Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guinness lease

• 29-05-2017 11:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,681 ✭✭✭✭

I wonder what will happen when Guinnesses 9000 year lease is up ???

I doubt any of us will be around but do u think it will actually signal the end of the world ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

PTH2009 wrote: »
    I wonder what will happen when Guinnesses 9000 year lease is up ???

I doubt any of us will be around but do u think it will actually signal the end of the world ???

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guinness_Brewery
    Arthur Guinness started brewing ales in Leixlip, County Kildare, and then from 1759 at the St. James's Gate Brewery in Dublin. On 31 December he signed a 9,000-year lease at £45 per annum for the unused brewery.[3][4] However, the lease is no longer in effect because the brewery property has been bought out when it expanded beyond the original 4-acre site.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 19 mcsaddle

999 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Has Arthur's day run out yet?
    Please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

You need to get to 8200 years of the lease. Then let it settle for a minute.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭iguot

Victor wrote: »

but they mention the lease in their new ad?

Though Bord na Mona are pretending to be the salt of the earth in their new one so they're all full of it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,681 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    Has Arthur's day run out yet?
    Please...

Too ARTHUR!!!

**** off

That concept was a pure load of Bull, aimed at Wahey Students

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Nine hundred years according to Page 2 of the memorial lodged at the Registry of Deeds on June 9th 1761.

418649.png

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Site Banned Posts: 26 Werido

It gets bought by hipsters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

iguot wrote: »
    but they mention the lease in their new ad?

Though Bord na Mona are pretending to be the salt of the earth in their new one so they're all full of it anyway.

True dat. "Caring for the environment..." erm, dumps and bog-stripping? Caring how? :confused:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,223 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I read that as Guinness release. Was a bit jealous that you were out on the lash on a school night. But now you're on the jacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭sjb25

Too ARTHUR!!!

**** off

To martha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,639 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Too ARTHUR!!!

**** off

sjb25 wrote: »
    Too martha

Ah lads, sorry but it's "to Arthur and to Martha", not "too".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

Anyone know who they are leasing it off?

murpho999 wrote: »
    Ah lads, sorry but it's "to Arthur and to Martha", not "too".

Ooops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Too ARTHUR!!!

**** off

Too martha

To!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 171 ✭✭Gavinz

flanzer wrote: »

Noone.

They own it.

me_irl wrote: »
    To!

Fixed my post sorry won't happen again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Too ARTHUR!!!

**** off

And it worked :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

flanzer wrote: »

FROM!!!

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

Hermy wrote: »
    FROM!!!
    :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Fixed my post sorry won't happen again

Danke schön!

But seriously though, is Guinness not the "schrodingers sh*ts" of drink?

You can get a decent one, or a watered down muck one, or a dodgy one.

Lying in bed all day waiting for Mount Poosuvious to erupt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 864 ✭✭✭neverever1

Anyone remember that the Guinness family were always opposed to Irish independence? Arthur Guinness himself was an informer to the British. They gave the uvf 100,000 in 1913 for them to buy weapons. They even considered dropping any connection to Ireland and saying they are strictly an English company in the 80's.

FROM!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

me_irl wrote: »
    To!
    FROM!!!

game-of-thrones-stannis-fewer.gif?w=500&h=277

neverever1 wrote: »
    Anyone remember that the Guinness family were always opposed to Irish independence? Arthur Guinness himself was an informer to the British. They gave the uvf 100,000 in 1913 for them to buy weapons. They even considered dropping any connection to Ireland and saying they are strictly an English company in the 80's.

Yes I remember all those incidents very well, sure we were all there at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

going back to the whole lease,

Im sure there is an other aggreement that they pay fair rates in order to stop any increases on the €1 rent which is complete advertising.

So they are paying more just its not down as rent and that will stop anybody going down legal route to up rent and they can keep marketing the €1 rent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

FROM!!!

Never heard of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

All the big businesses of the time would have been opposed to it, being mainly Anglo-Irish or Quaker owned or influenced.

They would have seen it as Brexit, pretty much.
    Why on earth would they support independence?? Uncertainty and nothing in it for them with the added possibility of further radicalising already displeased workers although the likes of Guinness and Jacobs had better pay and conditions compared to a lot of other places.

Yes I remember all those incidents very well, sure we were all there at the time.

Remember finding out about it? I think I've educated a few people who didn't know these facts. :)

All the big businesses of the time would have been opposed to it, being mainly Anglo-Irish or Quaker owned or influenced.

They would have seen it as Brexit, pretty much.
    Why on earth would they support independence?? Uncertainty and nothing in it for them with the added possibility of further radicalising already displeased workers although the likes of Guinness and Jacobs had better pay and conditions compared to a lot of other places.

Not supporting independence for Irish people was an approval of British murder and tyranny. There's no other way around this. You also ignore that they continued to oppose Irish independence up to the 80's and I assume they still do.

Business interests trump moral scruples.

I suppose you steer clear of any Guinness/Diageo products, do you? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭wordofwarning

They even considered dropping any connection to Ireland and saying they are strictly an English company in the 80's.

Do you know why they considered dropping the Irish connection in the 1980s? It is hard to sell a product heavily associated with Ireland, when Irish are well known for blowing up innocent people ie the IRA during their campaign

Business interests trump moral scruples.

I suppose you steer clear of any Guinness/Diageo products, do you? :D

Arthur Guinness was a British informant. They funded the uvf. This went a lot further than business interests.

I sure do, any self respecting Irish person would. I just assume many don't realise these facts.

Arthur Guinness was a British informant. They funded the uvf. This went a lot further than business interests.

I sure do, any self respecting Irish person would. I just assume many don't realise these facts.

Good for you.

Do you know why they considered dropping the Irish connection in the 1980s? It is hard to sell a product heavily associated with Ireland, when Irish are well known for blowing up innocent people ie the IRA during their campaign

If that was their issue then why would they want to be changed to been known as an English company? They've been blowing up a lot more people for a lot longer!

Good for you.

Ignoring the informing for the British and funding of loyalists?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Gavinz wrote: »
    Noone.

They own it.

It's either "No one" or "No-one".

It's never "Noone" Grrrrr!!! :mad:

This is fun! :pac:

(Unless Noone is a person... In which case, I apologize) :P

It's either "No one" or "No-one"

No, it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭AlanG

They are an English company. They moved their HQ to London in 1932 and have been an English company ever since. They are an English company that happen to own a brewery in Ireland, lots of Irish companies and land.

AlanG wrote: »
    They are an English company. They moved their HQ to London in 1932 and have been an English company ever since. They are an English company that happen to own a brewery in Ireland, lots of Irish companies and land.

Yes, their Irish image is a joke and they should be called up on it more often.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Huh?

Their Irish Image is a great driver for Tourism and Hospitality industries here.

Nothing the Guinness' ever did was politically driven either. it was all down to economics. Their number one motivation was to sustain their business as much as possible. Hence the transfer of HQ to England. Would have been a good move to minimise tariffs.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

They're actually native Irish. McGuinness, McCartan Clan. Arthur wrote about his family and their history.

I don't know about any claims re funding the UVF, I'll have to research it.

I do know that there were part of some sort of southern Unionist Alliance, along with the other big Irish business families like Arnotts, Odlums, Jacobs, Jameson.

That wasn't a particularly extreme or unusual viewpoint to hold pre 1916. Many average Irish people held similar political views.

Huh?

Their Irish Image is a great driver for Tourism and Hospitality industries here.

Nothing the Guinness' ever did was politically driven either. it was all down to economics. Their number one motivation was to sustain their business as much as possible. Hence the transfer of HQ to England. Would have been a good move to minimise tariffs.

They're happy enough to be seen as Irish now as it makes them billions. Funding the uvf was an economic decision?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 171 ✭✭Gavinz

It's either "No one" or "No-one".

(Unless Noone is a person... In which case, I apologize) :P
    Kool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,734 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

They're happy enough to be seen as Irish now as it makes them billions. Funding the uvf was an economic decision?

Do you have any actual evidence that they did fund the UVF? I would be very surprised if they funded a terrorist organisation

Doesn't really matter where they are headquartered, the beer is brewed here and they have a huge Irish identity.

Also, I wouldn't drink it anywhere outside Ireland.

Do you have any actual evidence that they did fund the UVF? I would be very surprised if they funded a terrorist organisation

What do you want? A letter from them confirming this? I made a mistake earlier, it was 10,000 pounds. They not only funded a terrorist organisation but they assisted them also when they supplied equipment to the British army.

Doesn't really matter where they are headquartered, the beer is brewed here and they have a huge Irish identity.

Also, I wouldn't drink it anywhere outside Ireland.

I'm talking about their anti Irish history. They don't seem to mention that anymore now that their 'Irishness' is making them billions.