C__MC wrote: » Another one that always baffled me was the no to pitch invasions, yet is allowed right across other stadiums.
keane2097 wrote: » I've never been under one but I'm fairly sure if I was my reaction would be 'will you **** off with your ****in flag you shower of absolute *****'.
Dirty Dingus McGee wrote: » They only get put up before games and maybe at half time. The big Offaly flag from the 1990's always went up for the parade and then maybe at half time and didn't cause any disruption for people wanting to watch the match. This decision by the Dublin City Council is ridiculous.
keane2097 wrote: » There is no time of the day be it a match day or otherwise that I wouldn't want some **** taken away and shot for it tbh. I mean, look this honestly doesn't effect me at all as I don't spend any time in the Hill - but who does this flag actually benefit? I haven't seen anyone come out and say being covered by the stupid thing is a highlight of their day so I doubt it's the people underneath it who are losing out. If it's meant to be the rest of the people looking at it I reckon the number who look at it and say 'Christ that's ****ing stupid' must be way over 50%. What % of people can there possibly be that say 'oh wow look at that big flag, that sure shows the culture of the GAA and adds greatly to the atmosphere'? Realistically, this big flag mostly just benefits some gowl who dreamed it up and now gets to tell people after games that he is the legend with the big flag.
Dirty Dingus McGee wrote: » They add to the sense of colour at a match.one of the big negatives of the new Croke Park is that you don't have 2 terraces filled with fans from the opposing sides.I always felt it really added to a big match atmosphere. These big flags get out just before matches they have minimal negative affect, technically all flags have an affect on someone but I doubt people want to see all flags banned. If you don't want to be disturbed even in the slightest at a match you're probably better off to stay at home and watch it on TV.
keane2097 wrote: » I think on a scale of being disturbed, having a massive flag passed over your head uninvited is fairly close to the top of your likely range in Croke Park. I don't normally have too many things happen to me in there that I would find more aggravating than that anyway, YMVV I suppose.
PARlance wrote: I'm taking the grump stance on this too. There's plenty of atmosphere in GAA without the need for flags, big or small. The ball is back in play before you can blink these days, leave the flags at home and watch the match.
Stoner wrote: » You know when you are seated on the plane and a huge person is approaching you, you are praying they don't sit beside you. It's the same with people with flags you pray they don't sit in front of you. The supporters are mixed and I don't care about the colour of the flags blocking my view, I just want it gone. Although there are some considerate users that know how you use them without killing it for those behind them, most are kids with parents who don't care so long as they can see the game.
Oldtree wrote: » I have no problem asking a fervent flag waver to put it down when play is on, adult or child. They generally don't realise as they are part timers but are soon initiated into the way of the flag...... only at points and goals. The part timers can also suffer from the "standing up" phenomena during play. Their initiation to the way of the seat involves getting shouted at, at a very loud shattering volume.
yop wrote: » While I think its pure BS banning flags etc as Danganabu says the orgasmic reaction by some fuk all of the Dubs fans is entertaining. "Dress in black protests", "buy no food protest", "the GAA wouldn't exist without the Dubs" That Hill16 Army page is pure comedy at the moment, especially the admin thinking foireann was foreign! On a serious note wtf are croker up to though with all the over reaction!!!! Flags have been part of the atmosphere for decades!!! Only spotted this on the Dublin forum where I was curious to see what the lads on here were thinking this post sums it up perfectly, while I've plenty of "discussion" with BonnieDog this is 100% A1 post.http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=104195980&postcount=916
ProudDUB wrote: » yop wrote: » While I think its pure BS banning flags etc as Danganabu says the orgasmic reaction by some fuk all of the Dubs fans is entertaining. "Dress in black protests", "buy no food protest", "the GAA wouldn't exist without the Dubs" That Hill16 Army page is pure comedy at the moment, especially the admin thinking foireann was foreign! On a serious note wtf are croker up to though with all the over reaction!!!! Flags have been part of the atmosphere for decades!!! Only spotted this on the Dublin forum where I was curious to see what the lads on here were thinking this post sums it up perfectly, while I've plenty of "discussion" with BonnieDog this is 100% A1 post.http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=104195980&postcount=916 Funny how some people - not that I'm naming names mind - think that Christmas has come early, when they find someone from Dublin acting the eegit on social meeja. And they can't WAIT to come on here and discuss their muppetry, as if it was the new Game of Thrones ep. I mean, if I was to go over to the Mayo GAA blog, or Hogan Stand *shudders,* or the PROC and dig up a few of the more....let's call them "colourful" posts....and treat them to the same levels of analysis here, ye would be right sharpish about telling me to get a life. I guess it's just the price we have to pay for being incredibly fascinating and captivating, eh? Is it our devestating good looks that is the attraction? Or perhaps it's our wit and our debonair charm? Or the glare from all our trophies? Or do you perchance, lust after our coddle? Yiz can fcuk right off if it's the last one ! :mad:
bruschi wrote: » Does that count for Dublin fans who are also giving out? Or does that make your point out of place?
tanko wrote: » Does this ban apply to all sizes of flags, even small ones?
ProudDUB wrote: » Funny how some people - not that I'm naming names mind - think that Christmas has come early, when they find someone from Dublin acting the eegit on social meeja. And they can't WAIT to come on here and discuss their muppetry, as if it was the new Game of Thrones ep. I mean, if I was to go over to the Mayo GAA blog, or Hogan Stand *shudders,* or the PROC and dig up a few of the more....let's call them "colourful" posts....and treat them to the same levels of analysis here, ye would be right sharpish about telling me to get a life. I guess it's just the price we have to pay for being incredibly fascinating and captivating, eh? Is it our devestating good looks that is the attraction? Or perhaps it's our wit and our debonair charm? Or the glare from all our trophies? Or do you perchance, lust after our coddle? Yiz can fcuk right off if it's the last one ! :mad:
ProudDUB wrote: » It's banter now. Coz it's only July. (Let's call it the phoney war.) The Kerry shower aren't even awake yet. Give us another 4 weeks & it'll be full scale war again. Full steam ahead and damm the torpedos. As God and nature intended.