Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So my car needs a new engine..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Borrow your brothers car, cover a rental for him and problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,720 ✭✭✭✭unkel

He said there is an engine ready for it, reconditioned, and it'll be fitted on monday. They'll test drive it on tuesday, and have it ready for collection on Wednesday, or Thursday at the latest.

So did you get the car back a few days ago?

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

Howdy folks,

I've been in Spain since tuesday (came home today, working tomorrow). Brother collected the car for me yesterday afternoon. Apparently the car is driving like a dream.

However, a new issue has arose - when he parked up the car, and came inside, the lights turned themselves on. Went out, turned the lights off again, and again, about a minute later, they came back on. They keep turning back on after the car is knocked off and they're draining the battery.

Apparently, also, yesterday evening, the alarm set itself off and they (my dad and brother) disconnected the battery, but the alarm still went on for another 5 mins anyway.

So effectively, the car is driving fine, but the lights wont stay off and so the battery is being killed. In fairness to yer man from Dan Daly's, he did try to explain to me an issue with the lights over the phone whilst i was in Spain but either way, I needed the car back for tomorrow.

I am guessing that this has to have something to do with the car lying up for a couple of weeks with a dead battery? I went out to the car there a few minutes ago, and there's no life in it - I'll need to get it jump started in the morning before I set out for the day, and possibly the same again on Monday, Tuesday. etc morning (I'll be on the road non-stop all this week, so won't have time to go to a mechanic until next week).

Anyone ever encounter this before? Brother isn't about this evening and of all the people with cars i know, none are really around the place today, so although I'm eager to bring the car for a spin i unfortunately will have to wait until morning.

grogi wrote: »
    I really don't know what the issue was with your rental.

I don't have a credit card too and rented in Ireland from Europcar, Hertz, Enerprise and a few smaller companies without any issues. Never crossed my mind anyone would ask for a payslip, that's not their business really.

I'm of the same opinion as you - a payslip is none of their concern whatsoever.

Either way, they weren't entertaining me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

Just pop the fuse for the lights when you get out to park it up. or have a 12/13mm spanner and disconnect the battery.

^^^

Bit of a pain, but for the next few days just disconnect the battery. At least then you'll know it will start the next morning when you need it for work

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,618 ✭✭✭grogi

Anyone ever encounter this before? Brother isn't about this evening and of all the people with cars i know, none are really around the place today, so although I'm eager to bring the car for a spin i unfortunately will have to wait until morning.

Three letters: BSI. It is either connected poorly, are was fried by the butchers when they were replacing the engine.

First Google result...

http://www.bba-reman.com/gb/content/citroen_bsi_body_control_failure

Howdy folks,

Car has about 1,500km on it since getting back on the road on sunday. Engine is fine, car is driving well, a few little rattles that used to be coming from the gear stick (used to make a particularly annoying noise under acceleration in 5th gear) are all gone. Clutch seems smooth, no stiffness or fighting to get it into gear etc (not that there ever really was much of that anyway).

Lights are still an issue, so i've taken to following unkel's advice and just disconnecting the battery. So far, so good. I'll get the car to my mechanic early next week and hopefully he'll make it all better again.

grogi, I tried that BSI reset process and unfortunately I'm no better off. I tried it a couple of times but no luck. I've noticed I have no reverse lights (presumably fuse related?), but other than that and the lights coming on 2 mins after the car is turned off, everything else seems to be working perfectly.

The car key fob has a button to turn the lights on and off, and i can use this to turn the lights off after they come on themselves, but unfortunately, even if i turn them off, 2 mins later they turn back on again.

Still, at least the car is on the road and I still have a job. That's the main thing.

I'll update with any progress I make along the way in relation to the lights issue. Hopefully my mechanic will have the car early next week and then later next week Daly's want to take the car back to give the engine a look over to make sure it's okay (they apparently do this 8 weeks after you get the car back, but because I'm racking up mileage swiftly they want to see it next week).

Cheers again for all the help with this, folks. It's greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,618 ✭✭✭grogi

Lights are still an issue, so i've taken to following unkel's advice and just disconnecting the battery. So far, so good. I'll get the car to my mechanic early next week and hopefully he'll make it all better again.

There is really nothing a mechanic can really do. Mechanically the car is sound.

You need an auto electrician with experience in PSA cars, because the issue is in the BSI computer. It can be programmed to do various things with the car and it just seems it is executing some broken program, I would blame the reverse light on it too.

It should activate the economy mode after maximum 30 minutes from switching off the engine, but instead is doing something else..
    grogi, I tried that BSI reset process and unfortunately I'm no better off. I tried it a couple of times but no luck. I've noticed I have no reverse lights (presumably fuse related?), but other than that and the lights coming on 2 mins after the car is turned off, everything else seems to be working perfectly.

Have you seen it done on youtube? It really is a bizarre procedure, very French in its quirkiness.

Probably not a bad resolution really if you didn't want to go new car route. At 50k km a year you'd struggle to find a €3k car really.

... and Bang! Straight into a fox. Spent about 10 minutes pushing and prodding to get it to look like this afterwards:

esn3wh.jpg

(I eventually got the sticky-outy bit to go back in flush at the side)

Screenwash bottle is knackered, fog and indicator both work but obviously aren't in great shape (fog light is wedged sideways, can't seem to get it out). Just one or two more days on the road and it can retire for a month.

Got a 'low engine oil' warning shortly after, too, but i presume that's coincidence (as the oil would be so far back that it wouldn't be hit or impacted by the fox?) and it doesn't seem to be leaking oil (I topped it up and have been checking underneath). Headlamp is a bit loose/wonky, too.

Off seeking a panel beater I go.. I can't seem to win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

... and Bang! Straight into a fox.
    Off seeking a panel beater I go.. I can't seem to win!

You came out of it better than the fox though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Obviously a low oil level should be a reason to contact the garage straight away.

I would get the car looking right first though.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    You came out of it better than the fox though.

I'd argue that! :mad:

:p

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Obviously a low oil level should be a reason to contact the garage straight away.

I would get the car looking right first though.

Ah I have looked more thoroughly at the car today, and the oil couldn't have had anything to do with the fox. The damage would never have touched the engine, and I topped the oil up last night, and i didn't have a puddle of oil on the floor this morning, so I don't think the oil is damaged, although it does seem to be leaking very, very, very slowly (I noticed a stain on the ground where i'd normally park the car, before i hit the fox, so after I hit the fox i parked the car facing the other way to keep an eye on drips etc, and not confuse myself).

I'll tell the engine crowd about hitting the fox. I don't mind them knowing, it'd have no impact on the engine I don't think, and at least they can specifically look for any damage that it may have done (rather than me pretending nothing happened to pull the wool over their eyes).

Panel beater I was in touch with reckons he'd want about a grand to do the whole car (roof has small dents, back bumper has a crack, wheels are scuffed, front bumper is obviously knackered now, rear door (for the boot) has a small dent, etc.

So I might look at that, too.

Low oil just days after it was presumably filled up correctly + no leaks = HGF?

Hopefully not!

Are you going through the insurance for the damage? If not, you'd be mad to spend a grand on cosmetics. Just get it tidied up a little bit for a few hundred quid tops.

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Looks like the damage is confined to just the bumper? If so id be getting onto the likes of Traynors and getting a second hand black bumper. If you are any way practical you could fit it yourself in an afternoon. You'd have the whole thing said and done for less than €100.

I'm not saying you did the wrong thing by going the route you did with replacing the engine, I'd agree with you there but I'd be hard pushed to sink another grand into bodywork so soon, particularly as it doesn't sound like you are out of the woods with potential oil leaks and BCM issues.

Bloody sods law though. Awful luck!

unkel wrote: »
    Low oil just days after it was presumably filled up correctly + no leaks = HGF?

Hopefully not!

Are you going through the insurance for the damage? If not, you'd be mad to spend a grand on cosmetics. Just get it tidied up a little bit for a few hundred quid tops.

HGF - Head Gasket Failure, i presume?

I'm guessing that can't be the case, would i not be right in saying (and I don't know, obviously, cos Im not very clued into it) but if the engine was replaced, presumably that would be part of it?

Depending on how comprehensively the engine was refurbished it may or may not have been.

I doubt the oil leak is related to the head gasket personally. More likely to be the sump gasket leajing or a turbo feed incorrectly fitted etc which wouldnt be too bad.

Depending on how comprehensively the engine was refurbished it may or may not have been.

I doubt the oil leak is related to the head gasket personally. More likely to be the sump gasket leajing or a turbo feed incorrectly fitted etc which wouldnt be too bad.

Which presumably would be covered by them?

It's hard to say for 100% since you've had a minor tap but I'd say the chances of you damaging something that are causing an oil leak are slim to none.

I'd be making my first port of call the people who fitted the engine. It's probably something very simple not tightened correctly/ needing a replacement washer or gasket etc. I'd say they'll be as happy to rectify it as you will be to have it sorted tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

I used a panel beater in the Drogheda area a while back that l found to be very reasonably priced l can PM you his number if you like ?

Yeah you can PM me Robbie, though I think I have a chap sorted, to be honest. I've used the same guy a few times and found him good (I'm more curious to see if you're gonna recommend the same person I already plan to use).

I'll have the car with engine crowd before the end of the week I hope. I've a few bits to do this week, but not really involving the car (but i need to get someone to come with me, so i can get a lift home, as i presume they'll need the car for a day or so, so i need to organise someone to gimme a lift).

Out from that I can't really complain. Need a new windscreen wash bottle, but I doubt that'll cost too much.

Looks like the damage is confined to just the bumper? If so id be getting onto the likes of Traynors and getting a second hand black bumper. If you are any way practical you could fit it yourself in an afternoon. You'd have the whole thing said and done for less than €100.

This interests me, but as someone who knows nothing about removing or replacing car panels, I think I'd rather the comfort of knowing someone else, with a bit of knowledge on the matter, can do it, and do it to a professional standard.

To be honest, he priced the roof dents on my car at €200. A place around the corner wanted €700. It was difficult to get him to do the roof (and i eventually left him be and stopped asking him, though i did offer him more money) as I felt he under-priced it so much that he'd make nothing out of it, and only realised it after he priced it. It'd be a pain in the ass job, so if i can get both my bumpers fixed, my boot/back door, and the dents off my roof, along with my wheels refurbed up for a reasonable fee, I think I'd be happy with that to be honest.

Also, sorry, I believe i hit a badger, not a fox. For some reason fox was in my head.

I have a dash cam and all, but i completely forgot about it. Just checked it back there now and i've unfortunately left it too late :( I've recorded over the footage. Bit annoyed about that. :(

Howdy do folks. Looking for some advice here, as I'm not sure if I'm being fair or reasonable here or not.

as ye're aware, the car got a new engine and they were sound about it, although they took 3 weeks longer than they should have, to do it. The car came back with the following issues:

1 - The dipped lights keep turning on
    2 - Error message on dash saying 'passenger airbag or pre-tensioner seatbelt faulty'
    3 - No reverse lights, going into reverse doesnt disable 'no seatbelt' jingle (they concluded this is down to a dead wire/fuse at the gearbox).
    4 - No air con - when you press the button you'd normally hear the aircon compressor engaging, but nothing is happening.

They have said they will fix the air con and the reverse lights for me, for free. This seems reasonable and I can't argue with that.

However, my big issues is fault 1. The dipped lights have now drained the battery to the stage where it needs to be jumped to get the car going. The lads seem clueless about how to fix it, and have said as much. They've pretty much shrugged their shoulders with a 'we don't really deal with electrics' attitude. Which is grand, i don't expect them to know everything about everything.

But I found this thread earlier today;

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057341440

(which, unfortunately, was split into this new thread with my reply)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=105130320

(gist of it, is that someone else had the same problem and fixed it by changing the fuse box in the engine bay)

So I rang Citroen, explained the issue and they said it could be a BCM issue (which is what the chap describes in the thread, a fuse box in the engine bay needs replacing) and it'll cost about €250, or it could be the BSI needs replacing, at a cost of €550, or it could be both.

So needless to say, I feel a bit hard done by, having to pay an extra €250 (but potentially €800) on top of a bill of €3,200 to sort the engine in the first place.

So where I'm going with this is, is it fair or reasonable to ask Daly's to replace the BCM to fix the headlight issue (for free), as this was never an issue before the car was with them and only appeared during them working on the car? Alternatively is it fair to request they pay towards the cost?

I don't mind paying a few euro to get the car back on the road, but this is the straw breaking the camel's back, so to speak. I'm just fed up with it and I'm annoyed that the car has so many problems after having had the engine replaced.

Could anyone advise on whether im being reasonable or am I just being an asshole? The lads seem sound in Daly's in fairness to them, but iat the same time, I feel i'm being done a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

At this stage you've poured so much money into it that 500e or so may as well be spent to fix the final issue.
    However, I'd seriously consider getting rid of it.
    It seems to have turned into a money pit and at some stage you need to ask is it worth it?
    Should you ask them to do it for free? You can ask which costs nothing but I imagine with them replacing fault 2 and 3 for free that they might feel like it's taking the piss having fault 1 also fixed for free.
    Don't think you're being an asshole, you've spent a fortune on it and it still needs more.
    Id ask them and be prepared that I'll be forking out a potential 750e to fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭martyc5674

Can you try and locate the modules yourself and see if there are loose connections since all the work ?(maybe you have already)it's the most likely reason in fairness.

Have you hooked up a code reader??... this will point you towards which module and if indeed the module itself is faulty get one from from a breakers for small money.
    If any/all that is too technical for you then Bute the bullet and go to a decent auto electrician.
    Marty.

bear1 wrote: »
    However, I'd seriously consider getting rid of it.

In fairness, if anything, i'd be more inclined to keep it now that I've poured so much money into it.

In reality, the only issue the car had was the engine going. Everything else has only appeared since getting the car back from them. None of these other issues existed until they worked on it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

In fairness, if anything, i'd be more inclined to keep it now that I've poured so much money into it.

In reality, the only issue the car had was the engine going. Everything else has only appeared since getting the car back from them. None of these other issues existed until they worked on it. :(

To be fair you paid them to replace a blown engine..

That's what they did.

The other issues are not engine related and in all probability have nothing to do with the work they carried out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭martyc5674

knipex wrote: »
    To be fair you paid them to replace a blown engine..

That's what they did.

The other issues are not engine related and in all probability have nothing to do with the work they carried out..

I disagree with this.
    In all probability they are related to the work either directly or indirectly.
    Using the wrong method jump starting a car can damage modules... a knock can damage them, a loom can get crushed lifting in an engine if not careful.
    Marty.

knipex wrote: »

You'd be fairly glum to put any of the below down to coincidence IMO

1 - The dipped lights keep turning on
    2 - Error message on dash saying 'passenger airbag or pre-tensioner seatbelt faulty'
    3 - No reverse lights, going into reverse doesnt disable 'no seatbelt' jingle (they concluded this is down to a dead wire/fuse at the gearbox).
    4 - No air con - when you press the button you'd normally hear the aircon compressor engaging, but nothing is happening.