Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Marathon Improvers Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,064 ✭✭✭✭event

One good thing from yesterday is I got my fueling bang on.

7 miles in, SIS Beta fuel energy chew(half a pack)

Then about 125ml water with SIS Beta fuel

4 miles later, other half of chew and 125ml

4 miles later SIS Beta fuel nootropic gel and 125ml again

4 miles, another gel and 125ml.

I also took 2 saltstick fast chews

Plan in the full is then at mile 23 take another gel and see me home. Altogether that's 160g carbs from gels and 80g carbs from fluid.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭FinnC

Did 32km in the Endorphin Pro 3s today and to be honest I’m a little disappointed. They definitely felt less cushioned the further I went and the last couple of KMs they started to hurt my feet. Not sure now I’ll use them for the Full Marathon which at least I’m finding out now rather than on the day.

Furthest I had ran in them before was 20km and I didn’t notice anything like I did today,so maybe they better suited to the half distance for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Sandwell

I did my last long(ish) run today of the Hansons plan, 16 miles steady at MP+40. Felt strong throughout and holding the pace was easier than it's been on any of these runs to date. I'd been feeling really tired for the last couple of days so happy to get this one ticked off as well as completing the highest mileage week of the plan (64). Three easier weeks to come before I toe the line in Amsterdam.

Interesting to hear that about the Endorphins @FinnC. I still haven't tried mine but that would have been exactly my experience with the first edition. Fine to half marathon distance but uncomfortable beyond that. I'll hopefully get in a couple of runs in my pair this week. I've 15 miles with 10 at marathon pace on Thursday so will probably make a call on them based on that. If I'm not happy then I'll stick to my trusty Deviate Nitro Elites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭Lazare

Hmm, that's interesting. I also ran 32km in mine, yesterday.

Noticed a bit of discomfort in the ball of my left foot for the last couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,714 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Great morning out in Charleville for me....a shiny new PB by almost 3 mins (sub 1:27) and the strongest most consistent performance I've ever done in any race tbh.

Will do a full report over on my log later on when I've calmed down a bit 😂

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,281 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

10min PB for me in Berlin today, delighted.

I have Dublin in 5 weeks but I think I'm happy to take it handy now and not push again.

Awesome stuff lads

• Registered Users Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Wottle

Congrats on the massive PB. I would have loved to have done Berlin today, I'm getting excited and giddy of late.

How did you pace it, bank/even/negative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Well done on the PB's lads!

I think I'd like to do Berlin myself at some stage!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,281 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

Slightly negative split, 1:50:06 for the first half and 1:49:14 (Half marathon PB 😂) for the second half. Target was 3:45 but I felt good after the first few km and pushed on. Suffering properly started at 36km but I had the 3:40 target on my sights so I pushed through to the end.

5k 26:05

10k 26:10

15k 25:59

20k 26:18

25k 26:08

30k 25:51

35k 25:48

40k 25:52

42.2k 11.09

Also the Berlin medal is awesome, I love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,484 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

10 mins! That's very impressive, well done done to you. Congrats. Great splits too. 💪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭racersedge

You guys have me worried now! Ran Tullamore in my own and had intended the save them for race day - dovetailing them with the Speeds to save them).

Mind you, I will say while there was the comment of finding the first versions of it where suited up to half marathon and questions about them for a full, I found the opposite with them (struggled to feel fast and get the most out of them in shorter distances while finding them ideal for when I ran Manchester!). I have a 35K scheduled next weekend, with the last seven at MP where my plan was to use my V1’s for it - might use the V3’s to allay any concerns.

Yep... perfect day for running tbh.

I had a shocker in Charleville in 2019 so was a bit wary but it literally couldn't have gone any better

Looking forward to the read, super run.

Are you targeting Dublin or other?

Dublin 🤠

It'll all be over this day 5 weeks.

Have a lot going on the next couple of weekends so gonna have to get creative to squeeze in the last of the long runs 😬 😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marathon2022

I would say take the first mile easy, then run the course accordingly. The course profile is important for pacing the rest. Being specific to the DCM you would find the most common approach for average runners is to take the first 7 miles easy (maybe 10-15 seconds per mile slower then target) then a little kick next 4 are slightly downhill and pace accordingly after.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭FinnC

To be fair to the Pro 3 my legs feel absolutely fine now like they would do in the other “super shoes” after a hard session,the recovery is always that much quicker after wearing them. I still think they are a great shoe and will definitely use them again.

Still think I’ve now ruled them out as my Marathon shoe though.

I’ve a pair of Vaporflys 1 with over 250km on them and a pair of Alphaflys 1 with not yet 100km on them. Dunno now to buy a new pair of Vaporflys or go with the Alphaflys. First world problems eh!

I do find the original Vaporflys a bit narrow but I think I’ve read the version 2 is a slightly wider. I presume the foam is the same in the 2 as the 1?

I've both the original vaporfly and version 2.

I loved the original for shorter races but found there was a bit of a squeeze in the toebox the further I ran.

No such issue in version 2, and my yellow pair still performing at 340 miles, plenty of long runs in them.

I've bought a brand new pair of V2s for Amsterdam. I thought about the Alphaflies but the run testers seem to think they're a bit of a marmite shoe but the vapors are a catch all

Thanks for the info, the tightness of the vaporfly v1 was stopping me buying another pair, I absolutely love them but a couple of tough long cold wet sessions in the last year resulted in toe nail damage, love them for 5k and 10k, if the v2 fit like the Alphafly I reckon they might be a fantastic Marathon shoe.. Will put a pair of the v2 on my wish list.

Yeah, the whole upper is different, more breathable and flexible

Me too in 2019 and last year the wind was awful though I wasn’t racing it but I’ve never had that amazing day out that Charleville is kind of known for. I couldn’t go today in the end as my son’s 7th birthday party but I was wishing I was there this morning when I saw the weather.

Another thread destroyed by shoe porn. 😉

So the ankle still feels a bit sore today. Going to try a 4-6m later this evening. Not going to do any sessions or speed work this week, will just concentrate in getting miles in. Hopeful that its not too bad and if on the day I need to strap it up and have painkillers, so be it. I was injured after 3 miles in my marathon last year and just used Biofreeze to help. Not a great solution and I was injured for a month after but sure look, has to be done

Would you not consider resting it for another day or 2?

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭Sussex18

Thank you. I'm a somewhat nervous '5th time' marathon runner in Galway on Saturday, which is fairly flat actually. No major climbs anywhere.

Torn a bit in my head between going for a time and wanting to make sure I'm strong in the second half. Want to go easy but not excessively easy in the first half. No pacers so won't be dragged along.

Pb from earlier this is 3:47, stayed with the 3:30 pacers until 15 miles and thereafter faded badly. Had been sick with Covid but still went out too fast.

Should I just stay comfortable then until I get beyond half-way and then maybe go a bit harder if I feel have it?

I’d rest it I think and book in for physio to get it checked?

We're in the same boat so 🙂, I've only run two marathons with other competitors and three virtual covid era type marathons.

Both of the real life races I started with easy miles, Dublin 2019 as prescribed on my post for a 3.59 ( I trained for a sub 4 ) finish and earlier this year I started Manchester marathon with an 8.00 minute mile for a 3.18 finish. Mile 2 to 26 all a few seconds either side of 7.35 per mile.

Put simply my modest experience tells me running easy for the first mile or two didn't detrimentally effect my target.

An most importantly - good luck 💪 and give it socks

If you run the first half nice and comfortable you can still go for a time by having energy in the second half. I think you should go by feel …. I was the queen of pace bands and trying to be a slave to them for years but more recently I’ve run by feel and am running much better races.

Yeah good shout folks. Not like I am going to lose a huge amount of fitness over a few days. Will wait until Wednesday as busy tomorrow. If reacts ok, will try Friday and if still ok might go for a much slower LSR on Sunday

Thanks Kellygirl. I think that makes sense. I'll go by feeling I think and see if I have it later. I'll probably enjoy it more that way and I'll learn more going forward for potential future marathons (if there is more!).

Wore the Endorphins on a MP session this morning, 14k total including Up and Down.

Felt that discomfort on the ball of the left foot again, at 13k. Wouldn't say pain, just discomfort.

Reading a review there and a guy recommended thin socks. Wore Steigen lycra socks on the 10 mile last week and felt no issues. Wore thicker socks both times I felt it. Will wear the lycra again for the next few runs and see.

Well it looks like I'll have to take my own advice and rest for a couple of days. Pain just below my knee when I fully straighten/stretch my leg. No discomfort walking/bending etc. but I can't take the chance with tonight's planned session. Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Unknownability

What are your thoughts on the steigen sock? Would you recommend for a marathon?

I'm not 100% sure of the sock I'd picked after last week's long run.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭py

I've been using them exclusively since they gave people a free pair for DCM 2019. I find them to be great for all types of running and terrain. Follow the washing instructions and do not put them in the dryer.

Galway is a fab city, the marathon itself is 4 long loops and 2 shorter, all along the Promenade. Done the half twice but this will be my first time attempting the full. 8:30am is the earliest I've ever started and will be 'with' the 10K in the latter stages-all those sprinters passing me 🙂!

Daragh in AK gave me a free pair with the shoes which was nice. I wore them once so far and really liked the comfort of them. Felt really nice. Have only ran 10 miles in them so can't really offer marathon advice. Can't see why they wouldn't be ok.

PY's advice about not putting them through the tumble dryer came too late though 😀

I’ve done the 10k, half and 3/4 marathons there. Hopefully you’ll be a distance away from the start when the 10Km start but I found that having the other races start while you are running is quite distracting in a good way. The slower 10Km people might get in your way a bit as they walk 3 or 4 abreast but they are suddenly gone and that loop is over and you might find you didn’t;t even notice it in a way. I’ve always enjoyed Galway even in mad weather in 2019. The wind and rain were side on but it was warm so the only issue was when you’d to run out the pier or whatever it’s called as the wind was pushing us backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Sandwell

Did 10 miles in the Endorphin Pro 3 today, out of the box, including 4x1.5m intervals. They felt great, even at slow paces. Felt nice and snappy during the intervals and the pace was very comfortable anywhere you could get into a rhythm. I felt they cornered well too as the loop I was using has some tight turns. I'll get a better idea of how they compare to other shoes when I take them for some marathon pace miles on Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭chabsey

Anyone heard anything about when the Brooks Hyperion Elite 3's might be available over here? I called a few shops earlier in the year who said there were some delays but that they'd be in stock with ample time before marathon season. So far....nowt.

Oh I remember the rain in 2019, the photo's are amongst the most dramatic of my 'running career' 🙂 The '1:40 pacers' were amongst the best I've run with and set what was at the tíme a PB. No pacers this year though as they're claiming the course is too narrow 🙂.

Need to 'Google' now what to eat in the next few days. Don't really fancy huge amounts of pasta. I've never really 'cárb loaded' in any big way.

I’ve been with a nutritional coach for the last 1.5 years and she has coached me through an ultra as well as various races. Before the Ultra and before my very long runs my calories are increased by 300 a day … all carbs, so I add in things like rice cakes with jam as snacks, a banana, stuff like that. I’d always have oats for breakfast, sandwich for lunch, pasta / rice / potatoes for dinner. I use My Fitness Pal to track and I have about 5-6g of carbs per kg weight …. So if you are 70kg in weight about 350g of carbs.

I've been thinking about this a bit more, as I struggle with ingesting carbs prior to marathons, I think.

How long before the race do you begin the regime? Isn't 5-6g/kg quite low?

For long runs I up my calories the day before and the day of by 300 but for the marathon it will prob be an extra day or two on that. It’s working perfectly for me though my regular daily calories were all upped by 100 two weeks ago with the increased mileage and I was starting to drop weight and feel hungry. I’m not sure whether 5-6g is low to be honest. It feels quite high eating all those carbs and I’m not one ever to restrict myself or restrict any food groups so I’m well used to carbs. I’m always perfectly fuelled these days and my recovery is also good.

Actually I just checked back in My Fitness Pal and my calories increased from the Wednesday before the ultra last year and I did it in the Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Unknownability

Thanks, two pairs ordered today.

Small bit of a rant. I try and support Irish shops but one was charging €7 delivery and the other €6 for a pair of socks! They were already slightly more expensive then the manufacturer.