Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

June London Terror Attack - Could've been Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Yeah I was reading about that but I got the impression the Independent was sensationalising it.
    It mentions they watched military institutions but that would seem strange wouldn't it?
    Surely those would be the hardest to hit considering the weapons and training those inside would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

Agreed re the sensationalism of the story
    The frustrating part of the story is the "family friendly location" part...what family friendly location? Are there areas in Dublin that are family unfriendly? Or do they mean family oriented places like zoos, parks, amusement parks..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

And before the usual apologists start making excuses or dismissing it because "rabble rabble Sunday Independent rabble rabble etc"....

Sources close to the woman say she gave gardai an 80- page statement giving details of all her interactions with Isis extremists both here and in the UK.

It is understood that her information has been assessed by counter-terrorism experts as highly credible.
    It is believed she has been offered a place in a witness protection programme outside the State but this could not be confirmed yesterday.

Hopefully this will be a big wake up call to the authorities here. The cuddly drunken Paddy act isn't a defence strategy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Typical sensationalist click bait stuff from the indo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

But you're all racists...

We need unlimited, uncontrolled, unchecked immigration especially from countries where minorities and women have no rights.

You're all racists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Guy Sajer

I don't believe this for a second. I think UK are worried about the lack of security and entry point from Ireland to the UK as they have stated in the past and are scaring us into improving our own security.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

I've no doubt that Ireland is a potential target for this kind of attack but I'm sceptical about this 'Sister Aaliya', wan and some of her claims.

Guy Sajer wrote: »
    I don't believe this for a second. I think UK are worried about the lack of security and entry point from Ireland to the UK as they have stated in the past and are scaring us into improving our own security.

That would be all well and good and even (at a stretch) plausible - Only for the fact that this information as come from an Irish citizen who had become radicalised and had been associating with at least two of the people involved in the London attack

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Agreed re the sensationalism of the story
    The frustrating part of the story is the "family friendly location" part...what family friendly location? Are there areas in Dublin that are family unfriendly? Or do they mean family oriented places like zoos, parks, amusement parks..

A public area in Dublin thats not been taken over by junkies and winos? Should be easy enough to narrow it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Guy Sajer

That would be all well and good and even (at a stretch) plausible - Only for the fact that this information as come from an Irish citizen who had become radicalised and had been associating with at least two of the people involved in the London attack

I gathered the information was via anti terrorist agents and not a direct interview with her and the independent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

VinLieger wrote: »

This post has the potential to age very badly. I'm no fan of the indo but don't believe we are immune from attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

bear1 wrote: »
    Yeah I was reading about that but I got the impression the Independent was sensationalising it.
    It mentions they watched military institutions but that would seem strange wouldn't it?
    Surely those would be the hardest to hit considering the weapons and training those inside would have.

No it doesn't. :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

No it doesn't. :confused::confused:

Ah i read military observations in a way that they were watching the military.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Joe Public: The June attacks in London could have happened in Dublin and when I click on the link I can read evidence of this?

The Sunday Independent: Lol no, but if you click on the link you can view a number of advertisements displaying on your browser instead.

Anyway, it's good to see Paul "clickbait" Williams is on the case, we can all sleep easy in our beds tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

VinLieger wrote: »

I know.

People love to fear.

dav3 wrote: »
    Joe Public: The June attacks in London could have happened in Dublin and when I click on the link I can read evidence of this?

The Sunday Independent: Lol no, but if you click on the link you can view a number of advertisements displaying on your browser instead.

Anyway, it's good to see Paul "clickbait" Williams is on the case, we can all sleep easy in our beds tonight.

No one denies the indo is a rag, but are you implying fabrication? There is substance to the article. As for excessive advertising...it is about as far from inrtusive as advertising can be on a non-sub site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

No one denies the indo is a rag, but are you implying fabrication? There is substance to the article. As for excessive advertising...it is about as far from inrtusive as advertising can be on a non-sub site?

I'm implying that after what Paul Williams did to Sgt Maurice McCabe, everything he writes should be taken with a very large pinch of salt.

The comments from the woman have been out in the public domain for some time, they've already been discussed, people can discuss them again.

I'm implying that after what Paul Williams did to Sgt Maurice McCabe, everything he writes should be taken with a very large pinch of salt.

The comments from the woman have been out in the public domain for some time, they've already been discussed, people can discuss them again.

Fair enough, agree that what happened with McCabe is a disgrace but also believe Williams to have been a pawn.

The information may have been public, but a large circle of people I have discussed with have not been aware of it. If anything this should increase vigilance in city centre spaces, awareness of surroundings, I don't think that's a bad thing.
    It's a sobering thought to think that a white van could have milled across O'Connell Bridge - the sheer numbers at the pedestrian lights there would have meant an incomprehensibly higher casualty and death rate than the london Bridge attack

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

I've thought that about him for years. Always found something very false and self serving about him in his TV appearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's witten by Paul Williams so I'd take it with a massive pinch of salt. Really find it hard to give him any credibility since he had his career on the back of glorifying gangsters and murderers.

Still very worrying if there's any truth to it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Why hasn't Sister Aaliya been charged w/ withhold info on terror & fraud?

And before the usual apologists start making excuses or dismissing it because "rabble rabble Sunday Independent rabble rabble etc"....

It is understood that her information has been assessed by counter-terrorism experts as highly credible.
    why does that sentence mean anything, here's another sentence

Irish Times https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crim...blin-1.3232377
    the woman previously said meetings between extremists she knew were conducted in languages she did not understand and therefore information was hard to corroborate, says senior Garda sources

who previously said she didn't understand the languages they were speaking https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/irish-woman-who-met-london-attacker-claims-there-are-150-extremists-living-in-ireland-1.3114269

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

She said the Islamists "laugh" at Ireland because they see the country as being "backward and behind the times" in the authorities' assessment of the threat of radical Islam.

It is believed that the two jihadists were convinced to change their plans because Raza believed that Ireland would suit Isis's cause better as a logistics base and somewhere to carry out internet frauds to raise funds.

enough said in these two lines, if there is any truth in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I wonder which tosser wrote this piece in the indo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

A chilling read thanks for posting the link OP

We as a state need to get serious about this threat.

A lot of people seem to be under the illusion that Ireland is immune to such attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Has Paul Williams made up any nicknames yet or linked any of them to the Kinahan cartel? Raza, also known as the muslim hoodlum, and Sister 'The Viper' Aliyah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

If they were really interested in doing some investigative journalism into any potential threats, why don't they start looking into some of the alleged hate preaching which is rumored to be happening around some of the country's mosques. They should also seriously look into funding of cells from here, which they just about touch upon in the article.

Our media outlets should also be asking why our political classes are not more vocal in their criticism of rogue states like Saudia Arabia and Quatar, and our next door neighbors abhorrent arms deal with SA. Are there any actions involving the state that support and facilitate the funding of Wahhabism directly; or indirectly, how do we stop it? These are proper, in depth questions journalists should be asking. Of course little hope of the likes of Paul Williams asking these, doesn't really do investigative journalism, sensationalism sells and is easier to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

A lot of people seem to be under the illusion that Ireland is immune to such attacks.

a lot of offense-monkeys on here dismissing the story lest it sully the good name of islam.

Starts off with sensationalist headline. Takes half the page to actually get back to the original point. Whether or not it is accurate in information... the article was written purely for clicks and ad revenue. You see at least 2 ads before you even get to the meat of the article.

Typical behaviour of a rag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I know.

People love to fear.

Not necessarily. Knowledge is power.

who thinks we're immune to attacks?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

It's absolutely true. Some of the replies on here, pure denial to the reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

The article sort of contradicts that though, which is why I don't understand why anyone thinks it is proof that an attack is likely. Personally, I reckon something will happen eventually but I don't think we are a prime target.

"However, Butt and Redouane, who was married to an Irishwoman and lived in Dublin for a number of years, were told by their terrorist mentor, named 'Raza', that such an attack would be counter-productive because Ireland was better suited as a logistics and fundraising base."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Lux23 wrote: »

The article sort of contradicts that though, which is why I don't understand why anyone thinks it is proof that an attack is likely. Personally, I reckon something will happen eventually but I don't think we are a prime target.

"However, Butt and Redouane, who was married to an Irishwoman and lived in Dublin for a number of years, were told by their terrorist mentor, named 'Raza', that such an attack would be counter-productive because Ireland was better suited as a logistics and fundraising base."
    I read an article a month or so ago that said MI6 was keeping an eye on suspected Jihadis in the Republic. That doesn't just come from nowhere. Something is brewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Was that before or after they and Iirc others were busted and the money frozen before it could be transferred? Mightn't be such a convenient base now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The head of the CIA John Brennan said last October we were a target.

'We' includes certain groups that would be considered Irish only in a secondary sense, by the perpetrator.

We'd put the Irish bit first from our perspective.

But for them; Apostate, American and so forth come first. Then the Irish bit in italics.

The head of the CIA John Brennan said last October we were a target.
    because he was asked

Hold on, what is the relevance of him being asked. I'm sure his opinion on the matter is more valid than yours or any other layman.

For one sovereign state to tell another that they are a target without a prompt (being asked) would only ever occur if they had solid information that an attack was either in progress or was about to take place.

You seem to be jumping in here to poopoo any comment which portrays concern or worry about the potential of an attack in any part of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Maybe time for people to wake up from there magical sure aint we mad craic all together and sure everyone loves the emerald isle stance and face the reality of what is going on here.
    One might say its not such a problem if citizens are deluded but certainly a concern when the Guards and army are not on top of this.

This is not about point scoring,no one wants a attack but hoping and good old wishful thinking will not stop some Jihadi nut from plowing us down or stabbing a load of innocents.

What might stop or at least reduce the damage of a attack is intelligence,rapid armed response and controlled immigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Starts off with sensationalist headline. Takes half the page to actually get back to the original point. Whether or not it is accurate in information... the article was written purely for clicks and ad revenue. You see at least 2 ads before you even get to the meat of the article.

Typical behaviour of a rag.

It would be behind a paywall if not for the ads.

because he was asked

And?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭techdiver

The funniest line of the article:
    She said the Islamists "laugh" at Ireland because they see the country as being "backward and behind the times" in the authorities' assessment of the threat of radical Islam.

I don't know whether to laugh or be insulted?

These knuckle dragging morons with an ideology from the dark ages think Ireland is "backward and behind the times"??

techdiver wrote: »

These knuckle dragging morons with an ideology from the dark ages think Ireland is "backward and behind the times"??

Think it was more behind in he tracking of lads off to fight ISIS etc is what it meant. We being getting hints and nudges from CIA,EU Commisioners ana UK that we are a target but just seems not be taken serious till recently.

The we are Irish it wont happen to us approach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

In regards to national security and anti terrorism intelligence.

We're being compared to other Western countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

ISIS sees Ireland as the enemy. People forget we are christen/catholic country. We are perfect target we are the infidels.

And some even moreso than others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

A knuckle-dragging moron wrote the article itself so the proof is in the pudding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

I posted this on a previous thread, but it's worth having a look at:
    Ireland’s counterterrorism preparation is “grossly negligent”, a former senior Army officer said in Glenties during a MacGill summer school discussion about the security threat against Europe.
    Security analyst Michael C Murphy said Ireland’s current intelligence structures were not fit for purpose.
    In the mind of Islamic State, Ireland was “part of the Crusader West” and therefore a target, he said.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/ireland-s-counterterrorism-preparation-grossly-negligent-1.3158101

This is from the former director of the Army Intelligence. It doesn't get more stark than that.