Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chapter 2 - Finding Nemo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Ah I know I'm not aware of the backstory. In truth I'll tell you that I thought you were going to tell me that you weren't eating enough in the search for weight loss and faster times! Haha. Just remember running is for enjoyment but so too is the rest of your life. You're doing great. I wouldn't have the balls to post what I'm doing wrong up here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

skyblue46 wrote: »
    Ah I know I'm not aware of the backstory. In truth I'll tell you that I thought you were going to tell me that you weren't eating enough in the search for weight loss and faster times! Haha. Just remember running is for enjoyment but so too is the rest of your life. You're doing great. I wouldn't have the balls to post what I'm doing wrong up here!

Yeah I was doing that too to be honest. Overindulging followed by undereating is an unhealthy cycle. Like I said it's complex and probably too complex to explain in a log online.

Thanks for the kind words. Somewhere along the way this year I lost my way (hence the title) and forgot the enjoyment of running and life.

If there's one thing I am it's honest. Too much so sometimes. haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭MY BAD

Always very honest and open I think most will appreciate that here and it's why your log is one of the most popular (along with the hard work and grit) . I think it's good to be hard on yourself (within reasson) , it helps push you on but in the same breath its important to look back and appreciate what you've got and the progress you've made. It's a fine balance. They say the same about geniuses :pac: All the best in the new year I look forward to see what happens in this new chapter. Especially the 5 to 10km stuff.

PS: Do your best to leave work at work:)

2019 - Chapter Two: Finding Nemo

Going into 2019 I just want to recap on pbs for future reference in one tidy post. All from 2018.

5k - 17.36 (Borrisoleigh)
    5M - 29.24 (Churchtown)
    10k - 36.05 (Ennis)
    10M - 63.08 (Tuamgraney)
    HM 79.48 (Charleville)

Somehow I forgot about Churchtown I my review of 2018.

Plans for 2019 will be to attack most of those. The 10M is one I'd like to get in line with the others as it sticks out like a sore thumb. Managed a much better 10M split than that in Charleville but I don't count that.

I won't get into the new title. Maybe for a change I'll just keep something to myself for once. Haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

2019 - Chapter Two: Finding Nemo

Going into 2019 I just want to recap on pbs for future reference in one tidy post. All from 2018.

5k - 17.36 (Borrisoleigh)
    5M - 29.24 (Churchtown)
    10k - 36.05 (Ennis)
    10M - 63.08 (Tuamgraney)
    HM 79.48 (Charleville)

Somehow I forgot about Churchtown I my review of 2018.

Plans for 2019 will be to attack most of those. The 10M is one I'd like to get in line with the others as it sticks out like a sore thumb. Managed a much better 10M split than that in Charleville but I don't count that.

I won't get into the new title. Maybe for a change I'll just keep something to myself for once. Haha.

You probably split 60:xx in the half marathon, so sub60 would be an achievable goal. Most of your PBs are in and around my own, I might use you as a virtual online rival, try to get back into that shape again.

As you mentioned above, it’s very difficult to get that balance between family/work/life/running commitments, whilst taking them all forward. I found over time that when the children were 0-1.5 years old, it was too much sacrifice and disruption to family life to stay committed to aggressive running goals. When they’re 2+, it gets easier, and once birthday parties/activities, sports clubs etc come into the mix, time can free itself up again. Have a great 2019 with your family, and on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Good man P. Very honest of you. Are you being a bit hard on yourself? None of us are going to the Olympics. Is improvement that important to deny yourself a glass or two of wine or a few squares of chocolate? There's not an extra pound on you! Isn't that bit of pleasure important for life balance?

Skyblue, I think you've touched on something that's really key for a lot of us. Sometimes when I see people finishing a race 10 or 20 minutes behind me and they all laughing and high fiving and so on, I think what the heck! Was all this 7-day-a-week training worth it? What am I doing this for? And yet I find myself closer to Swashy's attitude and approach and desire to improve. As do the majority on here I suppose. It's a fine line between taking it all too seriously and being a lazy auld sod who skips sessions and jogs races. Hopefully, we get it right more often than wrong. Best of luck for 2019 anyway to Swashbuckler and all others. (Written after a few glasses of champers and red wine........)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Shoot, hadn't realised there were more posts on the next page!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

Good man P. Very honest of you. Are you being a bit hard on yourself? None of us are going to the Olympics. Is improvement that important to deny yourself a glass or two of wine or a few squares of chocolate? There's not an extra pound on you! Isn't that bit of pleasure important for life balance?[/QUOTE]

Gonna play a bit of devils advocate on this one

Is wine or treats always life balance? Personally I felt a lot better physically and mentally when eating well many times and likewise if alcohol or sugar affects stress levels, sleep or other factors.

If you are someone who stresses and obsesses though a few treats could well be a mental break but this is probably something that is wholly individualistic.

The nutrition/ lifestyle side of things does not have to be solely driven by performance. Often times a healthier lifestyle can lead to general improved well being while happily marring with performances goals as a happy coincidence.

Some good points above. I'll just touch on a few.
    As you mentioned above, it’s very difficult to get that balance between family/work/life/running commitments, whilst taking them all forward. I found over time that when the children were 0-1.5 years old, it was too much sacrifice and disruption to family life to stay committed to aggressive running goals. When they’re 2+, it gets easier, and once birthday parties/activities, sports clubs etc come into the mix, time can free itself up again. Have a great 2019 with your family, and on the roads.

Thanks and same to you!
    To be honest I've managed to minimize the I pace of running on family. Five out of my six days training are on my lunchbreak. The hard part really has been managing the stress of work coupled with some stuff at home. The running has almost been a separate thing entirely albeit training hard while under pretty tough mental strain.

Also more than happy to be a digital rival. Haha. There's a few more on here for you if you'd like some names. Haha
    Itziger wrote:
    Skyblue, I think you've touched on something that's really key for a lot of us. Sometimes when I see people finishing a race 10 or 20 minutes behind me and they all laughing and high fiving and so on, I think what the heck! Was all this 7-day-a-week training worth it? What am I doing this for? And yet I find myself closer to Swashy's attitude and approach and desire to improve. As do the majority on here I suppose. It's a fine line between taking it all too seriously and being a lazy auld sod who skips sessions and jogs races. Hopefully, we get it right more often than wrong. Best of luck for 2019 anyway to Swashbuckler and all others. (Written after a few glasses of champers and red wine........)

Cheers D and same to you :)

I don't really have it in me to half arse something. Especially when I'm coached. The day I show up at races high fiving is the day I tell Luke he's free from coaching me. Haha. Saying that I see nothing wrong with people who do the high diving thing. I love seeing people run. But I'm just not wired that way.

For some reason I can't link Testostercones post but he hit on some key points. And for me, to say treats provide me with some balance would be wrong. That's really not what's going on. I'd much rather have improved nutrition and learn to deal with the stresses of life productively. But don't get me wrong I'll always enjoy the odd beer. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭El CabaIIo

Finding Balance doesn't mean you can't push yourself hard or train a lot. It simply means being able to shut off when the job is done and not thinking about one thing all or most of the day and from what perspective you look at what your doing from.

It's not black and white where its all high 5's while not breaking a sweat or mind grinding serious regimental madness ala Ma's Army. Common ground does exist where you can push yourself hard and have fun with it. It's basically just looking at something and saying I really enjoy doing it but it's also just another enjoyable part of the day.

The problem in the first place isn't mileage, sessions or whatever, it's basically putting unnessacary and unrealistic pressure on yourself. You are not pu$$ying out, you are dialling back to find the spot and mindframe that you perform best at running and other aspects too. If I told up to go out and run 50x400 tomorrow at 10k pace and you said no, would that make you someone who is not pushing themselves or someone that knows a more patient approach could pay off in the long term?

My advice is to forget about this mental toughness complex thing that so many other runners have as well. You don't have to prove toughness to anyone or yourself(no one can really know tough you are or he is or I am).Your goal shouldn't be to be the toughest runner, it should to best runner you can be. It's Motivation that creates real toughness.

I'll shut up now as I'm posting way too much armchair psychology babble lately:pac:

El CabaIIo wrote:
    I'll shut up now as I'm posting way too much armchair psychology babble lately

Haha well you came to the right log! Seems to be I've turned this log into the mental health log. Haha.

I see your points. I just want to make sure there isn't any confusion. I'm not pushed about being the toughest runner or anything like that. One thing for sure is that I haven't had balance in my life in a long time. Balance for me is dealing with work stresses (positively), dealing with life stresses (positively), keeping my main things my main things ie. Family, running, work in that order.

Very easy update for me this week!

Rest all week til yesterday. Been minding myself after picking up that niggle/injury/fright of my life last weekend. As predicted by the physio the pain has eased as the week went on but it was slow to do so. There's definitely an intermittent nerve element to it. Earlier in the week it was fine one minute and naggy the next. Been doing as much back/glute stretch exercises as I can to help things along. Felt good enough to go out for a tester run yesterday. Kept it very short. Felt pretty good. Range of motion was fine. Felt OK today so no ill effects. I wouldn't say it's 100% gone but it's miles better. Worlds apart from last weekend that's for sure. Feeling optimistic and the hunger is back!

Oh and I meant to say thanks to everyone who gave me the nod in the Awards. Must be doing something right with my rambles! Hopefully it's filled with more running related stuff this year and less of my woes!

Pretty easy update this week. Nothing fancy or complicated. Was told to let the body dictate what I could do but nothing more than 40mins all week. So that's exactly what I did.

As the week has wore on the injury/niggle is less and less noticeable which is great. At the point now where I forget there was ever anything wrong although it does pop by every now and then in terms of a tightness more than anything. I guess that's the nature of a nerve type niggle in the hip. Dr. Google makes me think this was definitely the sciatic nerve getting agitated by some inflammation in a muscle or joint and Google is never wrong? Haha. So I'm happy enough that this isn't anything serious but I still need to be sensible.

As the week went on anyone following my Strava will see the runs picked up a bit. I went from groggy to thinking I'd never get back to where I was to having a nice little pep in my step by Friday/Saturday. Would have loved to stay out for longer yesterday but sensible is the way to go. Been doing stretches every evening on that area too. So all in all a good week in terms of coming back. Just shy of 30 miles.

In terms of the other aspects I've been addressing im happy to say all going well so far. But that's a constant work in progress. So a happy update this week!

Very jealous of some of the monster sessions I'm seeing people doing but my day will come. Haha

Quick question: How "normal" is it to feel pain in the soles of your feet when breaking in new runners. Ran my first run in a new pair of Adidas today and for the first three or four miles the soles of both feet were sore. By the end, they felt fine. The shoes fit nice and snug just as I like them. The heel to toe drop is 10mm which is pretty standard for what I usually wear.

Anyone any experience with this? I can't say its happened me before apart from one time when I tried out a buddie's Nikes and they cut the feet off me.

I'll be giving them another trial anyway but just curious if new runners should feel ok from the get-go or is this normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

I'll be giving them another trial anyway but just curious if new runners should feel ok from the get-go or is this normal.

I always have this with new runners, usually takes about 5 runs for it to disappear. Suffering it currently with my new Pegasus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Quick question: How "normal" is it to feel pain in the soles of your feet when breaking in new runners. Ran my first run in a new pair of Adidas today and for the first three or four miles the soles of both feet were sore. By the end, they felt fine. The shoes fit nice and snug just as I like them. The heel to toe drop is 10mm which is pretty standard for what I usually wear.

Anyone any experience with this? I can't say its happened me before apart from one time when I tried out a buddie's Nikes and they cut the feet off me.

This only happened to me once in a pair of Brooks - never wore them again - wasn't the sole though, it was just rubbing too much on my ankle.
    It did teach me to only buy runners online that I've worn before.

Strange that the sole is hurting - unless they are for a much different gait??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

I don’t think I’ve ever had that. New shoes yes but not new runners. No idea what’s normal I’m afraid :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭mister paul

Quick question: How "normal" is it to feel pain in the soles of your feet when breaking in new runners.

I've had it a couple of times, including current pair. Spent the first miles of their first outing constantly adjusting the laces. They were grand after that.

This only happened to me once in a pair of Brooks - never wore them again - wasn't the sole though, it was just rubbing too much on my ankle.
    It did teach me to only buy runners online that I've worn before.

Strange that the sole is hurting - unless they are for a much different gait??

They're definitely a good fit in terms of snug - no rubbing or movement. I wonder did I lace them a little tight? Overthinking it? It was proper pain in both soles. Pretty much gone by mile 4. I'm probably ultra paranoid as my buddy has plantar for a year and still hasnt made it back to proper full-time running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭MY BAD

I've had some uncomfort around my achilles where I had to break in two pairs of Adidas but I had an ongoing injury at the time. It was due to a higher and harder heel on them compared to Mizuno and Nike that I was using. But generally never have to break in shoes and I vary between 4mm and a 12mm drop. I'd never just completely change my shoes I might wear a new pair once or twice a week for the first 100km or so and start of with shorter runs.

I'd never just completely change my shoes I might wear a new pair once or twice a week for the first 100km or so and start of with shorter runs.

I have about seven pairs on the go so it's definitely not an issue for me! Will try them again next week I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭ariana`

I have about seven pairs on the go so it's definitely not an issue for me! Will try them again next week I think.

7 pairs :eek: I must tell my OH this next time he's giving out about my 3 pairs getting under his feet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Baby75

ariana` wrote: »
    7 pairs :eek: I must tell my OH this next time he's giving out about my 3 pairs getting under his feet :rolleyes:

7 pairs are they all the same make :) I guess I do not need to feel guilty for wanting to buy some more runners now :D

Haha I remember skyblue had some laugh when I mentioned it in my Spotlight stint.

Adidas Adizero - runner of choice for most races.
    Nike Flex RN - 5k racing only.
    Adidas Solar Glide - intended for Easy miles to replace the Asics GT.
    Asics GT 2000 4 - Easy miles to be retired.
    Adidas Supernova Sequence - was intended to be easy miles runner but hate them. Very clunky.
    Saucony Breakthru - Session runner.
    Adidas XC - Cross Country spikes
    Asics Dynaflyte - session/possible race/easy miles. All rounder.

I tend to vary the runners based on what I'm doing. I don't particularly like to become too dependent on one model or pair.

Wish the Nikes suited my feet but I've tried Pegasus and Zoomfly and both didn't agree with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Wow, I either have Brooks, Brooks or Brooks.

All Glycerin.

Actually trail runners are Adidas and work runners Saucony. Second pair of them didn't work out so back to brooks.

I feel so boring now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Haha I remember skyblue had some laugh when I mentioned it in my Spotlight stint.

Adidas Adizero - runner of choice for most races.
    Nike Flex RN - 5k racing only.
    Adidas Solar Glide - intended for Easy miles to replace the Asics GT.
    Asics GT 2000 4 - Easy miles to be retired.
    Adidas Supernova Sequence - was intended to be easy miles runner but hate them. Very clunky.
    Saucony Breakthru - Session runner.
    Adidas XC - Cross Country spikes
    Asics Dynaflyte - session/possible race/easy miles. All rounder.

I tend to vary the runners based on what I'm doing. I don't particularly like to become too dependent on one model or pair.

Wish the Nikes suited my feet but I've tried Pegasus and Zoomfly and both didn't agree with me.

As bad:

3x Nike Odessey React
    3x Nike Pegasus
    1x Nike Zoom Elite
    1x Adidas Boston’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭ariana`

aquinn wrote: »
    Wow, I either have Brooks, Brooks or Brooks.

All Glycerin.

Actually trail runners are Adidas and work runners Saucony. Second pair of them didn't work out so back to brooks.

I feel so boring now.

I was very loyal to Glycerins for a long time too but i moved on to Adidas supernova and Mizuno wave rider since and find the glycerins very clunky now when i go back to them. Lots of cheap deals available on the Adidas too which is an added bonus, i could never find a deal on Brooks. I tried Saucony too but they didn't work for me either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

ariana` wrote: »
    I was very loyal to Glycerins for a long time too but i moved on to Adidas supernova and Mizuno wave rider since and find the glycerins very clunky now when i go back to them. Lots of cheap deals available on the Adidas too which is an added bonus, i could never find a deal on Brooks. I tried Saucony too but they didn't work for me either.

Adidas you say, thanks.

I like that the Brooks are heavy. Will have a nose though.

Sorry P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭healy1835

This deserves a thread of its own I think :)

I used to be a Brooks man, but have since moved to the dark side.....current cycle is....

Nike Pegasus 35 x 2: One for road and one for the Curragh plains (also have a pair of Brooks Caldera but they're just too heavy)

Nike Zoom Streak 6 x 2: My go to racer, one for sessions and a brand new pair just arrived today for races :)

Nike Epic React Flyknit: For steadier road runs. Need a second pair as i'm too precious about the white ones I have! Will probably replace the Pegasus with these and just use Pegasus for easy runs.

Adidas Adizero Boost: for the odd session, keep them in the boot in case i forget the streaks.

Adidas Takumi Ren: Only worn twice, hated them. Tried to sell them but to no avail :( still an option though :)

Nike Zoom Vaporfly 4% Flyknits: Haven't actually ran in them yet :) keeping them for closer to HM in Limerick and then for DCM + longer warm up races