Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you can't afford a house in Dublin, move!

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

I was born in Mullingar.
    I don't live there anymore, haven't done in many years.
    I went to a hen party in Mullingar last year, the town's a good laugh when everyone's hammered.
    I was in Athlone too, that's a right spot.

Sorry, what's the question again?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 119 ✭✭mezzz

fill the liffey and the canals with concrete and build houses there

• Registered Users Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Wages in Dublin are higher - rents are higher
    Wages in the country are lower- rents are lower

And let's chat about hap limits

Not one place for rent within the range anywhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭Paleblood

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Wages in Dublin are higher - rents are higher
    Wages in the country are lower- rents are lower

And let's chat about hap limits

Not one place for rent within the range anywhere

It really depends on the job. I'm in the legal industry now and the money is definitely better in Dublin. However I was a tradesman for nearly 10 years and most of my friends are still in the construction industry and they're all extremely well paid, all working in the Midlands area.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,321 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Dublin's class. There's coddle and Shamrock Rovers.

Please don't put coddle and rovers is the same sentence.

I like coddle :p

• Registered Users Posts: 30,213 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The only thing that drives me mad about this is when people have kids and they talk about their poor little kids being in hotels and them having a horrible childhood because of the state but then they go off and get pregnant again. If they were religious and married I'd understand and didn't believe in contraception I'd be fine about it but they come across that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Liamario

The only people who think dublin is class are dubs and the odd traitor from Mullingar.

Paleblood wrote: »
    It really depends on the job. I'm in the legal industry now and the money is definitely better in Dublin. However I was a tradesman for nearly 10 years and most of my friends are still in the construction industry and they're all extremely well paid, all working in the Midlands area.

Point taken but are trades not paid at a standardized rate country wide?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Ah but if you leave Dublin you've more chance of having to talk to non dubs.

Imagine.

Non-Dubs sneak onto Boards every so often. On d'internet you can't hear our their accents and see our their wellies and balin' twine belts. Shneaky out!

You could be chatting on a thread with non-Dubs and you wouldn't even know whoops, you wouldn't even know! :eek:

(Muahahahahaha!)

Mayo4Sam2017.
    Ah feck, I've given myself away now, and I was doing so well! :(

The only thing that drives me mad about this is when people have kids and they talk about their poor little kids being in hotels and them having a horrible childhood because of the state but then they go off and get pregnant again. If they were religious and married I'd understand and didn't believe in contraception I'd be fine about it but they come across that way.

I got my balls disconnected two weeks after becoming homeless.

And yes it was by my own choice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

maudgonner wrote: »
    Non-Dubs sneak onto Boards every so often. On d'internet you can't hear our their accents and see our their wellies and balin' twine belts. Shneaky out!

You could be chatting on a thread with non-Dubs and you wouldn't even know whoops, you wouldn't even know! :eek:

Don't be silly.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Liamario wrote: »
    I have zero sympathy for anyone who can't get a place to live in Dublin.

I'm on to your crafty plan.

Get people out of Dublin to lower the house prices so that you can move there.

Won't work. Too obvious

• Registered Users Posts: 27,321 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The only people who think dublin is class are dubs and the odd traitor from Mullingar.

Well if all the people who don't think it's class could just leave, then we'd all be happy.

Dublin. So class.

I'm on to your crafty plan.

Get people out of Dublin to lower the house prices so that you can move there.

Won't work. Too obvious

You're only scratching the surface of the greater plan.

Sparks43 wrote: »
    I got my balls disconnected two weeks after becoming homeless.

And yes it was by my own choice

Jaysus,

Did you think that becoming homeless was going to lead to you drowning in gee from all the horny bitches throwing themselves at you due to your new status?

Maybe that's where I've been going wrong all these years!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

The latter being pretty much in Wicklow....and can keep moving further out as far as I'm concerned.

You're only scratching the surface of the greater plan.

Are you going to dig up Joe Dolan and reanimate him at the next full moon to crown him the Emperor of Ireland so that he can shift the capital to Mullingar?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

OP, how was the last big traveller riot in Mullingar? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,554 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Is it true that people in Mullingar have to shy in a buckeh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I feel like the culchie version of Martin Luther King Jr because I look forward to a day when the Dubs and us Culchies can sit down together at the table of brotherhood and lay waste to our mutual enemies; the Tans, €6 pints of Guinness and the RTE.

Come on lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Dublin is for fodginers and wankahs that's why I'm leaving my home town for Australia in 2 months

LirW wrote: »
    OP, how was the last big traveller riot in Mullingar? :)

Couple of years before all the gang related shootings in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Love me some fun in the Regency Hotel.

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭spoonerhead

..... So much hate in these comments. I've neighbors from all parts of Ireland on my road. Decent people, like most us Dubs

House bubble will burst (again), if you really want a house in Dublin be patient. How most my neighbors got their house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Dublin is for fodginers and wankahs that's why I'm leaving my home town for Australia in 2 months

The irony of complaining about foreigners then becoming one:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I'm not gonna make an assumption about wanker, but...;)

Jaysus,

Did you think that becoming homeless was going to lead to you drowning in gee from all the horny bitches throwing themselves at you due to your new status?

Maybe that's where I've been going wrong all these years!

Nope just thought it was the responsible thing to do.

That and the fact I have zero interest in having any more kids. I'm happy with my lot in that regard

• Registered Users Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

ligerdub wrote: »
    The latter being pretty much in Wicklow....and can keep moving further out as far as I'm concerned.

Have a little look at Google maps there pal, your geography is a bit off.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

eeguy wrote: »
    The irony of complaining about foreigners then becoming one:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I think that was the punchline of the whole joke!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Have a little look at Google maps there pal, your geography is a bit off.

Pretty much in.....I didn't say in.....pal.