Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breaking up with your friends!

• 27-07-2017 11:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭

After seeing someone who looked like a former friend today, it had me thinking about the friends I've lost.

I fell out with my best friend who I met in College, who I saw myself getting old with, two years ago. After a series of episodes and tough moments from her including dropping me or using me when she got a boyfriend, I began to distance myself, rather than fixing it, she never contacted me again and the friendship ended.

There are times I deeply miss her, all the fun we had. All the conversations. Then I remember she never rang me again or made an effort and it's painful. She chose a guy over a 10 year friendship. It really hurts.

It had me thinking if this is normal? Do people become friends again. It's hard to think someone can wipe out 10 years so easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

My grandad used to say "if you have one good friend you have a lot". An absolute truism. Your friend effectively was using you all along and all that's changed is you know that now. You don't have to hate her but realising such a think changes everything forever. You may well end up being friends again but you know things can never be the same.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Everyone eventually betrays you so why bother with friends in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Sometimes you just have to forget about friends. My best friend I had growing up became a coke head and complete moron. Can't handle his drink and tries to start arguments. Fella was one of the quiest young fellas before that.

A smooth sea never made a skilled sailor. You got a drop a few friends here and there if they're having a toxic influence over you. Its only fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

elsa21 wrote: »
    After seeing someone who looked like a former friend today, it had me thinking about the friends I've lost.

I fell out with my best friend who I met in College,  who I saw myself getting old with,  two years ago. After a series of episodes and tough moments from her including dropping me or using me when she got a boyfriend, I began to distance myself, rather than fixing it, she never contacted me again and the friendship ended.

There are times I deeply miss her, all the fun we had. All the conversations. Then I remember she never rang me again or made an effort and it's painful. She chose a guy over a 10 year friendship. It really hurts.

It had me thinking if this is normal? Do people become friends again. It's hard to think someone can wipe out 10 years so easily.

It's a regular occurrence for a friendship to be destroyed when a new boyfriend comes on the scene. Some girls just love willy that much.
    (Speaking of which, can you PM me her name and contact details)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

elsa21 wrote: »

I fell out with my best friend who I met in College, who I saw myself getting old with, two years ago. After a series of episodes and tough moments from her including dropping me or using me when she got a boyfriend, I began to distance myself, rather than fixing it, she never contacted me again and the friendship ended.

People grow apart, it is the natural order. In a few years you probably won't even recall the names of people you associated with in your teens and twenties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I think everyone has had to do it at some point in their lives. You just outgrow people. The girl I started play school with and sat beside for the guts of 14 years lives an hour away and we don't speak anymore. No major falling out- we just grew apart and into different people. It's sad but that's life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I fell out with my best friend in the year after we did the LC. It led me to drop contact with all of that group. It was a stupid issue in hindsight and I felt that, while we could have patched things up based on what occurred between us, other people on the periphery made the situation toxic and there was no going back. It opened my eyes a lot about people. I googled her several years later hoping to see evidence of her success and happiness and found an rip.ie listing from only a week previous. It upset me a lot. I never thought we would be friends again but I remembered her fondly and wished her well and it was a big shock.

But since that time I have not felt the need to have friends. Social aquaintances can be nice but that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Eimee90

But since that time I have not felt the need to have friends. Social aquaintances can be nice but that's it.

I fell out with my best friend in the year after we did the LC. It led me to drop contact with all of that group. It was a stupid issue in hindsight and I felt that, while we could have patched things up based on what occurred between us, other people on the periphery made the situation toxic and there was no going back. It opened my eyes a lot about people. I googled her several years later hoping to see evidence of her success and happiness and found an rip.ie listing from only a week previous. It upset me a lot. I never thought we would be friends again but I remembered her fondly and wished her well and it was a big shock.

God, that's terrible. I know it probably means little coming from a stranger, but I hope you do place trust in having friends again at some stage.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I hate the people who are friends and act like it when you are together, but they never call you to meet up,its always up to you. I just don't bother with them anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Eimee90

It's a regular occurrence for a friendship to be destroyed when a new boyfriend comes on the scene. Some girls just love willy that much. (Speaking of which, can you PM me her name and contact details)

It was a bit more complicated than that and eh......no you can't .....

Forgive the self-evident, but I've found that my oldest friends are the ones I've known the longest!

What I mean by that is, the friends I've had since early childhood are those with whom I had a natural connection, devoid of external consciousness and expectations. We just inherently clicked on account of our young personalities.

Many of the friends I made at school and at university were friends into whom I'd imbedded impossible expectations... 'this guy is always a crazy laugh'... or 'this guy is the class eejit, lol', and such idiotic taglines were inevitably disproven.

I don't know when you met your old friend, OP, but we are in our late teens and our twenties, our 'friendship circles' are brimming with idealistic shibboleths that have no real place in the real world of dependability and loyalty. And yes, these friends disappear.

I have maybe 2 *genuinely* close friends from school and university. Everyone else is a drinks date, when it's mutually convenient.

The closest friends are those who strike a deep personal (and personality) bond with you, in my experience. Maybe other will disagree -- but this circle rarely involves many of the people whom you know when you were only developing your own personal outlook on life.

I'm 30, and most of the people I was friends with in school and university are strangers who I've added on facebook. Yes I've know them for 12 years or so, but I was changing during that time, and so were they. We're different people now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I'm not being sexist or anything but women seem to fall out with there friends much more than men.
    Women are much more sensitive and something a man wouldn't even bat an eyelid at could become a big issue.
    That's just my experience anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭Delphinium

It's a regular occurrence for a friendship to be destroyed when a new boyfriend comes on the scene. Some girls just love willy that much.
    (Speaking of which, can you PM me her name and contact details)

Sometimes when a girl or woman appears to have cut links with friends it may be coming from the new partner. If you are a good friend check if she is being isolated from all her friends and maybe family. It is often the first step in an abusive relationship.
    If you are happy she is just being self centred and safe in the relationship then write the friendship off.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Sorry to hear about your difficulties, OP.

Wouldn't this thread be better placed in Personal Issues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I find some people fall out with friends with friends over silly things and then they wonder why they have nobody to talk to.
    You can also fall out of touch with friends over time. This can be due to work, family, relationships, etc. Sometimes friends expect you to be at their beckon call.When you get older you mightn't have as much time for your friends due to the above issues.

The one thing I would highly recommend.

Have had a couple of friends whose behaviour I objected to, found out they had lied about a few things, treated others badly, and when I raised it they got all huffy and withdrawn.

Hate that. So after a long period of silence I went back to them and very clearly and specifically tore them a new arsehole. One in particular was relentless.

And it felt good. If a friendship is going to end, make sure to end it on your terms. Don't allow them to annoy you by doing wrong and then becoming withdrawn, thereby avoiding the fallout. You only get that frustrated "but they did wrong, and it's like I'm being blamed" feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Sorry to hear about your difficulties, OP.

Wouldn't this thread be better placed in Personal Issues?

She stepping on your turf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

You get old, people change. It just happens.

Some friendships aren't going to last as you change into adults. Others need to be worked on if they're going to survive. The most common thing is that people just get caught up in their lives and neglect their friendships, not out of desire but because life gets in the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

I read in a college rag mag years ago "beware of so called friends that throw rocks at you" and that turned out to be partially true

I never leave the house now without donning my riot gear, what harm can they do to me now ?

Great song by placebo

A friend in need is a friend indeed. A friend with weed is better ...
    A friend with breasts and all the rest, a friend who dressed in leather

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=DHQngnnHE_0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

I found that once you hit your 30s, you start dropping and getting dropped by friends. Not in a bad way, but you just don't have time and people don't have time for you.

I'm nearing the end of my 30s, and my social circle has decreased massively, but have a small group of solid friends. I think it's better that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

I'm 24 and haven't spoken to some of my closest friends when I was a teenager in years. That's mostly a function of the fact that I went to one university and none of the rest of them went to the same one. 

I still keep in touch with one of the group and occasionally natter with one or two others but that's it. I stopped caring a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

I think it was in Paul Brady song I heard the phrase...."lost the friends that needed losing "....

I have one real friend...lives miles away from me and we might not see or talk for years but I know he's there for me, every few years I turn up and we pick up from last time we met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

All relationships take work.

We can all be utter tossers at times so it behoves us to be patient and forgiving rather than holier than though demanding perfection. Otherwise we wake up one day quite alone. We don't owe eachother anything.

Some people are obviously toxic and need to be removed without mercy however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I fell out with a friend once. The make up sex was awkward neither of us being gay.

I hate the people who are friends and act like it when you are together, but they never call you to meet up,its always up to you. I just don't bother with them anymore

Or just talk endlessly on the phone instead of meeting up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I've got 4 good friends that I have contact with pretty much every day, other folk are friends that will probably float in and out of my life, we make the effort to meet up every few weeks and that works too. There's also the "here and now" friends, great laugh golfing, going for pints, training but no more than that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

gramar wrote: »
    I fell out with a friend once. The make up sex was awkward neither of us being gay.
    Ye both took one for the team. The sign of true friendship.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

There was a good group of us in secondary school. Fairly tight knit... up until lads started going out with the fairer sex. There is quiet a few of them that wouldn't utter a word to the other more than a decade later. Personally, I have low expectations from my mates. We're just mates, ask for help if your stuck or not. Have lots of mates I won't see for years but its easy to get back chatting. Anyone who requires me to do certain things to be friends is in general someone I won't hang around with too much.
    My view on friends is strange in some ways. For example, I had a buddy in college who would expect his friends to jump in if there was a scrap. I'm more of the opinion that if I'm involved in an altercation, I don't want my buddies to get hurt over me. Probably a confidence thing though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,732 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

I cut ties with my best childhood friend after school because she was headed down a road I had no intention of following. She got into drugs and heavy drinking and it just wasn't my scene so she had to go. A pity but I got over it.

On the other hand, my husband had a group of friends he had known since school. When he and I started going out we would hang out with all of them and their girlfriends in a big group. One day without warning they all collectively stopped asking us out to things or texting us. We tried to keep in contact but they made it clear to us that they wanted nothing to do with us. We haven't spoken to them in almost 10 years now and I know it really hurt my husband because there was nothing that we could see we did to offend them. I always thought it was my fault but we haven't a clue what went on there. We thought maybe one of the girls (who seemed to have a problem with me) had convinced them all that I was a horrible witch or something but it really confused us.

In conclusion: humans are dicks. Be sad about it for a while but try to move on. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Steve F

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    I cut ties with my best childhood friend after school because she was headed down a road I had no intention of following. She got into drugs and heavy drinking and it just wasn't my scene so she had to go. A pity but I got over it.

On the other hand, my husband had a group of friends he had known since school. When he and I started going out we would hang out with all of them and their girlfriends in a big group. One day without warning they all collectively stopped asking us out to things or texting us. We tried to keep in contact but they made it clear to us that they wanted nothing to do with us. We haven't spoken to them in almost 10 years now and I know it really hurt my husband because there was nothing that we could see we did to offend them. I always thought it was my fault but we haven't a clue what went on there. We thought maybe one of the girls (who seemed to have a problem with me) had convinced them all that I was a horrible witch or something but it really confused us.

In conclusion: humans are dicks. Be sad about it for a while but try to move on. :(

God I would have HAD TO have got to the bottom of why they froze you out
    I wouldn't have rested til I knew why :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I'm not being sexist or anything but women seem to fall out with there friends much more than men.
    Women are much more sensitive and something a man wouldn't even bat an eyelid at could become a big issue.
    That's just my experience anyway.

they can be very bitchy
    and very insecure about what someone does or says to them (as in, the smallest thing not like replying to a text, or not having time to go for a coffee)
    and can definitely harbour a grudge

my oh has two groups of friends - one from work, other since school. the way they can behave or some of the stuff they come out with is just ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

You can get lost in a rabbit hole thinking about friendship and what it actually is. Just deal with the people you have around you at any one stage and the one's who stick around over the long-term, regardless of changing circumstances, are the ones you want in your life. The rest aren't worth thinking about. They'll have their side to the story and, if you were to actual crack their brains open and see it, you'd probably think it was fair enough. You've got to deal with the circumstances you're dealt though, ruminating over past stuff isn't good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

If a friendship is going to end, make sure to end it on your terms. Don't allow them to annoy you by doing wrong and then becoming withdrawn, thereby avoiding the fallout. You only get that frustrated "but they did wrong, and it's like I'm being blamed" feeling.

I'd be complete opposite,I try my best be friends etc with people for years on end

But when I fall out,its done
    no big falling out/drama,

Just walk away and get on with my life,no contact through WhatsApp, snapchat etc......probably comes across as right odd etc,but fck it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Ended a 20 year friendship with someone this year, have my reasons, I set him up with his girlfriend, lovely girl, in fact I was into her myself for a while but she more or less friend zoned me, soon as I found someone else she decided to get off the fence and admitted out of the blue she had feelings for me, was too late by this point. A year later my friend kept nagging me to invite her out so he could try his luck. Didn't think he'd have had a chance with her. Lo and behold he got off with her.

Noticed a few things over the coming year or two that he lies to her about all sorts, and I kept quiet about it, but it really annoyed me. He's also had a number of arguments with other people in our circle over all sorts, leading him to be tossed out of our circle of friends, he was in the wrong in all the arguments, and was increasingly coming across as a narcissistic tosser. I did care about her as a friend like and wouldn't want her to be treated badly, but the final straw came when a mutual friend of ours sent me a text telling me that himself sexually assaulted her in a bar while his girlfriend who I set him up with was at the bar ordering for them. Avoided them for months after that, eventually they twiged that I was going out of my way to avoid them.

She eventually asked me "What was up? clearly you're avoiding us" and I told her. And that I wouldn't be comfortable sitting in a room while he lets on that he done nothing wrong and generally he treats her like an idiot.

She didn't think it was a big deal which was surprising. Thought she'd value herself a bit more not to accept that bull****, I'd like to think if I slapped a woman full force across the arse when my girlfriend was out of sight and didn't come clean about it if it was a moment of madness then I'd like to think I wouldn't have a girlfriend for much longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

You were born alone, and you will die alone.

People come and go.

Once you reconcile yourself with these realities, there is no sadness or sense of betrayal.

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Ended a 20 year friendship with someone this year, have my reasons, I set him up with his girlfriend, lovely girl, in fact I was into her myself for a while but she more or less friend zoned me, soon as I found someone else she decided to get off the fence and admitted out of the blue she had feelings for me, was too late by this point. A year later my friend kept nagging me to invite her out so he could try his luck. Didn't think he'd have had a chance with her. Lo and behold he got off with her.

Noticed a few things over the coming year or two that he lies to her about all sorts, and I kept quiet about it, but it really annoyed me. He's also had a number of arguments with other people in our circle over all sorts, leading him to be tossed out of our circle of friends, he was in the wrong in all the arguments, and was increasingly coming across as a narcissistic tosser. I did care about her as a friend like and wouldn't want her to be treated badly, but the final straw came when a mutual friend of ours sent me a text telling me that himself sexually assaulted her in a bar while his girlfriend who I set him up with was at the bar ordering for them. Avoided them for months after that, eventually they twiged that I was going out of my way to avoid them.

She eventually asked me "What was up? clearly you're avoiding us" and I told her. And that I wouldn't be comfortable sitting in a room while he lets on that he done nothing wrong and generally he treats her like an idiot.

She didn't think it was a big deal which was surprising. Thought she'd value herself a bit more not to accept that bull****, I'd like to think if I slapped a woman full force across the arse when my girlfriend was out of sight and didn't come clean about it if it was a moment of madness then I'd like to think I wouldn't have a girlfriend for much longer.

While he does sound like a knob, it sounds like you're into this girl and she probably just didn't believe you when you told her as a result. The fact you said 'sexually assaulted' before saying 'slapped on the arse' backs this up: I mean it's not incorrect, but when you hear sexually assaulted at first you think worst case scenario whereas it's actually at the other end of the spectrum. So it suggests you're trying to meddle and make this guy out to be as bad a guy as possible. Being mad because he lied to his gf and telling her about this is interfering way beyond your station and you're way too invested in a relationship that has nothing to do with you.

Either way, he sounds like a bad dude and you're trying to break up his relationship, so it's probably best you made the non-friendship official.

I'd be complete opposite,I try my best be friends etc with people for years on end

But when I fall out,its done
    no big falling out/drama,

Just walk away and get on with my life,no contact through WhatsApp, snapchat etc......probably comes across as right odd etc,but fck it

If you're on that receiving end of that blanking, it is extremely annoying. I far prefer having things out, have a f***ing match, let everything be said, rather than seeing something fade out through the no speak thing. I'm not trying to insult you, far from it, I dunno what your circumstances were, but in the circumstances when I was on the receiving end it seemed very childish - I pointed out to ex friends that I know they behaved badly, they first got stroppy and then stopped contact. So I nailed them good and proper.

It felt good. It enabled me say what I wanted to say instead of that feeling that they did wrong and then sneaked off with no consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

My wife had a best friend for 9 years before I met her. They would go out together, go on holidays all that stuff.
    She met me, but still made more than enough time for her friend, who was 4 years older, perpetually single.
    In time we married and her friend finally met someone. We were planning a wedding and her friend was to be maid of honor.

She asked my wife if she wanted us all to go the a concert in Dublin. We already had plans made around that time so we declined. A week later she sent my wife a text which basically said "We've had some fun times but I no longer want to be friends. All the best for the future." My wife was crushed. She was 40 at the time, my wife was 36.

For me, it looked like my wife was nothing but 'social proof' for her friend in hindsight. That she was someone her friend used to go out with, to keep her company until she ultimately met someone. There was no need to cut ties with her at all. It was downright weird. It was as if, the very second she got a boyfriend she unceremoniously dumped my wife, who even now a few years later get's sad thinking about what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

I consciously ditch and make a new inner social circle every few years pretty much. I like change and get sick of the same faces pretty quickly so it's grand. I'd still send the odd message on group chat and what not but I'd slowly get more distant and say I'm too busy to meet up and go on the pull and sh*t like that. I'm being a c*nt but I really couldn't care.

It's quite liberating starting from the start again, getting to know new people and work your way in. Eventually you'll cross paths with old friends and with some you'll rekindle the friendship which is sound but it works well for weeding out bad people that you were almost forced to consider friends. Eye opener for me was partying and hanging out with lads who said the same stuff every week. Too boring and too monotonous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

I can't imagine life without my friends. I'm 38 now and have known most of them for literally decades at this stage. Sure your social group gets smaller, people marry, move on, but you don't need to see people every week to be close and it makes the time you do spend together so special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

If you're on that receiving end of that blanking, it is extremely annoying. I far prefer having things out, have a f***ing match, let everything be said, rather than seeing something fade out through the no speak thing. I'm not trying to insult you, far from it, I dunno what your circumstances were, but in the circumstances when I was on the receiving end it seemed very childish - I pointed out to ex friends that I know they behaved badly, they first got stroppy and then stopped contact. So I nailed them good and proper.

It felt good. It enabled me say what I wanted to say instead of that feeling that they did wrong and then sneaked off with no consequences.

No insults taken :)....different strikes for different folks

It just I gave years running about after people,getting left down/out of things etc....last straw was being left on the hook for couple hundred euro

Put it like this,it took 2 or 3 months before any attempted to contact me....so safe to say they weren't too put out by it

Also,I do struggle at talking,my words not come out massively clearly (along way better last 12 months tbf),and a big dirty blaa accent not help either :pac:....

.so if I went to have a big blow out/row while in theory would've been good....would just have resulted in me getting laughed at

^^I know this is all rambling,but ya get the idea,I hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

valoren wrote: »
    My wife had a best friend for 9 years before I met her. They would go out together, go on holidays all that stuff.
    She met me, but still made more than enough time for her friend, who was 4 years older, perpetually single.
    In time we married and her friend finally met someone. We were planning a wedding and her friend was to be maid of honor.

She asked my wife if she wanted us all to go the a concert in Dublin. We already had plans made around that time so we declined. A week later she sent my wife a text which basically said "We've had some fun times but I no longer want to be friends. All the best for the future." My wife was crushed. She was 40 at the time, my wife was 36.

For me, it looked like my wife was nothing but 'social proof' for her friend in hindsight. That she was someone her friend used to go out with, to keep her company until she ultimately met someone. There was no need to cut ties with her at all. It was downright weird. It was as if, the very second she got a boyfriend she unceremoniously dumped my wife, who even now a few years later get's sad thinking about what happened.

Was there any indication that relations were strained between the two? I mean that's an odd way for a friendship to end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

jamesbere wrote: »
    Was there any indication that relations were strained between the two? I mean that's an odd way for a friendship to end.

None whatsoever, it was completely out of the blue. Just a text. No details about anything that might have caused her to think that way or if something was on her mind. A 9 year friendship ended by a text. We'd gone for dinner about a month before after we came home newly engaged. A few weeks later she sent the text. Nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

leggo wrote: »
    While he does sound like a knob, it sounds like you're into this girl and she probably just didn't believe you when you told her as a result. The fact you said 'sexually assaulted' before saying 'slapped on the arse' backs this up: I mean it's not incorrect, but when you hear sexually assaulted at first you think worst case scenario whereas it's actually at the other end of the spectrum. So it suggests you're trying to meddle and make this guy out to be as bad a guy as possible. Being mad because he lied to his gf and telling her about this is interfering way beyond your station and you're way too invested in a relationship that has nothing to do with you.

Either way, he sounds like a bad dude and you're trying to break up his relationship, so it's probably best you made the non-friendship official.

Nah I'm not into her anymore, that ship has sailed, doesn't mean I want her to spend the rest of her life with someone that may pull that kind of crap again or worse, he lies to her about all sorts and looks for praise for certain lies and drags other people into lying for him, one example is he gave up smoking for her right, and one night we were all hanging out, and herself gets up to go home and she leaves and the second she's gone, legs it upstairs for his fags, and looks at me then and says "Say nothing to her" she generally doesn't like smoking and he "gave that up"as well as a fondness for a more exotic tobacco if you catch my drift.

Few months later we were in a pub and himself goes on about quitting smoking and how easy it is and looking for a pat on the back and herself looking at him like he achieved the great feat of giving up smoking, completely fooled like, had no problem bulls**ting her like and two other people trying to keep a straight face, made me very uncomfortable.

I had evidence of the arse slap, I sent a screenshot of the Facebook conversation to her. A slap on the arse is sexual assault, right? Not the worst one in the book maybe, but still, it's not right, women are private about their space, if it were the other way around, a guy would laugh it off but for women it's different. Just bugs me being I did him a favour inviting her out that night in the first place, and it paid off for him, and he does that to her...not to mention our mutual friend was pretty angry about it but didn't confront him there and then being she didn't want to ruin the night out being she rarely gets out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Mollyb60 wrote: »

I'd get over being cut off but I could never get off not knowing why. I'd have to know, there's always one weak link in a group like that, they'd break and let you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

I ve ditched all my school friends, simply lost contact, life choices, one became a conspiracy nut.....

Even friends I made in work I dropped. In college now and when I leave I doubt I ll keep in touch with the majority of the friends I ve made there.

Dunno, for some reason I don't see the need to keep long term friendships. Yet for others it is something they hold onto even if it's not good for them.

Dumping friends for little to no reason is such short-term thinking though. Friendships can fade and that's just life, but they can also pick up again if circumstances align. The amount of people I have in my life that I can not see for months or years then just pick up with is great. Just yesterday, I had a girl I used to work with in for a viewing for a room in my apartment. We got on great in work but just didn't really have a place for each other in 'real life', now circumstances have aligned and she'll likely have a place when she needs one and it's got me out of a jam when another person has been forced to move out on relatively short notice.

I just don't see any advantage to dropping good friends from your life. If they're a negative influence or a bit sly then yeah, but aside from that you're just cutting your nose off to spite your face. You never know when you might need people (and not even materially, emotionally etc) or how things will work out for you or them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

I've only got one friend from school, the majority of my friends are from college or later working years.

I think in school you tend to fall into friendships of convenience - you live close to each other, mothers are friends, are in the same class and go to the same swimming class etc. That and you're a kid and haven't fully developed into who you will become.

In college you're an adult and have the ability to choose a bit more. The people I was "best mates" with in school are now strangers to me, I'd have nothing in common with them anymore and they'd probably wreck my head.

I've also travelled a lot and been really surprised by who has stayed in my life and proved themselves to be incredible friends versus who I've lost or fallen out with. I've lost some people that were like sisters to me and my best friend in the world is someone I'd never really been that close to until recent years. She's been remarkably loyal in a way that most others were not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

valoren wrote: »
    None whatsoever, it was completely out of the blue. Just a text. No details about anything that might have caused her to think that way or if something was on her mind. A 9 year friendship ended by a text. We'd gone for dinner about a month before after we came home newly engaged. A few weeks later she sent the text. Nuts.

What a strange woman, not very nice for your wife of course