Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloggers and #ad #spon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mel123

Has anyone tried the iglow lash serum? I'm very tempted but it's 60 quid. There's a good few bloggers raving about it and I don't think it's sponsored by any of them they just rave about it. That would probably be my first purchase (besides the odd bit of cheap lippie or something) blogger related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭qxtasybe1nwfh2

mel123 wrote: »
    Has anyone tried the iglow lash serum? I'm very tempted but it's 60 quid. There's a good few bloggers raving about it and I don't think it's sponsored by any of them they just rave about it. That would probably be my first purchase (besides the odd bit of cheap lippie or something) blogger related

I’m using it at the mo. I only seen Laura’s Views speak about it. I’m not sure if I would recommend it though, I’ve only had a tiny bit of growth. There’s a thread on it in the beauty forum. I put up a couple of before and 6 weeks in pics.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057777560/3/#post104833027

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

I was just looking on littlewoods website and I see that JLo has a perfume called "love and light"....haha! The perfect blogger scent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

laylag wrote: »
    I was just looking on littlewoods website and I see that JLo has a perfume called "love and light"....haha! The perfect blogger scent!

Haha! Would be perfect if it was followed up by another fragrance called Kind and Good (MUFs mother always describing her inthat way)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SpillingTheTea

I dunno if this is off topic, but I’m confused at MUF’s snaps today. She got her Glossybox (I think it was them) subscription and immediately said she was giving away the items in the box as part of her Secret Giveaways. Firstly, you’d think she’d be all over the box because it’s unicorn themed, but got me thinking, does she pay for the subscription herself? I mean it costs 14 Euro a month, or 144 Euro a year for her literally to give away the items.
    If she gets it sent to her, surely it should be marked #spon as this is a sponsorship no?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

I dunno if this is off topic, but I’m confused at MUF’s snaps today. She got her Glossybox (I think it was them) subscription and immediately said she was giving away the items in the box as part of her Secret Giveaways. Firstly, you’d think she’d be all over the box because it’s unicorn themed, but got me thinking, does she pay for the subscription herself? I mean it costs 14 Euro a month, or 144 Euro a year for her literally to give away the items.
    If she gets it sent to her, surely it should be marked #spon as this is a sponsorship no?

Glossybox seem to have sent out boxes and sweatshirts to loads of bloggers this week. I'd imagine that it's not #spon because no money changed hands and no obligation were agreed. It was just a freebie (or "blogger mail")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SpillingTheTea

Thanks for the clarification :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭wendydoll

Glossybox seem to have sent out boxes and sweatshirts to loads of bloggers this week. I'd imagine that it's not #spon because no money changed hands and no obligation were agreed. It was just a freebie (or "blogger mail")

Loads of people were showing them off, was there a mermaid one going around as well. I thought I saw a mermaid top going around

If it was a freebie if should also be declared a freebie/gift, I'd hate someone to go off and buy a subscription thinking these bloggers are paying the monthly fee for them as well when they aren't. Some people are so impressionable.

wendydoll wrote: »
    Loads of people were showing them off, was there a mermaid one going around as well. I thought I saw a mermaid top going around

If it was a freebie if should also be declared a freebie/gift, I'd hate someone to go off and buy a subscription thinking these bloggers are paying the monthly fee for them as well when they aren't. Some people are so impressionable.

I agree but right now there's no rule saying that they have to so the ones who are already iffy certainly aren't going to mention if they got anything for free! Some of the bloggers I've seen have stated that Glossybox sent them the box and jumper.

And considering there's feck all reinforcement when they aren't declaring ads and sponsored content, we have zero hope they will declare freebies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

I agree but right now there's no rule saying that they have to so the ones who are already iffy certainly aren't going to mention if they got anything for free! Some of the bloggers I've seen have stated that Glossybox sent them the box and jumper.

Glossybox launched the tops this month so that's probably why they are sending them out.

Are they actually selling them? I thought they were just using them for giveaways and bloggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

Are they actually selling them? I thought they were just using them for giveaways and bloggers.

http://www.reallyree.com/glossybox-unicorn-vs-mermaid-box-2-collector-editions/

They are for sale, limited edition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭heyjude88

I suffer from Bad skin and have been following Rosie closely since she started talking about mineral make up . She said she wouldn’t talk about it till she tried it fully.

Really disappointed that it’s just that bellapiere make up that she (presuming) gets from free from that skin care place in Malahide.

A few others are pushing that mineral make up. I know it’s probably not an #ad and she may be getting her treatment for free but it’s so annoying she hyped it up. She used to be on tablets and other skin routine from the same place. And no mention of that anymore. Now don’t get me on she looks amazing with the make up on, I’m just disappointed that it’s from the same place as she’s been going all along.

Maybe I’m just cranky as I have the Sunday work fear :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Should the girls at the Dolls Day Out not have had to #sp their Snaps earlier?

Each and every one of them (Faces, Claire Balding, Jen Hatton, et al) Snapped showing the Meagher's goodie bags (Jesus, that Meagher's has its' fingers in all the pies; there's no escaping 'em) and nobody put #sp.

I rolled my eyes at the girls earlier; they all started out as being likeable and relatable girls but I can see the beginnings of egos with a few of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

I wouldn't say so because there prob given for free like most (I assume) goody bags? And meaghers aren't paying the girls to show the goody bags! Just like Pippa os sosu show their goody bags! Might not. E something ASAI have thought about!! Cos technically when you think about it they are givin the product for positive things to be said which according to ASAI guidelines is #ad! But sure that doesn't meant a whole pile either!!

But when you say it I wonder are the girls (in all master classes, dolls days or whatever) paid a fee to be there! And should it be ad or is it different because there not showing a product but working a show? Don't know how to explain that's right!!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭Wexy86

idunno78 wrote: »
    But when you say it I wonder are the girls (in all master classes, dolls days or whatever) paid a fee to be there! And should it be ad or is it different because there not showing a product but working a show? Don't know how to explain that's right!!!?

I know what you’re saying, I don’t think it should be #ad as they as being paid to talk at an event about whatever topic they choose. Same as the models in any of these shows don’t need to # as they as being paid to complete a service rather than promote products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

Yea I agree. I'm sure a few won't but that's whT I would be thinking to! It's a job rather then them advertising something! You explained it better!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mel123

One of two of them have said it about the Dolls day, they dont get paid. They will get their dinner and a few drinks, and they'll pick up a goodie bag too, but thats it, they dont get paid, and i have to say i believe them (that was for the dolls day anyway). One of them were explaining it a while back, and apparently there is very little money at the end of it, there wouldn't be enough for them all to be paid, which is probably right. The only people making money are, say yesterday, the pop up shops and Denise - because im sure she sold a lot of products from her salon - but not much cash left at the end after paying for the hire of the room.
    But what they are all getting, is exposure, and sure no money can buy that for them, so its well worth them going to these type of events. Denise is getting expose for her salon, id say her appointment book doesn't know what has hit it the past few months (i have a girl crush on Denise, i just love her).

But what i really came on to rant about was ZARA. My god, they must be giving bloggers vouchers to beat the band, seriously, its turning me off the store. Every one of them is head to toe Zara and day in day out 'oh i was in Zara again, here's the code'. Like come off it, I dont believe for a moment they are paying for the clothes and not an ad/spon in sight. I suppose i'll never know, but id bet my house on it majority of the big bloggers dont pay for clothes at all in Zara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

mel123 wrote: »
    But what i really came on to rant about was ZARA. My god, they must be giving bloggers vouchers to beat the band, seriously, its turning me off the store. Every one of them is head to toe Zara and day in day out 'oh i was in Zara again, here's the code'. Like come off it, I dont believe for a moment they are paying for the clothes and not an ad/spon in sight. I suppose i'll never know, but id bet my house on it majority of the big bloggers dont pay for clothes at all in Zara.
    But what's strange there is (I think) Zara don't do affiliate links.

Who's giving codes to use in Zara, I never see anyone having discount codes and believe me, I need a discount code for Zara at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

They're not discount codes it's the label code to make it easier to search for the product when you're on the website. I don't know why they don't just link the item like they do everywhere else. It wouldn't have anything to do with the fact Zara don't use affiliated links and therefore they can't be arsed, would it.....

Ah here I was getting my hopes you thinking it was discount codes. There's the cheap arse in me. Off topic, but does anyone know where niamh (from pippa day 1 workshop) embellished jumper was from. It was grey and she was wearing it with a pink mini skirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

It was from Zara! :D seriously!

I guessed as much but I couldn't find it. Sorry I'm off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

anna080 wrote: »
    They're not discount codes it's the label code to make it easier to search for the product when you're on the website. I don't know why they don't just link the item like they do everywhere else. It wouldn't have anything to do with the fact Zara don't use affiliated links and therefore they can't be arsed, would it.....
    Of course it is! Here's the product code, go look for it yourself cos I'm not gonna get paid for looking it up on the website myself out of the goodness of my heart!
    In fairness some bloggers do this for Penneys stuff which you can't search for online and have to rummage through in store or ask at customer services. The product code does help there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭heyjude88

I love when people put “a look” together thinking they are being cool and edgy, and it’s straight off the Zara website. Like so many of them just buy the whole website to shoot their looks. There’s no thought put into their outfits if it’s head to toe zara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭princess3901

I heard an ad on the radio for Ms Fit Skinny Tea and The D. I thought MUF was brand ambassador for them but haven’t heard her talking about them in ages, am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭frogstar

I heard an ad on the radio for Ms Fit Skinny Tea and The D. I thought MUF was brand ambassador for them but haven’t heard her talking about them in ages, am I missing something?

She is no longer brand ambassador, not for a long time either. Don't think the partnership will lasted long at all. Only remember a handful of mentions, mainly at the start. Then nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭princess3901

frogstar wrote: »
    She is no longer brand ambassador, not for a long time either. Don't think the partnership will lasted long at all. Only remember a handful of mentions, mainly at the start. Then nothing

Thanks for that.