Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Royal Canal on a Road Bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

ED E wrote: »
    Its due to be done. May/June probably means Early July in public service parlance.

I've messaged Waterways Ireland about this and the Cloncurry to Ferrans sections. Normally they are good at replying and I will spread the word here when I hear from them.

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭CapnHex

Cloncurry bridge has new signage, indicating Kilcock is 10km on the north side of the canal, however that side is not finished and comes to a halt about 2km further on. Very confusing to have the signpost up already. Luckily I was doing a bit of recon, before a later in the summer attempt at Longford to Dublin. I snuck onto the new section up to Fureys in Moyvalley. The new ramp is still fenced off, the top surface of gravel/grit is required on this section, but I imagine it's not far off completion. When these 2 sections are finished, it will make an already brilliant amenity even better.

If I started off at Cross Guns bridge and headed west along the canal path, how far would I get before the path goes to ****e/disappears/whatever? I've just moved into the area and looking for somewhere to cycle, I can't really manage long distances so even 10-15km out and same again back would be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭loudymacloud

KevRossi wrote: »

Just how bad is it after Castleknock? Ive never been on that part of the canal, could I stay on the canal route, walk the roughest bits and back on the bike. Or just head onto the road for a bit.

Im planning on heading along the canal to Athlone in a few weeks. Hop on at Newcomen Bridge up to Castleknock, on to the road an maybe get back on at Keenan Bridge/Porterstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Just how bad is it after Castleknock? Ive never been on that part of the canal, could I stay on the canal route, walk the roughest bits and back on the bike. Or just head onto the road for a bit.

Im planning on heading along the canal to Athlone in a few weeks. Hop on at Newcomen Bridge up to Castleknock, on to the road an maybe get back on at Keenan Bridge/Porterstown.

After Castleknock it gets rough after 200m, The bad stretch is 1.75km so easy to push a bike along it. You can actually cycle most of the rough bit if it's dry. 2 biggest issues are mud and protruding roots. Should take less than 20 mins to walk/cycle it. Stunning piece of the canal so well worth the walk IMO.

After that it's a mix of grass, path and gravel to Maynooth. Might be some work on the route. I've done it a few times and it's easy done.

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭LennoxR

After Castleknock it gets rough after 200m, The bad stretch is 1.75km so easy to push a bike along it. You can actually cycle most of the rough bit if it's dry. 2 biggest issues are mud and protruding roots. Should take less than 20 mins to walk/cycle it. Stunning piece of the canal so well worth the walk IMO.

After that it's a mix of grass, path and gravel to Maynooth. Might be some work on the route. I've done it a few times and it's easy done.

Agree. The Deep Sinking (c.2km) is well worth a look, but pretty difficult to ride. If you're on a road bike you're probably better off walking. After that it's a sometimes bumpy track to Maynooth, some paved path, some gravel path. Doable on most bikes in the dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Does anyone have a Strava route from the Liffey to Mullingar that takes into account the closed and not developed sections? I plan to do this at the start of August with a mate.

I've messaged Waterways Ireland about this and the Cloncurry to Ferrans sections. Normally they are good at replying and I will spread the word here when I hear from them.

This is the latest update from Waterways Ireland:

"Ferns Lock to Cloncurry Bridge - works are ongoing on the North bank side of the canal to create a surface suitable for cycling. This section of the Greenway is due to be completed in July/August 2019. The Royal Canal Way (Walking Route) on the South bank side is unaffected - for walking only."

"Kilmore Bridge to Moyvalley Bridge – works are ongoing on the South bank side of the canal to create a surface suitable for cycling. This section of the Greenway is due to be completed in July/August 2019. The Royal Canal Way (Walking Route) on the North bank side is unaffected - for walking only."

"Scally's Bridge to Webbs Bridge - works are ongoing on the North bank side of the canal to create a surface suitable for cycling. This section of the Greenway is due to be completed in July/August 2019. The Royal Canal Way (Walking Route) on the North bank side is unaffected - for walking only."

In other words, everything has slipped another few months but it really only affects a few cyclists. The works at Moyvalley could easily have been finished months ago once the new ramp was installed. For those not familiar with Scally's Bridge, it is about a km east of Abbeyshrule and there is a quiet road alongside the south bank to Webbs Bridge in the town. Looks like the days will be a good bit shorter before Maynooth to the Shannon without detours is possible.

CapnHex wrote: »
    I snuck onto the new section up to Fureys in Moyvalley. The new ramp is still fenced off, the top surface of gravel/grit is required on this section, but I imagine it's not far off completion.

Is it possible to work your way around the fencing at Kilmore Bridge and at the new ramp? I found the unfinished hard core surface just about OK to cycle on last year but I wouldn't want to do the 1.8km and then have to return to Kilmore.

To my shame, I walked around/under the ramp, then under the original bridge on the narrow path alongside the canal, and back up the existing ramp to the road at Fureys. I was prepared to go back, but able to get through without disturbing anything.

CapnHex wrote: »
    To my shame, I walked around/under the ramp, then under the original bridge on the narrow path alongside the canal, and back up the existing ramp to the road at Fureys. I was prepared to go back, but able to get through without disturbing anything.

No shame required. I did the same last year but ran into major works a few hundred metres before Fureys. A helpful workman escorted me through to the old ramp and told me about plans for the new one. Neither of us thought it would take so long to complete.

More info from Waterways Ireland:

"You will see on the website (www.waterwaysireland.org/royalcanalstatus) that the sections currently under construction have a completion date of Q3 in 2019, with the aim of launching the fully branded and ready for market Greenway to the public in Q1 of 2020.

The aim is that the 130km stretch from Maynooth to Longford/Richmond Harbour will be ready for market in Q1 of 2020, with the appropriate national Greenway branding including signs, and other marketing materials such as a website, brochures and guides. At present Waterways Ireland does not have a date surrounding the developments taking place east of Maynooth towards Spencer Dock in Dublin, some of these sections have only recently been granted planning, this section of the canal has a much longer completion date.

It is important to note that there are two sides to the canal with only one side under construction, I recognise that a grass towpath is not ideal, but in certain sections it can act as a detour when travelling through the sections which are currently being developed.

I hope this clarifies the current position regarding the development works taking place on the Royal Canal, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you have any further queries or questions."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Rechuchote

"The aim is that the 130km stretch from Maynooth to Longford/Richmond Harbour will be ready for market in Q1 of 2020, with the appropriate national Greenway branding including signs, and other marketing materials such as a website, brochures and guides. At present Waterways Ireland does not have a date surrounding the developments taking place east of Maynooth towards Spencer Dock in Dublin, some of these sections have only recently been granted planning, this section of the canal has a much longer completion date."

Hate that way of thinking. When did we become "customers" instead of citizens or residents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Rechuchote wrote: »
    Hate that way of thinking. When did we become "customers" instead of citizens or residents?

I would guess the marketing speak is coming from the tourism angle but it's telling alright that the provision of something like this is so much more motivated by bagging cash from tourists rather than addressing the chronic lack of infrastructure for local people.

Having said that, I don't really care what speak they use or what *I* am as long as it gets done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

which is the best of the 2 canals to cycle this year? is it worth waiting to do the royal next year? will it be a big improvement?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

silverharp wrote: »
    which is the best of the 2 canals to cycle this year? is it worth waiting to do the royal next year? will it be a big improvement?

Not sure about the grand but you still have the section of the Royal called the deep sinking between Castle knock and lexlip that would be very unsuitable for cycling

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

caff wrote: »
    Not sure about the grand but you still have the section of the Royal called the deep sinking between Castle knock and lexlip that would be very unsuitable for cycling

This is the best bit! I've done it plenty of times on my CX bike with 40mm tyres- no problems at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Royal.

You can cycle 140km from Dublin to Cloondara on the Shannon near Longford, or down to Athlone with a couple of small diversions.

Deep Sinking beside Castleknock can be done on foot, it's about 1.75km at the most to push it - 20 mins.

One or two small diversions between there and Maynooth due to works, the rest is grass, gravel or tar.

From Maynooth to Moyvalley it's all tar or new grit with these two exceptions, the first one can be done on grass on the south bank but it's a bit bumpy.

1. https://www.google.com/maps/dir/53.4197812,-6.7125404/53.4183672,-6.7915376/@53.4186579,-6.7865444,13z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m2!4m1!3e1

2. https://www.google.com/maps/dir/53.4192954,-6.8985429/Fureys+Bar/@53.4218396,-6.909615,15z/data=!4m9!4m8!1m0!1m5!1m1!1s0x485d8974c34789cd:0xb76ada295bbea33c!2m2!1d-6.916129!2d53.429611!3e1

Moyvalley to Athlone or Longford/Cloondara is excellent tar or grit.

Well worth doing. Train accompanies a lot of the route so you can take that if you get tired.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Rechuchote

What will/should be done about the Deep Sinking? It's such a lovely sinister name!

Rechuchote wrote: »
    What will/should be done about the Deep Sinking? It's such a lovely sinister name!

Check out from post #256 on.

Did Spencer Dock to Cloondara today on my cx bike, great spin -only one slight detour around Moyvalley, otherwise I was on the canal bank the whole time.

Great amenity to have :-)

https://strava.app.link/nPaoTk139X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

I scouted from North Strand to Maynooth and back last week. I took the gravel bike. It was great fun. There is no way I’d take my road bike from Ashtown on to maynooth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

colm18 wrote: »
    Did Spencer Dock to Cloondara today on my cx bike, great spin -only one slight detour around Moyvalley, otherwise I was on the canal bank the whole time.

*converts to strava route*

Cheers :D

Super ride. When you had to turn back at Moyvalley, did it look like there was much more work to be done?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,435 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i'm impressed that someone has managed the deep sinking at 33km/h.

Super ride. When you had to turn back at Moyvalley, did it look like there was much more work to be done?

Sorry, I was too busy giving out to the construction lads about the lack of signage to notice!

We did Mullingar to Ballymahon at the weekend. Parked at the Old Rail Trail carpark, which was packed @10:30 am and empty 10 minutes later. There's a park run on the canal/rail trail every Saturday, so be warned if planning to use the Old Rail Trail carpark in that time frame. We noticed that work is underway at Abbeyschrule to extend the cycle track on the north side of the canal, meaning the approach on the road into Abbeyscrule will become redundant for cyclists. A few other cosmetic changes, such as National Famine Way signage and better directional signage in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭CormacH94

Any update on Fern's Lock to Cloncurry? Was last near it around April, didn't seem like there was much work left to do?

CormacH94 wrote: »
    Any update on Fern's Lock to Cloncurry? Was last near it around April, didn't seem like there was much work left to do?

See posts #361 & 365.

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

Thanks for the replies. I took the train to Mullingar on Saturday then the canal to Cloondara and the route above with a change to visit my Grandfather's childhood home in Leitrim near Roosky/Dromod. The canal is well surfaced but my average speed was really slow tbh, it's just a slow surface in parts. I continued to Sligo and have to say the Roscommon and Sligo road surfaces shook and rattled me to numbness. Road bike with 25mm gatorskins and a full enough load of camping gear etc.

Very enjoyable all the same. Wild camped in Rosses Point that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

CormacH94 wrote: »

I passed that way last weekend coming from Enfield. It's still fenced off on the north side of the canal but both fences were easily bypassed and the surface was rideable though still coarse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

Decent argument you should do the barrow way on a bike, with or without the grand canal out from Dublin to Robertstown, as Waterways' plan is to pave the Barrow

You will probably need relatively wide tyres. Hopefully they wont ultimately pave it as its the only actually green greenway I know

(I say this without having done it)

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Reznorek

I plan to take a route from Dublin to Mullingar on the gravel bike. Start in the morning, stay in Mullingar and come back the next day. Is Deep Sinking the only place through which it will be difficult to drive? The rest of the route is doable in a few hours for an intermediate advanced cyclist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭De Bhál

a148pro wrote: »
    Decent argument you should do the barrow way on a bike, with or without the grand canal out from Dublin to Robertstown, as Waterways' plan is to pave the Barrow

You will probably need relatively wide tyres. Hopefully they wont ultimately pave it as its the only actually green greenway I know

I rode the Grand canal path, including the Barrow Way to Graiguenamangh about 6weeks ago. Ground is bone dry with much of the route a path worn in grass.
    A very enjoyable day away from cars etc. You won't regret it. Leave early if you plan on doing it in one go. I used a CX bike.

Reznorek wrote: »
    I plan to take a route from Dublin to Mullingar on the gravel bike. Start in the morning, stay in Mullingar and come back the next day. Is Deep Sinking the only place through which it will be difficult to drive? The rest of the route is doable in a few hours for an intermediate advanced cyclist?
    Deep Sinking is a bit technical but I did it recently on a loaded touring bike. It's not far to walk if you need to and you can bypass it on road between Coolmine station and Porterstown bridge.
    The rest of the ride is paved or almost complete. There are two fenced off sections but the fences are easy to bypass or you can ride the grassy opposite bank which is slower but scenic. I'd suggest riding the grassy banks outbound and you can decide which to ride on the way back.

Head a bit west of Mullingar and take a side-trip to Lough Ennell just for the view.

a148pro wrote: »

Make a proper holiday of this:
    • Take a train Dublin to Cahir.
    • Ride the Suir Blueway to Carrick on Suir.
    • Ride south to Kilmacthomas. (On road)
    • Ride west to Dungarvan then back to Waterford.
    • Ride northeast to New Ross. (On road)
    • Ride the Barrow Way to Robertstown.
    • Ride the Grand Canal west to Shannon Harbour.
    • Ride north to Athlone. (On road)
    • Ride Athlone to Mullingar on the greenway. Alternatively ride north on road to Termonbarry.
    • Ride the Royal Canal back to Dublin
    Works out around 600k with max 150k on road...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

That sounds like an audax from hell - however, I really like the start of it. Have done a bunch of the other two canals so if I leave those out it could be a very pleasant 3 dayer

Thanks for the suggestion, I may well actually do this

Edit from 2 day to 3 day to keep it "pleasant"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

"

At present Waterways Ireland does not have a date surrounding the developments taking place east of Maynooth towards Spencer Dock in Dublin, some of these sections have only recently been granted planning, this section of the canal has a much longer completion date.

"
    I thought the work from Maynooth to Louisa bridge was done? and its fine onto Confey?

I read it as referring to the whole length of canal from Maynooth to the Liffey. Significant sections in Fingal and Dublin have yet to be upgraded to Greenway status and the design and planning consultation processes seem to be taking forever.frown.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭tnegun

Maynooth to Carton was done a few years back but not to the same standard as Maynooth to Kilcock, path is narrow and not levelled but much better than a grass track, Leixlip Louisa to Confey had some work done recently but aparently this wasn't to the same standard as other sections.

I travelled from the city to Lucan on the canal last week and couldn't take it any more and took to the roads for the rest of my journey to Maynooth! It was ok as far as the deep sinking then awful, also the lack of signage to indicate which side of the canal the path continues on leads to to guess work and there are a few kissing gates to pass too.

tnegun wrote: »
    Maynooth to Carton was done a few years back but not to the same standard as Maynooth to Kilcock, path is narrow and not levelled but much better than a grass track, Leixlip Louisa to Confey had some work done recently but aparently this wasn't to the same standard as other sections.

I travelled from the city to Lucan on the canal last week and couldn't take it any more and took to the roads for the rest of my journey to Maynooth! It was ok as far as the deep sinking then awful, also the lack of signage to indicate which side of the canal the path continues on leads to to guess work and there are a few kissing gates to pass too.
    I like that bit. It's nice and green with a grass track rather than pathway. Old-school canal-side cycling...

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭01Surveyor

This is the best bit! I've done it plenty of times on my CX bike with 40mm tyres- no problems at all
    I agree. Ive done it several times this year and its great fun (I'm 67 BTW). If youre a confident and half competent cyclist its best done at speed however I had a couple of spills on it during the winter and Im a bit more cautious now. You dont want to fall 10m into the canal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭tnegun

Yeah am thinking my setup was wrong it's a cx bike but setup for commuting with 28s at 80psi lovely area and great for walking just got fed up with the bumps and having to move over for groups a walkers

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭01Surveyor

cdaly_ wrote: »
    Make a proper holiday of this:
    • Take a train Dublin to Cahir.
    • Ride the Suir Blueway to Carrick on Suir.
    • Ride south to Kilmacthomas. (On road)
    • Ride west to Dungarvan then back to Waterford.
    • Ride northeast to New Ross. (On road)
    • Ride the Barrow Way to Robertstown.
    • Ride the Grand Canal west to Shannon Harbour.
    • Ride north to Athlone. (On road)
    • Ride Athlone to Mullingar on the greenway. Alternatively ride north on road to Termonbarry.
    • Ride the Royal Canal back to Dublin
    Works out around 600k with max 150k on road...

Thats a great spin, Ive done the two canals, the Greenway and Blueway from Clonmel to Carrick - can you cycle the section from Cahir, I understood it was a paddler only section?

01Surveyor wrote: »
    Thats a great spin, Ive done the two canals, the Greenway and Blueway from Clonmel to Carrick - can you cycle the section from Cahir, I understood it was a paddler only section?
    I think you're right. You'd have to ride backroads from Swiss Cottage to Clonmel and then there's only 20k of riverside cycleway before you're back on roads.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Liam28

Not really. There is about 1km section West of Deey bridge (ie from Intel towards Carton) which is still grass. Earlier this year the section East of Deey bridge, towards Louisa bridge, which was in good condition was upgraded and is now worse than before. It is now loose coarse black sand / gravel which is not easy on a road bike. So they did the wrong side of Deey bridge and made it worse. The gate at Deey bridge is not bike friendly either. I use this route for commuting and now get off at Pike bridge (Carton), take the busy road past Intel to Louisa bridge and on the path to Confey.
    A section that was repaired / relaid East of Louisa bridge for about 100m is loose, un-packed hardcore stone, again like cycling on sand, so riding on the grass margin is easier. Past Confey is grass again until before Clonsilla station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭munsterbear

Looking forward to Sunday 18th. Going to cycle from Lucan to Athlone via canal and railway. Any last changes we should be aware of?

Had been sounding out a few clubmates and watching forecasts with a view to doing the full Royal Canal route. Three of us caught the 7.00am train to Longford this morning and were on our way along the Longford branch by 9.00. An hour later we said farewell to the Shannon just outside Cloondara and headed back, Dublin bound.
    For a lot of the way the surface was either tarmac or gravel dust on hardcore. The latter took a bit more effort and knocked about 2kph off our speed but was fine otherwise. After coffees and muffins at the Rustic Inn in Abbeyshrule we pushed on for Mullingar with a very helpful westerly wind on our backs. Not wishing to leave the canal, we circled around the town before stopping 12k further on for lunch at Mary Lynch's pub. No complaints about the quality of the pints but the food helpings could have been bigger for three very hungry cyclists.
    Fuelled by Guinness, we made good time to Moyvalley where we debated detouring or finding a way through the fences and building works. As there was no sign of anyone actually working, we found a way through and had a bumpy ride on hardcore as far as Kilmore Bridge. Next obstacle was a fence a few km beyond Cloncurry Bridge but the newly finished path drew us on for a lovely ride through woodland before eventually meeting someone working near Ferrans Lock. We praised the work done to date and he let us continue on as well as telling us that they would be putting the finishing layer on the Moyvalley towpath once they finished at Ferrans in a few weeks.
    After a coffee in Kilcock we soon started running into the grassy sections beyond Maynooth. I had forgotten how little of the "path" between Leixlip and the Deep Sinking had been surfaced and fairly quickly our average speed dropped from 23.8kph to under 23. It is daft that a section with huge potential for commuting as well as long distance use has been left in such rough state for so long.
    The Deep Sinking has certainly become gnarlier since I was last there about 9 months ago. Even though it was reasonably dry, a few potholes and tree roots nearly brought me down. One of the others had to regularly stop to clear mud from under the head tube of his bike. I was glad I was on 28mm tyres rather than the 25s the others were using but it was still quite an effort to get through to Castleknock and the joys of the paved section to Ashtown. Beyond there, the towpath was really busy which was great to see and we finally made it to the Liffey at the Samuel Beckett bridge at 7.00pm.

Stats, photos and the route should be at https://www.relive.cc/view/gh39025091488