Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asking people to buy you a drink?

• 16-06-2017 9:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭

Has anyone here ever been asked to buy someone a drink? I was out the other night and a lad came up to me and asked me to buy him one...

He was cute, but the fact that he asked that just completely turned me off. I just replied "Nah" and walked off... and I'm pretty sure he was insulted.

I just found it a bit forward and a bit rude tbh. Had it ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

"Sure, give me the money"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

A couple of times by people under age looking for someone to buy them drink in a pub.

I turned them down, less hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

jamesbere wrote: »
    A couple of times by people under age looking for someone to buy them drink in a pub. .

"Sure, give me the money. And lets see some ID"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Well that is rude. Id be turned off too

I bet you are a guy arent you? I cant imagine a guy saying that to a woman lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭JOSman

Did he have a bottle of wine in a brown paper bag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭SozBbz

He probably thought he was being cute - turning the gender tables so to speak.

Even if I were single, I wouldnt buy some rando a drink, but I wouldnt expect someone to buy me a drink out of the blue either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Yeah seems to be happening more and more now. Had some woman walk up to my friends table and ask us:
    "Would any of ye like to buy me a drink?" We declined.

Another time some fella turns around to me, looks at his empty glass and says
    "Pint of Heineken?"
    "No I've already got one"

Chancers are a lot more brazen lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

One time... YEARS AGO! when Barcode was still open, this girl came up to me at the Bar and started talking to me. (Which was strange for me)

Anyway after about 20 seconds of small talk she said something like "why don't ya get me a drink" or something like that.
    I laughed and asked for a pint of water, thinking I was hilarious, as I knew she clearly had not interest in me.

She got annoyed though and poured the glass of water over me, which wasn't very nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Yeah seems to be happening more and more now. Had some woman walk up to my friends table and ask us:
    "Would any of ye like to buy me a drink?" We declined.

Such laughs can break the boredom though I suppose.

grahambo wrote: »
    One time... YEARS AGO! when Barcode was still open, this girl came up to me at the Bar and started talking to me. (Which was strange for me)

Anyway after about 20 seconds of small talk she said something like "why don't ya get me a drink" or something like that.
    I laughed and asked for a pint of water, thinking I was hilarious, as I knew she clearly had not interest in me.

She got annoyed though and poured the glass of water over me, which wasn't very nice

What a self entitled ****, I'm actually getting so angry just thinking about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

If I buy you a drink I expect the full sex in the disabled toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Women asking for a drink is extremely common. Used to work in a few night clubs and it was something you would see every night. There were particular regulars that used to do it all the time.Some would go off later with the person but others were just out for the drink.
    Males asking for drinks of strangers would be extremely rare but I had a very cheap friend who used to do it to people he barely knew.
    In other the US had it happen but not after brief conversation and I had no problem with it as they were broke. Sometimes people really misunderstand how poor people in the US can be.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

If I buy you a drink I expect the full sex in the disabled toilet.

Wanna buy me a drink? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,370 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I've never bought a drink for someone that I didn't know. It's just not right.

I've had random girls ask me to buy them drinks and I've told them to buy themselves one and we can have a chat and if the chat goes well then I'll think about buying them the next one. It's a pretty good way to weed out chancers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

It's only ever happened to me once , a girl I didn't know, asked me to buy her a drink.

I did and got married four years later to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Id buy them a drink but only on completion of random, whimsical tasks like making it to the bar and back on all fours within a certain time limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

To be fair to women, there's so many suckers out there that will do that so why not take advantage. So many men still open with the "hi can I buy you a drink" line.

I've never bought a drink for someone that I didn't know. It's just not right.

I've had random girls ask me to buy them drinks and I've told them to buy themselves one and we can have a chat and if the chat goes well then I'll think about buying them the next one. It's a pretty good way to weed out chancers.
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by corner of hells
    It's only ever happened to me once , a girl I didn't know, asked me to buy her a drink.

Look at all the marriages you missed out on halloweenjack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

wakka12 wrote: »
    What a self entitled ****, I'm actually getting so angry just thinking about that

I probably should have just got her the drink, at least I wouldn't have had a whole pint of water thrown over me.

I think the bouncers threw her out, I can't really remember what happened after that it was o long ago... Jesus I'm getting on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

Was waiting for a friend in a Bar in England years ago (about 20 years ago), now I'm a bloke and at the time I was a bit of a rocker and had long hair, so I walk into the bar and this old rocker hag comes up and goes "you want to buy me a drink luuve?" so I was like Eh ok so I said to the barman "Can I have a bottle of Domestos please?", she left me alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Never buy or do anything on the basis of an inferred possible future reward.

these funky bitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭TheFitz13

One time a guy bought me a drink which I didn't ask for but I kindly accepted and said thank you. Then at one point during the night he said to me "Do you want a drink" and I said "No no it's fine you already bought me one" and he just went "Oh okay, do you want to buy me one?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

On a stag in Germany years ago myself and another guy went for a ramble in the morning and ended up in a sex shop. Inside the sex shop was a porno cinema so we went in for a look for a laugh. In walked a good looking woman or so we thought and sat in the front on her own watching the porn. We thought this was great craic so when it finished we made sure to say hi in case she was up for action. Walking out we asked did you enjoy the film.
    In a big deep voice she replied 'I'm up for anything if you buy me a drink' .
    It was a bloody tranny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

TheFitz13 wrote: »
    One time a guy bought me a drink which I didn't ask for but I kindly accepted and said thank you. Then at one point during the night he said to me "Do you want a drink" and I said "No no it's fine you already bought me one" and he just went "Oh okay, do you want to buy me one?"

We get it, you're gay and attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by corner of hells

Look at all the marriages you missed out on halloweenjack

Dodging a bullet tbh. A man marrying a woman in 2017 makes no sense. In fact marriage in 2017 at all makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

A teenage lad once asked me for 10 cent in Tesco because he didn't have enough for a two litre bottle of Coke. Does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Burial. wrote: »
    Dodging a bullet tbh. A man marrying a woman in 2017 makes no sense. In fact marriage in 2017 at all makes no sense.

De men do be mad for the little nippers though

Expensive oul hobby all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Why?

I wouldn't accept a drink from a man now although I did in the past. I found they expected me to give them time in return for it even if I politely refused more than once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I actually used to use that line as an ice-breaker back in the day!

The bar my colleagues liked to drink in was full of girls who'd chance the "want to buy me a drink?" line on half the men in the place so I usually got a bit of a giggle out of reversing it and often ended up drinking with the lady for the night. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Guy in the OP sounds like he was just being cute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,521 ✭✭✭Wheety

I remember in The Vatican before (showing my age now). Myself and a friend were having a drink and chatting. I noticed a girl making her way along the bar, talking to each bloke and then moving on. I said "What's she doing?" We watched her all the way and then she came to us and said "Do one of you want to buy me a drink?" . We laughed at her and said no.

Didn't bother her, she just moved on.

We kept watching and eventually some guy bought her a drink. They were talking for about 5 minutes and then she went back to her friends with the free drink leaving the guy at the bar. So funny. Fair play to her, it worked anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,508 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I actually don't mind a woman asking you to buy them a drink. What I hate is when you at a bar and she orders a drink and then spends ages going through her purse whilst nudging you to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭TheFitz13

We get it, you're gay and attractive.

What's that got to do with anything? I definitely would not call myself attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

fmN6W2.gif

I bought you a Coca-Cola in good faith. That's eighty pence you've hoodwinked out of me. Eighty pence. When I said "Hello my darling, would you like a Coca-Cola?" did you say "No thank you, I'm terribly sorry, but I'm a lesbian"? No, you didn't, not a bit of it. You said "Thank you very much, that'd be lovely".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭reason vs religion

Has anyone here ever been asked to buy someone a drink? I was out the other night and a lad came up to me and asked me to buy him one...

He was cute, but the fact that he asked that just completely turned me off. I just replied "Nah" and walked off... and I'm pretty sure he was insulted.

If you're a guy too, this sounds like a chat-up line. If I were you I would have been flattered and if I were him I would have felt rejected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Wheety wrote: »
    I remember in The Vatican before (showing my age now). Myself and a friend were having a drink and chatting. I noticed a girl making her way along the bar, talking to each bloke and then moving on. I said "What's she doing?" We watched her all the way and then she came to us and said "Do one of you want to buy me a drink?" . We laughed at her and said no.

Didn't bother her, she just moved on.

We kept watching and eventually some guy bought her a drink. They were talking for about 5 minutes and then she went back to her friends with the free drink leaving the guy at the bar. So funny. Fair play to her, it worked anyway.

Hello Your Holy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Burial. wrote: »

That's right. Bad year. From 2018 on is the time to get married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭LincolnHawk

Women have been doing this for years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Was out one night years ago and got chatting to this very attractive girl, we were getting on great, both having a laugh etc. then she says "So ....... you gonna get me a drink?", to which I laughed and said "Not a chance!" ......... she looked kinda puzzled and shrugged and said "I'll get you a drink so ....... what you want?" .......... a couple of years later we got married.

Men always buy me drinks. I've a thirsty head on me. Obviously I don't ask them, they do it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Teenagers have asked me to buy them drink on many occasions. Some of them were fairly cute too but I have a good career brewing, don't need to risk it all by flirting with statutory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I used to be a regular visitor to a pub called the museum rest,on Benburb Street,sadly the building is a shell now after a big blaze in derelict adjoining premises. I've been asked to buy a drink for someone many times in that place,it took a few visits to realise that the regulars,and it was a very a much a regulars shop,had a system for want of a better word in.Basically,it catered for a select few elderly alcoholics,usually men,a few local sex workers popping in from time for a few neat shots of vodka or whiskey to put a bit of warmth in them when they were out on a cold night,and a few shady c*nts.The system was that everyone collected pensions and stuff on different days and everyone had their day when it was not considered offensive to ask that chap to get you a drink.It was very simple,like all good ideas. On your day,people would ask you to 'spot them a pint'. Once it was established by the drinkers that lets say 'Frank is spotting John today' Frank may get a request to spot one or two others,and he will do so to the best of his ability.When Frank leaves for home,he is fairly jarred,after spending x amount of money,yet Frank will be in the pub drinking the other six days of the week without putting his hands in his pocket,except for his 'entrance fee'. His entrance fee is his first pint.Every subsequent pint is 'spotted' for him.Drink muddys the waters of course,and maybe Frank spotted John 8 pints,John might only spot Frank 7 pints but he's just as likely to spot him ten,a bit marxist really but it worked.Money was never mentioned,an unwritten rule.The street girls would often stroll in,spot the whole pub,and only stay for about 20 minutes at most,and as such they were the only people who put in more than they got back.But heaven forbid anyone that was witnessed disrespecting them outside,they'd have their teeth kicked in,the crew may have been pensioners for the most part but they were handy f*ckers when they felt inclined to be,which was frequent enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

It's only ever happened to me once  , a girl I didn't know, asked me to buy her a drink.

Sounds like one expensive fucking drink

(And on the other hand, imagine what the fellas buying her multiple drinks were getting off her :P )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

It's happened to me a few times with girls who clearly had no interest in me, coming up asking me to buy them drinks. Its very scummy behavior if I'm being honest, I'd never be able to respect desperate users like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 22 Christian Troy

I used to be a regular visitor to a pub called the museum rest,on Benburb Street,sadly the building is a shell now after a big blaze in derelict adjoining premises. I've been asked to buy a drink for someone many times in that place,it took a few visits to realise that the regulars,and it was a very a much a regulars shop,had a system for want of a better word in.Basically,it catered for a select few elderly alcoholics,usually men,a few local sex workers popping in from time for a few neat shots of vodka or whiskey to put a bit of warmth in them when they were out on a cold night,and a few shady c*nts.The system was that everyone collected pensions and stuff on different days and everyone had their day when it was not considered offensive to ask that chap to get you a drink.It was very simple,like all good ideas. On your day,people would ask you to 'spot them a pint'. Once it was established by the drinkers that lets say 'Frank is spotting John today' Frank may get a request to spot one or two others,and he will do so to the best of his ability.When Frank leaves for home,he is fairly jarred,after spending x amount of money,yet Frank will be in the pub drinking the other six days of the week without putting his hands in his pocket,except for his 'entrance fee'. His entrance fee is his first pint.Every subsequent pint is 'spotted' for him.Drink muddys the waters of course,and maybe Frank spotted John 8 pints,John might only spot Frank 7 pints but he's just as likely to spot him ten,a bit marxist really but it worked.Money was never mentioned,an unwritten rule.The street girls would often stroll in,spot the whole pub,and only stay for about 20 minutes at most,and as such they were the only people who put in more than they got back.But heaven forbid anyone that was witnessed disrespecting them outside,they'd have their teeth kicked in,the crew may have been pensioners for the most part but they were handy f*ckers when they felt inclined to be,which was frequent enough.
    I might have actually read all that if you left spaces between your fullstops and the letters after them!

I'm guessing most of it was unnecessary anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I used to be a regular visitor to a pub called the museum rest,on Benburb Street.
    Sadly the building is a shell now after a big blaze in derelict adjoining premises. I've been asked to buy a drink for someone many times in that place.
    It took a few visits to realise that the regulars, and it was a very a much a regulars shop, had a "system" (for want of a better word).
    Basically, it catered for a select few elderly alcoholics (usually men) and a few local sex workers popping in from time to time for a few neat shots of vodka or whiskey to put a bit of warmth in them when they were out on a cold night as well as a few shady c*nts.
    The "system" was that everyone collected pensions and stuff on different days and everyone had their day when it was not considered offensive to ask that chap to get you a drink.
    It was very simple, like all good ideas. On your day, people would ask you to "spot them a pint".
    Once it was established (by the drinkers) that "Frank is spotting John today" then Frank may get a request to spot one or two others and he will do so to the best of his ability.
    When Frank leaves for home, he is fairly jarred (after spending x amount of money) yet Frank will be in the pub drinking the other six days of the week without putting his hands in his pocket except for his "entrance fee".
    His entrance fee being his first pint. Every subsequent pint is "spotted" for him.
    Drink muddy's the waters of course so maybe Frank spotted John 8 pints whilst John might only spot Frank 7 pints but he's just as likely to spot him 10.
    A bit Marxist really but it worked.
    Money was never mentioned, which was an unwritten rule.
    The street girls would often stroll in and spot the whole pub yet only stay for about 20 minutes at most. As such, they were the only people who put in more than they got back.
    But heaven forbid anyone that was witnessed disrespecting them outside, they'd have their teeth kicked in. The crew may have been pensioners for the most part but they were handy f*ckers when they felt inclined to be which was frequent enough.
    I might have actually read all that if you left spaces between your fullstops and the letters after them!

You're both welcome ..........

Leave Harry alone, that was an awesome post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

No excuse for bad punctuation,but I've a few drinks on board.Whats your excuse for making an issue of it? I'll have a mint julep if your buying though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Never seen a lad do it tbh. It's always been women in my experience.