Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Male tennis player Andy Murray

• 13-07-2017 11:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭

After losing yesterday Andy Murray was asked for his thoughts about the fella he had just lost to being the first US player in the semi-final since 2009. The journalist was ‘corrected’ by Murray who said ‘male player’. His point being that female US players have made it to the semis and beyond since then.

Personally I think male tennis player Murray was being a complete pedantic prick and scoring easy points painting himself as a white knight out to defend the honour of the poor women. If I was the journalist I’d have told him to shove his racket up his hole, the wide end first.

Well done male tennis player Andy Murray for making an issue where there wasn’t one and striking another blow for unfounded indignation.

If Martin O’Neill was asked about Ireland’s chances at the world cup does he have to clarify if it’s men’s or women’s football or if it’s another sport the question is referring to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

gramar wrote: »
    After losing yesterday Andy Murray was asked for his thoughts about the fella he had just lost to being the first US player in the semi-final since 2009. The journalist was ‘corrected’ by Murray who said ‘male player’. His point being that female US players have made it to the semis and beyond since then.

Personally I think male tennis player Murray was being a complete pedantic prick and scoring easy points painting himself as a white knight out to defend the honour of the poor women. If I was the journalist I’d have told him to shove his racket up his hole, the wide end first.

Well done male tennis player Andy Murray for making an issue where there wasn’t one and striking another blow for unfounded indignation.

If Martin O’Neill was asked about Ireland’s chances at the world cup does he have to clarify if it’s men’s or women’s football or if it’s another sport the question is referring to?

Yeah totally agree. Men and women's tennis are virtually 2 completely different sports which happen to be played at same venue during grand slam events. Murray before wasn't too keen on women having equal pay to men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

The journalist was wrong, Andy Murray was right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭Allinall

I don't care, and would seriously question anyone who does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Now that's not any kind of hysterical overreaction at all at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭AustinLostin

Generation broflake right here. Ask yourself why you are so emotionally wound up about it.

I'll admit I think the amount of articles based around the exchange was excessive, but the comment didn't bother me in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,027 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Ya, I agree with the OP. I'm a Murray fan - But his comment there was literally aiming to be a dickhead to the journalist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Yeah totally agree. Men and women's tennis are virtually 2 completely different sports which happen to be played at same venue during grand slam events. Murray before wasn't too keen on women having equal pay to men.

Well women's prize money should not be the same they play to 2 sets not 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The Championships, Wimbledon

Clue is in the plural, Murray was right. Sorry buckos

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Why limit it to US players? That's just racist.

They should say that he was the first person to make it to the semi finals since the person, male or female, who made it there the day before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Well women's prize money should not be the same they play to 2 sets not 3.

You're right that they shouldn't get the same prize money...... but it has nothing to do with how many sets they play for why they don't deserve it. They could play only one set and yet still deserve the same money as the men get..... potentially.

The reason that they don't deserve the same prize money however is because Ladies tennis doesn't generate the same amount of money for Wimbledon as Men's tennis does. Simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

The Championships, Wimbledon

Clue is in the plural, Murray was right. Sorry buckos

Men's singles...men's double's...championships before you count the women's and mixed.

A couple of years ago the same fella congratulated Djokovic for being the 3rd player in the modern era to reach double digits for grand slams. It was actually 4 as he forgot to count Serena Williams who had 21 by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

This is all over my twitter and FB. "Casual sexism" FFS.

The question was asked to the #1 seeded male player, following a loss against a male opponent in the men's tournament.
    The journalist was hardly taking about the women's competition. Loads of journos jumping on the bandwagon saying well done Andy, I look forward to them using "Male Player of the Season" in the Premier League this year.

It seems like there's a group just waiting for anyone to slip up when it comes to this kind of stuff.

Why limit it to US players? That's just racist.

They should say that he was the first person to make it to the semi finals since the person, male or female, who made it there the day before.

He was the first US male player to reach the semis, probably since Andy Roddick that was the point. The Williams sisters have been dominating their game so the drought isn't as startling.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

razorblunt wrote: »
    He was the first US male player to reach the semis, probably since Andy Roddick that was the point. The Williams sisters have been dominating their game so the drought isn't as startling.

Now youre discriminating against people who don't play tennis.

Why can't you just say he was the first human since the last human and then we can all just get along?

I think the people that think Murray was wrong......... and not looking at the comment in context.

If Venus and Serena hadn't reached many major semi-finals since 2009.......... then he would be saying something that didn't need saying.......... but given that they did, then all Murray was doing was stating the obvious.

In fact, he could have been a dick and just said: "No I'm not" and let the journo get there on his own... but merely just amending his comment to specify he was just the first male player.... was a perfectly apt thing to do.

The whole predictable 'Murray is a feminist' reaction from the Guardian is mega cringe though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Context, context, context

This whole thing is utterly stupid. When the journalist was asking Murray, he was very obviously referring to the mens tournament, because as far as I'm aware Murray has not played in the womens tournament.

Now youre discriminating against people who don't play tennis.

Why can't you just say he was the first human since the last human and then we can all just get along?

Because ...

shut up.

I think the people that think Murray was wrong......... and not looking at the comment in context.

If Venus and Serena hadn't reached many major semi-finals since 2009.......... then he would be saying something that didn't need saying.......... but given that they did, then all Murray was doing was stating the obvious.

In fact, he could have been a dick and just said: "No I'm not" and let the journo get there on his own... but merely just amending his comment to specify he was just the first male player.... was a perfectly apt thing to do.

The whole predictable 'Murray is a feminist' reaction from the Guardian is mega cringe though.

Judy Murray jumped on board too though "that's my boy". Poor old Jamie really is the forgotten kid, its amazing he's not peddling ket round the bike sheds in Dunblane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Everybody's outraged but me.

You can't watch that and see anything other than a sore loser who is being willfully belligerant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

You can't watch that and see anything other than a sore loser who is being willfully belligerant.

He corrected a reporter after he'd won an Olympic gold medal, so it's nothing to do with being a sore loser.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

He corrected a reporter after he'd won an Olympic gold medal, so it's nothing to do with being a sore loser.

Well he looks like it. He sounded like a sulking teenager giving a smartarse answer to his parents. He wouldn't talk to his mother like that though. She'd knock the shít out of him.

jester77 wrote: »
    Context, context, context

This whole thing is utterly stupid. When the journalist was asking Murray, he was very obviously referring to the mens tournament, because as far as I'm aware Murray has not played in the womens tournament.

Nah, you're not thinking about it in the right way (and that goes for anyone else thinking Murray was being pedantic / a white knight).

Imagine Katie Taylor being interviewed after her Olympic Gold and the journo says:
    "Congratulations on being the first Irish boxer to ever win a Gold medal"
    Do you not think it would be okay for her to say: "First female" given that Michael Carruth got one?

I think it would. Also think she would say it too.... as it shows respect.

Tbh, I think it would have been a little weird for him not to say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

agreed i think this is nonsense

the question is specifically about the Men's Competition and specifically about a male tennis player. There was absolutely no need to be so pedantic

as someone else mentioned this kind of nonsense wouldn't be expected in other sports. Questions are always in a particualr context

If Marty Morrsisey asked someone in Hurling about how they felt losing to the first X County team to get to a semi final for a while would it be logical for that person to reply "first hurling team" in a lofty otne because same county got to a semi in football or camogie

Nah, you're not thinking about it in the right way........

Imagine Katie Taylor being interviewed after her Olympic Gold and the journo says:

"Congratulations on being the first Irish boxer to ever win a Gold medal at boxing"

Do you not think it would be okay for her to say: "First female" given that Michael Carruth got one?

I think it would. Also think she would say it too.

its different though

its a specific question about a specific person - who is a male player - in a specific competition - the Men's Championship

Even when he's winning he looks sulky, he 's the most uncharismatic male of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

When the apocalypse comes and everyone is forced off the grid, we'll see how equal the two sexes really are.

Nah, you're not thinking about it in the right way (and that goes for anyone else thinking Murray was being pedantic / a white knight).

I think it would. Also think she would say it too.... as it shows respect.

Tbh, I think it would have been a little weird for him not to say it.

The only person it would have occurred to is Andy Murray.
    Do you think if he hadn't said it would anyone have noticed?
    Would Serena and Judy have been tweeting about how Andy forgot to
    set the journalist straight. My hole they would have.

Riskymove wrote: »
    its different though

its a specific question about a specific person - who is a male player - in a specific competition - the Men's Championship

What are you on about?

If Katie was being interviewed at the Olympics after her Gold, that too would have been........... a specific question about a specific person - who is a female player - in a specific competition.

I honestly can't believe this is an issue...... both sides of this are wrong: people that think he was being pedantic and people that think it was a feminist thing to do.

It was just the appropriate and logical thing to do... nothing more, nothing less.

What are you on about?

If Katie was being interviewed at the Olympics after her Gold, that too would have been........... a specific question about a specific person - who is a female player - in a specific competition.

I mean the other player is the specific person

Andy Murray is a man

he is playing in the men's Championship

he was aksed how he felt about losing to another man who "is the first US player" to get to semi in a while

they are clearing discussing the men's championship and male tennis players
    The "clarification" by Murray is clearly pedantic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Actually it's Sir Andrew Murray.

So disrespectful...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭deadybai

Serious first world problems from Murray.

One thing everyone can agree on is that he is a knob

What are you on about?

I honestly can't believe this is an issue...... both sides of this are wrong: people that think he was being pedantic and people that think it was a feminist thing to do.

It was just the appropriate and logical thing to do... nothing more, nothing less.

In your Katie scenario she may well be justified in specifying female.

In Murray's interview the question is 'Sam is the first player...'

If that isn't a clear and unambigious reference to Sam Querrey the 6ft 6inch male tennis player who had beaten him minutes before then I don't know what is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

deadybai wrote: »
    Serious first world problems from Murray.

One thing everyone can agree on is that he is a knob
    And looks like Butthead?

Reporter says something incorrect, Murray corrects him. Big deal.

Broflake is now my new favourite word. Shame it's too cringy to actually use, but I'm definitely going to think it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 coulagh2017

Andy Murray must the most boring sportsman in elite level sport. He has the same personality as a piece of bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭valoren

Dear Sports participants,

When a journalist/reporter is interviewing you after your participation in your sport, any and all references made to other participants in your competition are to be understood to be from the same gender as you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Ann_Landers

Andy Murray does not strike me as the kind of guy who would have any interest in white knighting. He's just a bit contrary, is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Anyone that is losing their shit over this is being beyond moronic. Have you really got so little going on your lives that this is the type of thing that upsets you? Go for a walk and get some fresh air, lads.

In your Katie scenario she may well be justified in specifying female.

In Murray's interview the question is 'Sam is the first player...'

If that isn't a clear and unambigious reference to Sam Querrey the 6ft 6inch male tennis player who had beaten him minutes before then I don't know what is.

Of it's course it's clear he was referencing Sam Querrey (6ft 6inch male tennis player) but Sam is NOT the first US player to reach a major semi final since 2009! :p

By the way I think Murray could have said it and smiled. I think his obnoxious smarmy demeanor was more inappropriate than what he actually said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Riskymove wrote: »
    its different though

But the reporter didn't specify 'men's championship', did they?

I say good on Andy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Andy murray was very obviously just being a douche. I can't believe there's been more than one hand available to make an applause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Murray got knocked out, decides to do some virtue signalling to recoup some kudos. Ends up looking like a spa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭valoren

Andy Murray must the most boring sportsman in elite level sport. He has the same personality as a piece of bread.

And remember, he has won BBC Sports 'Personality' of the Year three times. Yes, three times. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Imagine if women had to play more sets to win, and the men play less to win and get the same pay...

There is discrimination where men only get paid the same as women, when the men are doing more work to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

kylith wrote: »
    But the reporter didn't specify 'men's championship', did they?

I say good on Andy.

Why would a reporter need to explicitly specify 'men's championship' when asking Andy Murray (a man I believe) a question specifically about the opponent (another man I believe) that just defeated him (in the men's championship I believe)?

It's fairly obvious what championship is being discussed.

This is Andy Murray being a sad arse trying to score some cheap points at someone's expense because his own ego is bruised by what happened on the court.

This type of nonsense serves no cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Surely it's blindingly obvious which championship the reporter is referring to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

lawred2 wrote: »
    This is Andy Murray being a sad arse trying to score some cheap points at someone's expense because his own ego is bruised by what happened on the court.

That's how I would have looked at the exchange and paid no heed to it but a section of the internet decides that he's virtue signalling and they start to lose their minds over it. It's pretty pathetic…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

A few days ago Murray agreed with the contention that the women's competition was discriminated against in access to the show courts. His suggestion was that things could be levelled out by starting play a bit earlier, making more time available to accommodate women's matches (without reducing the access of the men to the courts).

It might be that he actually respects the women's game. Bear in mind that his first coach was his mother, and his current coach is also a woman - Amelie Mauresmo, who was a seriously good player who had the misfortune of being a contemporary of Venus and Serena Williams.