Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wild kids on Motocross bikes. Getting mad out there.

• 24-07-2017 9:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭

6 bikes charging up the road flat out coming straight at me in clondalkin this week. 2 were doing wheelies, looked totally out of control, I thought I was going to get lashed out of it in my car. That was Saturday, I've come across it again on Sunday and Monday. What's going on have the guards just given up? Talking to a few people today and it's rampant. How are they getting away with this?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Not sure you'll find any answers in this forum.
    Just because they are riding motorcycles doesn't mean they are posting in here.
    Its like asking about joyriders in the motors subforum.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭emo72

True, I know it's nothing to do with us. It's one of those threads that's just general. Really don't want to put this in after hours though. I suppose it's the sense of unfairness that I would be stopped on my bike and made produce insurance cert, meanwhile these lads would be creating havoc and just let carry on. This happened outside the ronanstown Garda station. It's happening every day.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Saw two today, going by Charlestown Shopping Centre. They went through red lights and missed having an accident by inches. Helmets only, so no care for anyone. Absolute scumbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,058 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Teenager killed in Dublin after motorcycle hit lamppost
    A pillion passenger was seriously injured.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/motorcyclist-killed-dublin-3512725-Jul2017/

• Registered Users Posts: 18,964 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Sure the Gardaì are ignoring nearly every motorbike on the road bar the legitimate ones. You have the hipsters on their 2 stroke powered bikes pottering past the people on the non pedal assisted bicycles as the Gardai sit watching. They know that chasing the motor cross bikes is a waste of time because even if they catch them they will walk out with a slap on the wrist.

But the people with a licence and insurance are easy marks so they can go after them and make it look like they are doing something.

they are going to kill some innocent passerby. how the guards are getting a free pass on this is mad.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭Goose81

emo72 wrote: »
    they are going to kill some innocent passerby. how the guards are getting a free pass on this is mad.

I would assume they have a no chase policy because

A - they will very likely crash and probably kill themselves, put the public in more danger

B - They wont catch them

Goose81 wrote: »
    I would assume they have a no chase policy because

A - they will very likely crash and probably kill themselves, put the public in more danger

B - They wont catch them

they could try put a few roadchecks up. its plain as day where this is happening.i see it at the same place every day. its right beside ronanstown station.

or as you say theres nothing that can be done, let the mayhem continue? its that easy to evade the guards? lads feck the tax and insurance and all get 2 strokes with knobbly tyres, ye cant be touched.

they could try put a few roadchecks up. its plain as day where this is happening.i see it at the same place every day. its right beside ronanstown station.

or as you say theres nothing that can be done, let the mayhem continue? its that easy to evade the guards? lads feck the tax and insurance and all get 2 strokes with knobbly tyres, ye cant be touched.

It's an epidemic in parts of the US , there are videos on YouTube of packs of ferrel kids on atv , scramblers etc running wild in the cities. They all have a no chase policy now because of the deaths chasing them has caused.

If it was up to me I would have the guards mow them down like ants tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

It's an epidemic in parts of the US , there are videos on YouTube of packs of ferrel kids on atv , scramblers etc running wild in the cities. They all have a no chase policy now because of the deaths chasing them has caused.

If it was up to me I would have the guards mow them down like ants tbh

Reminds me a of a movie scene, can't remember which one where there is a pack of kids on bikes.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭Philipx

To be fair to the Guards, what outcome do you expect if they try & stop them?

Best case scenario - Bike mounts path onto green area, car can't follow, bike gets away.

Worst case scenario -

Bike mounts path onto green area, car can't follow, bike gets away, knocks down kid playing football. Huge public & social media outcry - "why did the Guards chase him, they forced him on"

Bike stays on road, crashes, rider killed. Huge public & social media outcry - "why did the Guards chase him, they forced him on, he was a lovely fella, really quiet, loved his Granny etc etc..."

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Reminds me of a lad i know, robbed cars, drunk driving,no insurance, riding motox bikes on the road, sold drugs, house was raided regularly..a right scumbag.....what does he do now...

He's a road racer......and quite good too...;)

They are on off road bikes so a checkpoint on a road isn't much use. Then there's the issue of trying to chase a bike, ridden by someone who doesn't care, in a car into known trouble areas. Don't forget a few of their parents where part of the "joyriding" endemic we had years ago and they used to trap and attack any Gardaí that chased them into their estates, the family tradition lives on.

Until our judicial system is reformed there is nothing to be done. I'd a very interesting day in the children's court after someone was caught stealing my car, everyone knew everyone in there and the legal eagles are gorging at the trough. The Gardaí catch them, a well paid state supplied solicitor and barrister says they've a hard live, slap on the wrist and repeat. What we need is for parents to be made responsible for the actions of their children and for adults to have proper sanctions, but that won't happen because the legal system is incestuous.

Only post on here if you're squeaky clean and never did anything wrong in yer life..or it'll turn into yet another moanfest..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,262 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Del2005 wrote: »
    Sure the Gardaì are ignoring nearly every motorbike on the road bar the legitimate ones. You have the hipsters on their 2 stroke powered bikes pottering past the people on the non pedal assisted bicycles as the Gardai sit watching. They know that chasing the motor cross bikes is a waste of time because even if they catch them they will walk out with a slap on the wrist.

But the people with a licence and insurance are easy marks so they can go after them and make it look like they are doing something.

In fairness to the gardai, almost impossible to catch these. They know every laneway, park with pedestrian entrance that their bike can fit through and shortcut across fields in a 15 mile radius. Parents have a lot to answer for

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭thos

Just get Sally-gap man down for a spin around with them

• Registered Users Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

It's mental.....I get the no chase policy but lets be honest most of these heads would be known to the gardai wouldn't be hard to find them, there should be some sort of crackdown on it and confiscation ....they're breaking all sorts of laws on a daily basis

Meanwhile I've a fixed fine to pay and pts coming on my license for going 7km/h over the limit according to the man in a van

• Registered Users Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭death1234567

What we need is for parents to be made responsible for the actions of their children.
    I've been saying this for years and I know a couple of guards who are of the same opinion. If your child commits a crime then you as legal guardian should be held responsible. The scumbags under 18 know they can't be punished. It's a law free world for them, why not take the piss?

sonofenoch wrote: »
    It's mental.....I get the no chase policy but lets be honest most of these heads would be known to the gardai wouldn't be hard to find them, there should be some sort of crackdown on it and confiscation ....they're breaking all sorts of laws on a daily basis

Meanwhile I've a fixed fine to pay and pts coming on my license for going 7km/h over the limit according to the man in a van

My day in court was for a person caught in my car trying to steal it, with items stolen from somewhere else, and they got off scot free. I've said it here before, ask any Garda off the record and they'll tell you exactly who committed which crimes in your area. Ask them what happens when they catch them.

Which proved my point. Decent law abiding people are chased for "minor" offences while the scumbags are let go feral.

Only post on here if you're squeaky clean and never did anything wrong in yer life..or it'll turn into yet another moanfest..:rolleyes:

I'll admit I'm no angel but if I get caught breaking a law it'll have repercussions for me. The people on the scramblers, 2 stroke bicycles and non pedal assisted electric bikes have no repercussions for breaking our laws.

Reminds me of a lad i know, robbed cars, drunk driving,no insurance, riding motox bikes on the road, sold drugs, house was raided regularly..a right scumbag.....what does he do now...

He's a road racer......and quite good too...;)

Ah that's alright then, he's a decent road racer so we will forgive the drug dealing and robbing cars, sure that's stuff every young lad get up to...
    Sounds like a ****ing scumbag lowlife who inflicted absolute misery on people and the community, I wouldn't be boasting about knowing someone involved in car crime and drug dealing because he can ride a bike fast.

Ah that's alright then, he's a decent road racer so we will forgive the drug dealing and robbing cars, sure that's stuff every young lad get up to...
    Sounds like a ****ing scumbag lowlife who inflicted absolute misery on people and the community, I wouldn't be boasting about knowing someone involved in car crime and drug dealing because he can ride a bike fast.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:...you need to really read posts twice....just looking for conflict you are...angrygoose81....

Never boasted about him, in fact i detest him ,his family for supporting him AND the local judge who NEVER put him away..so there...;)

I'll admit I'm no angel but if I get caught breaking a law it'll have repercussions for me. The people on the scramblers, 2 stroke bicycles and non pedal assisted electric bikes have no repercussions for breaking our laws.

If you get caught breaking "our" law then youre just the same as these guys....dont get caught

• Registered Users Posts: 34,508 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Never boasted about him, in fact i detest him ,his family for supporting him AND the local judge who NEVER put him away..so there...;)

Yeah that is really the tone I picked up from reading your earlier post.

Not.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

If you get caught breaking "our" law then youre just the same as these guys....dont get caught

None of us on this forum are the same as these guys. FFS are you having a 'stupidest post on Boards ever' competition with yourself lately?

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,275 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Mobile crusher. Job done.

endacl wrote: »
    Mobile crusher. Job done.

And the guards can auction the bikes afterwards ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Quite simple really....
    Helicopter out and work with crews on the ground but have a specialist scrambler team themselves.
    Have patrols in the areas and catch them at the house or when run out of fuel.

So much could be done but won't.

Parents as said above should be held to account and seriously penalized for allowing a child on a vehicle like the scramblers or quads etc.

Get people in the community on board go out and speak with them and get them that way too.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,440 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Might be simple, but it'd have to be a big operation and expensive.. And probably probably only catch 2 or 3 lads.. If that..
    . . Will the guards be able to impound the bike from mammy and daddies shed, till the slap on the wrist comes..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users Posts: 8,440 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Quite simple really.... Helicopter out and work with crews on the ground but have a specialist scrambler team themselves. Have patrols in the areas and catch them at the house or when run out of fuel.

Camera drones would be a lot better than helicopters...
    Do the guards have them?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦