Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Huge rise in adults living at home

• 27-07-2017 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭Elessar

So according to the census there has been a large rise in young people living at home since 2011:
    Working people aged 30 to 34 and still at home saw an even larger increase of 26 per cent, rising from 23,835 in 2011 to 30,137 in 2016, despite the fact that the numbers of those living at home usually falls dramatically between the ages of 25 and 30.

Do you still live at home? This is can be a pretty emotive topic so lets try keep it civil. I admit that I still do (32 male) but only because of the massive prices of rent and houses. It enables me to save a lot aswell, and I keep my mam company. Doubt I'll do it forever, but I overall I don't mind it. Having a good pot of money saved is very important to me.
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Elessar wrote: »
    So according to the census there has been a large rise in young people living at home since 2011:

Do you still live at home? This is can be a pretty emotive topic so lets try keep it civil. I admit that I still do (32 male) but only because of the massive prices of rent and houses. It enables me to save a lot aswell, and I keep my mam company. Doubt I'll do it forever, but I overall I don't mind it. Having a good pot of money saved is very important to me.

35 year old male and have done for last 5 years. Partly to keep my dad company after my mam died but upshot is I've saved plenty and paid off all debts, kicking off a house build in next month and will only have a small mortgage. So it's been a pain at times not having my own space but I think it'll be worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

I would if I could but I can't so I'm poor cos fine gael fine fail landlords take all my money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

Come to Spain, where it's perfectly socially acceptable to be 50 and live at home with Mammy and Daddy ... oh yeah and have a good job and your own apartment ... but RENT that out to make more $$$$ meanwhile living at home rent free and not having to pay for food.

im not joking here.

I even know a 67 year old man who goes to his mother (90) EVERY day for his lunch and leaves his shirts for her to wash.

^^ and this is not a few edge cases, this is typical here.

Guys if you like Spanish women, come to spain, the local men are mammys boys pussies, they will jump at the chance of a man - a real man that will get his own apartment .. pay his way .. wash his own clothes etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I'm 75 and still waiting the get the house and have the mot over.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Moved out at 17 and couldn't go back to living at home.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

It's common in some European countries for people to live at home until they marry.

Christ, no way I could live with my folks again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

What choice do a lot of us have?

Cant afford to get my own mortgage neither mind make the repayments.

What's the going rate for a flat these days 1.5k a month? That would leave me with 200 euro a week to live and that's not duducting bills.

House share, ive did this a few times, and from grown men shaving thier entire body in the bath and leaving in there to the odd Ukrainian couple who's with wasn't allowed to speak to the other male residents I say **** house sharing. It's horrible.

Live at home, help my father clear his mortgage and not some strangers. It's not ideal but it's the best option i have open to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

Christ, no way I could live with my folks again though.

I would say for a lot of parents it's Christ no way am I letting him/her move back home! :P

Outside of Dublin if you're working and living with parents it's generally by choice.

What choice do a lot of us have?

Cant afford to get my own mortgage neither mind make the repayments.

What's the going rate for a flat these days 1.5k a month? That would leave me with 200 euro a week to live and that's not duducting bills.

House share, ive did this a few times, and from grown men shaving thier entire body in the bath and leaving in there to the odd Ukrainian couple who's with wasn't allowed to speak to the other male residents I say **** house sharing. It's horrible.

Live at home, help my father clear his mortgage and not some strangers. It's not ideal but it's the best option i have open to me.
    With an income of 2300 a month after tax and living with your dad you should be able to get a deposit together in a couple of years no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Irish_rat wrote: »
    Moved out at 17 and couldn't go back to living at home.

Or "not allowed back" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

I left home at 19, always lived independently. Lost my job a few years back and had to pay all my rent and bills out of my dole, couldn't get rent allowance because the limits on your rent were way below actual rents in the area so I got nothing.

So I struggled on thinking no way will I move home at 35. Then the landlord sold the house from under us and I just thought, to hell with this, I might think I'm too old to be living at home but I'm too old to be sharing with strangers as well and 'd rather give my Mum fifty quid a week towards her mortgage than nearly double that to some cowboy landlord for a moldy kip.

It hasn't been too bad, the attic is converted to a bedroom, small enough but it has an en suite, and we get along grand now that I'm older and not a party animal any more and I can help her too, just painted all the exterior walls for her, stuff like that, and I can save up a bit. Having rented for so long, I know I'm not missing much.
    A quick browse of the accommodation forum will confirm this, renting in Ireland, especially in Dublin, is a sick joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I'll be 24 in November and I'm at home with the folks. I'll be finished my post-grad in June '18 and hopefully start on my career-path during the following months. At that point I'll be thinking about renting somewhere with the OH, so it's in the pipeline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I'm in the above category, I'm ashamed and dismayed to say. Construction died and I've been stuck at age 25 for the bones of a decade. I've been breaking my back at work and taking a degree course part time and I finally got a better job in May instead of a minimum wage outsourced public sector job which was the best I could get in 2014 having been in and out of work up to that point.

My ambition is to come up with he deposit for a small cottage before I turn 40- I think could be on the housing list, tbh. Welcome to the world of post-recession Ireland and the assumption of being double income/ no kids in order to get a modest home for the family you can't afford to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭worded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I left home at 17 and made my way, it wasn't easy but I did it, I knew I would be welcome at home at any time which was great reassurance.
    My eldest is 14, just 3 years younger than when I left home, it sends a chill down my spine.

My kids will be welcome and have rooms here for however long they want, just the same reassurance I had.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Pero_Bueno wrote: »

Guys if you like Spanish women, come to spain, the local men are mammys boys pussies, they will jump at the chance of a man - a real man that will get his own apartment .. pay his way .. wash his own clothes etc...
    Similar for Italy. Which is grand on the surface, until you get deeper into it and that initial attraction for your "real man" status is replaced by her cultural tendency to feel she must assume the role of your "mammy", cos that's what she knows and is comfortable with. Beyond the macho surface they are very much matriarchal societies. I would argue Ireland is not far off the same and has been for many a generation, even under the yoke of "oul Ireland".

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Similar for Italy. Which is grand on the surface, until you get deeper into it and that initial attraction for your "real man" status is replaced by her cultural tendency to feel she must assume the role of your "mammy", cos that's what she knows and is comfortable with. Beyond the macho surface they are very much matriarchal societies. I would argue Ireland is not far off the same and has been for many a generation, even under the yoke of "oul Ireland".

As always Wibbs .... spot on !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭1874

I would if I could but I can't so I'm poor cos fine gael fine fail landlords take all my money

And they give it back to Fine gale/fail
    Pero_Bueno wrote: »

This was sounding like an attractive proposition, I dont think renting out your property here and living elsewhere in this country or anywhere is a money making scheme or even a realistic option in Ireland, but it should be encouraged to facilitate movement of people and allow owners rent out a property to offset personal rental costs, some kind of midway position between renting rooms and fully let from a formal landlord, I suppose Id have to learn Spanish or one of the other languages of the Iberian peninsula, it seems like a diverse place so maybe all of Spain is not so much like this as over time I realised its not as homogenous a place as I previously though.
    Besides, I then read post 19 and was brought back to earth. That said, Ive no idea what Spanish women are like, they might be very tempermental or just mental.

1874 wrote: »
    And they give it back to Fine gale/fail

This was sounding like an attractive proposition, I dont think renting out your property here and living elsewhere in this country or anywhere is a money making scheme or even a realistic option in Ireland, but it should be encouraged to facilitate movement of people and allow owners rent out a property to offset personal rental costs, some kind of midway position between renting rooms and fully let from a formal landlord, I suppose Id have to learn Spanish or one of the other languages of the Iberian peninsula, it seems like a diverse place so maybe all of Spain is not so much like this as over time I realised its not as homogenous a place as I previously though.
    Besides, I then read post 19 and was brought back to earth. That said, Ive no idea what Spanish women are like, they might be very tempermental or just mental.

A woman half irish and half another nationality are great. You get the personality without the psychosis

Hot blooded Latino wimmins are great craic in the bedroom and can be equally spectaluar in the kitchen.

That said no one can make an irish stew like you mammy so it's best to stay at home and watch re runs of euro trash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

31 and living at home. I made some poor choices in my 20s, too much booze and no thought given to the future. I have rented before with friends and with a partner but there never seemed to be enough money. I remember having 850e a month rent due when my hours at work were cut from 36 to 12 with no explanation. Not having realised the contract I had signed only guaranteed the 12. I was in over my head.

So I moved back in with my father, I hate it. It's embarrassing, I work with people my age that are married with mortgages and are carving a real future for themselves and I feel like I'm just starting again. I've learned a lot from my mistakes and hope that it's not too late to find my feet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

I lived at home until I got my own place 5 years ago. I was 31 at the time and it really was frowned upon to be still with your parents.

It was the best decision I ever made even though it was pure luck. I got the house right at the point of the belly falling out of the market, the monthly mortgage is 1/3 of what renting would be and as I was on a poor wage at the time, my house is modest enough for my needs.

Now I think it it is much more common for single people to live at home and makes more sense unless work/commute dictates other wise.

cantdecide wrote: »
    I'm in the above category, I'm ashamed and dismayed to say. Construction died and I've been stuck at age 25 for the bones of a decade. I've been breaking my back at work and taking a degree course part time and I finally got a better job in May instead of a minimum wage outsourced public sector job which was the best I could get in 2014 having been in and out of work up to that point.

My ambition is to come up with he deposit for a small cottage before I turn 40- I think could be on the housing list, tbh. Welcome to the world of post-recession Ireland and the assumption of being double income/ no kids in order to get a modest home for the family you can't afford to have.

Fight the good fight and keep fighting, you weren't put here to suffer

Use your instincts and look for opportunities and small investments etc

If you wait until you can afford kids you will never have any

Keep your hopes up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

We are the only species on this planet to raise our children, kick them out of the nest, but then let them back in.

No other species does this. It's on your bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,370 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Finished college in 2011 and left Ireland a few weeks later to teach English. If it hadn't been for that, I can imagine that I myself would also be part of that number.

I'd say about half the people I went to school with are still at home while several from college are at home as well. In both groups, a considerable amount of the ones that don't live at home do so because they don't live anywhere near home, like myself.

Not surprising whatsoever when there is a "lost "generation" feeling to an extent with my generation. Plenty of people who wanted to work, with college degrees and qualifications, but the jobs were all elsewhere. Now, that things are improving, they're competing with people younger than them who probably have more relevant qualifications and the same amount of experience for the jobs that weren't there in the last decade. I know of several people from school and college who wandered around from the dole to Jobsbridge to the dole again to low-level, part-time work to the dole to Jobsbridge ad nauseum. These people all went to college, having been sold the "you won't get a good job without a degree" mantra. Not to mention the horrendous rent situation in Dublin.

If there's no jobs, prices go up and the dole is cut, where exactly were these people supposed to go?

nkav86 wrote: »
    31 and living at home. I made some poor choices in my 20s, too much booze and no thought given to the future. I have rented before with friends and with a partner but there never seemed to be enough money. I remember having 850e a month rent due when my hours at work were cut from 36 to 12 with no explanation. Not having realised the contract I had signed only guaranteed the 12. I was in over my head.

So I moved back in with my father, I hate it. It's embarrassing, I work with people my age that are married with mortgages and are carving a real future for themselves and I feel like I'm just starting again. I've learned a lot from my mistakes and hope that it's not too late to find my feet again.

Dust yourself off and give up the booze. Lots of ppl would love to have had your experiences but got married too young etc

The world is the lobster, if you have your health look around, reinvent yourself.

You have endless opportunities if you are not anchored to a mortgage with kids and separated etc

31 - that's young, but one third of your life over so, make the next 2/3 count,give it everything you've got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

worded wrote:
    Oh get a life !
    Or a van perhaps

Better yet a boat!

myshirt wrote: »
    We are the only species on this planet to raise our children, kick them out of the nest, but then let them back in.

That's too harsh IMO

Some people need a few bounce back to the net before making it in the world and it can suit parents as well.

No one should paracite off their folks indefinitely but no harm in symbiosis now and again.

So a young person or not so young should go homeless for a year or two in between jobs or doing a course with no funds rather than return home for help for an agreed length of time ? If it suits both parties ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭jamesthepeach

I was in my sister's house yesterday and my niece and a couple.of.her friends were on the kitchen chatting about a guy one of them met.
    The gist of it was.that she really liked him but ...... ick, he lives with his parents and he is 28. I can't date a guy living with his parents. Yeah, neither could i, cut him loose ....

All very shallow. Girls wouldn't have been like that in my day. And my sister was rolling her eyes to me. Told me there is a long list of things that will get a guy dumped by those girls and living at home is a regular one.

Back on topic though, if I were to be living with parents I would be paying them the same as I would normally be paying to rent a room and then chipping in for food and bill's too. I see a lot of people who's kids are basically freeloading off their parents in their late 20s and 30s and it's really not fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I moved out when I was 17 (20 years ago), rented for 6/7 years and moved home for about 9 months (this was not an easy move), then bought my first apartment, for a lot of people around my age, it was a hell of a lot easier to get a mortgage 10/15 years ago and rent was a lot less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

worded wrote: »
    That's too harsh IMO

Some people need a few bounce back to the net before making it in the world and it can suit parents as well.

No one should paracite off their folks indefinitely but no harm in symbiosis now and again.

So a young person or not so young should go homeless for a year or two in between jobs or doing a course with no funds rather than return home for help for an agreed length of time ? If it suits both parties ?

You will find that necessity breeds creation. People don't know what they are capable of until their backs are against the wall. There might be fear, panic, anxiety, I get it, but what are we raising - a generation of snowflakes?

I absolutely wouldn't allow my offspring back into the house. You are trying to develop people who can cope with life challenges, and have the courage and strength to meet whatever life throws at them head on. They are not babies.

You will find that necessity breeds creation. People don't know what they are capable of until their backs are against the wall. There might be fear, panic, anxiety, I get it, but what are we raising - a generation of snowflakes?

I absolutely wouldn't allow my offspring back into the house. You are trying to develop people who can cope with life challenges, and have the courage and strength to meet whatever life throws at them head on. They are not babies.

I agree.
    You would think the current generation has it harder than the ones before to listen to them.
    I guess it's the same with every generation.
    I remember even thinking myself that we had it harder than anyone in history.
    Well you grow up and you somehow get perspective that you don't seem to have e before you grow up and realize that it actually was easier for you than the previous generations. And when you look back further you realize that in reality each generation has it easier than the previous .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

I agree.
    You would think the current generation has it harder than the ones before to listen to them.
    I guess it's the same with every generation.
    I remember even thinking myself that we had it harder than anyone in history.
    Well you grow up and you somehow get perspective that you don't seem to have e before you grow up and realize that it actually was easier for you than the previous generations. And when you look back further you realize that in reality each generation has it easier than the previous .

Obviously though in respect to housing it isn't actually as easy is it? Hence more people living at home.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,348 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

So, you would rather see your offspring go homeless and destitute than give them a helping hand to get them back on their feet? Lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

Its true, we should do like other species do, take over something else's nest and territory through intimidation and violence. I know a good few politicians gaff's I wouldn't mind living in.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

Obviously though in respect to housing it isn't actually as easy is it? Hence more people living at home.

It's the samea s it always have.
    People assume that it was somehow easier or buy a house or pay rent in years gone by. That is only true for about 1998 to 2007.

Before that it was actually tougher on all counts than it is now. Hardship didn't just begin when the internet did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Let's be honest there is too many people on the planet now.

We need a good world war or disease to wipe a good few out.

It's unsustainable in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

People assume that it was somehow easier or buy a house or pay rent in years gone by. That is only true for about 1998 to 2007.

Before that it was actually tougher on all counts than it is now. Hardship didn't just begin when the internet did.

Not so. Signs are starting to show the current generation of young adults will not have an easy ride.

Guardian article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I'd be personally embarrassed to move back home now, I haven't even lived in the country for the past 5 years.

But I could see how easy it is to have to move back in with the parents for any late twenties or early thirties person - a basic uni degree, the global reccesion, a string of jobs and a socialable lifestyle will have a lot of people with little savings and the only other option of paying money into a black hole that is the renting market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,880 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

myshirt wrote:
    There might be fear, panic, anxiety, I get it, but what are we raising - a generation of snowflakes?

Snowflakes? Ugh.
    myshirt wrote:
    I absolutely wouldn't allow my offspring back into the house.

They're probably not bearing the door down with that welcome.

If I ever have children, I'd like to think I would never stop doing something to make their life easier if I could.

Agree people have to face challenges and to be strong enough for this but we're all going to die anyway, you, me and all future people.
    Why not be nice while you can?

theteal wrote: »
    Not so. Signs are starting to show the current generation of young adults will not have an easy ride.

Guardian article

I'm sorry , but it's certainly not harder for this generation then previous.
    And it's not too long ago even that you were taken out of school and sent to work to "earn your keep" either, along with numerous other hardships which I won't bother to mention, because today's generation wouldn't believe it anyway.

So it's not the same as it was a generation ago? This is the discussion and you are in fact contradicting your last statement about every generation having it easier.

And the aim of economic policy shouldn't be to go back to pre 1998 or before and then say - it's not as bad as it was then.

I don't think either that for people with jobs the 80's and 90's actually had it harder. The age people got a mortgage was younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

I am 31 and I still live in the family home.

I lived away for 4 years, and had to move back for college. I had no income so I had to live at home. Then when I got a job it was a short term contract that meant I couldn't sign a lease. I was unemployed for a brief period of time, and then had a few more short term contracts. My periods of unemployment ate into any sort of savings that I had, and the rental market in Dublin is just crazy currently.

I'm now back in college. Again. So I'm here for the foreseeable.

My family is unique in our setup. Live with my mum, gran, uncle and great aunt. My gran has macular degeneration, is legally blind and needs help to do a lot of things. My great aunt has dementia and requires a lot of input from family that I feel obligated to help out with. By choice though, if my family thought it was me being coerced into it they'd kick me out!! It's not though, my gran and aunt provided for me lots when I was a kid, they need practical support now and I can do that.

Will I be at home forever? Who knows. I'm currently content with my setup. I know I get laughed at my people for still being at home at 31, but it's not the usual setup. I'm under no obligation, it's not like being a teenager. We are a group of adult who live together, yet independently of each other. We have our own lives, and yes there is a certain element of overlap as we have friends from generations of families (my mum is friends with my best friends parents since before we were born; my gran was friends with her grandparents before they died), but we're all content with things.

I'm sorry , but it's certainly not harder for this generation then previous.
    And it's not too long ago even that you were taken out of school and sent to work to "earn your keep" either, along with numerous other hardships which I won't bother to mention, because today's generation wouldn't believe it anyway.

No facts will persuade you. And you change your argument from last generation to the 50's at a whim.

Btw the poor mouth from a man with more than one property is a bit much.

So it's not the same as it was a generation ago? This is the discussion and you are in fact contradicting your last statement about every generation having it easier.

And the aim of economic policy shouldn't be to go back to pre 1998 or before and then say - it's not as bad as it was then.

I don't think either that for people with jobs the 80's and 90's actually had it harder. The age people got a mortgage was younger.

I don't think you are getting the point at all tbh.
    But carry on with the woe is me and I have it harder than anyone else ever had.
    Obviously it is believed, but only believed by the snowflake generation I would wager.
    Ask anyone who grew up before the snowflakes and they will tell you how they had it. Then you can compare.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭gizmo81

Rental landscape is ridiculous. Landlords will get harsher regulation and severe punishments because of the way they cannot regulate themselves.

Imagine paying €600 for a room in Ballybough with no heating.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/more-and-more-of-us-have-no-option-but-to-return-home-due-to-rent-prices-35975701.html

Plus, you have to love the causal sexism of the landlord. They really can't help themselves.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Actually not quite, humans aren't birds. Most social group animals live as extended families, as did humans for most of our history. The seen as independent entity nuclear family is quite recent.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

No facts will persuade you. And you change your argument from last generation to the 50's at a whim.

Btw the poor mouth from a man with more than one property is a bit much.

Oh Jesus.
    Listen to yourself.
    The fact are easy to come by.
    Ask people born at any time prior to the 1990s about hardship in their teens and 20s . They will fill you in.