big superpower in both hurling and football again, then Cork GAA fans, who have suffered long enough with empty promises, can start dreaming of a brighter future.

The mess under the previous executive/establishment will take time to clean up. But providing everyone buys into what Kevin is trying to achieve and implement, then Cork GAA will be better for it. Interesting times await on Leeside, over the coming years, that's for sure.

todays Harty Cup 1/4 final results, wins for Midleton and Christians.

De La Salle College Waterford 1-14 Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy 0-14
    CBS Midleton 7-15 Our Ladys Secondary School Templemore 0-19
    Christian Brothers College, Cork 2-14 Nenagh C.B.S 2-12
    John The Baptist Community School 4-28 Thurles C.B.S. 3-31 After extra extra time

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭richiepurgas

todays Harty Cup 1/4 final results, wins for Midleton and Christians.

De La Salle College Waterford 1-14 Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy 0-14
    CBS Midleton 7-15 Our Ladys Secondary School Templemore 0-19
    Christian Brothers College, Cork 2-14 Nenagh C.B.S 2-12
    John The Baptist Community School 4-28 Thurles C.B.S. 3-31 After extra extra time

Extraordinary high scoring games there. Christians seem to be flying again this year.

I think there are some reasons to be positive amprodude, that maybe the hierarchy of Cork GAA, may be taking football a lot more seriously than in the past.

There is a new county secretary in the shape of Kevin O'Donovan, who is that forward-thinking innovative type of character that Cork GAA has so desperately been missing for over 40 years now. His predecessor's Frank Murphy's pro-hurling agenda was a huge negative for Cork football. Most of that old crowd are now gone from the executive (not before time).

Hopefully from your own and Cork GAA's point of view, there will be no more interference with crony managerial appointments to suit fellow county board officers. No more blocks on the road to implementing radical reforms to improve standards in Cork hurling and football. And above all else, treat hurling and football equally.

Also I feel that the likes of Conor Counihan, must continue to be utilized by Cork CB, to ensure that he along with Graham Canty and Brian Cuthbert, who was part of the committee looking into Cork football can continue their work and help with Kevin O'Donovan in implementing these much needed reforms to make Cork football more competitive.

Cork GAA fans have seen many false dawns in relation to a "new era" in the way Cork GAA County board conducts its business. There are still major problems that are still looming large over Cork Gaa at the moment, including the obvious concerns regarding the significant overspend in the Pairc Ui Chaoimh project.

However notwithstanding these major issues, I just feel that with the change of county secretary and the fact that the new incumbent has hugely exciting and innovative ideas in how Cork GAA can improve, to re-emerge as this big superpower in both hurling and football again, then Cork GAA fans, who have suffered long enough with empty promises, can start dreaming of a brighter future.

The mess under the previous executive/establishment will take time to clean up. But providing everyone buys into what Kevin is trying to achieve and implement, then Cork GAA will be better for it. Interesting times await on Leeside, over the coming years, that's for sure.

I agree they have to do something but why go to the media to state it? Why just go about their business without letting all of Ireland know it and make Cork football a more laughing stock than it is at present. Who is accountable if this plan fails?, which it will if you ask me. Cork football will be at the butt of every joke from now on especially when kerry give us a few more hammerings in the coming years. 5 year plan = no year plan when they are spouting it out to the media before anything at all is done. They are a joke and Tracy Kennedy is useless in the role of changing Cork GAA for the good of the county.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

I agree they have to do something but why go to the media to state it? Why just go about their business without letting all of Ireland know it and make Cork football a more laughing stock than it is at present. Who is accountable if this plan fails?, which it will if you ask me. Cork football will be at the butt of every joke from now on especially when kerry give us a few more hammerings in the coming years. 5 year plan = no year plan when they are spouting it out to the media before anything at all is done. They are a joke and Tracy Kennedy is useless in the role of changing Cork GAA for the good of the county.

Plenty of negativity. That will go far.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,379 ✭✭✭Shedite27

This is a fairly common management technique. You tell the whole company (country) know that things are going to change so that the employees (players) feel that management (management) are about to turn over a new plan.

Basically it's not a message to the country (who have probably already forgoton about it), it's a message to every Cork u16, minor, u20 player that Cork is changing and it'sworth sticking with it, going through the hard yards etc. And that the country feel so strongly about it, they're going to stick their reputation on the line in saying it in person.

The alternative is put ina new management team quietly, and those players say "different face, same ****"

Edgware wrote: »
    Plenty of negativity. That will go far.

There will be plenty of negatively until results start coming. That's a normal characteristic for any fan following gaa.

Mc Grath Cup Cork 0-9 Clare 1-9

The first thing that I would do to make Cork football better is get rid of the current senior manager Ronan McCarthy. According to Derrick Lynch from the Clare Champion, Cork played with a double sweeper. Against Clare. I know the word from the rebel county is that they would be more defensive in 2019. But jaysus, this 2 sweeper guff for a county as proud as Cork's is beyond sickening. For the long suffering Cork football fans there is only so much a gaa follower in Cork can take.

This new 5 year Cork football plan looks good on paper. But the short-term forecast for Cork football is not so good, especially with the senior footballers. Ronan McCarthy is not the man to steer Cork football, on a much needed positive track at all. If Cork County Board are serious about making Cork football a genuine contender for Sam Maguire glory, in the medium term future and beyond, then the CCB should bent over backwards and appoint John Cleary as senior football manager, who is that forward thinking positive manager that Cork football has been long overdue. That would be a positive step forward.

However for now McCarthy remains the manager of the Cork senior footballers. I believe he has a contract until 2020. I leave this question to conclude. Who is getting the absolute maximum out of their players as a manager? I'll give you two managers and let other posters decide the answer they believe is right. Colm Collins with Clare under limited resources or Ronan McCarthy as Cork boss since 2018.

Hard to be positive about Cork football after losing to Clare today. They are a disgrace full stop. Cork management should be ashamed of themselves for putting on such a low and pathetic performance with this Cork team. People on here are going to tell me to stfu its January and say that Clare are good etc but come on guys Clare are useless and CORK are even worse. Can't believe the state of football in the county. Shocking state of affairs. We won't have nothing to cheer about in both hurling and football for decades to come that's the truth about it. Did anyone see anything in todays game to say Cork are going to win an All Ireland anytime soon? Are some Cork fans here too proud and too big headed to admit we have problems with GAA in the county?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,500 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Hard to be positive about Cork football after losing to Clare today. They are a disgrace full stop. Cork management should be ashamed of themselves for putting on such a low and pathetic performance with this Cork team. People on here are going to tell me to stfu its January and say that Clare are good etc but come on guys Clare are useless and CORK are even worse. Can't believe the state of football in the county. Shocking state of affairs. We won't have nothing to cheer about in both hurling and football for decades to come that's the truth about it. Did anyone see anything in todays game to say Cork are going to win an All Ireland anytime soon? Are some Cork fans here too proud and too big headed to admit we have problems with GAA in the county?

Everybody knows We are at a low ebb in football. I said at the outset Cleary was the man for the job, but I also believed he would never get it.

The bolded bit of your post is just so over the top negative that it makes it impossible to take anything you say seriously.

Also, it's a double negative, so.....:)

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Everybody knows We are at a low ebb in football. I said at the outset Cleary was the man for the job, but I also believed he would never get it.

The bolded bit of your post is just so over the top negative that it makes it impossible to take anything you say seriously.

Also, it's a double negative, so.....:)

Its just the reality of the situation and deep down you agree with what Im saying. Nothing over the top with what I'm saying it's just some people fail to accept that we have a big problem with football success in our county's history. We have the clubs the players and the population but we don't have the right managers coaches, people giving advice and structures in place. Too many big headed people in charge of the football politics in the county. Says it all with only 7 All Irelands at senior for a big county like Cork is nothing short of disgraceful.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,500 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Its just the reality of the situation and deep down you agree with what Im saying. Nothing over the top with what I'm saying it's just some people fail to accept that we have a big problem with football success in our county's history. We have the clubs the players and the population but we don't have the right managers coaches, people giving advice and structures in place. Too many big headed people in charge of the football politics in the county. Says it all with only 7 All Irelands at senior for a big county like Cork is nothing short of disgraceful.

Deep down I agree with you....:pac:

County size and population is not a guarantee of anything, kilkenny are proof of that.
    Sam normally goes to Kerry or Dublin. We are 4th in the table of winners and only Kerry have lost more finals.

Currently we are rudderless, no one disagrees with that.

Saying we are goosed in football and hurling for decades to come is just being ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Being hugely disrespectful to Clare there lads.
    Players on that team that would walk on any of the top counties.
    If Mayo had a Ger Brennan they would've 2 or 3 All-Irelands by now.
    So called big counties must realise that they have no divine right to dominate.

washman3 wrote: »

Never mentioned Clare at all. Cork are rudderless, no matter who they play.
    I wasn't in the slightest bit surprised Clarre won.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,877 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Its not what they ment , Clare at best are on the same level as longford. Sligo westmeath or laois

Cork should be up with kerry , mayo and Dublin on a regular basis it should never have got this bad

Tipperary and Clare have overtaken cork in underage développent and probably at senior status too which is an embarrassent for a county that won an all ireland 8 years ago

ShamoBuc wrote: »

Saying we are goosed in football and hurling for decades to come is just being ridiculous.

Well we haven't won, the hurling championship since 2005. Until 2007 we were the top on the roll of honour and now Tipp will pass us out in the next 5 years and Cork will be still clinging on to the 2005 title which is ridiculous.

The footballers always underperformed even with great teams and before 2010 they hadn't the All Ireland won in nearly 20 years. It will probably be the 2030s or 2040s before Cork might come close to getting another good team together again. Are the Cork County board capable of doing that?, I don't think they are if you ask me.

Nothing ridiculous what I am saying but the facts and statistics make gloomy reading for all Cork GAA fans. Hard to be positive when going on all those statistics. The work and structures needed to get Cork punching again are not there unfortunately and Cork will be destroyed in munster from now on if things don't change. Kerry will be giving Cork the annual munster whipping along with Clare and Tipp but that's OK if the county board want that and are not prepared to change that for the good of Cork GAA. I am worried about the state of affairs with GAA in the county

Clare are good today but they aren't a top 5 team by any stretch of the imagination.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,060 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Thing is its going to change all over. You never sees lads with Hurleys around City or a county. The pride in Jersey is not there anymore.

But that's happening in most counties not just Cork. Unless a JP comes in and pimps serious dough into Cork then we are just lowering ourselfs. In saying that the Hurlers are a Full and Centre Back from being best team in Country

Bríd Stack has announced her retirement from intercounty football.

11 All Irelands says it all.

Legend of the game.