Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor McGregor - Do You Love Him or Hate Him?

• 13-07-2017 7:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

In another thread about Irish begrudgery, someone mentioned that Bono is the only Irish man who gets hate and venom thrown his way. I reckoned that Mr McGregor is a man who could rival him quite easily. Conor has plenty of fans but I think he also has plenty of detractors. He's a very polarising figure in this country. My question is, do you love him or hate him? Or are you somewhere in between? Is he a classless brute or is he a savvy and talented businessman?

Conor McGregor -Love him or hate him 343 votes

Love him
    0% 0 votes
    Hate him
    46% 160 votes
    Somewhere in between
    53% 183 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I admire his talent and what he has achieved but no as a person i don't like him, behaves like a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Slattsy wrote: »
    Who?

Conor McGregor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Stan27

Young Irish man who works hard and plays the system very smartly. Making a lot of money, fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

He's a legend pure and simple ,

He's no brute thats for sure ,he should be held as an example of what you can achieve if you have the drive and determination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭PhilipsR

I respect him for how he's gone from the dole to multi millionaire in 4 years. He's a lot more intelligent than people realise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I admire his talent and what he has achieved but no as a person i don't like him, behaves like a scumbag.

Couldn't have said it better myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

He's like marmite

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Conor McGregory isn't the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

He's a classless, savvy and talented businessman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

I can't stand his behaviour and the knock-on effect it has had on society - where strolling around with your hand down your pants and calling everybody a c*nt is not just acceptable - but actually considered kinda "cool"... but I have a certain amount of respect for him in the same way I have for Katie Price, Victoria and David Beckham etc - in that he's managed to amass a fortune despite not really doing anything important.

His behaviour and general shennanigans is important as it deflects from the fact there's not really a whole lot else going on. His press conferences etc have to be 'the show' because his "sport" is actually quite rubbish. He knows this and he plays his hand very cleverly.

There's a lot of gullible, easily led people out there. And, it seems, they can't wait to be separated from their money.

TL/DR - I don't like the guy, but fair play to him...

EDIT: Just to add, I don't know if, in any other country, a 'thing' goes from fad to mainstream-been-following-this-for-years-man quite as quickly as Ireland... it seemed like the McGregor guy popped up one day and a week later every eejit is like "ye gonna watch 'the fight' Sunday?".. "what fight?" ... "the figh'! McGregor... Conor... Conor's fightin'!".... "what the f*ck are you talking about??"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

I neither like nor dislike Conor McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Somewhere in between. I've no interest in UFC, so he doesn't cross my path too often anyway. There's no doubt that he's driven and very good at what he does.

I've never been a fan of those theatrics pre-fight, like at a weigh-in or whatever.

I know people will say it's all just an act and promotion, and while I agree to an extent, he strikes me as one of those people (like David Haye) who uses it as a licence to be a wanker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Would love to find an app to block all mentions of him online

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    I can't stand his behaviour and the knock-on effect it has had on society - where strolling around with your hand down your pants and calling everybody a c*nt is not just acceptable - but actually considered kinda "cool"... but I have a certain amount of respect for him in the same way I have for Katie Price, Victoria and David Beckham etc - in that he's managed to amass a fortune despite not really doing anything important.

His behaviour and general shennanigans is important as it deflects from the fact there's not really a whole lot else going on. His press conferences etc have to be 'the show' because his "sport" is actually quite rubbish. He knows this and he plays his hand very cleverly.

There's a lot of gullible, easily led people out there. And, it seems, they can't wait to be separated from their money.

TL/DR - I don't like the guy, but fair play to him...

But the beard and the tattoos and the way he says "jaaaaysis would ya roid me dick" and hates Hispanics. Don't you think it's admirable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭Trimm Trabb

jamesbere wrote: »
    He's like marmite

He often makes my laugh and am interested in what he does. I also respect his discipline, skill and achievements as a fighter.

On the other hand I don't like many aspects of his persona for example his glorifying of materialism and some of his smack talk is embarrassing.

There is plenty more stuff for both the pro/con sides but I would say I'm neither a fan nor a hater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I'm indifferent to him. I don't like fighty-boxy sports so he's not on my radar at all. I just know that he looks like a hipster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I think he's a completely obnoxious prick.I really dislike Floyd Mayweather but I hope Mayweather destroys him in the upcoming fight.Also for a supposed great talker he sounds like a fella who only learned how to speak english a couple of weeks, he has a terribly slow, deliberate way of talking that just annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

If he were English he'd receive very short shrift here, think he gets much more leeway because he's a successful Irishman.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

seachto7 wrote: »
    Would love to find an app to block all mentions of him online

Sorry you were forced in here to comment, that's on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Flibble

I genuinely don't understand how people can't see his behaviour for what it is- promotion.

He's a very decent, hardworking, loyal man who is simply doing what he can to set himself and his family up for life, I have nothing but respect for him. His work ethic is incredibly motivational. Surprisingly humble and down to earth, just confident and loud.

Yes, he acts like a d*ck, but would the huge frenzy around his fights have appeared if he wasn't? No. It's simply a marketing tool. An exaggeration.

*All opinions formed by several late night deep diving YouTube/Google sessions.

If he were English he'd receive very short shrift here, think he gets much more leeway because he's a successful Irishman.

That's generally the recipe for the auld Irish Begrudery TM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Is he that boxer, with the beard and the tattoos :confused:

I've seen a photo of him. That's genuinely all I know about the guy. He has a beard. Tattoo's. And boxes.

So ........?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

He's obviously no idiot, cos he's rich and succesful, but he comes across as a prize arsehole who loves getting his face in wherever he can. Not a fan personally, but then I've never met the bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Flibble wrote: »
    I genuinely don't understand how people can't see his behaviour for what it is- promotion.

He's a very decent, hardworking, loyal man who is simply doing what he can to set himself and his family up for life, I have nothing but respect for him. His work ethic is incredibly motivational. Surprisingly humble and down to earth, just confident and loud.

Yes, he acts like a d*ck, but would the huge frenzy around his fights have appeared if he wasn't? No. It's simply a marketing tool. An exaggeration.

Lots of people don't like that kind of nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Omackeral wrote: »
    That's generally the recipe for the auld Irish Begrudery TM

There is that too I concede.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

I just can't warm to him. And no, I can't explain why as I don't really know why. Rory McIlroy is another. I'm sure they loved/love their mums, are kind to animals, donate to charity and give up their seats on the bus to little old ladies. I just don't like them.

Lots of people don't like that kind of nonsense.

That's the business he's in.

Plenty of people do.... these are not the ones taking out personal loans to fly to Vegas to see the eejit's fights...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

I have sort of warmed to him recently.

I don't watch MMA or boxing really but the way he has managed to get Mayweather to agree to go into the ring with him is genius. He will be set for life I imagine and I can only admire his acumen to do that at his age (26 I think?).

I hope he knocks seven shades out of Mayweather who is one disgusting human being who thinks beating up women is fine.

None of us know what he is really like. It could all be a show and is definitely ramped up for the cameras. Guys his age all have beards and (what I consider) crazy 3 piece suits these days, so nothing odd there.

If you look at a very famous celebrity, Bono. His real persona is nothing like he portrays in the media. I imagine Conor is somewhat the same.

And you have to remember he is young. He has the world at his feet and most guys his age would feel somewhat empowered to 'give it large' or whatever the phrase is these day!

Great post. His persona and brash talking, in conjunction with his talent and performances, have made him serious bank. If he had just of those attributes without the other, he wouldn't be on many people's radar. He fought and talked himself into contention for world titles. Now he's done the same to land himself in the ring with one of the best ever in Floyd Mayweather, who 3 years ago probably didn't know who he was. Bare in mind, Conor's not even a boxer. It's that absurd and unlikely but he's made it happen. McGregor is probably gonna land the biggest payday of his life now and will be able to sort his young family out forever on the back of this. Not bad for some bloke from Crumlin who was signing on a few years ago.

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Plenty of people do.... these are not the ones taking out personal loans to fly to Vegas to see the eejit's fights...

He has made people excited. Plenty of people do that for the World Cup etc. Big sporting events get people's attention, what they choose to do with their own money is their business.

There's not a hope in hell I'm going to pay money to watch this upcoming fight, I'll wait for the highlights, but I can appreciate that people would.

Great post. His persona and brash talking, in conjunction with his talent and performances, have made him serious bank. If he had just of those attributes without the other, he wouldn't be on many people's radar. He fought and talked himself into contention for world titles. Now he's done the same to land himself in the ring with one of the best ever in Floyd Mayweather, who 3 years ago probably didn't know who he was. Bare in mind, Conor's not even a boxer. It's that absurd and unlikely but he's made it happen. McGregor is probably gonna land the biggest payday of his life now and will be able to sort his young family out forever on the back of this. Not bad for some bloke from Crumlin who was signing on a few years ago.

Exactly!! You just have to stand back and applaud the man, he has managed to whip up such a frenzy in such a small space of time, it's really quite genius. I think it shows phenomenal savvy and strength of character.

Stigura wrote: »
    Is he that boxer, with the beard and the tattoos :confused:

I've seen a photo of him. That's genuinely all I know about the guy. He has a beard. Tattoo's. And boxes.

So ........?

He's not a boxer, that's how mental the whole thing is. He's an MMA (Mixed Martial Arts) fighter who competes in the UFC in a completely different sport. For the last few years he's called out Floyd Mayweather, one of the best boxers ever who retired undefeated, and Floyd eventually said he'd come out of retirement to face him. It's got mad hype and all because this guy is a mouthy, marketable yet talented individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭alan0387

Love him or hate him, he is a fellow Irishman on the world stage, 4 years from being on the dole to double UFC Champ and taking on one of the most successful boxers of all time.

He is very confident and clever and I for one support him win lose or draw.

If it's not soccer or rugby or horse racing generally a lot of people out there don't want to know and it has taken a relatively small number of fans, given the population size, to propel him into the stature he has now. And FAIR PLAY TO HIM! What we see at press conferences is a front, a character and you can see a totally different man in EVERY post fight interview.

The work and effort he puts in has paid off and I do not know why anybody would begrudge one of our own? That I feel is a very Irish trait :D

He shows the fightin' Irish spirit and gives the fans the opportunity to show their love and support for the country on the world stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

Wheres the atari jaguar and fecks not given option!? I demand a funny option to this pole to express my strong opinions of not caring! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

you'd do fawkin nawthin!

He's also very conscious that this is not a long lived career, that he only has a few years to do this, so he's doing everything he can to do it right, once. He's riding the momentum of the propulsion, but he'll know when to call it a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

I don't like MMA...it's a makey-uppy sport...took a little from all combat sports...and made a balls of it... McGregor is the public face of this sport and I'm not a fan of his persona either...but the one thing I can't deny is that in the next month he's going to be involved in the richest boxing match ever....and he's not even had a pro fight....that's some self promotion and has to be admired big time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

i think mcgregor is an inspiration to this country. we are not an arroganat people like the yanks or the brits but conor makes us look good : ) he makes all the americans look so dumb in there press confrences with his dublin banter : )

As a proud Dub, I absolutely love the Dublin wit.... Conor doesn't have any of it.

Ronnie Drew, when told that Michael Flatley earned a million a week from Riverdance was then asked what he'd do if he earned at that rate... he said "I'd work for a fortnight, then retire."

That's wit... Roaring, shouting, swearing and appealing to the lowest common denominator is not.

He's clearly a smart fella, he's spotted a chance to make a fortune from nothing and seized it perfectly. But witty.... nah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He is a mirror for the soulless pumped up freaks that young men seem to aspire to today

Love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

not much knocking around up stairs, but he is impressive to watch fighting. fairly typical of a fighter really. id say mayweather will pummel him though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Respect his ascension in his sport, and what he has achieved.

But let's face it. There is definitely a scumbag element to the majority of his "die-hard" fans. The sort of lads you'd actively avoid in social settings.

That suit he wore the other day wasn't "hilarious". It actually made Mayweather look classy.

While his whole bravado may be an act, his disciples seem to take everything he does as gospel and they are generally hard to stomach when they ****e on about him (around for a wet week in a sport notorious for it's turnover of stars, and yet some people have the gall to rate him as one of our greatest ever sports stars).

He has made people excited. Plenty of people do that for the World Cup etc. Big sporting events get people's attention, what they choose to do with their own money is their business.

There's not a hope in hell I'm going to pay money to watch this upcoming fight, I'll wait for the highlights, but I can appreciate that people would.

Are you really comparing your standard UFC event to the f*cking World Cup?? :D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

He's an MMA (Mixed Martial Arts) fighter who competes in the UFC in a completely different sport. For the last few years he's called out Floyd Mayweather, one of the best boxers ever who retired undefeated .....

Wonder if he'll whack the spikey side of a battle axe through Floyd's foot?

Thanks for that, anyway. But, no; I'm not trying to be hip in my ignorance. I simply have no TV or media in put. Know f**k all of modern celebrities.

Fair play to the guy though. Love or hate him; Accidents notwithstanding? I'm sure he'll have the last laugh :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭2forjoy

Not sure if he can box yet , but he is playing a stormer in front of the cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I think he's loud and did his best to draw attention to himself because if he didn't, he wouldn't be in the position he is in the UFC and certainly wouldn't be making a bajillion squid for fluting about with Mayweather.

I do believe he works hard and I respect that and I respect his ability to do what he does.

He was funny and witty for a long time and it still appears from time to time but it's becoming increasingly drowned out by noise for the sake of noise.

I'd like to see him beat Mayweather, the woman beater.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34 Richardsons Muff

he behaves like a professional fighter, his promotion is an act and a very profitable one, he entertains and is very good at it...better than anything we have seen before.

his personal life you know nothing about, he is a proud father and seems very dedicated to the woman he has been with through thick and thin.

I have no interest in the man, nor the sport, but I take my hat off to him in what he has achieved.

love the "scumbag" reference, stab in the dark here but are you perhaps from the bog?