Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Safest place to be in the event of nuclear war?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Does anyone have any of those iodine tablets left that the government gave us?

I'll build a table from them and hide under it:)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭uch

Tanzania, them cúnts love their football but hate politics

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Technically: Iceland‡, Isle of Lewis^, Bern, Guam, Capetown*, Antartica^, TrisanDaCunha±, Yukon or Kansas°

‡ Plus: They have too much generational interbreeding, so may welcome fresh seed deposits.
    ^ Minus: Little or no continuous food sources, apart from 3-head fish supper.
    * Minus: Top10 homicide city, imagine it x10 worse.
    ° Plus: Fertile and spacious lands
    ± Minus: Language

If it's a full-scale global stick throwing game you're stuffed if situated across the water (they'll be queuing up at ports for boats out).
    But Cumbria may fair well according to one tabloid and a cheap place to start a bunker.

hothousehunt.png

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭Here we go

Savlbard Norway there's a world seed fault that's where I'd go lol it's built to survive a nucualar war and has seeds, of every plant on earth and I presume other things needed to live until one could replant them

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭Randle P. McMurphy

Wherever you end up it's important to follow these steps.

1. Stay away from any windows.
    2. Remove glasses and empty pockets of any sharp objects.
    3 Loosen necktie and any restrictive clothing.
    4. As soon as you see the blinding light, bend over and place your head firmly between your legs.
    5. Then kiss your ass goodbye.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭rekluse

Leitrim, always Leitrim.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Leitrim.
    Can't attack somewhere that doesn't exist.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Miaireland wrote: »
    The bunker from Unbreakable Kimmy

With Jon Hamm? Nice!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Well judging from this, Canada is pretty fúcked. In fact nowhere really gets away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

https://nuclearsecrecy.com/nukemap/ great fun to be had with this site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Not sure I'd want to be around after a nuclear exchange anywhere near this country. The fallout would make living a misery depending on where was hit where the winds blow afterward.

The movie Threads gave me nightmares about that sort of thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Hide under the kitchen table until it's died down be grand. And dig out the iodine tablets the government issued , they will save you no problem nothing to be worried about!

Hide under a pile of coats, or make your own pillow fort in the living room. And those iodine tabs expired long ago. In fact I think our dog ate them

• Registered Users Posts: 12,434 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

In a cockroaches belly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

If you survive the initial blast (very likely that it won't be near us) your worry should then be surviving the world after the collapse of society. It won't go back to normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

The correct answer is The Sea of tranquility and watch the pretty fireworks - which reminds me ...

Not sure I'd want to be around after a nuclear exchange anywhere near this country. The fallout would make living a misery depending on where was hit where the winds blow afterward.

The movie Threads gave me nightmares about that sort of thing
    Threads was a very realistic picture of what it would be like. Very bleak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

All out nuclear war won't happen but an exchange could.

Ireland would be safe from direct attack and we'd be mostly be spared fallout. Air bursts are more effective than ground detonations, unless its a bunker you're aiming at.

Chill out everyone. Pay attention crossing the road, etc. More likely to die there.

PucaMama wrote: »

Actually watched that about 3-4 days ago (spurred on by a similar thread on here).

Was a good film. Enjoyable and intriguing to watch, but it did get a little lost along the way and wandered a bit far into exaggeration, I reckon.

something like 15 years later people were still going around in gangs shooting looters and the likes
    . But up to the 6-12 month mark I'd say it's on the ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Mech1 wrote: »
    8 letter would be misusage

A perfectly cromulant word.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Inside a fridge.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    Inside a fridge.

Beer, food and air conditioning. Yeah man that works for me

All out nuclear war won't happen but an exchange could.

Ireland would be safe from direct attack and we'd be mostly be spared fallout. Air bursts are more effective than ground detonations, unless its a bunker you're aiming at.

Chill out everyone. Pay attention crossing the road, etc. More likely to die there.
    What makes you think we will be spared fallout? And if we were society will still collapse because the rest of the world won't be spared.

Actually watched that about 3-4 days ago (spurred on by a similar thread on here).

Was a good film. Enjoyable and intriguing to watch, but it did get a little lost along the way and wandered a bit far into exaggeration, I reckon.

something like 15 years later people were still going around in gangs shooting looters and the likes
    . But up to the 6-12 month mark I'd say it's on the ball.
    It's not exaggerated.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It's not exaggerated.
    Yeah it was, on a few points. In conflicts without ethnic ingredients things tend to settle down pretty quickly.

Ireland would have some advantages as the current population is fairly small(though would be better if smaller again) and pretty homogeneous currently. We might be able to feed ourselves. The UK say would be utterly fcuked by comparison.

Oh and apparently the Falkland Islands would be spared the most radiation because of winds and ocean currents.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,542 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Madagascar obviously. President Madagascar shut down everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

What makes you think we will be spared fallout? And if we were society will still collapse because the rest of the world won't be spared.
    Because detonating a warhead above a target allows for a larger area to be damaged and reduces the amount of particles that would be irradiated and sent high into the atmosphere, compared to a ground burst.
    An exchange between 2 countries is more likely than everyone firing everything at each other. The superpowers don't want tactical exchanges - they wouldn't be superpowers afterwards. USA owes China too much to be nuked by them; USA needs China's money too much to nuke them and so on and so forth
    Nukes aren't all tsar bomba's; each missile/rocket has a number of warheads set to a lower yield so 8 targets could be hit by 1 rocket (MIRV's) and they are configured to specific intentions, say, 1to knock out an industrial area, 1 to cripple a financial area like Wall St, 1 for a military airbase, 1to a missile silo etc; many low yield is better than a few big ones.

We would be spared fallout because there wouldn't be an awful amount created in an exchange. There have been over 2,000 detonations of nukes throughout the world. Vast majority of them have been on land. The world hasn't collapsed and we're not eating each others flesh or forgotten how to speak...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Nothing is as it appears in the surface. Regarding nukes from North Korea, the Americans have called the Kims bluff and the regime has backed down knowing they have nothing, resorting instead to posturing by summoning up it's population to the army. They will not be able to maintain this posture for long, winter is coming and the harvest needs to be in. Where this may go is trigger a refugee crisis as North Koreans try to flee over the border to China rather than starve.

A full on nuclear exchange between the USA and Russia would see ICBMs flying over the North pole as the shortest route to target. At the moment both sides are engaged in proxy wars and posturing - Syria, Ukraine, the Baltics. The American posture is being driven by US domestic politics namely the Democrats are in disarray and want to distract from their losses and internal corruption scandals. The neocon arm led by insane senator John McCain are constantly seeking confrontation to justify their positions and maintain defence spending. Both Republicans and Democrats and the Washington establishment are anti president Trump who has tried to appease their defence offence industry by increasing their budget and buy himself time. Trump is an independent candidate who has usurped the power structure to become president and is currently fighting for his survival to prevent being boxed in.

For years is has been acknowledge the most likely place a nuclear exchange is could happen is between India and Pakistan. Israel is also a prime candidate state to use nuclear weapons. Since this is August and the anniversaries of Hiroshima and Nagasaki have just passed remember that America remains the only state to have used nuclear weapons against large population centres and there remains an element within the US military that are convinced that they can win a nuclear exchange with a first strike, these elements are behind Senator McCain, there is another smaller movement within the US military that sees the almost 2 decades long conflict in the middle East as a disaster and wants détente, this is the faction supporting Trump. Hopefully cooler heads prevail and McCain dies soon before he can do any more damage.

Another factor to bear in mind that radiation poisoning will not be cause of death for you in Ireland in the event of a full on nuclear war between super powers, it will be starvation and cold caused by the disruption of trade (primarily oil & gas).

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭gnarbarian

Duck and Cover!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 48 indeq

All the lads destroying the planet in one way or another are buying up new Zealand.

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2017/jan/29/silicon-valley-new-zealand-apocalypse-escape

• Registered Users Posts: 964 ✭✭✭123shooter

Owryan wrote: »
    Surely irish neutrality will save us, it'll be like a great be shield over our fair isle. It'll be powered by all the hot air from our looney left that keep invoking it

Nah cause the even more loony left EU are intent on having their EU super army and Irish ports will be home to their western fleet.............So if the cheese monkey lays off launching his new toys for a while, the EU will have threatened Ireland with 'No more money' and Ireland will obey plans for the the EU western fleet to set up home.