Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does it take to receive a custodial sentence in this country?

• 02-07-2017 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

Judge agrees to give one last chance to convicted sex offender who failed to meet with Probation Officers - Independent.ie

Munir Ghariani (26) received a suspended jail term last May after he admitted attacking a woman on a street “for the thrill”. At the time, Judge Melanie Greally warned Ghariani that she would have “no hesitation” in reactivating the three-year sentence if he broke any of the conditions for his release.

Today the Probation Service brought the case back before Judge Greally because of his failure to meet with Probation Officers.

His probation officer Michelle Richardson said she had not seen him in person since his sentencing. She said that a man posing such a risk to public safety as Ghariani needs to present himself regularly to the Probation Service.

Dublin Circuit Criminal Court heard Ghariani is also charged with breaches of the Sex Offenders Act because of alleged failures to notify authorities of his address.

Michael Bowman SC, defending, said that his client had a background of difficulties but had been taking his anti-psychotic medication.

Judge Greally agreed to put the matter back for two weeks. She said if Ghariani did not turn up for two weekly meetings in that time he would be jailed.

Ghariani, formerly of Granitefield, Dun Laoghaire, Dublin had pleaded guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to robbery of the woman, a Chinese national, on Granville Road, Cabinteely on March 21, 2016.

The victim was on her way home from a lecture in UCD when she noticed Ghariani following close behind her. He repeatedly asked to use her phone as he walked behind her.

The woman refused and he asked why. Ghariani then pushed her to the ground and tried to grab the phone. During the struggle he bit her finger in an attempt to get her to release the phone.
    The woman screamed for help as Ghariani attempted to flee but a passer-by tackled and held him until gardaí arrived.

Ghariani has 34 previous convictions including one for sexual assault after he groped a woman from behind as she was taking money out of an ATM. He was registered as a sex offender for that offence.
    His other convictions include indecency, burglary and theft. The court heard he was on bail for a similar offence at the time of this robbery.

The court previously heard that Ghariani became an involuntary patient at St John of God’s hospital in south Dublin on April 3 of this year.

Ms Richardson previously told the court she and her colleagues considered him “high-risk” and said it was essential he continue to take his anti-psychotic medications.

Ms Richardson said Ghariani had been “non-compliant” with his medication in the past.
    “We feel we have to adopt a high-risk approach,” said Ms Richardson, adding that the probation service would continue to meet with him for two years.

She said Ghariani had recently become homeless, and so she had liaised with local authorities who had agreed to provide him with accommodation.

Judge Greally imposed a four-year sentence and, taking into account the time Ghariani has spent in custody on this matter, backdated the sentence to May 19, 2016. She suspended the balance of the sentence.
    She referred to the “disturbing nature” of the robbery, and said she was “mindful of the high risk he presents to the community”.

A suspended jail term with parole for confessing to assault for the thrill? **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Easy answer?
    Do any of the things listed above to somebody rich/important enough.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Refer to garlic as 'apples'.

That'll do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

As said, assault/rape/burgle a wealthy person or politician and bingo, bang to rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭boobycharlton

Depends on the judge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Why the hell isn't he deported?

...and the judge aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Is this a quiz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

As said, assault/rape/burgle a wealthy person or politician and bingo, bang to rights.

Who would do any of those things to him?

MV5BMTg1ODE0MzM5OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzA5NjQyMQ@@._V1_UY1200_CR95,0,630,1200_AL_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

he seams to be getting accommodation , I assume free , as a reward for sometimes taking his anti- psychotic medication :confused::confused:
    - if he doesn't engage with Probabation services while on a suspended sentence for such a serious offence , lock him ****ing up. Disgracful decisions from this judge , who should know better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

endacl wrote: »

That'll do it!

You mean "defraud the state to the tune of millions of Euro, that'll do it"?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Not paying your TV licence is a fairly straightforward method of achieving time behind bars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

fullstop wrote: »
    You mean "defraud the state to the tune of millions of Euro, that'll do it"?

Shure the "the state" defrauded its citizens by bailing out all the banks so no harm done by defrauding them back.

marno21 wrote: »
    Not paying your TV licence is a fairly straightforward method of achieving time behind bars.

not paying a TV license is a completly different offence to attacking random innocent women for thrills - some people are a danger to society and from this evidence Mr. Ghariani is such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

No it isn't. Not paying your tv licence, getting caught, being taken to court, receiving a fine then being in contempt of court for refusing to pay a fine , may down the road land you in trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Doesn't surprise me in the slightest. Courts are a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

thebaz wrote: »
    he seams to be getting accommodation , I assume free , as a reward for sometimes taking his anti- psychotic medication :confused::confused:
    - if he doesn't engage with Probabation services while on a suspended sentence for such a serious offence , lock him ****ing up. Disgracful decisions from this judge , who should know better.

That "homeless" stuff is BS. He is still in the area of where his parents live,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Shure the "the state" defrauded its citizens by bailing out all the banks so no harm done by defrauding them back.

Yeah, cause that's how it works...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

But but the Late Late Show might get cancelled omg too horrendous to think about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭wordofwarning

endacl wrote: »

That'll do it!

For several to for the sole purpose of defrauding the state hundreds of thousands in tax revenue.

Every moans about the state not giving out harsh sentences for white collar crime. They hand out a harsh sentence and everyone moans it was too harsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

He'd be a massive pain in the arse to the prison service, I suspect that he has deep physiological problems and that would pose an issue in jailing him - quite right of the Judge to try all other avenues before jailing him which will happen in two weeks if the conditions imposed are not met.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

He'd be a massive pain in the arse to the prison service, I suspect that he has deep physiological problems and that would pose an issue in jailing him - quite right of the Judge to try all other avenues before jailing him which will happen in two weeks if the conditions imposed are not met.
    Eh, they could fire him into a psychiatric hospital.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

anti psychotic medication ! :eek: - Christ before long he will re offend and do worse damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Judge Melanie Greally's name constantly pops up in the light touch sentencing. She'd be the judge I'd want to be in front of if charged with a crime

He is still in the area of where his parents live,

and that is why he should be locked up - he is a danger to innocent women , given his complete lack of interaction with the probation services , which should have been a minimum of his requirements, given he was given a final chance for such a serious offences (not to mention 30 or 40 previous convictions).

Wibbs wrote: »

They possibly will, but when you say 'a' you mean 'the'. That's only going to happen if he's the worst of the worst in relation mental illness that much of the prison population suffers from with very little support. This is not the first time someone has been let out/not put in because the prison system can't cope properly.

I'm all for more people in prison, the issue is we don't have the resources - either through default or design.

The easy option for Judges would simply be to impose custodial sentences, we'd reach crisis point (again) in a month.

If the prisons are at crisis points , then prisoners of low risk to society , such as the TV licence defaulters , or petty drug offenders should be the ones freed - this guy, from the evidence reported, seams a risk to society and given his failure to co-opt with services given leniency shown to him, should be locked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

A whole world of fantastic people have landed on our shores and made fine contributions.

But then you have the like of this Ghariani character.

Sometimes I miss old Ireland where " the foreigners" amounted to Spanish and French students in July, the Chinese takeaway people, and some quarehawk German painter lad.

Now the streets are awash with people we know damn all about. The imbalance is only going to grow over the next few decades. The African population is doubling between 2015 and 2050 the UN tells us. Not enough room in Africa for all of them.

Judges like the one who made that decision certainly won't save us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

topper75 wrote: »
    A whole world of fantastic people have landed on our shores and made fine contributions.

Sometimes I miss old Ireland where " the foreigners" amounted to Spanish and French students in July, the Chinese takeaway people, and some quarehawk German painter lad.

Now the streets are awash with people we know damn all about. The imbalance is only going to grow over the next few decades. The African population is doubling between 2015 and 2050 the UN tells us. Not enough room in Africa for all of them.

I don't know about you but I never knew anything about the person I was passing on the street.

That's the thing, if he has mental issues the prison isn't going to do him any good. He'd serve his time and probably come out with more problems than when he went in.

So let him be free to be a pain in the arse to gardai, the council and (not meaning to sound flippant) the local woman ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Link please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

So let him be free to be a pain in the arse to gardai, the council and (not meaning to sound flippant) the local woman ?

What about all the male victims of his crimes?

Grayson wrote: »
    I don't know about you but I never knew anything about the person I was passing on the street.

I have never been so saddled with the politically correct thing as to not have at least a fair idea by the cut of someone in passing.

What about all the male victims of his crimes?

Them too.

No, a prudent course should be taken. For example giving him two weeks in light of the presented circumstances. The problem with these discussions is nuance is never taken into account. It's black and white - ah shure he's got away with it etc. etc. No he hasn't, he's been given a final chance, in light of homelessness and mental illness.

As for fine defaulters and prison, they were being turned away and I expect they still are in the main. One of the biggest issue with Irish prisons was low sentence low risk offenders taking places for a few months/weeks at a time. AFAIK the number of minor things like TV license defaults getting anything more than a cup of tea in reception was minuscule.

There is absolutely an issue with high risk offenders like this lad being out and about and not being dealt with properly. The thing that gets me is that people seem to think it's a problem exclusively with the courts, it simply isn't. A holistic approach needs to be taken.

topper75 wrote: »

You're Irish a take it? We've plenty of room, probably due to the massive amount of Irish economic migrants all over the world.

I would say we have room for immigrants willing to work and behave, OK. But not beyond that.

There is a lot of human flotsam being waved through passport 'control'. Taken a ferry into this country lately?
    Bike hire in the Aran islands would involve more paper work and checks.

Immigration isn't a huge problem. Unchecked immigration is our downfall waiting to happen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

vicwatson wrote: »
    Judge Melanie Greally's name constantly pops up in the light touch sentencing. She'd be the judge I'd want to be in front of if charged with a crime

It seems that a sector of the Judiciary,of which Judge Greally may be one ? ,deem it appropriate to prioritize the wellbeing of the accused ahead of any responsibilities they may feel towards the Law Abiding Citizenry at large.

The number,and nature,of cases such as Mr Ghariani's,is doubtlessly encouraging further lawbreaking and puts the rest of Law-Abiding Society at a substantially greater risk of the convicts reoffending.

Some of these Judges appear quite sanguine about putting ordinary people at such increased risk,and that is an issue which deserves some explanation from them.

Such explanation is highly unlikely to ever materialize under our current system of appointing Judges,which I feel MUST change,if our societal fabric is to have any chance of surviving.

It is high time that some form of General Oversight be made available to the Ordinary Law-Abiding Public in the selection and approval of Judges,and yes,if that makes a few Judges pause for a moment before releasing the likes of this fella back out on the streets,then it's a RESULT,as far as I'm concerned.

In the absence of this,I would suggest some form of Media Channel,where Judges in cases like this,were required to explain their reasoning to the lower orders,even if the sentence remains unchanged.

As it stands,our Judiciary remain unaccountable to any of those they supposedly preside over.

Violent abberational criminality is fast becoming acceptable or at least excusable in the eyes of some of our Judges....which is a dangerous route to be pushing the country down.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    It seems that a sector of the Judiciary,of which Judge Greally may be one ? ,deem it appropriate to prioritize the wellbeing of the accused ahead of any responsibilities they may feel towards the Law Abiding Citizenry at large.

The number,and nature,of cases such as Mr Ghariani's,is doubtlessly encouraging further lawbreaking and puts the rest of Law-Abiding Society at a substantially greater risk of the convicts reoffending.

Some of these Judges appear quite sanguine about putting ordinary people at such increased risk,and that is an issue which deserves some explanation from them.

Such explanation is highly unlikely to ever materialize under our current system of appointing Judges,which I feel MUST change,if our societal fabric is to have any chance of surviving.

It is high time that some form of General Oversight be made available to the Ordinary Law-Abiding Public in the selection and approval of Judges,and yes,if that makes a few Judges pause for a moment before releasing the likes of this fella back out on the streets,then it's a RESULT,as far as I'm concerned.

In the absence of this,I would suggest some form of Media Channel,where Judges in cases like this,were required to explain their reasoning to the lower orders,even if the sentence remains unchanged.

As it stands,our Judiciary remain unaccountable to any of those they supposedly preside over.

Violent abberational criminality is fast becoming acceptable or at least excusable in the eyes of some of our Judges....which is a dangerous route to be pushing the country down.

This is knee-jerk reaction at it absolute finest. Fabric of society surviving? Crime is down generally and has been for years. What you seem to be suggesting is democratically electing Judges - I say the same thing I've said before, watch the BBC documentary 'American Justice'.

As for Judges explaining, you had the right to go and sit in for the entirety of the trial, listen to the arguments and come to a decision on what the best course of action was. Written Judgements in these sorts of cases wouldn't be read and if they were they'd not capture everything that was said anyway - so what is it you're looking for? All trials to be available on Youtube - I'm not entirely opposed to that to be fair - but how many people would actually watch the whole thing and make a nuanced argument?

You're rather missing the point that locking people up and throwing away the key isn't considering the wider societal impact either. Again the US is a great example.

What's needed for effective custodial sentences is massive investment in the prison system, not a sea-change in the courts.

No, a prudent course should be taken. For example giving him two weeks in light of the presented circumstances. The problem with these discussions is nuance is never taken into account. It's black and white - ah shure he's got away with it etc. etc. No he hasn't, he's been given a final chance, in light of homelessness and mental illness.

I know many people with mental illness and none have committed as much crime as Mr. Ghariani - he was given a suspended sentence for attacking an innocent female , this was supposedly his last chance , he failed to engage with probation services , and was given yet another chance - I wonder would you or the judge be happy with Mr. Ghariani living next door to a close female relative of yours today ? - I know I would'nt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

He's two weeks to attend his probation or else jailed. That's hardy letting him off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

They already did, for a while.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭mick.oleary

Why the obsession with locking people up? It does not benefit the victim or society at all.

Surely rehabilitation (if possible) is a better option along with making people to do either voluntary work that benefits society or garnishing their wages to compensate the victim?

IMO there probably are not that many crimes that warrant locking people up. Those who need to be locked up for life should probably just be "neutralised".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Why the obsession with locking people up? It does not benefit the victim or society at all.

He is a sexual predator and convicted sexual offender.
    Locking up people like him does benefit society.

(Many) Irish Judges are not really concerned about society's view of their adjudications because Judges are not accountable to the citizenry. It will only change when accountability becomes real.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭mick.oleary

Kivaro wrote: »
    He is a sexual predator and convicted sexual offender.
    Locking up people like him does benefit society.

(Many) Irish Judges are not really concerned about society's view of their adjudications because Judges are not accountable to the citizenry. It will only change when accountability becomes real.

If he is a sexual predator and cannot be reformed then what is the point of locking him up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 IamAGobdaw

If he is a sexual predator and cannot be reformed then what is the point of locking him up?

So he won't attack anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

ITs high time that judges are held accountable to the sentences they give.

Plumbers and Electricians are held accountable if somebody is electrocuted or a gas mains leaks. Why not judges?
    Health and safety are down the second something goes wrong on a worksite.

If they let a manslaughterer out with 4 years and that manslaughterer repeats his actions then the judge should face a court for negligence on health and safety grounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

AlekSmart wrote: »

This is knee-jerk reaction at it absolute finest. Fabric of society surviving? Crime is down generally and has been for years.

No, it's not. Do some research on the surge in influence by clans in Germany, mainly of MENA descent. They have absolutely no fears or inhibitions, part of which can be expained by precisely this kind of light touch sentancing.

Ronaldinho wrote: »
    No, it's not. Do some research on the surge in influence by clans in Germany, mainly of MENA descent. They have absolutely no fears or inhibitions, part of which can be expained by precisely this kind of light touch sentancing.

You should google the stats and you'll see that crime isn't actually increasing that much. There has been a spike in crimes by, as you say, people of MENA descent. However there's a few things to bear in mind. Although the number of crimes have gone up, the proportion of crimes have gone down. There's more refugees so of course there's more crime by refugees. However despite the increase in population there hasn't been a proportional increase in crimes.
    Secondly, crimes committed by a person of darker skin are actually twice as likely to be reported as crimes committed by a white person.

And what you're forgetting about the case the OP mentioned is that the guy is mentally ill. He's been diagnosed as such. So his actions don't have anything to do with his ethnicity but are rather due to a mental illness. Trying to say that there's a problem with people of a particular race or ethnicity because of the actions of one mentally ill person is stupid.

Editing to add:

From the link above.
    The frequency rate of crimes in actually sank by about 0.5 percent, down from 7,797 crimes per 100,000 residents in 2015, to 7,755 crimes per 100,000 people in 2016. And when excluding crimes that related to immigration policy violations - such as illegal stay or entry - the overall number of crimes dropped by 0.7 percent.

Looking back over the years, the frequency rate has generally hovered between 7,500 and 8,000 crimes per 100,000, reaching a high of 8,337 per 100,000 residents in 1993.

It's also worth mentioning that there's been a huge increase in crime against people of middle eastern descent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

Grayson wrote: »

You should google the stats and you'll see that crime isn't actually increasing that much. There has been a spike in crimes by, as you say, people of MENA descent. However there's a few things to bear in mind. Although the number of crimes have gone up, the proportion of crimes have gone down. There's more refugees so of course there's more crime by refugees. However despite the increase in population there hasn't been a proportional increase in crimes.
    Secondly, crimes committed by a person of darker skin are actually twice as likely to be reported as crimes committed by a white person.

And what you're forgetting about the case the OP mentioned is that the guy is mentally ill. He's been diagnosed as such. So his actions don't have anything to do with his ethnicity but are rather due to a mental illness. Trying to say that there's a problem with people of a particular race or ethnicity because of the actions of one mentally ill person is stupid.

Editing to add:

From the link above.
    The frequency rate of crimes in actually sank by about 0.5 percent, down from 7,797 crimes per 100,000 residents in 2015, to 7,755 crimes per 100,000 people in 2016. And when excluding crimes that related to immigration policy violations - such as illegal stay or entry - the overall number of crimes dropped by 0.7 percent.

Looking back over the years, the frequency rate has generally hovered between 7,500 and 8,000 crimes per 100,000, reaching a high of 8,337 per 100,000 residents in 1993.

It's also worth mentioning that there's been a huge increase in crime against people of middle eastern descent.

Why are you bringing refugees into the conversation?

My point is that if sentencing is as leniant as this then it's going to undermine criminals' fear or respect for the rule of law and those that try to uphold it.

The original post reminded me of a case I saw in Hannover where over 20 police officers were seriously injured but only suspended sentences were handed out. What kind of message does this send?

Why are you bringing refugees into the conversation?

My point is that if sentencing is as leniant as this then it's going to undermine criminals' fear or respect for the rule of law and those that try to uphold it.

The original post reminded me of a case I saw in Hannover where over 20 police officers were seriously injured but only suspended sentences were handed out. What kind of message does this send?

You're the person who brought up Germany and people of middle eastern/North African descent. I was pointing out that crime is basically the same although there has been an increase in crimes against MENA people.