Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amazon Prime Video, General Discussion [Ireland]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Some ones I enjoyed off the top of my head:

The boys
    Tales from the loop
    Utopia (UK version)
    Black sails
    Upload
    Fleabag
    Parks & recreation
    Bob's burgers
    Homecoming
    Patriot

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭GG66

Bowlardo wrote: »
    Just signed up to prime and started watching the Americans which is 5 seasons and meant to have a good ending.
    Can anyone recommend other good series that have a natural ending or without falling off the cliff quality wise

If you like scifi watch the expanse. It's just started season 5 so cant guarantee the tidy ending, but everything up to the end of s4 didnt disappoint.

I also really enjoyed Goliath, each season is a standalone story and gets better each season imho.

Also enjoyed night manager, a quick 6 episode binge.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,354 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Halt and catch fire is excellent.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Eod100 wrote: »
    Depends what you're into but Jack Ryan, Hunters, Looming Tower, Man In The High Castle all worth a watch imo

How you can list Jack Ryan with the others is beyond me.

Another vote for Halt and Catch Fire, Justified and Bosch. And one of my all time favourite shows, Mad Men.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Bill Ponderosa

dulpit wrote: »
    Halt and catch fire is excellent.

Amazon want £19.50 though per season. It's good, but it's not that good.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,354 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Oh balls, it used be available to stream

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

Mad Men is great, one of my favourite shows ever but can be an acquired taste.

The Boys is just great fun but be warned, it can be very gory (I bit too gory for my liking)

Currently watching Vikings and I'm surprised how much I'm enjoying it, I didn't think it would be my cup of tea but it has some great characters.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,151 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Vikings is as, if not more, gory than The Boys?

• Registered Users Posts: 60,343 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

The 3 seasons of Hannibal were added.

Anyone watch A Massive Hunt yet? I love a bit of Clarkson.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Full_Circle_81

Hurrache wrote: »
    Vikings is as, if not more, gory than The Boys?

Ah here, do you really think so? Maybe the Vikings world feels more real than The Boys, so any violence in it has more impact, but The Boys is far more gory and graphic, at least to me. And I don't mind a bit of gore!

Even though I did enjoy The Boys, it's really only started and hard to know if the quality will keep up as it goes on (season 2 wasn't as good as 1 for me).
    Vikings has been quite consistent since it started and with each season the scope of the story has expanded. The final part of the whole series is about to go up on Amazon shortly, so you could watch the entire thing start to finish.

As others have mentioned already, Justified is definitely worth watching. One of the rare shows that really stuck the landing in the final episode too.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,414 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Yes, The Boys is gory but I found it more comical to be honest. Like zits popping most of the time.

Really great series that I really enjoyed and recommend.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,350 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Any guesses on when Season 16 of Grey's Anatomy would be made available on Prime?

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭baron von something

+1 for Vikings. It's consistently great and the final part of s06 is due soon

I gave up on MITHC after the first season but in saying that I'm not a fan of Philip k Dick at all.

Workaholics is also on prime. I thought I had grown out of dick&fart jokes but God its a bloody funny show. For some reason Amazon gave the first season a 13 ratings. Do not let your 13 year olds watch it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

What !!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Jofspring

callaway92 wrote: »
    Any guesses on when Season 16 of Grey's Anatomy would be made available on Prime?

Aren't Disney releasing a channel called stars through their app with Grey's Anatomy on it. Might mean it goes altogether from Amazon.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Jofspring wrote: »
    Aren't Disney releasing a channel called stars through their app with Grey's Anatomy on it. Might mean it goes altogether from Amazon.

yes stars will feature a lot of hulu series and fox movies

He certainly is.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,907 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Jofspring wrote:

I started watching this earlier this year. I got an email from amazon saying that all seasons were to be removed in March 2020. They are still there obviously. I do think that you are right though. It will be removed

He certainly is.

LOL!

Watched it this evening, it's entertaining if a little pointless but I enjoyed watching the lads tear it up driving through Madagascar.

There is nothing new on this service ever

There is nothing new in this service ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,651 ✭✭✭✭beauf

New series of Expanse on it now. So not exactly never...

you posted 'scumflix' in the netflix thread a couple of days ago

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Sherfin

Plenty of new/original.
    Nowhere near Netflix but you have
    The Expanse,
    The Wilds,
    The Magicians
    Truth Seekers
    Fear the Walking Dead
    Walking Dead World Beyond
    Dark/Web
    Multiple sports docs - All or Nothing/Take me home
    Various Grand Tours
    Little Fires
    The Terror
    Homecoming
    Fleabag (if missed on BBC)
    Good Omens
    Stargirl
    Hunters
    The Boys
    Hanna
    Tales from the Loop

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

It's grand, passes an hour and a half. Pretty much same old thing

peteeeed wrote: »
    you posted 'scumflix' in the netflix thread a couple of days ago

They canceled the OA and mindhunter. I stand by my comment.

coming to prime

peteeeed wrote: »
    coming to prime

Doesn’t look great

Maybe don't watch it then.