Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The missus, the mother

• 13-08-2017 4:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭

Does anyone else think that these terms are slightly derogatory?

As in... it's an object that kind of..... has to be put up with?

Ah jaysus the missus wouldn t go out with out fixin' up d' nails wha!!??
    Ah jaysus I'm only here coz d mudder made me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

More people taking offence, excellent. Cop on snowflake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭alberto67

Wesser wrote: »

It depends on which forum you post that request...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

No .. get over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

Ah come 'ere!! I'm only opening up a thread for a bit of bants!! Its just a bit of fun!!!! I'm not actually offended!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

"Ah jaysus, the Bmwguy called out The Snowflake"

Ah come 'ere!! I'm only opening up a thread for a bit of bants!! Its just a bit of fun!!!! I'm not actually offended!

I think you are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

My 3 year old called me daddy last week, I quickly beat that out of her, it's father or Mr Senna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I'm "the hubby". I don't see the problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Don't mind the missus.

When people refer to their gf as "herself", that really annoys me.

alberto67 wrote: »
    I think you are...

Of course he isn't offended, but just like many others, he goes around looking for things that he thinks MIGHT offend someone else, even thought no one ever is.
    It's just the pathetic moral outrage generation.

Senna wrote: »
    Of course he isn't offended, but just like many others, he goes around looking for things that he thinks MIGHT offend someone else, even thought no ever is.

Thanks Daddy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

Senna wrote: »
    Of course he isn't offended, but just like many others, he goes around looking for things that he thinks MIGHT offend someone else, even thought no ever is.

Hmm. I vaguely recall there's a word for that but I can't remember what it is. I think it might start with the letter "T." Anyone remember?

Academic wrote: »
    Hmm. I vaguely recall there's a word for that but I can't remember what it is. I think it might start with the letter "T." Anyone remember?

Trama queen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Im offended by your use of the noise "bants".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Start again so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I'm after blinking, like an absolute boss.
    Just saying

Start again so.

Ok!!!

Maybe I'm.not expressing myself properly?
    I suspect sometimes... when a man uses this phrase.... that he feels that his head is slightly wrecked by a woman....who is ' at him in some way , or maybe he is a bit hen pecked.....

I just thought people might have some funny stories.... you hear the phrase often in Dublin.

I am not is the slightest offended.... and always smile to myself when I hear it.... but I always wonder is the man .... little bit demented!!??? 🙂🙂🙂🙂

I mean it in the nicest possible way and I'm not offended!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Google 'hubby meaning' and 'wifey meaning', to see a simple demonstration of how absolutely obsessed we currently are at finding misogyny in every possible place.

hubby - a husband
    wifey - a condescending way of referring to a man's wife

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

eeguy wrote: »
    Don't mind the missus.

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

You think someone is demented if they use those phrases?

Do you know what 'demented' means?

Yes I know what demented means.

In my post I mean it as people use it casually... ......as in they feel slight annoyance.... this is they way people use this term in everyday speak.

I find it dismissive.

Does every single thread where someone says "I don't like..." get a snowflake reference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Snowflake search engine

www.google.ie/search?q=hubby
    a husband.

www.google.ie/search?q=wifey
    a condescending way of referring to a man's wife.

Thanks Conor.
    That's a much better word!!!
    Dismissive I should have said. !!!
    Not derogatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

alberto67 wrote: »
    Trama queen?

Nice one, but no. I think the second letter might have been "r" ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

5uspect wrote: »
    Why?

I just think it's dismissive and impersonal.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

"Heres the missus.. For my sins"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Yes I know what demented means.

In my post I mean it as people use it casually... ......as in they feel slight annoyance.... this is they way people use this term in everyday speak.

People use those terms regardless of their frame of mind at the time. Demented or not, annoyed or not, the terms are used. And no harm in them other than a poor vocabulary.

Academic wrote: »
    Nice one, but no. I think the second letter might have been "r" ...

That's very academic... Traumatised?

100 posts! I'll be a legend of Boards soon :pac:

Google 'hubby meaning' and 'wifey meaning', to see a simple demonstration of how absolutely obsessed we currently are at finding misogyny in every possible place.

hubby - a husband
    wifey - a condescending way of referring to a man's wife

Who uses the term "Wifey"? cannot say I have ever heard anyone use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

'She who must be obeyed' is far better. It sounds like they're married to a dominatrix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

There's a common cockney saying where a wife or girlfriend is referred to as "her indoors" which is hilarious when you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

I remembering hearing Pat Kenny referring to Kathy,his wife as "the other half" at an awards ceremony.I thought it was very disrespectful hearing a professional broadcaster say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Asked the missus here and she said chill out, Sir Lancelot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

It's the ''The'' bit that I dislike. ''My missus' or ''my mother'' is ok. ''The missus'' sounds like they're distancing themself from her. I think immature men do it more than most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Pretty sure you'll find some who would whinge about "My", too - they're not a piece of property, etc, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

As in... it's an object that kind of..... has to be put up with?

Ah jaysus the missus wouldn t go out with out fixin' up d' nails wha!!??
    Ah jaysus I'm only here coz d mudder made me....

Is that you Louise O’Neill?

Ficheall wrote: »
    Pretty sure you'll find some who would whinge about "My", too - they're not a piece of property, etc, etc.

''My'' doesn't always imply ownership though. And if it did, you're equally theirs.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

OP what are your thoughts on people who refer to their dad as "Th'oulfella"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

''My'' doesn't always imply ownership though. And if it did, you're equally theirs.
    And "the" doesn't always imply 'distance'.
    I wasn't suggesting the whingers were logical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Still think that the term "She who must be obeyed" is the best one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Personally I prefer to be called by my official title: The Wicked Bitch of the West.

Ficheall wrote: »
    And "the" doesn't always imply 'distance'.
    I wasn't suggesting the whingers were logical.

Well, ''the'' isn't the correct way of referring to someone so it's open to interpretation. ''My'' on the other hand is the usual and accepted way to refer to a relative, partner or acquaintance. Or even a boss or superior of some kind, which goes to show that it isn't intended to suggest ownership or domination of the other person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Better to use "the" and sound dismissive than to use "my" and accidentally lead people to believe that you're referring to someone whom you deeply love.

• Site Banned Posts: 28 ShmuckRyan

Wouldn't dare call her "the missus".

It's her indoors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

The Missus is used as a term of endearment by loads of people. I don't see anything wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

eeguy wrote: »
    Don't mind the missus.

Does noone remember "er indoors"?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭fyfe79

FanadMan wrote: »
    Still think that the term "She who must be obeyed" is the best one.

A good one I heard recently was "Head of the War Office". :pac:

Who's 'her'?

The cat's mother?

/everyone's mother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The bitch and the dragon
    The wife and the mother in law