Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭The White Feather

It was voted down at council. I heard the person on radio talk about it and she said other councilors said its for the GAA to do. 🙄

Hopefully they fix something in time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

We better our wait for an all Ireland is longer than Clare's and we have to do it for Hoggie as well. I know Clare folk wont appreciate me saying this, but Cork need this all Ireland more than Clare do imo.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

fr ted? yes there about 5 different windy shepard hendersons at least , one has a growth on the side of his head in the shape of connacht , another once did Oj Simpsons wedding , i must be one of the other ones ……..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭Seadin

I have to be honest here, i was one of those people who was giving out about Pat Ryan after those defeats to Clare and Waterford! Even last year though we'd always come right back into games when we were behind, and that silly sending off probably cost us that game against Clare.

As someone else said Cork under Pat Ryan play with way more fire, spirit and determination than they did under both Kieran Kingston and John Meyler.

I just hope that we have enough work done now on keeping things tight in defence, and keeping those Clare forwards under control. If we can keep them in check then we have the firepower up front to win this.

joe deane was and still is one of the great cacheraters of the game , his stories are unreal , as for game changers would it be awkward looking if shane kinston was the hero next sunday after all the behind the secerns stuff with kieran , if i was putting money on my mark foley award it would be him or aidan mccarthy , mccarthy is more obvious but a poor hurler in open play

Deano is a great fella but Kevin Hennessy is one of the greatest characters to ever come out of Cork! Great character and a great player so he was. Hopefully we might see him on Up For The Match!

deane should be on dalo's podcast full time , he was the same when he was playing a gas man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭King Power Fox

I hope you are are not relying on fighting spirit next Sunday to get Cork over the line. Its a given for every team so I would think the Clare fighting spirit will be an equal match for Corks. Anyway can you define Corhness? What added advantage does that have?

Confidence, willpower, never say die spirit etc. Those who understand need no explaining. Those who don't quite frankly and simply just don't matter. As Billy Morgan said there's passion and there's Cork passion, and there's just no beating Cork passion.😉

Corkness is a team in red and white doing it's thing, and hurling with style, panache and abandon. The word seems to piss people in the other counties off as well, which is another added bonus!😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

The biggest mistake Cork GAA ever made in strategy was defining 'Corkness'. "THAT AIR OF CONFIDENCE JUST ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF ARROGANCE - AN UNPARALLELED PRIDE AND OUR INSATIABLE DESIRE FOR CORK TO BE THE BEST AT ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING." It's probably the most motivating statement for everyone else ever written! Even Tipp didn't have the foolishness to write that down in their heyday.

during covid i watched a few old games one of them was the 78 final , at the end the cork captain charlie McCarty made a great speech , his punchline at the end was fair play to clare for a great effort but at the end of the day there can only be one winner and of course that winner is cork

that is what is classed as corkness ,interviews were done after the game in the clare dressing room and nobody complained , cork were that good nobody would question them , loughnane was one of the men interviewed he talked about how we needed to do more to get to the level cork were at

its not the same now , there is no way even if cork won and charlie mccarthy walked up the steps on sunday that he could get away with the same speech

the problem is corkness can only get you so far , if it finally gets the great man from glen rovers an all ireland medal we probably wont be happy up here but wont begrudge him one bit either

Corkness is Eudie Coughlan, Christy Ring, Jack Lynch, JBM, Ray Cummins and Teddy Mac etc, and passing that legacy down to future generations. Confidence is a necessary character trait without it over spilling into arrogance. Hopefully i'll be waxing lyrically about Cork and Corkness next Sunday evening!😉

Of course it only gets you so far. Clare and Limerick in the 90's and Armagh and Tyrone in the 00's changed the whole landscape in terms of preparation at intercounty level in both hurling and football. It took us in Cork a hell of a long time to adapt to that changing landscape.

totally agree , we were basically reinvented in 95 , we have became a bullish bunch of supporters we cant lose that as we feel we would be losing our identity ,

the reality is we have to nudge ye across the shoulder and say forget it, when it comes to cork and tradition talk!! everything is physiological from here on in 😂

As Ringy would say i beat Clare teams on my own. There's fifteen of ye!😂

he probably said that wearing a neck brace though !!🤐😜

That was his half time speech in the 1978 Munster final. Justin McCarthy coaching Clare was a serious motivating factor for Cork. Clare had a fine team that time but there was no backdoor in those days.

sorry i taught it was an after match interview , i still hold homage to his leinster referee view point especially when john keenan and paud o dwyer were in charge of games , they dont count so take as many steps as you like , wexford 76 i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

I think the term was more relevant 20 years ago. We haven't won an All Ireland in 19 years!! Back then we were competing and win every second year

Also I don't see much corkness in the footballers! Indeed the opposite applies at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭another36

Cork support is very strong. I don't mean just in numbers but the belief is very high they showed up with strength and numbers this year when it looked like all was over - that has to be admired from all counties especially considering how Tipp fan base turned their backs. (But they didn't save Hurling - to quote Dan Casey...)

Corkness to me as an outsider is a confidence and belief to win always. Which is an edge and advantage against a team that might suffer from negatives towards their ability. It's an important trait in all sport!

It could also be considered a negative and create huge pressure - a lot of talk about this team 'having' to win (19 years, for hoggie ect...) AL are pressure pots anyway without that added layer. Will this pressure drive the players on only Sunday will tell.

Some of the nonsense on social media is taking it to an English Soccer supporter level but I suspect this is a younger cohort and they are really hungry for it. Many of them haven't seen a win. Hunger just might be another edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Unfortunately there's zero chance of seeing Henno, his health is very poorly.

Sat two seats next to him in Upper Hogan in the first 13 final, he whips out a stopwatch, and after 60 seconds turns to us and says 'I still have it' - ref to his fastest goal in AIF history in '90. A gas man altogether and a Cork legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

@another36 please dont give that langer Casey any more oxygen. I listened to his pod one day and he referenced the Rock shoulder down the Pairc where he pointed from 100 yards and claimed it raised the crowd and drove us on to victory. I was there that day, and in fact we lost😆

Glad I never succumbed to TikTok, and I'd suggest for sanity's sake uninstalling it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭another36

Sportsjoe would want to reconsider his appearance on their podcast. Unprofessional, juvenile and shows very little knowledge or understanding for the game.

Over the last week he has been insufferable his taunts and click bait on TT at Lmk fans is ridiculous (granted they can be as bad as times...)

Gives ye Cork fans a bad rep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭King Power Fox

Surely confidence, willpower and spirit don't recognise county boundaries. Don't be so fast to dismiss other counties who don't bow down to Corkness - a self imagined superiority complex. Has not done much for ye in the past 20 years.The present Cork team are a fine team - nothing more. There is a good chance one of Clare, Cork or Limerick will not make it out of Munster next year. It doesn't take much for the 5 Munster counties to get their house in order to be ultra competitive. Historically Cork and Tipp hoovered up Munster but not anymore - Clare in the 90s, Waterford in the 00s and recently Limerick. Long may it continue with an odd one here and there for Tipp and Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭BarryNumber1

Glorious years, 1/2 day off school when the Cork team came around, every year. The other little nugget… Club hurling was off the charts those years. Could have been 4 in a row, got caught by Galway in the semi., one eye on the final. Which brings me to “Corkness”, that has caught Cork time and time again, we’ve finally rid ourselves of the tippy tappy shite, they are more direct and are contesting over the 70 minutes. Do that on Sunday and we’ll be grand. Start **** the bed and revert to good ol tippy tippy and we’ll be bet.

At the end of the day sunshine we have 30 all Irelands Limerick have 12, and ye never did the double either! We also have 54 Munster titles to Limerick's 25. Form is temporary but class is permanent! So save your lengthy and pointless sermons for someone who actually cares! btw Clare last won Munster in 1998 and Waterford in 2010. You're just a pointless troll who hasn't a bulls notion what he or she is on about!

Ha ha ha and then there was the time he met poor John Commins at that function for both the Cork and Galway teams the day after the 1990 all Ireland. How's it going John gimme five!😂 That final was the end for John's career with Galway as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭thesultan

Fellas on about podcasts ,christ that Mark Landers and all of the one year he played for Cork.

Cork played brilliant against limerick but can clare atch up.to.them?