Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Intermittent Fasting

Options
2»

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,720 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

paul7g wrote: »
    Yep, but calories are not what determines your body to start processing a substance.

Coffee, tea and supplements are know to be 3 of the most popular faults people make on IF... however if you find your current plan is working for you, then stick to it.

I am not a nutritional scientist, but when I study something I tend to study it in detail both from a Pros and Cons point of view, so i’m just informing you of my findings, and hoping it helps.

I used to drink plain black coffee in mid morning for an energy kick but when I cut it out I did feel the benefits.

My MAIN point on coffee, etc while in IF is that it is not nutritious. Your body has been fasting so I think it is vital that you provide it with something nutritious when breaking / ending the fast such as whole foods (greens, nuts, etc).

You have stated coffee/tea break a fast and that there will be an insulin spike.

16 hrs is not a long fast and as long as your overall diet is good it won't matter a sh1te if you have a fry, salad, milkshake as long as you hit your daily nutritional needs when you eat.

If your criteria for a food to break a fast is highest nutrition possible then organ meat, eggs and bone marrow etc would be top of that particular tree.

If you have finding about 2.5 or 4 cals having any meaningful effect on metabolism or an insulin spike please link the studies.

Sounds like you are majoring in the minors to me

• Registered Users Posts: 17,840 ✭✭✭✭silverharp