Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jobstown 6 Not Guilty

• Registered Users Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

Good. An absurd case, that never should have gotten this far, in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,864 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Breaking News. Paul Murphy has exploded outside the court house in what appears to be the first reported case of human combustion due to excessive pride, hubris and pomposity.

You certainly won't get Joan Burton or our corrupt police force exploding in shame, that's for sure.

Hopefully Joany can get back to opening food banks sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,860 ✭✭✭appledrop

The right result. The charges were ridiculous. False imprisonment is a serious charge + the way it was applied here is a joke. Total waste of tax payers money. Also think of all the man hours the Gardai have wasted on this case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

I havent been taking much of an interest in it, but in which way did the gards lie ?

The way they normally do.
    They have form you do know that?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Donal55 wrote: »
    The way they normally do.
    They have form you do know that?

Ye thanks, thats a great explanation

• Registered Users Posts: 10,642 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Burton must be sick - stupid wagon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

If surrounding a car for three hours is not false imprisonment what was it? I'm thinking in legal terms not political

• Registered Users Posts: 24,319 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Was there ever going to be a different result? Was an absurd abuse of taxpayer's money.

The only people to benefit from this were legal counsels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Sean Fitz was acquitted too.

Our justice system is top notch:)

I havent been taking much of an interest in it, but in which way did the gards lie ?

The judge basically directed the jury to ignore AGS evidence.

Rich or poor, you'll get off thanks to biased "stick it to the man" juries!

Burton must be sick - stupid wagon

She'll be crying in to her obscene pension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Good result. I was convinced they were going down to send out a message to dissenters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

lawred2 wrote: »
    Was there ever going to be a different result? Was an absurd abuse of taxpayer's money.

The only people to benefit from this were legal counsels.

40 days of it... Ching Ching

• Registered Users Posts: 14,368 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Hmmm. I wonder if Clare Daly's car was surrounded by angry people for three hours would there be the same reaction. Anyway, I'm not a legal eagle but maybe there is the makings of a civil case?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,336 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Peaceful protest my ass, it was an attempt to intimidate a democratically elected TD.

When it happens again, the guards should just send in the public order unit.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭touts

I dislike Paul Murphy and pretty much everything he claims to stand for with his approach of conning people into believing they dont have to pay for anything but should expect everything their hearts desire to be provided by someone else. The behaviour at the protest was wrong in any number of ways and I suspect a jury would have been far more open to a more reasonable set of charges (breach of the peace, criminal damage etc). However False Imprisonment was an utterly stupid thing to charge him with. Any jury listening to claims of False Imprisonment were always going to laugh that one out of court. Now all Joan Burton and co have done is make Murphy a hero to the welfare class and destroyed what little respect his supporters had for the justice system.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Magic.. watch all the right wingers gnash their teeth at this news

Right wingers....as in people who believe in the rule of law?

This case shows that the system works. So for all the criticism of the jury selection, the DPP, the Judge etc etc, the system provided a verdict in accordance with law, and that is justice. It might not have been what some people wanted, indeed, it might not have been what anyone wanted, especially not those who were setting themselves up to be martyrs, but it is an endorsement of the jury system.

Hmmm. I wonder if Clare Daly's car was surrounded by angry people for three hours would there be the same reaction. Anyway, I'm not a legal eagle but maybe there is the makings of a civil case?

Who would be taking the case? Joan Burton didn't initiate this case. What a waste of public money. (I assume all their costs will be covered, not just Paul Murphy's)

Joan Burton could take the case if such a case could be made.

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

CeilingFly wrote:
    He should have been jailed for ten years - imagine having to listen to his self righteous bull for ever more now. And his silver spoon upbringing where he wanted for nothing.

He has that cut of a Sir William Evans-Gordon socialism alright. Just missing the casual racist remarks unfortunately. Then again if he got put in the slammer, would we have another Thomas Clarke protege afterwards? Guess we'll never know..

The bill paying squeezed middle classes tend not to behave in such a fashion so it's unlikely to be put to the test.

hytrogen wrote: »
    He has that cut of a Sir William Evans-Gordon socialism alright. Just missing the casual racist remarks unfortunately. Then again if he got put in the slammer, would we have another Thomas Clarke protege afterwards? Guess we'll never know..

Perhaps it would be 1916 all over again with Paul Murphy assuming the role of James Connolly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Sleeve of wizard

They did.

People in Jobstown arrested for peaceful protest.

Members of the RC church who moved priests around so could they could rape a fresh batch of kids, never even taken in for questioning over a possible crime committed.

This is the judicial system given to us by FF, FG, and Labour.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Peaceful protest my ass, it was an attempt to intimidate a democratically elected TD.

They did that. It made the situation worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

And now the dip**** who pushed ahead of this farce of a case for her pal Joanie is away off to be a judge

Welcome to Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Bambi wrote: »
    And now the dip**** who pushed ahead of this farce of a case for her pal Joanie is away off to be a judge

Welcome to Ireland

Yes that one point explains clearly what Ireland is only about.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Yes it is actually. If juries only returned verdicts in accordance with political narrative then we wouldn't have a justice system, we would have show trials.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

The whole thing was a farce from start to finish - an absolute abuse of power and position by a government with suspiciously fascist leanings to say the very least!