Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

223 ammo?

• 20-08-2017 6:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭

Hello folks, I'm getting great success with the new 223 but I need some advice on ammo. I use 53g hornady 'superformance' at the moment for vermin and they're great but at over €30 a box, they're expensive for practice. Anyone know any ammo I could get for around 50c per shot? Just looking for some cheaper ammo for practice.

Also, any opinions about American eagle fmj's? The 55gr (I think) ones.

PS. It doesn't have to be super accurate cause I'll be sticking with the 53gr for foxes.

Thanks,
    RS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭gavindublin

Tulammo or wolf. Steel cases, and about 12/14 a box.

Where are you located?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭RS98

Located in cork. How do they compare against the AE fmj's?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Tulammo or wolf. Steel cases, and about 12/14 a box.
    If you're paying over €7.50 per box for TulAmmo you need a word in the ear of your dealer.

The most expensive i've seen it was for €10 and i laughed at that price. For €12 to €14 you can buy American Eagle which is miles better.

The TulAmmo can be gotten for as little as €5 per box, when bought in bulk. The majority is 62gr so apart from it being dirty, steel ammo, its also only suited to faster twist rates such as 1:9

Barnaul is in the same category both in terms of steel ammo and cheap. However unlike TulAmmo and Wolf the Barnaul is sold as 5.56/223 which is a misdirect. If its 5.56 then it's not 223 and should NEVER be used ina 223 rifle. I've heard of and seen a good few cases of stuck bolts from lads using this stuff.
    RS98 wrote: »
    Located in cork. How do they compare against the AE fmj's?
    Not close.

They are decent/good at 50 yards, average at 100 and get progressively crap-er as they go out. Between 1 - 2 moa at each distance. If you have a semi auto and are looking for cheap fun then this is the ammo. For good performance, not even great just good, you need to go for something better.

The AE stuff is quite good in most formats. The 50gr to 55gr. FMJ i find works better that HP, but both a decent choice.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Cheers for the replies. Sorry about this now but I've a few questions to ask...

Where are you getting the tullammo at €7 a box? Like you said, just want some cheap fun plus a cheap way to get used to the rifle. Every place seems to be out of the Russian stuff.

I'm after buying some American eagle HP's at €20 per box but haven't got a chance to try it yet. Does €20 a box sound about right? I'll try the fmj's as well soon. McCullough sports I think sell them for around €11 per box.

Lastly, have ye ever tried the fiocchi 50gr ballistic tips? How did they do?

Sorry for all the questions

RS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Rosahane

From what I remember from when I had a 223, American Eagle and the Federal Power Shock (I think) had exactly the same ballistics so I practiced with American Eagle and kept the Power Shock for the foxes.

They helpfully print the ballistic tables on the boxes so it's easy to compare..

Where are you getting the tullammo at €7 a box?
    Atlantic in Carlow. €7.50 per box, 3 for €20, and the more you buy the cheaper it gets.
    Like you said, just want some cheap fun plus a cheap way to get used to the rifle. Every place seems to be out of the Russian stuff.
    It's cheap and the performance i get may not be what you get (could be better or worse), but it can mess up your confidence if it's as bad. It's one thing to practice trigger pull, recoil management, etc. but at some point you like to see the improvement in technique and with TulAmmo you may not get this.
    I'm after buying some American eagle HP's at €20 per box but haven't got a chance to try it yet.
    Mine is a 1:9 and is not particularly fond of HP rounds (it's semi auto so maybe that has something to do with it) However the bolt action, which is 1:12, shoots them just fine.
    Does €20 a box sound about right?
    It's on the more expensive end but it's been a while since i bought them so that sounds about average.
    . I'll try the fmj's as well soon. McCullough sports I think sell them for around €11 per box.
    Thats about right.
    Lastly, have ye ever tried the fiocchi 50gr ballistic tips?
    Yes.
    How did they do?
    Quite well in both my semi auto and bolt action. A hell of a lot better than the 50gr HP in Fiocchi. Jaysus they were crap. Worse than the TulAmmo and as bad as they were in the bolt action they were a disaster in the semi auto.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

My rifle is 1:12 so hopefully it works out ok. After having a look at it, just noticed the brass is dirty looking (compared to hornady but they are cheaper)

Are ballistic tip bullets significantly better than hollow points in dropping foxes?

Atlantic seems to have a good selection of stuff so I'll give them a call tomorrow.

My rifle is 1:12 so hopefully it works out ok. After having a look at it, just noticed the brass is dirty looking (compared to hornady but they are cheaper)
    Stick with 40gr to 55gr stuff and you'll be golden.

As for the ammo cases, its down to the quality/composition of the steel they use.
    Are ballistic tip bullets significantly better than hollow points in dropping foxes?
    I'm not a ballistician so cannot give a proper answer other than to say if you hit a fox in the right spot with anything its going down. After that it's up to what you prefer. I prefer BT rounds over SP, HP and FMJ.
    Atlantic seems to have a good selection of stuff so I'll give them a call tomorrow.
    Their site is not great in that it doesn't showcase everything they stock.

Let me know how you get on because i see they have been silent for nearly two months. They were moving property but my mate was down with them last week and the old place is closed with no signs on where the new shop is or if it's open. He got no answer to his call.

So curious to see if they are open again.

I called them three times this morning, no answer. I also sent them an email just incase the phone number is old or something. I'll let you know if I get a response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭skipking

i heard the are closed as they are moving . dont know where.

skipking wrote: »

You might be right, I've gotten no word back. Do post an update if you hear anything more.

skipking wrote: »
    The thing is i said above the same as yourself,
    Cass wrote: »
    Let me know how you get on because i see they have been silent for nearly two months. They were moving property but my mate was down with them last week and the old place is closed with no signs on where the new shop is or if it's open. He got no answer to his call.

So curious to see if they are open again.
    but their FB page has no updates in over two months, and another mate of mine has two scopes bought and paid for with them and has not been able to contact them to collect.

For all intensive purposes it seems like they are closed. Whether that is for good or not i don't know, but after two months of absolutely no word it's financial and business suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 schmidt223

When last at Atlantic they said they were moving the business to the home place and that they were opening a range there also. That was about six weeks ago.

Cass wrote: »

and another mate of mine has two scopes bought and paid for with them and has not been able to contact them to collect.

Well that's certainly not good.

Their last post was on July 12 apologizing for the the lack of replies.

Is "unit 4, shamrock business park, graiguecullen, Carlow" their old address?

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭outinthefields

Atlantic have closed and the word I'm hearing is the permit for the range has been denied.

Ah that's a shame. I hope those lads that bought the scopes get their money back.

Quick update, I've picked up some American eagle fmj's for 12 a box from mcbrides. Not a lot of difference in price between the steel cased stuff so might as well go for it.

RS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

My favourite all rounder was Remington hp 55gr. Great work on a fox and steady shot to 300 yards
    Good hole in a fox aswell. Always stop em dead