Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So my car needs a new engine..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Tuco88

Do not delete the DPF, You will pay the same guy to put it back in soon.

With all the "Diesel" carry on id expect the NCT to be an automatic fail without one soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,126 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Delete it and leave it in situ or get some sort of a dummy dpf. On those 1.6hdi Citroens and peugeots a common work around is to drill out the innards of the dpf.

They have a tricky enough ecu though so you'd need to make sure whoever was remapping it has full Citroen compatible software and can fully clear all previous dpf faults and map in the "new" free flowing dpf. If this isn't done right you'll get random dpf warnings on the dash and sporadic cases of limp mode.

I'd be sceptical of the dpf issue causing any real damage to the engine though.

Any introduction of a dpf test for the nct will be a token visual test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,579 ✭✭✭✭unkel

or I could delete the DPF, which I'm told is much more reasonable

Go on so. Delete the DPF. They are a failed technology anyway. Pretty reasonable to delete it as it seems to cause trouble and they are expensive to fix. The only reason the DPF is there in the first place is to stop carcinogenic particulate matter coming out of your exhaust. Sure who cares if another few people get cancer because of diesels in this country?

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭wonski

unkel wrote: »
    Go on so. Delete the DPF. They are a failed technology anyway. Pretty reasonable to delete it as it seems to cause trouble and they are expensive to fix. The only reason the DPF is there in the first place is to stop carcinogenic particulate matter coming out of your exhaust. Sure who cares if another few people get cancer because of diesels in this country?

To be fair most people see it as a money rocket device that is installed in low tax cars to pass the emission test at nct.

Hardly their fault. The government is to be blamed, not the drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,579 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Agreed wonski. At least partly. The government is to be blamed for promoting diesels. But we elected the government. The generation of our children and grand children will ask our generation and the one before us serious questions about why we encouraged Ireland into having the highest percentage of diesel cars in the world. How the hell did we let this happen?

But once people like the OP are aware that DPF delete is an action that would make them personally responsible for emitting more cancerous particulates, maybe they will reflect upon this and even change their minds.

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

Yeah.. but name something that doesn't give you cancer?

Besides I believe that the purpose of the dpf is to spread the particles when the car thinks its on the motorway (rather than in the towns and such).

As you could probably tell, and I don't mean it in a smart or smarmy way, but my car giving people cancer is pretty low down the list of concerns I would have.

That said, I'm still very much unsure of what to do. I've not decided and will hopefully research it a bit more, or better yet, hear from people on here with experience of the issue.

.........The generation of our children and grand children will ask our generation and the one before us serious questions about why we encouraged Ireland into having the highest percentage of diesel cars in the world. How the hell did we let this happen?...........

I don't think they will as in the greater scheme of things the fact there was mainly diesels sold from 2008 to 2017 won't really be of any significance.

We don't have the population density for it to make a dent on overall health stats etc.

time will tell but I reckon the generation of our children and grand children will not give two sh1ts about the diesel mad decade that we just experienced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,666 ✭✭✭✭josip

Sell it. The DPF won't be the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

josip wrote: »
    Sell it. The DPF won't be the end of it.

Imagine buying it!!

Who would buy it if they knew it's history.

• Moderators Posts: 11,713 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

dieselbug wrote: »
    Imagine buying it!!

Who would buy it if they knew it's history.

KKV

Deleted User

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭knipex

DPF's work fine.

People just do not use them correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

@KKV you would surely notice if your car was doing constant dpf regens meaning everytime you switch it off you’d hear the fan running on for a few minutes to cool it down as well as the fact you’d smell it when you get out of the car.

CIP4 wrote: »
    @KKV you would surely notice if your car was doing constant dpf regens meaning everytime you switch it off you’d hear the fan running on for a few minutes to cool it down as well as the fact you’d smell it when you get out of the car.

Fan would often be still running when I get out of the car. Never noticed a smell though.

Keep in mind that although I do potter around the town here and there, most of my driving is diesel-intended driving. I've often drove the car for over 12 hours straight, 7 days in a row, mingling between towns, N roads, Motorway and everything in between.

So the diesel engine does get treated like it is in an articulated truck at times (constantly on the go).

So I presumed the fan staying on was to cool the engine bay after a long day of driving.

I'd say the car should be okay after this to be honest. I'll still have my engine warranty, should I need it. to be honest, if I get another 3-4 years out of the car i'd be happy as larry.

Mildly related, but I did laugh to myself: last night i went to Tesco and seen a Nissan Pathfinder, which I duly parked beside and admired. Always thought they were a gorgeous jeep and one of the nicest cars on the road in general.

I nearly had one bought before I opted for the C5, But I decided against it... because I heard they had known engine issues, and i didn't want to have the hassle or expense of that happening to me :o Funny how things go. :D

The fan running is a sign you switched off the car while it was mid way through doing a regen cycle. Otherwise on a modern diesel I don’t think there is any other reason for it to run with the engine off. When you do so many long drives you should almost never hear it as in your case the car would have loads of time to do it on the longer journeys. It becomes more of an issue with people doing all short trips where the car keeps trying to do a regen but gets shut off before finishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

last night i went to Tesco and seen a Nissan Pathfinder, which I duly parked beside and admired. Always thought they were a gorgeous jeep and one of the nicest cars on the road in general.

And there I was thinking the C5 obsession was some kind of kink in your otherwise normal personality. Now with this revelation we have it confirmed that you are a lunatic....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Fan would often be still running when I get out of the car. Never noticed a smell though.

Keep in mind that although I do potter around the town here and there, most of my driving is diesel-intended driving. I've often drove the car for over 12 hours straight, 7 days in a row, mingling between towns, N roads, Motorway and everything in between.

So the diesel engine does get treated like it is in an articulated truck at times (constantly on the go).

So I presumed the fan staying on was to cool the engine bay after a long day of driving.

I'd say the car should be okay after this to be honest. I'll still have my engine warranty, should I need it. to be honest, if I get another 3-4 years out of the car i'd be happy as larry.

Mildly related, but I did laugh to myself: last night i went to Tesco and seen a Nissan Pathfinder, which I duly parked beside and admired. Always thought they were a gorgeous jeep and one of the nicest cars on the road in general.

I nearly had one bought before I opted for the C5, But I decided against it... because I heard they had known engine issues, and i didn't want to have the hassle or expense of that happening to me :o Funny how things go. :D

So if the engine goes pop again, you're actually still going to keep it?
    You'll get 3 or 4 years out of it no problem, you may be bankrupt by that stage though.
    A Nissan pathfinder is one of the nicest cars on the road? Jaysus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Rasputin87

Oh KKV, not another €1k...! :o

This thread is such a rollercoaster - I can tell all you want is your old car back, mechanically sound and a pleasure to drive. An it's so close, yet so far! Feck the naysayers, keep that dream alive - we're rooting for you!

PS - I'm ever so curious to know, what do you do for work that requires so much driving?

I'm surprised no one here likes the pathfinder. I think it's class. There's one on donedeal.ie at the moment. Think it's an 05, it's black, has black wheels and rear tints. I think it looks class.

I'd be very tempted by it to be honest, if I was looking for a change of car.

In regards to what I do, I'm self employed as a photographer, but I do regular work for a large property company and photograph across 20 or so counties on a regular basis. Vroom Vroom. But I rack up serious mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Those Pathfinders are balls of dung. You will be well used to replacing engines , if you aren't already :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I pass half of one of them on the way to work, it's in someone's front garden

Well I know they have problems (heard about the snapping issues, but thought that was more a Navara issue than a Pathfinder issue?). Which is why I didn't buy one.

But i still think they're among the best looking vehicles on the road. I love the design of them. Also quite fond of the similarly boxy-looking Pajero. But they were beyond my budget if I recall correctly.

It would cripple you to drive a pathfinder 50-60k km a year both in maintenance and fuel costs. My Dad a Navara bought brand new in 2006 it spent 4 months out of the first 12 months in the garage with sensor and electronic issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Can we set up a gofundme page for KKV.

A gallon of petrol should do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Can we set up a gofundme page for KKV.

A gallon of petrol should do it.

I’ll donate the matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Is anyone else waiting for engine number 3 and the op saying it's worth it cause it's a comfortable cruiser? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭ectoraige

bear1 wrote: »
    Is anyone else waiting for engine number 3 and the op saying it's worth it cause it's a comfortable cruiser? :p

If it's not costing him extra, sure what of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭Gravelly

ectoraige wrote: »
    bear1 wrote: »

If it's not costing him extra, sure what of it?

There’s a thing called inconvenience cost.

Gravelly wrote: »
    There’s a thing called inconvenience cost.

Op, as you are self employed would it not make sense for you to be driving a nice van or a commercial comfortable estate car.

I think you need to sample drive a few makes, models with a better reputation for reliability. Broaden your horizons and you might be pleasantly surprised.

You seem to stuck in a rut with this Citroen a kind of blind loyalty which is not being repaid back to you.