Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Football Hooligans and their stupid flags.

• 08-08-2017 10:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭

So in Dusseldorf a few weeks ago there were some English lads over for a football game.

I was walking back from the shops and saw a priest trying to take down some flags from their Rectory, some football hooligan meathead watched him for a few minutes then gets up and walks over from the Irish Pub and starts pushing the Priest around the place screaming all sorts of abuse at him.

424570.JPG

Anyway the Priest went off pretty rattled and the guy went back with his arms raised to his mates sitting outside the Irish Pub with them all cheering and laughing on his way back.

I went home, thinking it's yet another stupid football hooligan incident and thought that was the end of it.

Reading the news then I saw this:
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4726758/Aston-Villa-supporters-attacked-Dusseldorf-pub.html

Daily Fail is saying it was just out of nowhere and unexpected.

What do you think? Do you think if you go hanging flags in a foreign country on walls all over the place around the bar you are drinking in you are asking for trouble ?

Or is it just an English Problem ?

Edit: It's gotten so bad now that for any big games involving the English, the bars close 30 minutes before the game ends, many of the Cities/Towns around the area completely close up shop as they don't want the hassle.

Dusseldorf is becoming the same because they just don't want to waste the police sitting around watching the English lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Predominantly an English problem, methinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭hairyslug

There are bogey clubs in every country and bogey fans in most if not every club. There was a friendly a few days ago between an English and German side (can't remember who) and it had to be abandoned, a feckin preseason friendly, German lads throwing seats. I've had hassle at LOI games before, have seen Russians go a bit mental and hassle with French fans.
    As for English fans, 2 things happen in think, the media jump on them (rightly so) and there are a lot of them that are easily wound up.

But this is only my opinion and over the last few years, haven't been able to go to to many games

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Almost the same thing if you go to a shamrock rovers game, these people are usually not the most intelligent and are out to cause trouble no matter what.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Almost the same thing if you go to a shamrock rovers game, these people are usually not the most intelligent and are out to cause trouble no matter what.

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

What recent shamrock rovers game has been marred by hooligan trouble?
    When have shamrock rovers fans been involved in hooliganism abroad?

Are you a bit of a daft c?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Spotted the Shamrock Rovers 'ultras' one evening in town before some LoI game. Pitiful sight. Most of them were fat auld fellas wearing Adidas Original runners and parkas. Like a throw back to an Oasis video from the mid-90's.The ones who weren't fat auld fellas were your typical skobie - unusually small head, grey tracksuit, unusually white runners.

Spotted the bohs fan!

I'd rather be experimented on for illegal medical research than go to a League of Ireland game, never mind support one of them. Just telling people what I saw.

The 'ultras' were just fat middle-aged lads and skobies. Chanting and acting like hard shaws. Our very own Danny Dyer types.

I'd rather be experimented on for illegal medical research than go to a League of Ireland game, never mind support one of them. Just telling people what I saw.

The 'ultras' were just fat middle-aged lads and skobies. Chanting and acting like hard shaws. Our very own Danny Dyer types.

Wait a second is your definition of an ultra a person who attends football matches and sings football chants?

I must have missed it in the national media when a group of beer bellied shamrock rovers fans ran riot in the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

Wait a second is your definition of an ultra a person who attends football matches and sings football chants?

I must have missed it in the national media when a group of beer bellied shamrock rovers fans ran riot in the city.

Google is you friend, one of many examples

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/ugly-scenes-shamrock-rovers-and-bohemians-fans-fight-on-pitch-at-dalymount-74675

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Once they are fighting their own kind and not attacking innocent bystanders let them at it

No, these were their ultra group. Definitely not just regular fans. Didn't really bother checking the news about it, but wouldn't surprise me if these lads were meeting their rivals to throw shapes and act like 'ard men. Real crisis in masculinity sort of stuff.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,212 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I've been attending LOI games for 10 years now and have never once felt in any kind of danger.

Morons will be morons, but it's generally pretty easy to avoid trouble.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Avada wrote: »

:D:D:D:D

I cant make out any adidas originals in that clip, ill be honest and seeing as Rumpy Pumpy has said he never attends Loi matches i doubt he was talking about the day some young stupid people invaded a pitch in Dallymount.

He was describing a rampaging pack of Adidas wearing oul fellas wrecking the city. So I'll wait for a sportsjoe.ie link for that :D:D:D:D:D

A Liverpool fan, so presuming you don't get to see many games at all.

Anyway, Liverpool FC is a club with it's own place in football violence. Google "Heysel".

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Syphonax

Shamrock Rovers 'ultras' pmsl

No, these were their ultra group. Definitely not just regular fans. Didn't really bother checking the news about it, but wouldn't surprise me if these lads were meeting their rivals to throw shapes and act like 'ard men. Real crisis in masculinity sort of stuff.

How do you know they were the "ultra group" ?
    How do you know they were rovers fans?
    What exactly happened in your riot in the city?

A Liverpool fan, so presuming you don't get to see many games at all.

Anyway, Liverpool FC is a club with it's own place in football violence. Google "Heysel".

Absolutely no need to personalise this, Conor. I was just reporting on what I saw. Find it slightly bizarre that you'd go rooting around my posting history, but these early weeks in August can be quiet I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

How do you know they were the "ultra group" ?
    How do you know they were rovers fans?
    What exactly happened in your riot in the city?

Well they weren't small groups of normal fans. This was a group of about 50-100 fat middle-aged lads and skobies with flags and cans, chanting in the middle of Dublin. It was pitiful stuff, but it takes all sorts to make the world. They definitely weren't the polite sorts who remember playing in Milltown.

Absolutely no need to personalise this, Conor. I was just reporting on what I saw. Find it slightly bizarre that you'd go rooting around my posting history, but these early weeks in August can be quiet I suppose.

A person who sneers at the game here and refers to a foreign club as "we" and "us" is always going to be laughed at. Don't get too sensitive when someone refers to your own support of a team with a very serious history of violence...though you might not see that from your barstool here in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Irish football hooligans are the most hilarious of the lot.
    Used to go to games in Italy around year 2000, and they were ropey enough. Not sure if their fans have a reputation in general when they travel.

I'll be honest that article reads like a joke.
    Here is a quote from it
    Paul, who makes no effort to hide his face, Ireland is “basically like England in the 1980s”.

PMSL
    “The Garda, whose their fu**in’ police innit, three or four of their vans pulled up. No interest in nicking no-one, just straight out with the truncheons and smash, smash, smash.
    “It was similar to England on a smaller scale. But the police was a lot naughtier. I wouldn’t say it was the worst beating I’ve ever got from police but it’s in the top fu**ing five. It was a fu**ing laugh.”

:D:D:D

The bbc documentary crew sound like they instigated the whole thing from reading it.

Well they weren't small groups of normal fans. This was a group of about 50-100 fat middle-aged lads and skobies with flags and cans, chanting in the middle of Dublin. It was pitiful stuff, but it takes all sorts to make the world. They definitely weren't the polite sorts who remember playing in Milltown.

Oh the horror, oh how they chanted :eek::eek::eek::eek:

A person who sneers at the game here and refers to a foreign club as "we" and "us" is always going to be laughed at. Don't get too sensitive when someone refers to your own support of a team with a very serious history of violence...though you might not see that from your barstool here in Ireland.

Same reason people follow the world rally championship instead of standing in a field in Donegal in February watching some gimp driving a Ford Escort around a bend.

I'm not being sensitive at all. Just find it weird you'd go searching through my posts to see I've a casual interest in the fortunes of Liverpool. More a casual than an ultra.

Anyways, it doesn't appear we have much of a hooligan scene here in Ireland. Plenty of shape throwing and 'tough guy' talk, but no real violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭I love Sean nos

Getting upset over a piece of cloth. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Ah come on man there is plenty of links and evidence of rovers fans in violence.

https://youtu.be/I7XwnFpG174

https://youtu.be/2VrL8h0hE48

• Registered Users Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Was on a train being hassled by a drunk scouse 2 weeks ago. 99.9% of football fans are perfect but to remaining % is so **** that the though of euthanizing all 100% just to get those pieces of **** seems viable.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,212 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

1:08 to 1:12 is my favourite bit of this video
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1kEJswEqkEg
    A kerry players was struck by a handbag.

Im shocked by the sheer scale of the violence why is this allowed go on!!!