Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flags

• 26-07-2017 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭

What's the opinion of the banning of the Dublin flag from Croke park? I understand it's a Dublin City council but I think it's beyond ridiculous. Flags are steeped in GAA history. If it's such a problem, why say for example is it allowed in other GAA stadia, I recently seen a major cork one in Thurles. Also, Bayern munich have multiple big Ones as do other soccer clubs. Is Croke park losing its identity with the GAA? Another one that always baffled me was the no to pitch invasions, yet is allowed right across other stadiums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,861 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

C__MC wrote: »
    Another one that always baffled me was the no to pitch invasions, yet is allowed right across other stadiums.

At other grounds I often hear announcements asking patrons not to enter the playing area in the interests of safety. This is always in the ground regulations printed in match programmes also. Sometimes this is respected, sometimes not. Shortly after the final whistle at the Ulster Final a large number of fans forced their way past the stewards on to the pitch. The announcement was then made "All stewards Stand Down".

After the 2010 Leinster Football Final, when people finished up in court for what happened on the pitch after the match, I can see why Croke Park want to stop pitch invasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

A large mayo flag was at ennis the other week. If the fans below the flag don't mind, and it's only up for a few minutes, and dosn't block any bit of the match, I don't see the issue really.

Has anyone ever seen one go up in smoke?

Everyone here knows I love a bit of flag waving, and most flag wavers are considerate of their fellow fans. Apart from young fans who need to learn the way of the flag :D

It's the Dublin fecker with the bodhran that annoys the f**k out of me. Ban the bodhran please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

It says here that it's the GAA that are banning it, not the Dublin City Council. Seems a bit severe. Those big flags are in football stadiums all over the world.
    http://www.the42.ie/dublin-gaa-supporters-boycott-croke-park-gaa-flag-hill-16-3515010-Jul2017/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I've never been under one but I'm fairly sure if I was my reaction would be 'will you **** off with your ****in flag you shower of absolute *****'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Yeah I was often in my youth caught underneath the Slievenamon one in the Tipp terrace, might look great on the tele but annoying as fook when your caught underneath it and the game about to start.

The faux outrage and planned protest from the Dublin Supporters Club or whoever they are is beyond embarrassing though.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

While I think its pure BS banning flags etc as Danganabu says the orgasmic reaction by some fuk all of the Dubs fans is entertaining.
    "Dress in black protests", "buy no food protest", "the GAA wouldn't exist without the Dubs"

That Hill16 Army page is pure comedy at the moment, especially the admin thinking foireann was foreign! :)

On a serious note wtf are croker up to though with all the over reaction!!!! Flags have been part of the atmosphere for decades!!!

Only spotted this on the Dublin forum where I was curious to see what the lads on here were thinking this post sums it up perfectly, while I've plenty of "discussion" with BonnieDog this is 100% A1 post.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=104195980&postcount=916

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

keane2097 wrote: »
    I've never been under one but I'm fairly sure if I was my reaction would be 'will you **** off with your ****in flag you shower of absolute *****'.

They only get put up before games and maybe at half time.

The big Offaly flag from the 1990's always went up for the parade and then maybe at half time and didn't cause any disruption for people wanting to watch the match.

This decision by the Dublin City Council is ridiculous.

They only get put up before games and maybe at half time.

The big Offaly flag from the 1990's always went up for the parade and then maybe at half time and didn't cause any disruption for people wanting to watch the match.

This decision by the Dublin City Council is ridiculous.

There is no time of the day be it a match day or otherwise that I wouldn't want some **** taken away and shot for it tbh.

I mean, look this honestly doesn't effect me at all as I don't spend any time in the Hill - but who does this flag actually benefit?

I haven't seen anyone come out and say being covered by the stupid thing is a highlight of their day so I doubt it's the people underneath it who are losing out. If it's meant to be the rest of the people looking at it I reckon the number who look at it and say 'Christ that's ****ing stupid' must be way over 50%.

What % of people can there possibly be that say 'oh wow look at that big flag, that sure shows the culture of the GAA and adds greatly to the atmosphere'?

Realistically, this big flag mostly just benefits some gowl who dreamed it up and now gets to tell people after games that he is the legend with the big flag.

There is no time of the day be it a match day or otherwise that I wouldn't want some **** taken away and shot for it tbh.

I mean, look this honestly doesn't effect me at all as I don't spend any time in the Hill - but who does this flag actually benefit?

I haven't seen anyone come out and say being covered by the stupid thing is a highlight of their day so I doubt it's the people underneath it who are losing out. If it's meant to be the rest of the people looking at it I reckon the number who look at it and say 'Christ that's ****ing stupid' must be way over 50%.

What % of people can there possibly be that say 'oh wow look at that big flag, that sure shows the culture of the GAA and adds greatly to the atmosphere'?

Realistically, this big flag mostly just benefits some gowl who dreamed it up and now gets to tell people after games that he is the legend with the big flag.

They add to the sense of colour at a match.one of the big negatives of the new Croke Park is that you don't have 2 terraces filled with fans from the opposing sides.I always felt it really added to a big match atmosphere.

These big flags get out just before matches they have minimal negative affect, technically all flags have an affect on someone but I doubt people want to see all flags banned.

If you don't want to be disturbed even in the slightest at a match you're probably better off to stay at home and watch it on TV.

They add to the sense of colour at a match.one of the big negatives of the new Croke Park is that you don't have 2 terraces filled with fans from the opposing sides.I always felt it really added to a big match atmosphere.

These big flags get out just before matches they have minimal negative affect, technically all flags have an affect on someone but I doubt people want to see all flags banned.

If you don't want to be disturbed even in the slightest at a match you're probably better off to stay at home and watch it on TV.

I think on a scale of being disturbed, having a massive flag passed over your head uninvited is fairly close to the top of your likely range in Croke Park.

I don't normally have too many things happen to me in there that I would find more aggravating than that anyway, YMMV I suppose.

I think on a scale of being disturbed, having a massive flag passed over your head uninvited is fairly close to the top of your likely range in Croke Park.

I don't normally have too many things happen to me in there that I would find more aggravating than that anyway, YMVV I suppose.

They go up for a very short period of time and go back down again before the match starts.

They're fairly harmless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Mayo have had one for their last two qualifier games apparently. Third and fourth round qualifiers. Barely enough people underneath it to keep it afloat supposedly.

You'd have to wonder what's going through the head of the person bringing it along. "Our experienced team that's used to contesting All Irelands will really need the inspiration of seeing a big flag to get over this lowly qualifier, which we're 1/6 shots to win. It will really intimidate the 300 fans the opposition brought with them too."

Never mind that in the GAA fans aren't segregated, so you're subjecting opposing fans to this nonsense also. I know thats not usually the case with the Dubs, but the Hill isn't assigned to them so can be the case ocasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 treble1999

As per stadiums in the UK and some other large stadiums all large flags must be made from fire retardant material. Presume this is not made from this material and therefore doesn't comply with Health & Safety. Nothing got to do with disturbing other supporters views of the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I'm taking the grump stance on this too. There's plenty of atmosphere in GAA without the need for flags, big or small. The ball is back in play before you can blink these days, leave the flags at home and watch the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

The ban on the flag is a bit OTT, and while CP were initially blaming the Fire Brigade and Dublin City Council, apparently it was their call.

On other hand, the reaction is farcical. initially began as attempt to boycott ALL games; then to boycott the quarter final; then to only enter the hill on the 16th minute; now it seems the reaction to that - which was overwhelmingly derisive, is to boycott the concessions.

However, the most surreal aspect of it is that one of the rival ultra groups - no doubt in attempt to outflank the other - is now asking Dublin supporters to go to the Mayo/Ros game in Dublin jerseys but buy Rossie flags!

Eh, what happened to the fkn boycott lads?

Seriously, this is embarrassing stuff. Grounds for supporting Ros is that "we" hate Mayo. Well, I don't hate anyone, I do despise imbeciles no matter what their origins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

PARlance wrote:
    I'm taking the grump stance on this too. There's plenty of atmosphere in GAA without the need for flags, big or small. The ball is back in play before you can blink these days, leave the flags at home and watch the match.

You know when you are seated on the plane and a huge person is approaching you, you are praying they don't sit beside you.

It's the same with people with flags you pray they don't sit in front of you. The supporters are mixed and I don't care about the colour of the flags blocking my view, I just want it gone.

Although there are some considerate users that know how you use them without killing it for those behind them, most are kids with parents who don't care so long as they can see the game.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Stoner wrote: »
    You know when you are seated on the plane and a huge person is approaching you, you are praying they don't sit beside you.

It's the same with people with flags you pray they don't sit in front of you. The supporters are mixed and I don't care about the colour of the flags blocking my view, I just want it gone.

Although there are some considerate users that know how you use them without killing it for those behind them, most are kids with parents who don't care so long as they can see the game.

More like when you are sitting in Croker and 3 of the biggest lads in Ireland are now season ticket holders and sitting beside you! When they turn up before the main game with 3 or 4 burgers each, squeeze passed you, then leave 5 mins before 1/2 time and return with more burgers, eat 1/2 a loaf before the end of the game and you have to look forward to sitting beside them for the rest of the year. :D :cool:

Loads of fans to keep it afloat Hulk Hands, thanks for the concern. #anotherMayoobsessedlad :D

I have no problem asking a fervent flag waver to put it down when play is on, adult or child. They generally don't realise as they are part timers but are soon initiated into the way of the flag...... only at points and goals.

The part timers can also suffer from the "standing up" phenomena during play. Their initiation to the way of the seat involves getting shouted at, at a very loud shattering volume. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,095 ✭✭✭doc_17

Wel if they are banning the wains from taking in flags and waving them then they have to do the same here for the same reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Oldtree wrote: »
    I have no problem asking a fervent flag waver to put it down when play is on, adult or child. They generally don't realise as they are part timers but are soon initiated into the way of the flag...... only at points and goals.

The part timers can also suffer from the "standing up" phenomena during play. Their initiation to the way of the seat involves getting shouted at, at a very loud shattering volume. :D

I think you're my mirror image.It definitely does occur with those supporters for whom a trip to a game or Croker is a bit of a novelty.Disappointed re the ban on flags,the same bring much colour to a match.Not that I ever bring one myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Don't be on the Hill, so to me on tv and the odd time at games with big flags, I think it adds to the occasion, but I can see why it may annoy people, so I don't have a strong opinion. Are umbrellas allowed?

I look forward to health and safety (and.the general annoyance) police to get Croke Park to turn off or down the ****ing a annoying tannoy blaring out adverts in the stands at every opportunity.

How long before a corporate sponsor decides they want a big flag prompting whatever they are hawking, can't see that request being turned down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

yop wrote: »
    While I think its pure BS banning flags etc as Danganabu says the orgasmic reaction by some fuk all of the Dubs fans is entertaining.
    "Dress in black protests", "buy no food protest", "the GAA wouldn't exist without the Dubs"

That Hill16 Army page is pure comedy at the moment, especially the admin thinking foireann was foreign! :)

On a serious note wtf are croker up to though with all the over reaction!!!! Flags have been part of the atmosphere for decades!!!

Only spotted this on the Dublin forum where I was curious to see what the lads on here were thinking this post sums it up perfectly, while I've plenty of "discussion" with BonnieDog this is 100% A1 post.

Funny how some people - not that I'm naming names mind ;) - think that Christmas has come early, when they find someone from Dublin acting the eegit on social meeja. And they can't WAIT to come on here and discuss their muppetry, as if it was the new Game of Thrones ep.

I mean, if I was to go over to the Mayo GAA blog, or Hogan Stand *shudders,* or the PROC and dig up a few of the more....let's call them "colourful" posts....and treat them to the same levels of analysis here, ye would be right sharpish about telling me to get a life.

I guess it's just the price we have to pay for being incredibly fascinating and captivating, eh? Is it our devestating good looks that is the attraction? Or perhaps it's our wit and our debonair charm? Or the glare from all our trophies? Or do you perchance, lust after our coddle? Yiz can fcuk right off if it's the last one ! :mad:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

ProudDUB wrote: »

Funny how some people - not that I'm naming names mind ;) - think that Christmas has come early, when they find someone from Dublin acting the eegit on social meeja. And they can't WAIT to come on here and discuss their muppetry, as if it was the new Game of Thrones ep.

I mean, if I was to go over to the Mayo GAA blog, or Hogan Stand *shudders,* or the PROC and dig up a few of the more....let's call them "colourful" posts....and treat them to the same levels of analysis here, ye would be right sharpish about telling me to get a life.

I guess it's just the price we have to pay for being incredibly fascinating and captivating, eh? Is it our devestating good looks that is the attraction? Or perhaps it's our wit and our debonair charm? Or the glare from all our trophies? Or do you perchance, lust after our coddle? Yiz can fcuk right off if it's the last one ! :mad:

Does that count for Dublin fans who are also giving out? Or does that make your point out of place?

bruschi wrote: »
    Does that count for Dublin fans who are also giving out? Or does that make your point out of place?

I vote that everyone who is outraged/giving out/whinging/having a meltdown/outraged about the outrage/outraged about the lack of outrage.... be stoned and then hung, drawn and quartered and strung up on top of the Spire, the Empire State (purely for the craic like) Croagh Patrick and Carantoohill, all the while watching Marty Morrissey sing sean nos naked

Happy now? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Does this ban apply to all sizes of flags, even small ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭zetecescort

tanko wrote: »
    Does this ban apply to all sizes of flags, even small ones?

Flags banned from croke park for a number of years now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Bogsnorkler

Split the Dublin flag? 
    It's the only solution.

It must be Christmas on a daily basis if its a Dub who is attracted to Mayo fans :D
    Every Mayo post has a Dub commenting with the same rhetoric.

Anyway its all good banter! :)

It's banter now.

Coz it's only July.

(Let's call it the phoney war.)

The Kerry shower aren't even awake yet.

Give us another 4 weeks & it'll be full scale war again.

Full steam ahead and damm the torpedos.

As God and nature intended. :D

It's banter now.

Coz it's only July.

(Let's call it the phoney war.)

The Kerry shower aren't even awake yet.

Give us another 4 weeks & it'll be full scale war again.

Full steam ahead and damm the torpedos.

As God and nature intended. :D

Its banter always, I'm too old for war! :D

You can be our token Conscientious Objector if you like. We'll even give you your own little white flag to wave, so you don't get caught up in the crossfire.

(There's usually a good few Mayo men waving them about, at minute 73 or so, so you won't stick out at all. ;))

Oh no, hang on....wait a minute...no flags allowed. Would you be ok with an armband instead?

You can be our token Conscientious Objector if you like. We'll even give you your own little white flag to wave, so you don't get caught up in the crossfire.

(There's usually a good few Mayo men waving them around, at minute 73 or so, so you won't stick out at all.)

Oh no, hang on....wait a minute...no flags allowed. Would you be ok with an armband instead?

Don't worry I don't wave white flags ;) And I only wear arm bands to lead a team or to show respect :cool:

muppetry

Wonderful, I get to use this again!
    Anyone notice the colors :D

tumblr_max7m0blYU1ryedhuo1_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Oldtree wrote:
    Wonderful, I get to use this again! Anyone notice the colors

He looks very disappointed, poor little fella, I like frogs they are my second favorite amphibian.

Don't worry I don't wave white flags ;) And I only wear arm bands to lead a team or to show respect :cool:

Mayo folk...arms bands...dead people....funerals...

Must resist temptation, must resist, must resist.....:D