Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

naughto wrote: »
    Big screen in the mall has being pulled
    Due to the security team not agreeing to it.
    Typical mayo sh1te going on

Well that is very disappointing.

Mayo GAA TV showing a live streaming of the quarter final double header in the junior championship this evening.

Killala v Kilmaine 6.30

Balla v Achill 8.00

Subscription 4 euro

http://mayogaa.com/tv/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

naughto wrote:
    Big screen in the mall has being pulled Due to the security team not agreeing to it. Typical mayo sh1te going on

What security team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

seligehgit wrote: »
    Well that is very disappointing.

They wanted them to do the mayo match and the home coming but they wouldn't do both us what iam hearing.
    Will ring take it to Westport I wounder

They wanted them to do the mayo match and the home coming but they wouldn't do both us what iam hearing.
    Will ring take it to Westport I wounder

If our lads can not organise a p*** up in a brewery I've no doubt Ringer can,but where would they put it?Westport House,hardly the Mall in Westport.Although they did have some gigs there in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭irishgeo

What security team?

hire 2 security teams maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Well then get outside security involved. problem solved

You would have though this would be all sorted before there was statement saying it was going to be in the mall in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

You would have though this would be all sorted before there was statement saying it was going to be in the mall in the first place

That would have required some forethought, much along the same lines as the blue seats in our county stadium (yes I know.
    .. I've mentioned it yet again :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

Disappointing to hear it's been pulled would have been great for the kids especially and would have created a nice match day type atmosphere

Oldtree wrote: »
    That would have required some forethought, much along the same lines as the blue seats in our county stadium (yes I know.
    .. I've mentioned it yet again :p)

I'd love to no who give the go ahead for that or where they colour blind.

its probably the colour of seat that fades the least.

So would I. Clearly the cheaper option or as one poster suggested, left over seats from croke! Such a sad oversight.

Good luck to Cian Hanley who is lining out for The Brisbane Lions shortly in The Grand Final from all at Ballaghaderreen GAA.

https://t.co/OvwZT5WyjB

The Hanley brothers have been a huge loss to Mayo GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

I'm sure the publicans in Castlebar are happy that the screen has been pulled!

Couldn't the screen be put up in mchale, lots of covered seating there completely vacant next Sunday, or on the training pitch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Couldn't the screen be put up in mchale, lots of covered seating there completely vacant next Sunday, or on the training pitch?

Venue's aren't the problem, organising the bloody thing is the thing they struggle with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

I don't even know why security is needed at an event like that, fair enough someone to manage traffic maybe or one or two just to supervise things. I would have thought it would have attracted a lot of families so the potential for problems would be very low..

franklyon wrote: »
    I don't even know why security is needed at an event like that, fair enough someone to manage traffic maybe or one or two just to supervise things. I would have thought it would have attracted a lot of families so the potential for problems would be very low..

I'd imagine it is the litigious nature of modern day society and public liability insurance issues that are greatest concern.

3 weeks notice they had. It's a week out someone had the idea. Probably seen it on the TV last weekend.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Seems like a god idea to me .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭bazzare

anyone heard any news about how the Mayo team are preparing

I wonder how training has been going.. Lets just hope that nobody gets injured between now and sunday next week

Have you given any thought to how the whole county would react if they manage to win win...plenty of free drink id say !!

I predict that if Mayo win it there will be the greatest ever pitch invasion that Croke park has never seen before.

all the security guards in the world wont be able to stop it..

I know pitch invasions after finals have been banned... but I dont think the GAA would mind this year should Mayo lift the cup

just think about it...It would be one of the greatest moments ever in irish sports history....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Needles73

bazzare wrote: »
    anyone heard any news about how the Mayo team are preparing

I wonder how training has been going.. Lets just hope that nobody gets injured between now and sunday

Have you given any thought to how the county would react if they manage to win win...

If Mayo win there will be the greatest ever pitch invasion the likes of which croke park has never seen before.

all the security guards in the world wont be able to stop it..

I know pitch invasions after finals have been banned... but I dont think t even the GAA would mind this year should Mayo lift the cup

just think about it...It would be one of the greatest moments ever in irish sports history..

Plan C is in place.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

seligehgit wrote: »
    I think this video is epic!!Puts the hairs standing on my neck.

You planning on calling on Al to give ye a dig out, at around the 60 minute mark, when Aido is gasping for breath, Leeroy has been sent off, David Clarke's kickouts are away with the fairies...and Jim Gavin is about to unleash hell his bench? Sure, he must be 70, if he's a day. Best of luck so. Let us know how you get on. ;)

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Best of luck so. ;)

Best of luck to you too but.....

We're coming for you :p

Love this photo and the story too

2302_eugene-lavin_1000.jpg
    Mayo goalkeeper Eugene Lavin clears the ball from Dublin’s Barney Rock during the drawn All-Ireland semi-final of 1985. Pic: Sportsfile

http://www.mayonews.ie/news/14-sports/27316-when-eugene-lavin-played-centre-half-back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

irishgeo wrote: »
    3 weeks notice they had. It's a week out someone had the idea. Probably seen it on the TV last weekend.

A bit of prep work could have been done in advance too.

Funny to see a few bodies that claimed credit for the idea originally seem to have deleted the original posts where they were patting themselves on the back.

PARlance wrote: »
    A bit of prep work could have been done in advance too.

Funny to see a few bodies that claimed credit for the idea originally seem to have deleted the original posts where they were patting themselves on the back.

its the same for the jobs in the old volex factory that never appeared. lots of back slapping and hen when it went to **** , everyone disappeared and claimed nothing to do with it. but thats for a nother thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭SeanJ09

Can anyone recommend a bar on the Saturday night before the final in Dublin where there'll be some pre match craic agus ceol

SeanJ09 wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend a bar on the Saturday night before the final in Dublin where there'll be some pre match craic agus ceol

Mayo Association in Dublin are running a function at 8 in the Harcourt Hotel.Looks decent,might head in myself.

The Portobello is a great GAA pub or Rody Bolands,the Kerry pub O Shea's on Merchant Quay.