Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biker murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

These guys existed long before SOA. There is also The Outlawz who used to drink in Sally's in Limerick, a lot of them gone off to Serbia now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Irish biker gang feud.

Gobshytes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

It's their culture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

It's their culture

Or lack thereof!

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Amazing how these biker gangs membership always consist of beer bellied, balding, middle aged men who think hanging around in "gangs" with stupid names is cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

Amazing how these biker gangs membership always consist of beer bellied, balding, middle aged men who think hanging around in "gangs" with stupid names is cool.

Reliving their youth again maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

I ride a bike for years and could never figure out the club scene even though I go to many bike club shows. You buy and ride a motorbike to be an independent soul.....just you the bike and the road (not just transport) why the hell would you go and join a club, and obey a set of rules imposed by your "brothers"...makes no sense. But I did know the guy who was killed and always thought him a sound bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

When you read the story about codes and rules etc about a fücking gang, you have to jeep reminding yourself it's grown men being discussed, not teenagers.

Such a waste of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

What's the score with these biker gangs in Ireland? Are they known to be involved in gangster stuff? Drugs, bootleg booze, fags etc?

It's probably similar to why some football supporters will get tattoos of their club emblem and organise their lives around going to games, drinking, fighting, chanting. The whole tribal identity thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Me_Grapes

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    When you read the story about codes and rules etc about a fücking gang, you have to jeep reminding yourself it's grown men being discussed, not teenagers.

Such a waste of life.

Agreed, much more sensible mode of transport with no silly rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

Auldloon wrote: »
    What's the score with these biker gangs in Ireland? Are they known to be involved in gangster stuff? Drugs, bootleg booze, fags etc?

like all clubs of all description, some members are, some not...and the club can't be held up for an individual members antics. is it organized...hard to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

There's nothing wrong with a bunch of hirsute gentlemen dressing up in leather and riding around the place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

It's probably similar to why some football supporters will get tattoos of their club emblem and organise their lives around going to games, drinking, fighting, chanting. The whole tribal identity thing.
    I always thought it to be more of a group homosexual thing...eegits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Pathetic carry on all this back patch and 1% "MC" rubbish. It's nothing new and not the first murder either. Sad behaviour and a sad outcome all round. They always have their defenders though, including on here, whether they're genuine or just spoofers trying to be edgy and talk in riddles around the topic. I'm sure there's some are nice enough but the decision to associate with this sort of "culture" is not something I will ever understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Homosexual culture could not be more far removed from the juvenile low brow activities of that biker gang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭irishproduce

I opened a thread previously on this case.
    Its fair enough driving around on a bike with lads. But having codes, colours and territories. Ffs, give me a break. These are grown men. Driving around with silly jackets on acting the gangboys as if they were on the Mexican border.
    The saddest part is some bloke lost his life here. Over what? Seriously?

And again, see the reaction when a goal is scored, men hugging, kissing, even - if the goal is important enough - crying.

Don't get me wrong. I'm not actually saying it's a homosexual thing. Nor am I trying to excuse a murder. Just that the identity with a tribe provokes strong reactions and high emotions that don't really bear analysis in the cold light of day. And I'm not being snobby either, I've gone to plenty of Cork City games and chanted all night long and piled into the pub and hugged strangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

All I can say on the matter is that Grand Theft Auto: The Lost and The Damned was a great expansion pack.

Are you using homosexuality in some kind of negative sense there or..?

Genuine question. This story involves a group of fairly pathetic middle-aged men who apparently stored and used guns; in this case, with fatal consequences. I'm not being pedantic (I hope), I just don't see the relevance of homosexuality, especially as a slur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I know this is a tragic case and a man lost his life but I couldn't help but laugh a little at the way some of the details were worded in the RTE report:
    ...McNamara had seen an opportunity to shoot a Road Tramp and he was not going to pass it up.
    He said if it was a planned murder he would not have done it in front of CCTV cameras.

He said only a third of the pellets from the shotgun cartridge struck the victim.

This was consistent with McNamara telling gardaí he did not aim the gun at anyone and did not mean to kill anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

'Cookie' is far too American for an Irish biker gang. He should have called himself Jacobs Mikado.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,948 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ould lads presumably with wives/partners and kids who should have more sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

I bet the Road Tramps don't have any hot women members, unlike the Happy Tramps.

eca5677e4642ccf055ed19687a0dd577--women-riding-motorcycles-women-motorcycle.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭punk_one82

Nothing funny about the murder, but grown men riding bikes around, calling themselves the road tramps/caballeros and fighting over turf and colours is absolutely hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

AllForIt wrote: »
    Homosexual culture could not be more far removed from the juvenile low brow activities of that biker gang.

Sooooo.... those leather waistcoats not disco enough for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I opened a thread previously on this case.
    Its fair enough driving around on a bike with lads. But having codes, colours and territories. Ffs, give me a break. These are grown men. Driving around with silly jackets on acting the gangboys as if they were on the Mexican border.
    The saddest part is some bloke lost his life here. Over what? Seriously?
    IKR! Fcking pathetic, grown men going around killing each other over who's in what club and what jacket they wear. I'd expect better from a 5 year old, let alone a man in his 50s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

there in there 50's now, gangs have been around decades, ya dont join at 50 lol.. even though you could i suppose,those lads probably been in clubs for 20-30 years,so it means a lot to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Aethan Dor

myshirt wrote: »
    These guys existed long before SOA. There is also The Outlawz who used to drink in Sally's in Limerick, a lot of them gone off to Serbia now.

Forgive my ignorance but what's the significance of Serbia, it some sort of biker homeland/promised land ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭ethical

.....and I suppose those lads are " up early in the morning"!!!, going to work,paying taxes etc!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

This isn't about a couple of pot-bellied oul' biys fighting over the right to ride around Murroe. There's a fair bit going on here that you won't hear about in the papers. It's international, and that's the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭AllForIt

jimgoose wrote: »
    This isn't about a couple of pot-bellied oul' biys fighting over the right to ride around Murroe. There's a fair bit going on here that you won't hear about in the papers. It's international, and that's the problem.

It's personal ?

AllForIt wrote: »
    It's personal ?

Not really, no. Not directly, at any rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭schizo1014

To be fair to the 1% clubs in Ireland, they are nowhere near as bad as clubs in the likes of North America, Germany or Scandinavia. Its also a lot more than just a bunch of stereotypical men thinking they're in Sons of Anarchy too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

there in there 50's now, gangs have been around decades, ya dont join at 50 lol.. even though you could i suppose,those lads probably been in clubs for 20-30 years,so it means a lot to them.
    Don't give a toss, it's pathetic and, as I said, I wouldn't put up with that behaviour from a 5 year old. "My gang's better than your gang" belongs in the playground.

kylith wrote: »
    Don't give a toss, it's pathetic and, as I said, I wouldn't put up with that behaviour from a 5 year old. "My gang's better than your gang" belongs in the playground.

Wait until you see what's coming, if Alliance Ireland fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

kylith wrote: »

would you be so in your face to one of them face to face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭1874

jimgoose wrote: »
    Wait until you see what's coming, if Alliance Ireland fail.
    what?

Well, they usually have a gang backing them up, so bunch of childish cowards really. On what authority are they going around issuing instructions/limitations to other people?
    Whats the purpose? a criminal angle? connections to other European bike gangs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

This type of attitude is typical of their defenders but it's nonsense. Would I tell Kinahan gang members what I think if them to their face? No. But that doesn't make my opinion that they are sad knuckle dragging scumbags any less valid.

But anyway, yes I have told members of an MC what I think of them as I have the misfortune to be related to a couple.

1874 wrote: »
    what?...

The Hell's Angels, American-style with extra pickle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

This is an isolated incident. The vast vast majority of people in 1% clubs (which have existed for decades) in Ireland are in no way involved in criminality.

Just motorcycle enthusiasts who enjoy the camaraderie of being in a fraternity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

schizo1014 wrote: »
    To be fair to the 1% clubs in Ireland, they are nowhere near as bad as clubs in the likes of North America, Germany or Scandinavia. Its also a lot more than just a bunch of stereotypical men thinking they're in Sons of Anarchy too.

What does the 1% mean?

job seeker wrote: »
    What does the 1% mean?

It goes back to some riot carried out at a biker meetup in 1940s California.

In the aftermath the American Motorcycle Association declared that 99% of motorcycle users are law abiding citizens. Some of these 'outlaw' clubs took up the 1% tag as a tongue in cheek gesture.

It goes back to some riot carried out at a biker meetup in 1940s California.

In the aftermath the American Motorcycle Association declared that 99% of motorcycle users are law abiding citizens. Some of these 'outlaw' clubs took up the 1% tag as a tongue in cheek gesture.

Hollister, CA in 1947. It wasn't much of a riot, a good many of them were drinking too much, trick-riding and "whooping and hollering", then passing out on people's lawns. There were only seven police officers in the town, and some 4,000 "visitors", and at the time the press made oul' shoes out of the whole thing to some extent. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,948 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

This is an isolated incident. The vast vast majority of people in 1% clubs (which have existed for decades) in Ireland are in no way involved in criminality.

Just motorcycle enthusiasts who enjoy the camaraderie of being in a fraternity.

So is it just 1% of 1% that are criminals?

In Ireland it's not a big issue.

However in parts of Europe and North America it certainly is. Certain Chapters of Hells Angels, Outlaws, Bandidos, Pagans are well known to be heavily involved in organised crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭1874

Unless there is some criminal activity involved, what possible reason could they have for this ridiculous behaviour? which ended up in some guy getting shot?
    are they involved in something or just in over their heads and it got out of hand? territory, turf, jackets, patches, what a joke, its so ridiculous. Be in a bike gang/club by all means but all this being offended because someone wore a jacket with their patches on someone elses alleged turf is insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

1874 wrote: »
    Unless there is some criminal activity involved, what possible reason could they have for this ridiculous behaviour? which ended up in some guy getting shot?
    are they involved in something or just in over their heads and it got out of hand? territory, turf, jackets, patches, what a joke, its so ridiculous. Be in a bike gang/club by all means but all this being offended because someone wore a jacket with their patches on someone elses alleged turf is insane.

A Bord na Mona team building exercise gone wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭rightyabe

Plenty of turf wars in Donegal at the moment..the interfering midgets don't help matters either