Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MI6 (allegedly) Watching Potential Terrorists in Ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

They are in the ROI because the Irish government wants them to be. For MI6 to be doing this means a REAL problem exists and tells me something is up. Maybe a cell of Jihadi terrorists are planning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Jake1 wrote: »
    I'd be more worried about the 70  that are supposedly on a watch list, than m16,
    considering the events of the past week.
    70 Jihadi suspects on the Island is absolutely shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Any news on the imminent Halawa release?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

70 Jihadi suspects on the Island is absolutely shocking.

Hardly surprising is it. I be on My toes around Belfast nowadays. Anyone who thinks we a are immune is an idiot tbh...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭enricoh

Thank fook they are. A journalist asked noirin o Sullivan how many gardai could speak arabic for intelligence gathering. She couldnt say. He then asked her if ANY gardai could speak arabic. She couldn't say ! Not exactly inspiring!

enricoh wrote: »
    Thank fook they are. A journalist asked noirin o Sullivan how many gardai could speak arabic for intelligence gathering. She couldnt say. He then asked her if ANY gardai could speak arabic. She couldn't say ! Not exactly inspiring!

jaysus, I hope at least a few of them do.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

fizzypish wrote: »
    Kinda wondering what the UVF or IRA response to an attack in Belfast would be? Probably a stupid question.

UVF response: Go and beat the piss out of some lad in a kebab shop.
    IRA response: [Redacted]
    They are in the ROI because the Irish government wants them to be. For MI6 to be doing this means a REAL problem exists and tells me something is up. Maybe a cell of Jihadi terrorists are planning.

They're here because THEY want to be. It'd be stupid to think an intelligence agency doesn't have boots on the ground in their close neighbours. They'll be in France, Germany, Spain too.

Jake1 wrote: »
    jaysus, I hope at least a few of them do.

Some of them should, but translators can be used.

[QUOTE=Sofiztikated;104425793
    IRA response: .[/QUOTE]

Ira response??? Welcome them into the fold and share expertise I would think. Sure the ra pure love other terrorists. ETA/ farc, etc etc. Why not Isis?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,056 ✭✭✭✭Esel

They never went away, you know...

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Vinculus

I suppose the best person to find a terrorist is a terrorist.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

timthumbni wrote: »
    Ira response??? Welcome them into the fold and share expertise I would think. Sure the ra pure love other terrorists. ETA/ farc, etc etc. Why not Isis?

I take it then you don't disagree with the belief that the Uvf would just terrorise a local kebab shop tinythumb?

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

Academic wrote: »
    I don’t know if it’s accurate, but Wikipedia claims that MI6’s annual budget is £2.6 billion.

Anyone know what the annual budget would be of the equivalent agency in the Republic?

No one knows its classified its separate from the defense budget AFAIK

I take it then you don't disagree with the belief that the Uvf would just terrorise a local kebab shop tinythumb?

Hmmm. Whatever you say Clannad. I dislike the terrorist uvf as much as I do the terrorist republican Ira. Any more weird questions???

• Registered Users Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭sjb25

Is this legal?

I thought there was legislation prohibiting foreign security personnel operating here without permission.

Probably not but to think they all are not ie mi6 cia fbi the hole lot are not here on and off would be silly sure wasn't Mossad fellas going round with Irish passports at one stage
    All these organisations will go to any country unannounced if they are tracking somebody that's kinda what they do
    Is it legal probably not do I care not really as long as the inform AGS or G2 of anything imminent in Ireland let them at it

Number of issues here.

1) First, the British and their agencies have a very recent history of aiding and abetting anti-Irish terrorists.
    It's laughable to welcome their "help"?
    They're as much a danger to national security as Islamists if not more.

They also were incapable of stopping British Islamists.

2) However, we all know that our police force are a joke. Along with our judiciary.
    Gardaí refuse to even round up gypsy criminals, or junkies in the city centre.
    Yet, we're treated to propaganda of gardaí waving guns around for the media to show how they'd defend us.

3) Also, if we believe this story to be true, then it is highly illegal.

But what do we expect?

An incompetent commissioner appointed by a failed Taoiseach, Kenny, despised by all and only still here because she cannot get another job.

Máire Whelan, the attorney general, is a screw up who had the arrogance to accept that position having been improperly appointed.

Judiciary do not live in the real world and the prisons are not fit for purpose. Far too lenient.

AGS are stuck in the 1950's and are all smoke and mirrors, no substance.

Frances Fitzgerald was a poor justice minister and Charlie Flanagan is a numpty who really actually says nothing.

5) Fine Gael and previous governments have never had a problem with this broken and non functioning justice system apart from soundbites.

A government with political will is needed to give some home truths, not inviting the people behind the largest terrorist attacks on the island - Dublin and Monaghan bombings.

But hopefully this may allow some discussion about our police force and their capability and supports or lack thereof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Number of issues here.

1) First, the British and their agencies have a very recent history of aiding and abetting anti-Irish terrorists.
    It's laughable to welcome their "help"?
    They're as much a danger to national security as Islamists if not more.

They also were incapable of stopping British Islamists.

2) However, we all know that our police force are a joke. Along with our judiciary.
    Gardaí refuse to even round up gypsy criminals, or junkies in the city centre.
    Yet, we're treated to propaganda of gardaí waving guns around for the media to show how they'd defend us.

3) Also, if we believe this story to be true, then it is highly illegal.

But what do we expect?

An incompetent commissioner appointed by a failed Taoiseach, Kenny, despised by all and only still here because she cannot get another job.

Máire Whelan, the attorney general, is a screw up who had the arrogance to accept that position having been improperly appointed.

Judiciary do not live in the real world and the prisons are not fit for purpose. Far too lenient.

AGS are stuck in the 1950's and are all smoke and mirrors, no substance.

Frances Fitzgerald was a poor justice minister and Charlie Flanagan is a numpty who really actually says nothing.

5) Fine Gael and previous governments have never had a problem with this broken and non functioning justice system apart from soundbites.

A government with political will is needed to give some home truths, not inviting the people behind the largest terrorist attacks on the island - Dublin and Monaghan bombings.

But hopefully this may allow some discussion about our police force and their capability and supports or lack thereof.

8.5 out of 10 for incoherent online moan. Didn't mention the EU or Israel, so stopping short of giving you a perfect score.

On you period?

Thanks for not bothering to read it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Academic wrote: »
    I don’t know if it’s accurate, but Wikipedia claims that MI6’s annual budget is £2.6 billion.

Anyone know what the annual budget would be of the equivalent agency in the Republic?

We don't have an equivalent agency.

G2 is not the equivalent of M16

Not equivalent but they are as close as we have

They are the national intelligence service of Ireland

sjb25 wrote: »
    Not equivalent but they are as close as we have

They are the national intelligence service of Ireland

You are right in saying they are the closest we have.

The reason I think they are not the equivalent of MI6 is because they only recruit from the defence forces, therefore they are recruiting from a very small pool.

M16 recruit civilians with specific expertise in relevant areas be it languages, cyber security, strategic analysis, etc. The Brits also have MI5 to deal with internal security, GCHQ to deal with signals intelligence as well as normal military intelligence and specialist police units.

As far as I'm aware we are the only European country of significant size to not have an intelligence agency.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Jamie2k9 wrote: »

As you would expect of the journal, there is absolutely nothing to verify the truth of their claims

"sources have confirmed"
    "Sources say"

F*cking clickbait for its idiot readership.