Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbags leave Kerry dunes in a heap

• 09-08-2017 1:41pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭

So apparently there was an unofficial 3 day rave organised by teenagers from Cork down at the dunes in Derrynane, and they left the place in a right state:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/human-waste-and-condoms-left-after-derrynane-sand-dunes-party-1.3181377?utm_content=sf-man

The locals have set up a Facebook page to highlight this:

https://www.facebook.com/Vandalism-of-Derrynane-Dunes-August-weekend-2017-1839372166090686/

I saw a quote from a local Garda:
    Garda Sergeant Mike Murphy from Caherciveen Garda Station confirmed that they are looking into the issue.
    “We are aware of it and we certainly will be looking into it. We will be looking into the stuff left behind and will be speaking to the youths to see if we can come to some understanding,” Sgt Murphy said.

... some understanding ...

WTF? If this was going on illegally for 3 days why wasn't it shut down on the first night?

The little einsteins left a trail of evidence as to who they are.. and are boasting about it on the Facebook page above. Will their thickness be punished?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Never underestimate the amount of littering scumbags in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

spockety wrote: »
    So apparently there was an unofficial 3 day rave organised by teenagers from Cork down at the dunes in Derrynane, and they left the place in a right state:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/human-waste-and-condoms-left-after-derrynane-sand-dunes-party-1.3181377?utm_content=sf-man

https://www.facebook.com/Vandalism-of-Derrynane-Dunes-August-weekend-2017-1839372166090686/

I saw a quote from a local Garda:

... some understanding ...

WTF? If this was going on illegally for 3 days why wasn't it shut down on the first night?

The little einsteins left a trail of evidence as to who they are.. and are boasting about it on the Facebook page above. Will their thickness be punished?

Will they be punished? No, not a chance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I heard that the Fairies did it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Maybe they were left to wreck the place so that a certain politician would get the contract to haul the waste away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,136 ✭✭✭✭Stark

"Used condoms".

Good to know that teenagers are playing safe these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'd say it was some craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Beware of beliving the hyped sensationist sh1te spurted by the media in silly season.

It was not a "Rave". It was a group of teens that did a big camp ut and had a few drinks and some music. Has happened for many years there and this is the first year that its been left in a poor state. I'm not sayign they left it spotless before, but lets just say a certain "ethnic" group of people leave far more crap behind on unauthorised "camp sites" every friggin week of the year in many many areas particularly the Curragh.

As for "punishment" - what law have they broken excet for litter byelaws?

Played some music, slept in a tent, had a few beers? - Can you pint out anything that they can be prosecuted for.

Its silly season sh1te - a bit of a mess, yes, a bit noisy, but otherwise harmless. Maybe next year someone has a chat with them to tidy up afterwards

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Beware of beliving the hyped sensationist sh1te spurted by the media in silly season.

It was not a "Rave". It was a group of teens that did a big camp ut and had a few drinks and some music. Has happened for many years there and this is the first year that its been left in a poor state. I'm not sayign they left it spotless before, but lets just say a certain "ethnic" group of people leave far more crap behind on unauthorised "camp sites" every friggin week of the year in many many areas particularly the Curragh.

Played some music, slept in a tent, had a few beers? - Can you pint out anything that they can be prosecuted for.

Its silly season sh1te - a bit of a mess, yes, a bit noisy, but otherwise harmless. Maybe next year someone has a chat with them to tidy up afterwards

The entire point is that they left the place in a heap. Not exactly civic minded, and some other poor f***rs are left picking up their used condoms.

That's the problem with this country... we can't behave ourselves, and it starts with the youth and continues through right until old age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

The entire point is that they left the place in a heap. ............

The "damage" may have been added to after they departed - make a place look 10 times worse in 15 minutes

No-one stabbed, no-one shot

bit like this in 2016 :

No arrests were made and while searches were carried out on some individuals no illegal substances were found.

http://www.independent.ie/regionals/kerryman/news/garda-raid-rave-in-tralee-factory-34621850.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭OnDraught

The kids that weren't there ratting out their mates who also weren't there on that Facebook page is the funniest part of it. They have the locals in a tizzy screenshotting teenagers pages and whatnot.

Maybe the locals might want to get off the compoooters and go tidy up the halting site down the road

uZ0XEsg.jpg

I heard that the Fairies did it :pac:

A fairly serious statement to make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

I read the title as Kerry Dunnes.
    Then read the first line about an organised teen Rave.

That would have been interesting. Having a rave in the dairy section of a Kerry Dunnes Stores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Nabber wrote: »

That would have been interesting. Having a rave in the dairy section of a Kerry Dunnes Stores.

I read it as Kerry dunnes too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Dublin for Sam. Kerry for the holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

Is this a Cork thing? In all seriousness wasn't that student with the dead dolphin from cork too? Are they right in the head there at all????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

The bumfluff-addled, snapchat fcukwits should be put in a chain gang and made clean up their mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,508 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Nabber wrote: »

Erik Shin wrote: »
    I read it as Kerry dunnes too :)

At least I wasn't the only one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

No punches pulled on the FB reviews... :pac:

rfeq.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

gctest50 wrote: »
    Maybe the locals might want to get off the compoooters and go tidy up the halting site down the road

uZ0XEsg.jpg

the youngster's could just say that drinking , playing music and ridin is part of young peoples culture , everything be all right then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

I wonder what the natterjack toad thinks of all this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

I wonder what the natterjack toad thinks of all this?

A number of them croaked over the weekend.

I'm not sayign they left it spotless before, but lets just say a certain "ethnic" group of people leave far more crap behind on unauthorised "camp sites"....

...a bit of a mess, yes, but otherwise harmless.

This post surpasses stupid on so many levels. Any knacker of a settled person, it seems, should have a right to litter and pollute Irish society because, sure, "the Travellers are worse!". And, sure, isn't littering just "harmless". The thought process is in a league of its own.

Long past time for local authorites to not only impose serious fines but to name and shame everybody found littering in this state. At the very least rightwing politicians who care about our massive tourism industry should be allying with the environmentalists to support this. Not to mention our taxes being used to clean up these messes. The current Irish political mentality on littering is utterly backward and ignorant. Not even a publicity campaign or a number to report these scumbags to.

Typical blow-in

Ross, from DunLaoghaire, Co Dublin first went to Uganda with Goal as a student volunteer

Ross said he was disappointed when he returned home to find the Celtic Tiger in full roar.

He said: "It was the first time I had been back since I was in college and Ireland had changed a lot.

"It was disappointing to see what our focus had become. We had become greedy.

Ross Duffy said he comes back to Derrynane as a base to relax and meditate.

but yet

“The amount of shampoo bottles we found.

They were clearly concerned about their personal hygiene, and they had even demarcated a section for use as a toilet,” he said.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

On the bright side, it's good to hear that condoms have finally reached Kerry and that the uptake is strong.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Peregrine wrote: »
    On the bright side, it's good to hear that condoms have finally reached Kerry and that the uptake is strong.

Jesus thats about 25 years quicker than I thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

The entire point is that they left the place in a heap. Not exactly civic minded, and some other poor f***rs are left picking up their used condoms.

That's the problem with this country... we can't behave ourselves, and it starts with the youth and continues through right until old age.

Ahhhh sure tis, tis all a bit of craic ye wet blanket.

*sarcasm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Did the guards in Caherciveen have no knowledge of this until it was over?

Ross Duffy said the local economy depends on tourism, including nature trails that go through the campsite.

During the rest of the year where do the campers go to the toilet ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭munster87

A fairly serious statement to make

Fairy serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

To be fair while they shouldn't have left a mess, that Facebook page says there was 300kg of waste left, so either something doesn't add up or those lads are shîtting tungsten.

There is only one thing for it - an interpretive centre must to be built there

Vincent Hyland operates nature walks in the area and said : " They wouldn’t have been aware of it but they were also trampling onto loads of tiny toads,” he said.

They didn't even know there was little toads

The interpretive centre would help them understand nature a bit better, provide a few jobs and bring more tourists

And provide proper modern toilets for the walkers and campers for all the other months of the year

Gzf1iAT.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Was anyone expecting it to be worse? Doesn't look that bad to me, I was expecting festival style where you can't see the ground, it's just a sea of empty cans. Now I don't agree with how they left the place, they could have at least had put the rubbish into bin bags before they left but I suppose it was probably pissing rain and they were probably skagging to bits so they probably just said **** it and legged it. There's no excuse really for leaving the mess but I do think that it's being blown out of proportion just a bit.

To be honest, if it wasn't for the condoms and excrement it wouldn't be bad. If I was a local I'd be on for the "let's just get on with it and clear it up and not over analyse it" approach.

There is something gross about horsing a condom out of a tent onto open ground. And the s***.

Vincent Hyland operates nature walks in the area and said : " They wouldn’t have been aware of it but they were also trampling onto loads of tiny toads,” he said.

Needs an interpretive centre right here, there is a road down to it and all

http://bit.ly/2fuZ3kI

ktNc31n.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

To be fair while they shouldn't have left a mess, that Facebook page says there was 300kg of waste left, so either something doesn't add up or those lads are shîtting tungsten.

Lots of Ecstasy sh1tes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

God damn it ..... how does one find out about these illegal raves ???

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

redcup342 wrote: »

I see the Gardaí are doing some investigating on Boards! :pac::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Dramatik wrote: »
    Was anyone expecting it to be worse? Doesn't look that bad to me, I was expecting festival style where you can't see the ground, it's just a sea of empty cans. Now I don't agree with how they left the place, they could have at least had put the rubbish into bin bags before they left but I suppose it was probably pissing rain and they were probably skagging to bits so they probably just said **** it and legged it. There's no excuse really for leaving the mess but I do think that it's being blown out of proportion just a bit.

I suppose you have no problem with people throwing their rubbish out their car window either :rolleyes: If you create a mess you clear it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

There's a bit of 'ah shur God luv dem' going on.

So long as it's not on my doorstep, tis grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I have absolutely no problem with raves / outdoor drinking etc as long as no other laws are broken, so I don't agree with shutting these things down pre-emptively - HOWEVER, anyone found to have been involved in one which left any sort of destructive trail behind, apart from perhaps some bald grass patches, should have the absolute f*cking book thrown at them.

I'm absolutely positive that there's a way to do these things without banning them outright - just let any scumbags considering attendance know in advance that they'll be in the firing line for serious criminal consequences if vandalism / littering occurs.

redcup342 wrote: »

South Kerry has seen raves that would knock those kids on their arses. There was a time I'd have been "in"...but these days I don't even get the "ah you missed it, what a weekend"...

Though generally the hippies were decent at clearing up. Many of them would have lived around South Kerry and wouldn't want the whole "s***ting on your own doorstep" issue, not exactly a huge community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

South Kerry has seen raves that would knock those kids on their arses. There was a time I'd have been "in"...but these days I don't even get the "ah you missed it, what a weekend"...

Though generally the hippies were decent at clearing up. Many of them would have lived around South Kerry and wouldn't want the whole "s***ting on your own doorstep" issue, not exactly a huge community.

There was a time when you'd have small scale raves on Killiney hill in the early hours of Sunday mornings, during this time of year when it would get bright early enough to session before any "responsible adults" (IE, non-ravers who might take offence) were up and about, but Killiney hill is very well covered by public bins due to its widespread use as a dog park, so to my recollection there was never a problem with littering. Think the area has a few public toilets dotted around as well, although these may be gone by now like many others.

Interestingly enough, there's another spot not too far away known as White Rock Beach, and this area used to attract the troublesome kind of raves mentioned in the OP - littering, sh!teing, etc. It's also in much closer proximity to people's houses than the top of Killiney Hill (the raves used to happen up near the big Obelisk, which is pretty far from any houses at all) so they used to piss off local residents a fair bit - and the interesting thing for me is that those who would tend to hang out at the hill rave would *know*, by word of mouth, that the White Rock ones were full of scumbags. So it was almost a sort of self-segregated situation where the hill ravers would explicitly avoid the dodgy one because it tended to have quite an unpleasant edge to it, from what I heard. You know that feeling when you can sense aggro lurking just below the surface and it's a sort of "serious sh!t could go down at any second without warning, I'd rather not be here at all" feeling. Apparently there used to be needles and other such crap left behind.

So I guess as with a lot of things, it's not so much the concept as the type of crowd involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

The rave took place in a big hollow in the undulating sand dunes.

Local Gardai are looking into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

What kind of f*cking eejits do you have to be to leave a list of the party goers names there? That's like dumping black sacks of rubbish in the woods with your name and address on it!!

We all did stuff like that as teens, but f*ck sake just bring some black sacks with you and take your sh*t home with you. Little scrotes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Kerryman79

their attitudes on Facebook doesn't help them either , wonder how their neighbors would like it if a rave happened on their football and rugby fields

Teenage campers trash area of natural beauty and source of income for community - August Weekend 2017

How much is this income ?

Paying tax on it we hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

PandaPoo wrote: »
    What kind of f*cking eejits do you have to be to leave a list of the party goers names there? That's like dumping black sacks of rubbish in the woods with your name and address on it!!

We all did stuff like that as teens, but f*ck sake just bring some black sacks with you and take your sh*t home with you. Little scrotes.
    no we didn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

no we didn't

You never camped out with your friends? Or even went knacker drinking?

PandaPoo wrote: »
    You never camped out with your friends? Or even went knacker drinking?

Same as you, did that, but always cleaned up.